We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Chalmers Bed & Breakfast Ayr

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
Chalmers Bed & Breakfast Ayr
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

67 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Chalmers Bed & Breakfast Ayr
See the most recent reviews
Showing 63: English reviews
stonehouse
Reviewed 11 October 2013

2nd time staying here - Stayed for 4 nights. Really good service. Quiet area. Owners are very pleasant and helpful as per last time. 5 minutes away from city. Breakfasts was good and they now offer to bring breakfasts up to your room if you give them time. I would recommend to this B&B

 Report
Helpful?
Thank scott m
Graeme-Ayr-Scotland, Owner at Chalmers Bed & Breakfast Ayr, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your positive review. Ann and Graeme

county durham
Reviewed 6 October 2013

My husband and a friend stayed at this bed and breakfast on a recent trip to Ayr. He said it was faultless. He couldn't praise the owners or the place any higher. The owners are very pleasant and the breakfast very filling. The location was great for where they wanted to go and not far from the train station.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CountyDurhamJulie
Graeme-Ayr-Scotland, Owner at Chalmers Bed & Breakfast Ayr, responded to this review

Ann and I thank you for your review which we really appreciate. Graeme

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 September 2013

We had an overnight stay as we were spending the day shopping and going for a meal at night for my wife's birthday. What a great wee B&B close Ayr town centre, Graham greeted us with a cheery welcome and we felt we had known him for years after just 10 minutes in his company. After being shown the room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jagsfan41
Graeme-Ayr-Scotland, Owner at Chalmers Bed & Breakfast Ayr, responded to this review

Thank you so much for staying with us and posting such a positive review which is very much appreciated. Ann & Graeme

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 September 2013

2nd time I have used now (last time approx. 2 years ago). This time every bit as good as last time ....with.addition of free Wi-Fi this time Good quality / value ....... comfortable clean rooms / facilities.......with added benefit of Graeme & Anne being genuine caring hosts. Oh and also free lift to Prestwick airport for early morning flight from...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A W
Graeme-Ayr-Scotland, Owner at Chalmers Bed & Breakfast Ayr, responded to this review

Thank for your comments which we really appreciate. Graeme

Greenock
Reviewed 13 September 2013

MY wife and I stayed at Chalmers recently, in order to attend a family celebration nearby. What great hosts Graeme and Ann are, paying attention to all of their guests needs. Comfy room and bed, with a superb breakfast thrown in! It was close to our party and the shops....so my wife Moira was doubly happy! ....ROLL ON THE NEXT...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Georgemckay
Graeme-Ayr-Scotland, Owner at Chalmers Bed & Breakfast Ayr, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post a review with such nice comments. Regards, Graeme & Ann

Reviewed 11 September 2013 via mobile

I've stayed in places cheaper than this in the same area that were a lot better. £35 room ONLY no breakfast included although its called a B&B? You can pay £5 for cereal and toast or £7 for bacon and egg. No on suite. Wifi terrible, slight reception on landing only not in room. Honestly I stay away 3-4 nights...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Madfatten
Graeme-Ayr-Scotland, Owner at Chalmers Bed & Breakfast Ayr, responded to this review

Dear Sir, may we point out a few things. Please have a look at our other reviews and I think you may have an opinion that differs somewhat from the majority of our happy and content guests. You were allocated a small double room with private facilities rather than a single room and you were allocated an extremely good rate....

Vancouver, Washington
Reviewed 6 September 2013

My apologies to our wonderful hosts for this extremely late review! I thought I had rated this B&B some years ago but I fail to see it on my profile as being reviewed. We stayed here for our Honeymoon in 2011(although I used 20012 from the dropdown below as there was not another option) and would stay again without question....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Michelle B
Graeme-Ayr-Scotland, Owner at Chalmers Bed & Breakfast Ayr, responded to this review

Thank you for your nice words in the review which we really appreciate. Graeme

West Lothian
Reviewed 30 July 2013

We stayed in the Family room for two nights at the end of July. Spacious enough, very clean and Graham and Ann were very welcoming. Good breakfast. Room was hot but thats because of the weather outside and the window only opened slightly. No complaints and would recommend. We stayed for the bowling competition. A very nice place to stay...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank WeeBillWestLothian
Graeme-Ayr-Scotland, Owner at Chalmers Bed & Breakfast Ayr, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post a review with such positive comments. Ann & Graeme

scotland
Reviewed 28 June 2013

Stayed at Chalmers for a night after reading positive reviews,we arrived early and it wasn't a problem for us to leave our bags and explore the town,we had a lovely room which we couldn't fault would definitely stay here again,Graeme even offered us a lift into town next morning as it was raining,a really lovely couple,thank you Graeme and Ann...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank snowgoose1303
Graeme-Ayr-Scotland, Owner at Chalmers Bed & Breakfast Ayr, responded to this review

Thank you for posting such a positive review which we really appreciate. It was lovely having you stay with us at our B&B. Ann

Denver
Reviewed 7 June 2013

My friends and I booked at Chalmers because of its proximity to the Glasgow airport. But we quickly learned there are many other reasons to stay there. The proprietors, Ann and Graeme, were warmly hospitable and helpful. Their recommendations for dinner particularly impressed us (we ate at Saffy's, great find). The location is perfect, walking distance to shops, restaurants. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Evelyn11
Graeme-Ayr-Scotland, Owner at Chalmers Bed & Breakfast Ayr, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking time to post a review with such positive comments. Very much appreciated. Graeme

14 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ayr hotels
0.9 km away
Fairfield House Hotel
1.3 km away
Beaches Guest House
2.7 km away
Sunnyside Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Inverlea Guest House
3.9 km away
Ayrs & Graces
Ayrs & Graces
#13 of 61 in Ayr
189 reviews
0.4 km away
26 The Crescent
26 The Crescent
#5 of 61 in Ayr
356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Chalmers is a beautiful Victorian townhouse located one mile from Ayr town centre on the Ayrshire coast, Scotland. Ideal for shopping breaks and very close to great pubs and restaurants. Chalmers is within 30 minutes of some of the best golf courses in the world including Turnberry, Old Prestwick, Royal Troon, Western Gailes, Kilmarncock Barassie, Dundonald Links (Loch Lomond), Glasgow Gailes & Irvine Bogside. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Chalmers Bed & Breakfast Ayr

Address: 34 Carrick Road, Ayr KA7 2RB, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > South Ayrshire > Ayr
Price Range: ₹ 2,383 - ₹ 5,533 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Chalmers Bed & Breakfast Ayr 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Chalmers Bed & Breakfast Ayr reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chalmers Bed & Breakfast Ayr Scotland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Chalmers Bed & Breakfast Ayr staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“If you do not want breakfast, you can get a discount. Tea & Coffee making facilities in each room though.”
 of 5 bubbles BarbJGray, 26 Sep 2015 | Read review
“Your place to stay if you go to Ayr”
 of 5 bubbles Y1116BRdanielc, 24 Sep 2015 | Read review
“My room was excellent and my view as well.”
 of 5 bubbles 515claudeh, 23 Jan 2014 | Read review
“All the rooms are great! We saw them.....”
 of 5 bubbles Georgemckay, 13 Sep 2013 | Read review
“The bed was a bit hard but I found that in a number of places we stayed.”
 of 5 bubbles MichelleB676, 5 Sep 2013 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay