We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Watermill Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Watermill Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

317 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Watermill Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 305: English reviews
Scotland
Reviewed 16 March 2014

This hotel is situated in the centre of Paisley and was ideally located for us. The staff are very warm and welcoming. Our bedroom was small, dark and lacked character. The decor is very basic and the soundproofing is poor. The windows are old and the secondary glazing doesn't cut out the noise from the water running over the weir...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank wosog
Management-Watermill, General Manager at Watermill Hotel, responded to this review

Dear wosog, Thank you for taking time to review us. We do appreciate guest feedback as it gives us a benchmark to evaluate ourselves. I appreciate your comments about my staff and the cooked breakfast. We do strive to provide the best breakfast as it is a very important meal. I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 March 2014

Lovely hotel, great location! :) Breakfast was delicious (adequate to price), friendly waiting staff, and especially waitress who was serving me breakfast- Eva . Thank You Watermill, will be back soon xx

 Report
Helpful?
Thank David G
Management-Watermill, General Manager at Watermill Hotel, responded to this review

Dear David, Thanking for taking your time to review us. I have passed your kind words to Eva, and she really appreciates them. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel soon.

carndonagh donegal
Reviewed 8 March 2014

We recently visited the restaurant for a family celebration , i can say without doubt we had the best service ever our two waiters were on hand for our every whim, we had booked by phone and e-mail and the hotel were so easy to deal with and anticipated our needs , the food on the most part was excellent...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank edelrob
Management-Watermill, General Manager at Watermill Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Edelrob, Thank you for taking your time to review us. We are delighted that you enjoyed your family celebration. We always strive to exceed our guests expectations and we are pleased this was the case. We look forward to welcoming you to our hotel in the near future.

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 February 2014

My family visited the hotel on new years day to celebrate my mothers 80th birthday and it was the worst meal I can ever remember. We were all crammed round a circular table. The choice of vegetables was brussel sprouts and carrots (I think they had been leftover since Christmas). Drinks took an age to be delivered to table, tea...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sparklyeyes90
Management-Watermill, General Manager at Watermill Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sparklyeyes90, Thank you for taking time to review us. We do appreciate guest feedback as it gives us a benchmark to evaluate ourselves. I am however very disappointed that you have opted for this, as I took my time to reply to your complain. I did address the points you had raised and invited you for further discussion incase...

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 February 2014

We checked in and immediately checked back out room was disgusting and stank of damp stayed here before and it was lovely its run down abd horrible think carefully before booking will never ever book this again would rather sleep on tge street than here

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 186534Kaz
Management-Watermill, General Manager at Watermill Hotel, responded to this review

Dear 186534kaz, Thank you for taking time to review us. I am quite surprised by your comments as the hotel has recently been refurbished. This is a grade c listed building, which the new owners have heavily invested in for the past few months in order to freshen it up while not interfering with the character. You were allocated one...

Essex
Reviewed 3 February 2014

We stayed her on 1st Feb 2014 whilst visiting family in area. Lovely little hotel and we had a great room looking over the waterfall. Patricia on reception very friendly and helpful and also Slava in the dining room the next morning for breakfast very friendly as was all the staff we came across during our stay. Yes as other...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kmupps
Management-Watermill, General Manager at Watermill Hotel, responded to this review

Dear kmupps, Thank you for taking time to review us and more so for the great review. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your staff and my staff were helpful and friendly. You will be pleased to hear that the floorboards have now been sorted. Please give us a visit the next time you are in the area.

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 January 2014 via mobile

I stay here because of work and it is really poor . The water isn't always hot , the showers in the room are really bad . Some of the windows have gaps in them and dont close properly . The reception staff have been grummpy on most of my stays . The restaurant staff are helpful and chatty ....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank wars7206
Management-Watermill, General Manager at Watermill Hotel, responded to this review

Dear wars7206, Thank you for taking time to review us. We do appreciate guest feedback as it gives us a benchmark to evaluate ourselves. I am disappointed to hear that my reception staff have been grumpy towards you. I will investigate this to find out what has been happening. We have recently refurbished the hotel and would like to invite...

Paisley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 January 2014

I got married here June 22nd last year, (should probably of wrote a review before now) initially after booking my wedding had a bit of an issue as the hotel was to be sold and was looking a little uncertain, however there was great communications throughout and Carrie in sales met with me on regular intervals to help put my...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alison M
Management-Watermill, General Manager at Watermill Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Alison, Thanking for taking time to review us. I am delighted that you enjoyed your special day. Hopefully it will not be too long before you visit us again.

Chesterfield, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 January 2014

This was a repeat visit to the Watermill, having stay there under the previous owners a few times and always had a great stay. This time however there was a tour party in who seemed to enjoy getting up at 4am each morning and with the creaking floorboards and heavy footsteps we got very little sleep. The room itself was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sandra H
Management-Watermill, General Manager at Watermill Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sandra, Thank you for taking time to review us. I am sorry that you were kept awake by the group who were up early. While it is difficult for us to control the behaviour of other guests, we have taken a step and repaired the floorboard. The corridors are now very quiet. Hopefully we will get a chance to...

newcastle
Reviewed 6 January 2014

I stayed in this hotel on 4/1/14 and found it to be of good value the room was of a good standard but the floorboards do make a lot of noise , the view of the river cart was excellent and the glazing did keep out all sounds from the outside, the one thing I was looking forward to was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DAVE D
Management-Watermill, General Manager at Watermill Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Dave, Thank you for taking time to review us. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. I will make sure we have square sausage on the menu the next time you visit. Also, I am delighted to let you know that we have now sorted the floorboards. There will be less noise the next...

55 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (45)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (22)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paisley
0.7 km away
Ashtree House Hotel
Ashtree House Hotel
#4 of 9 in Paisley
345 reviews
2.2 km away
Travelodge Glasgow Airport
2.3 km away
Premier Inn Glasgow Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 km away
Ardgowan House
Ardgowan House
#8 of 9 in Paisley
63 reviews
2.7 km away
The Glynhill Hotel & Leisure Club
2.5 km away
Holiday Inn Glasgow Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Situated in the heart of Paisley and on the site of a 17th century Flour Mill The watermill Hotel preserves some of the original character and features of the Mill inside and out of the building.49 en suite bedrooms with freeview TV and views overloking the hamills river or paisley abbey and the historic town of Paisley. We have a restaurant and lounge bar on site along with a new built extension for holding functions upto 140 guests. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Watermill Hotel

Address: 1 Lonend, Paisley PA1 1SR, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Renfrewshire > Paisley
Price Range: ₹ 3,745 - ₹ 5,447 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Watermill Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your Watermill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Watermill Hotel Paisley, Scotland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Watermill Hotel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
2 months ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Watermill Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“You might want to ask for a room overlooking the river as it is nicer than the car park.”
 of 5 bubbles GreatScotLondon, 12 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Slept well but were conscious of the chimes of nearby Paisley abbey next morning. Maybe a room at the back of the hotel would avoid this.”
 of 5 bubbles jdscott1, 15 Nov 2016 | Read review
“The back rooms overlook the waterfall.”
  • View from The Watermill Hotel
 of 5 bubbles NicPerrins, 20 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Maybe the rooms at the back are quieter.”
 of 5 bubbles JeanR658, 23 Aug 2016 | Read review
“""Make sure before Paying that you are Shown the room ""”
  • Window open max .
  • Yet more cracked tiles .
  • More cracked tiles same bathroom .
  • Attractive?
  • Safe??
 of 5 bubbles U5619XIfrankm, 22 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay