We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel

Booking.comUS$ 140*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

838 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 834: English reviews
UK
Reviewed 6 May 2015 via mobile

Returning to Manchester from John O'Groats. Tried to get to Perth (halfway). With darkness approaching I booked and stopped here without any regrets. Frank had actually called me to check that I was on my way lol. Checked in just before 9pm. Paid first¡ There was music and a live show in action in the main room as we went...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Soyf
PitlochryHydro, General Manager at The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel, responded to this review

Hi and thanks for a motivational five star review, it is very much appreciated. It is pleasing to read that everything was in place and you enjoyed our staff and facilities. It was my good self who directed you to the Falkirk Wheel and I'm really glad you enjoyed it....it's a great way to spend a few hours and in...

Reviewed 6 May 2015 via mobile

Rocked up without booking and were welcomed by all the staff. We were given a lovely large room overlooking the front of the hotel with views to the mountains. Weather was dismal, so sadly we couldn't walk around the beautiful grounds. We were the youngest people there - 60's - as the remaining guests were on a tour from Yorkshire...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Trish A
PitlochryHydro, General Manager at The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel, responded to this review

Hi, glad you had a nice time and the majority of your review is positive....sorry we couldn't squeeze a four star score from you....maybe next time! Thanks for the post. Regards Chris Stanton GM

Dundee
Reviewed 4 May 2015

We arrived at 11am, and we're immediately made very welcome. We were also given our rooms, with a free upgrade. Delightful lady at reception. Rooms were very comfortable, and we got exactly what we expected. Clean, and tidy, very large room as well. Hotel was fairly busy, there were lots of little areas you could sit in, and around. TBH,...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank greystane64
PitlochryHydro, General Manager at The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel, responded to this review

Hi, what a lovely review that we are all very grateful for....it's fantastic that you liked us so much that you would come again as that is priority number 1 As for the delightful lady at reception we have no idea as nobody fits that description here.....only joking ! Diane is thrilled with her mention. Regards Chris Stanton GM

Belfast, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 May 2015

Travelled and stayed with a large group (group fully booked hotel) of Motorcyclists and must say the hotel staff couldn't have been more helpful with suggestions of where to visit to helping some of the group amend their ferry bookings for the return trip home. The Location was ideal to explore the Cairngorms National park and the town itself had...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Sam A
PitlochryHydro, General Manager at The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel, responded to this review

Hello and thanks for posting a positive review. ...it was a pleasure having you all and I hope you all return and make it an annual pilgrimage. Best Regards Chris Stanton GM

Reviewed 3 May 2015 via mobile

Paid £120 for a room and the room we were given certainly wasn't worth that, the room was absolutely freezing as well and as if a 10am checkout on a Sunday wasn't early enough one of the housekeepers tried to get into our room at 9.30 without even knocking or shouting. Hotel looks great from the outside and the restaurant...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank rorbobtomken
PitlochryHydro, General Manager at The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel, responded to this review

Hi, sorry you were disappointed with a couple of aspects of our Hotel on your recent stay. Your comments will be addressed and thanks for taking the time to post a review. Regards Chris Stanton GM

Glasgow
Reviewed 30 April 2015 via mobile

Stayed here with my husband overnight early in April. The room we had was ok.. Nothing special. The pool and jacuzzi were good. As with previous reviews it is very much an over 65 hotel. We walked down to the Main Street to have food, as the menu didn't appeal to us. Breakfast was ok again nothing special, considering your...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kirsty M
PitlochryHydro, General Manager at The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel, responded to this review

Hello, sorry we didn't quite suit your needs but I appreciate the positive comments you have made. Our core customer is over 55 but we cater and welcome countless guests below that age and whom are generally very happy here. Best Regards Chris Stanton GM

Cockney in Wrexham, North Wales
Reviewed 25 April 2015 via mobile

I have to be honest, please do not stay here. The rooms are drab, beds uncomfortable and the toilet smelled of, well you can guess. The food was ok but not satisfactory. So much so, we all decided to go eat at The Moulin 5 minutes away, even though we were half board. The milk jug had mashed potato on...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank GavinBridger
PitlochryHydro, General Manager at The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel, responded to this review

Hi, a scathing review and a horrible headline ! Upon return from my holidays I was made aware of the shortcomings on our part that were made during your stay here. ...... all entirely innocent but I can appreciate your frustration. To describe our staff, apart from Fergus, as 'hopeless' is not very kind and most certainly unjustified. They made...

Reviewed 24 April 2015

Managed to finally return and it is still a brilliant hotel,the manager Chris is a wonderful and most pleasant person you could wish to meet,no problem will phase him and it gets sorted straight away.The staff are the best staff we have ever had in any Shearings hotel,the restaurant staff are so good and attentive to your every requirement it...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank miffy09
PitlochryHydro, General Manager at The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel, responded to this review

Hello and thanks for such a lovely review and kind words...they are really motivational and very much appreciated. It was nice to see you again and hopefully you will return at some point in the not too distant future. Thanks again Chris Stanton GM

Leven, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 April 2015

The hotel has a lot in its favour. The recent refurbishment in the public areas are attractive, the breakfast was well presented and there was plenty to eat. Also the staff were very friendly, helpful and attentive and the price was about the cheapest in town. However, and there is a however - some of the obvious and essential detail...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank weefifer2015
PitlochryHydro, General Manager at The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel, responded to this review

Hi, well what a harsh title for a review that has mostly very positive comments..... I guess we will just concentrate on the positives and encourage you to mention any issues that can easily be dealt with whilst at the Hotel. Regards Chris Stanton GM

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 April 2015

First visit to this hotel and wasn't disappointed. Had a lovely room to the front of hotel. Booked a twin room as that's all we could get online. However on arriving, we were delighted to have been upgraded (free of charge) to a superior room, No. 215.. Nice clean room with a lovely view. Breakfast was lovely (I'm quite fussy...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank summerchick94
PitlochryHydro, General Manager at The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel, responded to this review

Hello and thanks very much for the five star review. It is critical that returning customers review us well and equally as important that new customers score us well and potentially go on to become our returning customers of the future. We take neither for granted and I am so pleased that your first experience was a positive one. Hope...

183 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (174)
Viewed
Room/Suite (37)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (28)
Viewed
View from Room (14)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
Bathroom (12)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (63)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (3)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pitlochry hotels
0.8 km away
Atholl Palace Hotel
Atholl Palace Hotel
#8 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,729 reviews
1.2 km away
Fonab Castle Hotel
Fonab Castle Hotel
#3 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,825 reviews
0.4 km away
Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Scotland's Hotel & Spa
Scotland's Hotel & Spa
#17 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,551 reviews
0.5 km away
Fisher's Hotel
Fisher's Hotel
#10 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,143 reviews
0.8 km away
Pine Trees Hotel
Pine Trees Hotel
#6 of 18 in Pitlochry
747 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Internet
  • Spa
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Just ten minutes walk from the town centre, the historic and recently refurbished Pitlochry Hydro Hotel overlooks the town of Pitlochry itself. The Pitlochry Hydro hotel offers an excellent range of facilities for visitors, including a modern, well-equipped gym and heated indoor swimming pool. The hotel houses all of the amenities and facilities you would expect from a Coast & Country venue. In addition, our staff will offer you a warm, friendly welcome, and ensure that your stay is as relaxing and memorable as possible. Pitlochry is a superb base for walkers. Ben Vrackie towers above the town, and the Cairngorm Massif is close by to the North. Loch Tummel and Loch Rannoch are also easily explored using the hotel as a base. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel

Address: Knockard Road, Pitlochry PH16 5JH, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Pitlochry
Price Range: ₹ 6,310 - ₹ 22,128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 73
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, HRS, Priceline, Agoda, LateRooms and Hotel.de so you can book your The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel Scotland
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Pitlochry
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel staff and other travellers.
17 questions
Ask a question
clackmannanshire
22 days ago
Gloucestershire, United Kingdom
10 months ago

See all questions (17)

Questions? Get answers from The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms 1 to 5 are ground floor and close to leisure facilities.”
carolecrowgoldenoldi, 23 May 2017 | Read review
“No lift in building, so if handicapped reserve ground floor.”
GaryHPrice, 16 May 2017 | Read review
“Upgrade, high floor, scenic view”
lecturemusic, 14 May 2017 | Read review
“Unsure as didn't see other rooms.”
494annettep, 8 May 2017 | Read review
“We stayed in room 110 which has its own sitting room and gives a view over two aspects of the hotel and grounds.”
mutphy, 3 May 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
US$ 140* /night
View Deal
Hotels.comUS$ 140
TripAdvisorUS$ 140
Orbitz.comUS$ 140
View all 11 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates