We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel

Certificate of Excellence
18/05/2017 19/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

826 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 823: English reviews
Start your review of The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
 Click to rate
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I stay in hotels on business all over the U.K. . This is by far one the worst hotels I have ever stayed in . The room was from a bygone age, the breakfast was a disgrace, and the staff looked totally demoralised. They say a fish rots from the "head down " so I think a career adjustment is...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank michael c
PitlochryHydro, General Manager at The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel, responded to this review

Hi, your critique is very personal and I cannot recall meeting you and discussing any of the above. You are, of course, entitled to your opinion but can I just bring to your attention that the vast majority of customers do not feel the same way as you. Please read through previous reviews that compliment our team here time after...

Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I do not normally take the time to write reviews but my experience at the Pitlochry Hydro was so bad, here we go: I travel regularly and was extremely disappointed and upset by my stay: 1. Attitude of reception staff: not welcoming or friendly upon check-in. Male receptionist was then the person I interacted with on several occasions, culminating in...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Diane M
PitlochryHydro, General Manager at The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel, responded to this review

Hi, as tempting as it is to retaliate...I wont ! other than to say your version of events are not entirely correct in terms of your attitude towards a member of staff....me. Yes the phone did not work, something we are attempting to fix which I apologised for and yes I accept that you were frustrated that wifi is not...

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Lovely looking Hotel inside and out. Staff at reception and breakfast friendly and efficient. My double room spacious, clean and provided a comfortable nights stay despite looking tired and in need of redecorating/refurbishing. Poor selection of TV channels. Overall I judge the stay to be good value for money.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Andrew R
PitlochryHydro, General Manager at The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel, responded to this review

Hi, thanks for your comments and I am particularly pleased to read that you had good value. In terms of redecorating and refurbishment, this is never far from our thoughts and we are in discussions regarding the next phase. Best Regards Chris Stanton GM

Canberra, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Had a 2 night stay. Older hotel with heaps of character. Comfortable room, pity only 3 TVs channels (my lap-top has a bigger screen) but not really a problem. The cobweb hanging from the ceiling was still there on our departure- maybe cleaners need to look up now and again? At breakfast, the girl pouring my coffee poured more on...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Macca2112
PitlochryHydro, General Manager at The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel, responded to this review

Hi, well despite the critique I am pleased that you chose a positive headline. I am going on a one man mission today to spot as many cobwebs as I can because only yesterday on my morning rounds I spotted quite a few....we are equipped with the necessary 'cobweb fighting kit' ..... extendable tickling sticks ! and our team have...

glasgow
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

My mother, husband and i spend easter weekend at the hydro. It was a coach tour and cant believe how great value it was. We arrived at hotel to a lovely welcome and well organised. I had emailed the hotel as i always do re rooms together and for the one of the first times ever it had been done....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kezstar2
PitlochryHydro, General Manager at The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel, responded to this review

Hello and thanks very much for a positive post following your wee break here. It is always a pleasure to see that customers have come along, enjoyed our service and facilities and felt they have had great value. The staff are always encouraged when they read reviews like this as an awful lot of effort goes in to ensuring that...

Scotland
Reviewed 1 week ago

Last minute deal for two days getaway, £50 a night BNB so you can't complain at that, great staff, large room, en-suite with shower and bath, flat screen TV x 2, tea coffee, four poster bed, good breakfast, live entertainment to the point the bar/lounge was full at night, large old style building but don't let that put you off,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank G3VVW
PitlochryHydro, General Manager at The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel, responded to this review

Hi, thanks for the post but considering the value we offered and accommodation we provided I would have hoped, perhaps even (dare I say it) expected a better score ! You have complimented everything you experienced which is fantastic and a great endorsement for the Hotel. Regards Chris Stanton GM

Grangemouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

We travelled to Pitlochry for an overnight stop to escape Edinburgh. We arrived mid afternoon and were directed to a second floor room which had large windows and gave a great view over the town and towards the hills beyond the A9. The room was clean, comfortable, if a little tired, and we found the slant in the floor quite...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mel M
PitlochryHydro, General Manager at The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel, responded to this review

Hi there and thanks for a very pleasant review that covers many aspects of what our Hotel has to offer. As I have said time and again, if customers mention they would return then that is a job well done and we are all delighted. Our returning customer list is huge with some coming three and four times a year....

Reviewed 1 week ago

Travelled on a Shearings coach trip to Pitlochry and realised from the outset this holiday was provided on a budget basis. For this reason alone and in the interest of fairness, I give overall 4 stars. All areas of the hotel appeared very clean though in need of upgrade, which is under way. Staff professional and efficient. On one occasion...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ken B
PitlochryHydro, General Manager at The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel, responded to this review

Hi, thanks for the post and the fair score. I will look into the couple of shortcomings you mentioned. Something worth mentioning is that we are in the midst of putting a music system in the Restaurant for exactly the reason you mentioned. We are also only a matter of weeks before our whole Hotel will have wifi throughout. Thanks...

Dundee, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

For £150 for 2 night for 2 of us I wasn't expecting too much, but the photos on Booking.com of the bedrooms were nothing like what we stayed in ! They must keep the dirty rooms for the bargain customers ! Bathroom in dire need of upgrade and a good hoover would have made a difference! Tea stains on wall...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nic0la1974
PitlochryHydro, General Manager at The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel, responded to this review

Hi, yes, we have a variety of rooms with just a few standard ones that have not had refurbishment in recent years, however, whichever room you stay in should be clean and comfortable. I will include the room you stayed in on todays 'morning check' Regards Chris Stanton GM

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This hotel says it has refurbished its rooms the one we stayed in (112) has a great view looking out the window but the interior is tired the bed is uncomfortable and small. The bathroom has mould. The staff are really nice, the food is very good service is great. The gym is small the pool is good if a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank john1869
PitlochryHydro, General Manager at The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel, responded to this review

Hi, sorry that on this occasion we haven't managed to wow you but you seemed reasonably satisfied with much of what we had to offer. Hopefully you will give us another chance to impress you at some point in the future, returning customers is always the aim here. Best Regards Chris Stanton GM

178 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (169)
Viewed
Room/Suite (37)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (28)
Viewed
View from Room (14)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
Bathroom (12)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (58)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (3)
18/05/2017 19/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pitlochry hotels
0.8 km away
Atholl Palace Hotel
Atholl Palace Hotel
#8 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,709 reviews
1.2 km away
Fonab Castle Hotel
Fonab Castle Hotel
#3 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,771 reviews
0.4 km away
Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Scotland's Hotel & Spa
Scotland's Hotel & Spa
#17 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,541 reviews
0.5 km away
Fisher's Hotel
Fisher's Hotel
#10 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,132 reviews
0.8 km away
Pine Trees Hotel
Pine Trees Hotel
#6 of 18 in Pitlochry
737 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Internet
  • Spa
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Just ten minutes walk from the town centre, the historic and recently refurbished Pitlochry Hydro Hotel overlooks the town of Pitlochry itself. The Pitlochry Hydro hotel offers an excellent range of facilities for visitors, including a modern, well-equipped gym and heated indoor swimming pool. The hotel houses all of the amenities and facilities you would expect from a Coast & Country venue. In addition, our staff will offer you a warm, friendly welcome, and ensure that your stay is as relaxing and memorable as possible. Pitlochry is a superb base for walkers. Ben Vrackie towers above the town, and the Cairngorm Massif is close by to the North. Loch Tummel and Loch Rannoch are also easily explored using the hotel as a base. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel

Address: Knockard Road, Pitlochry PH16 5JH, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Pitlochry
Price Range: ₹ 5,872 - ₹ 21,668 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 73
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, HRS, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel Scotland
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Pitlochry
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel staff and other travellers.
16 questions
Ask a question
Gloucestershire, United Kingdom
9 months ago
Sibsey, United Kingdom

See all questions (16)

Questions? Get answers from The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Use another hotel”
C3541NLmichaelc, 27 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a room away from the bar as there is live entertainment”
R8785OJdianem, 27 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Ask for second floor room overlooking the town, preferably in the towers.”
MelM734, 17 Apr 2017 | Read review
“you have to pay extra for better rooms”
john1869, 4 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Room 219 excellent views and spacious”
delphine646, 30 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
No availability for your dates from these sites
Booking.com
* /night
View Deal
TripAdvisor
Hotels.com
HOTEL.INFO
View all 11 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates