We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Atholl Palace Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Atholl Palace Hotel
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,651 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Atholl Palace Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,526: English reviews
Reviewed 1 August 2015

We celebrate the afternoon Tea in the Restaurant and it was delicious, incluse a beautiful view over the countryside. Would like to take a afternoon Tea with high quality in a nice environment, that is Anyway, the right place.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ralf N
AthollPalaceHotel, General Manager at Atholl Palace Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Ralf N , Wonderful to read that you found our new look Afternoon Tea to be so delicious and high quality . Kindest Regards Graeme Strachan

Oslo, Norway
Reviewed 27 July 2015

This place must have had its golden age some time ago. There is no doubt that it has a lot of charm and impressive attributes. I will never forget the somewhat hidden musuem and snooker room and the somewhat tacky, but classic, intrior. I must say I had a great time here, but I think this all depends on why...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CeeDeeGee
AthollPalaceHotel, General Manager at Atholl Palace Hotel, responded to this review

Dear CeeDeeGee, Many thanks for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Atholl Palace . I take your point about weddings and larger events but we do cater for all and it was pleasing to read that you all seemed to have a good experience as a party of five adults travelling from place to place ....

Dundee, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 July 2015

My wife & I spend 1 night at this hotel. It is a beautiful building with and incredible setting. The only fault I could say is that the room we were staying in did not live up to the standards set throughout the hotel. Although, the room was in good condition it just seemed a disappointing. We did only stay...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank MC0408
AthollPalaceHotel, General Manager at Atholl Palace Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent one night stay at the Atholl Palace it is indeed a beautiful building in a incredible setting . Sorry that you found your standard double room a little disappointing ,but I am glad to see that overall you would recommend to stay at our hotel as you found it to...

Surrey
Reviewed 23 July 2015

Stayed here for two nights for a break after our wedding before we head off on our proper honeymoon. Picked it for its Star rating but a little disappointed. Plenty of old world charm but could improve. Breakfast ok, not the best I've had. Staff in the restaurant were very good and the Hotel Manager introduced himself to us and...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank HelenTM1
AthollPalaceHotel, General Manager at Atholl Palace Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review sorry to read that you were a bit disappointed with a few things like a bed a bit small in room 215 which I will take a look at to see what can be done ,regarding the fresh flowers we do not have plastic flowers in the Restaurant we always have fresh cut or...

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 July 2015

had a lovely stay here. did feel it was a little understaffed and priority was for the wedding party, but still had a v nice time. Had the afternoon tea for £17 which was divine and would have easily fed us both, dinner (magnificent food, although the restaurant is not the best ambience), and a good break too. Our room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank puck22
AthollPalaceHotel, General Manager at Atholl Palace Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Puck22, Thank you for your 5 star review I do take your point regarding wedding parties as we always try our very best to ensure everybody is looked after so sorry if you feel we were a little short staffed . It was so nice to read that you found our Newly launched Afternoon Tea to be divine which...

Cowfold, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 July 2015

We loved it here. It had been recommended and did not disappoint. The Hotel was in a fantastic setting with beautiful grounds (so large we didn't have time to explore)! We rented a self catering lodge which was beautifully decorated and appointed. We had plumbing problems which although we reported, were not rectified. However, it did not spoil our stay....

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ChrislovesItaly
AthollPalaceHotel, General Manager at Atholl Palace Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback from your recent stay in the Atholl Palace Pavillion ,sorry that we did not respond to the plumbing issue I will be finding out what happened and why I was glad to read that this did not spoil your stay . It was very nice to see that you enjoyed the bar. Found Howard the...

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 20 July 2015 via mobile

Talk about room with a view. Wow. This is a wonderful hotel in the most spectacular setting ever. Set in lovely gardens less than 1km out of town ... This is a blast back to an age of splendor ... Felt like a movie set. Rooms are a little tired and floor boards creek but that just goes perfectly with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mark R
AthollPalaceHotel, General Manager at Atholl Palace Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mark R , Thank you for taking the time to place a review on your recent visit . It was great to read that you found the views to be such a Wow as this is very true . As for the lovely grounds it is nice to read your very kind comments and I will be sure to...

Fife, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 July 2015

A comfortable, oldy worldy hotel based in stunning grounds. The staff were friendly and efficient, especially the maitre d' who was wonderful. The views from every window are stunning no matter what the weather brings. The gym is small, but functional. The swimming room and jacuzzi are worth a wee dip. The walk to the pitch and putt wasn't as...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Belinda S
AthollPalaceHotel, General Manager at Atholl Palace Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Belinda S, Many thanks for your very positive feedback after your visit to the Atholl Palace ,I am always delighted to hear that the staff have looked after you in such a friendly & efficient manner . Great also to see that you found the views to be so stunning and also tested out the Pitch & Putt and...

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 July 2015

Absolutely love this hotel! Just returned from a very relaxing stay here and find that it offers a certain charm that other hotels do not. Fantastic building in a great location with beautiful grounds. Booked a standard room and requested a room with a view. We were given a beautiful room, very comfortable and clean with lovely views down the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank NJ9808
AthollPalaceHotel, General Manager at Atholl Palace Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for spending time giving the Atholl Palace such a wonderful review ,it was so good to read that you absolutely love the hotel and enjoyed everything from the Spa to the service throughout . I also look forward to welcoming you back for your next visit . Kindest Regards Graeme Strachan

Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewed 19 July 2015 via mobile

The view from the place was majestic and even though it was an old hotel it was great. I had dinner and breakfast there which was good and overall had a pleasant stay. Only minor issues was that the floor creaked a bit so whenever other guests were walking outside the room it can be heard in my room. Don't...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank markleo82
AthollPalaceHotel, General Manager at Atholl Palace Hotel, responded to this review

Dear markleo82, Thank you for your recent review on your visit to the hotel ,sorry that you found the floor a bit creaky but that is the some would say the quirky side of a old building but we do always try to fix when we hear any movement ,I am glad you found the view so good and overall...

901 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (533)
Viewed
Room/Suite (95)
Viewed
Bathroom (20)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (155)
Viewed
Dining (29)
Viewed
View from Room (44)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (186)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (343)
Viewed
Amenities (89)
Viewed
Double Room (19)
Viewed
Double Room Flowers (20)
Viewed
Double Room Green (14)
Viewed
Edradour Suite (31)
Viewed
Family (12)
Viewed
Pool (6)
Viewed
Dining (20)
Viewed
Standard Double Room with Shower (18)
Viewed
Standard Double with Bathtub (15)
Viewed
Standard Single Room (13)
Viewed
Standard Twin Room (17)
Viewed
The Hotel (52)
Viewed
Valley View Double Room (17)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (25)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pitlochry hotels
1.4 km away
Fonab Castle Hotel
Fonab Castle Hotel
#3 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,622 reviews
0.5 km away
Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant
0.9 km away
Fisher's Hotel
Fisher's Hotel
#10 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,096 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
#9 of 18 in Pitlochry
796 reviews
1.4 km away
Pine Trees Hotel
Pine Trees Hotel
#6 of 18 in Pitlochry
722 reviews
2.1 km away
East Haugh House
East Haugh House
#4 of 18 in Pitlochry
584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Scottish Highlands, wild and rugged, have a timeless romantic quality. At their very heart, where the River Tummel flows to the Tay, sits the historic small town of Pitlochry. The Atholl Palace Hotel, the epitome of Scottish Baronial splendour, stands overlooking wooded parkland grounds and the town to the surrounding hills. Originally opened as the Athole Hydropathic in Victorian times, the hotel retains many features of the traditional large country house, with bedroom facilities and standards which often exceed expectations and complement spacious, relaxing public areas.With 107 bedrooms, self-catering lodges, apartments and 10 function suites we can cater for your needs whether it is leisure or business purposes. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Atholl Palace Hotel

Address: Perth Road, Pitlochry PH16 5LX, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Pitlochry
Price Range: ₹ 9,446 - ₹ 16,635 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Atholl Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 107
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Atholl Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atholl Palace Pitlochry
Hotel Atholl Palace
Atholl Palace Hotel Pitlochry, Scotland
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Pitlochry
#6 Luxury Hotel in Pitlochry
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Atholl Palace Hotel staff and other travellers.
11 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (11)

Questions? Get answers from Atholl Palace Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Make sure you book and ask for a Window Table”
 of 5 bubbles TeamThomas_2000, 17 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a room on a higher floor and definitely not room 93!!!!”
 of 5 bubbles allym1984, 12 Feb 2017 | Read review
“We preferred being on the upper floors”
 of 5 bubbles wanderingpiper, 30 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Carry camera, without fail!”
 of 5 bubbles PriyankaAdvisor, 28 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Rooms facing the north of the Blair Atholl Estate are beautiful”
 of 5 bubbles emilycook2103, 26 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5