We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Braeval Hotel

Show Prices
#4 of 9 Hotels in Nairn
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Braeval Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

367 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Braeval Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 348: English reviews
Vancouver, British Columbia
Reviewed 24 June 2016

The Braeval has several pluses: maybe the best locationoverlooking the central beach area of Nairn, but a short walk to the high street shops. Friendly and accommodating staff. Breakfast was very good. The bar has great ale selection too...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank jmacd21
MHMHolding, Owner at Braeval Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay.

Northants
Reviewed 23 June 2016

This hotel serves great food- dinner and breakfast were excellent and has won many awards for their beer. It is ideal for anyone who does not require parking as it is extremely limited. It is comfortable enough for 1 night. The shower in our room was in need of attention as it was a bit grubby. Not sure if they...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank dougall2016
MHMHolding, Owner at Braeval Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. We are continually working on maintaining and improving facilities at the hotel. We don't have private parking, but on street parking is free everywhere in Nairn. There is a large open air car park at the rear of the hotel which takes around 100 cars and is also free.

Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 June 2016

Lovely friendly hotel when we stayed there. Lunch and breakfast were excellent and room very well equipped. We had a lovely big room overlooking the park and beach which was very calming. Car parking was fine, if you couldn't get beside the hotel there is ample parking around.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank D984JOkeithb
MHMHolding, Owner at Braeval Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review. I'm delighted you enjoyed your visit.

East Kilbride
Reviewed 15 June 2016 via mobile

Stayed here for one night on business in June 2016. Staff were very friendly and food was really good quality with a surprisingly good menu choice as well as a fantastic selection of draught beers and lagers in the bar. Bar was quite busy but it was easy enough to find a table, although I could have eaten in the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michael R
MHMHolding, Owner at Braeval Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comprehensive and generous review. Very much appreciated. We'll be delighted to welcome you back soon.

NSW
Reviewed 6 June 2016

We stayed one night in this typical country Scottish Inn and enjoyed our stay. Our room was very clean but extremely small, breakfast was fine and the staff very friendly. We dined in their restaurant that night and the food was very good with views of the sea and would definitely recommend it.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank WhitandWally
MHMHolding, Owner at Braeval Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. I'm pleased you enjoyed your visit and would recommend the hotel. I'm sorry you felt your room was small. The Braeval is a Victorian villa and the rooms vary in size and shape and are priced accordingly (for anyone concerned, individual room sizes are published on the booking websites).

Espelkamp, Germany
Reviewed 4 June 2016

... the room was average (rather small, rather loud and rather old), the staff was routine and the price relatively high (compared tio what you get elsewhere). All in all, acceptable, but not a highlight.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank WLoemker
MHMHolding, Owner at Braeval Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. I'm sorry we didn't meet your expectations on this visit.

Kelowna, British Columbia
Reviewed 4 June 2016

Classic old building. Quaint and cosy. Had a room with great view of park and seashore. Excellent food and great selection of whiskies in the bar. Enjoyed our stay. Friendly and helpful staff. Walking distances a few fine restaurants.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank rhodgs_447058
MHMHolding, Owner at Braeval Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. Your comments are much appreciated.

Canby, Oregon
Reviewed 3 June 2016

Stayed at the Braeval Hotel for one night in late May. The location is nice, but there were problems. The carpet was new (that's nice), but the door would barely open or close because of the height of the carpet rubbing the bottom of the door. Literally had to put my shoulder to the door to get in with a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bob J
MHMHolding, Owner at Braeval Hotel, responded to this review

As you say, the carpet is new and we were waiting for the joiner to shorten the door to make it open more smoothly. I always urge customers to tell us about any issue with food at the time so we can rectify any problems immediately. It's disappointing to hear you would not stay again as we would welcome the...

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 May 2016 via mobile

We had room no 2, which is very narrow, but with a sea view! The shower is rather diifficult to regulate and the mattress on the bed needs renewing as I kept rolling into the middle of the bed. Our friends with other rooms seemed happier - modern shower, mixer taps etc. Breakfast was plenty! Service very attentive. The Bandstand...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Judy22391
MHMHolding, Owner at Braeval Hotel, responded to this review

I'm glad you enjoyed the hotel and the food. Braeval is a Victorian villa and all the rooms vary in size and shape, but it's a pity you didn't like your room. All our mattresses are good quality memory foam and not even a year old, so I'm disappointed that you didn't find it comfortable. I hope you come back...

Mere, Wiltshire, Uk
Reviewed 28 May 2016

Comfortable, small single room which was satisfactory. Toilet/shower room well decorated but needed a more deep clean than it would appear it had been having. A pity this item spoiled an overall pleasant stay.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Martinjo
MHMHolding, Owner at Braeval Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. I have checked the room and ensured it had a thorough clean.

76 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (46)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Other (17)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (30)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nairn
1.5 km away
Golf View Hotel & Spa
0.9 km away
Newton Hotel
Newton Hotel
#3 of 9 in Nairn
811 reviews
0.7 km away
Invernairne Hotel
Invernairne Hotel
#1 of 9 in Nairn
262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
The Clubhouse Hotel
The Clubhouse Hotel
#7 of 9 in Nairn
310 reviews
0.6 km away
The Albert Inn
The Albert Inn
#8 of 9 in Nairn
111 reviews
24.7 km away
BEST WESTERN Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
Food & drink at the hotel
Bandstand Restaurant
Bandstand Restaurant
Cuisines: Bar, European, British, Soups, Scottish, Gastropub
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Braeval Hotel is a friendly pub-hotel overlooking Nairn beach. It has spectacular sea views and is close to Nairn town centre and between Nairn's two championship golf courses. It has 8 en-suite bedrooms, some with sea views. The hotel's Bandstand Bar won CAMRA Pub of the Year 2014. It has won this award five times in the last six years. It has 9 Real Ale pumps is Cask Marque accredited and in The Good Beer Guide. The hotel's sea view Restaurant offers excellent Sea Food, Steaks and traditional Scottish dishes from locally sourced produce. The entire length of the restaurant is glass, offering stunning sea views. The decor reflects the character of the Fishertown area of Nairn with period photographs of Nairn when it was a fishing port. Bottlenose dolphins are regularly seen from the Restaurant. The hotel is rated 4 stars by Visit Scotland. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Braeval Hotel

Address: Crescent Road, Nairn IV12 4NB, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Nairn
Price Range: ₹ 4,491 - ₹ 7,508 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Braeval Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Braeval Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Braeval Hotel Nairn, Scotland
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Nairn
#6 Romantic Hotel in Nairn
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Braeval Hotel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Toronto, Canada

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Braeval Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Got everything you need in a room for a nice quiet and relaxing sleep”
 of 5 bubbles Deanholder, 9 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Great comfortable and clean room”
 of 5 bubbles AlexC1958, 5 Feb 2017 | Read review
“We have only used the restaurant here so can't comment on the rooms”
 of 5 bubbles 597susana, 6 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Room 10 was comfortable, with a sea view”
 of 5 bubbles wayner985, 27 Nov 2016 | Read review
“room no.2 was very small but adequate and had a sea view.”
 of 5 bubbles F5883YWkarenp, 23 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5