We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Inverness Road, Nairn IV12 4RX Scotland
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
$68
View deal
Expedia.com
$68
View deal
ZenHotels.com
$67
View deal
Hotels.com$68
Priceline$77
Hurb$104
View all 17 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (603)
Room & Suite (121)
Dining (51)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

About

#6 of 11 hotels in Nairn
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
A delightful area in the Highlands of Scotland, the hospitality of the town is matched by the welcome that awaits guests at the Newton. Standing in 21 acres of mature parkland and gardens, yet close to the Highland Capital of Inverness, is the Newton Hotel. There are 63 en suite bedrooms and the hotel has a comfortable environment in which guests can relax. The hotel is only a 10-minute drive from Inverness Airport and within easy road and rail links, making it very accessible whichever way you choose to travel. The area hosts a wealth of attractions including the Malt Whisky Trail, Elgin Cathedral, Loch Ness, Cawdor Castle, Culloden Battlefield, the delights of Inverness or Nairn and the famous Moray Firth Dolphins.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Taxi service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Baggage storage
24-hour front desk
Parking
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Desk
Room service
Safe
Seating area
Telephone
Coffee / tea maker
Bath / shower
Hair dryer
VIP room facilities
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Show more
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Classic
Mid-range
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish
1209Reviews20Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 513
  • 405
  • 162
  • 80
  • 49
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
claire a wrote a review Nov 2022
Glasgow20 contributions8 helpful votes
This was our third visit to this hotel - we stayed for two nights in room 116 which was clean, spacious and the bed was comfortable. When we arrived, we were greeted by a friendly reception staff, then we went for tea and scones which were delicious. The staff serving them was friendly and efficient. We ate dinner on the first evening which was delicious - we both had salmon which was wonderful, then I had the cheese board which had a tasty selection of four cheeses, whilst my partner had cheesecake. The breakfast was fantastic too - good selection of hot a cold food, and the staff were great. Definitely recommend this hotel - looking forward to returning.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Murray McPhee, General Manager at Muthu Newton Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Thank you for very kind review of your stay with us. It is always good to know that guests had a positive experience and will look to return for a future visit. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and for also taking time out to place a review of your stay on TripAdvisor. I will pass your feedback to the team, they will be delighted. Best Wishes Murray McPhee General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Ian B wrote a review Nov 2022
1 contribution
Been before to this Hotel it never disappoints evening meal and breakfast were lovely and bedroom was spacious and comfortable also clean and staff were very helpful bar prices are what you would expect in a hotel so very satisfied
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Murray McPhee, General Manager at Muthu Newton Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Thank you for your kind review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. Hope you can make a return visit to the hotel in the future and thank you for taking time out to place a review of your visit on this site. I will pass your feedback onto the team. Best Wishes Murray McPhee General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Dragonaggiebash wrote a review Nov 2022
Raunds, United Kingdom19 contributions8 helpful votes
+1
Went for an afternoon tea at Muthu Newton. Initial contact via telephone was excellent as we had a couple of dietary changes to request. These were handled professionally and with respect. We even received a call back to confirm that the chef was happy with our requests and our booking was confirmed. When we arrived at the hotel, the staff at reception were warm and welcoming. We were taken through to the lounge and given the option to sit in the lounge instead of my elderly mother walking the additional way to the restaurant. This was very welcomed, accepted and appreciated by mum. The tea was replenished as and when we required it and the food was delicious. One of our requests was for plain scones rather than the fruit ones advertised in the on-line menu. It was really good with a choice of raspberry (mum loves that) and strawberry (my favourite ) jams. Which was most unusual but a lovely thought. The complimentary cheesecake were delicious white chocolate-I couldn’t resist it. The whole experience was wonderful, relaxing and enjoyable and we can’t recommend the Muthu Newton’s Afternoon Tea highly enough. Compliments to the staff we encountered, the chefs for the delicious array of sandwiches and cakes and the scones. This is definitely a must go again location. Thank you.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: It was easy to find being just a short distance from the main Inverness Aberdeen road through...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Murray McPhee, General Manager at Muthu Newton Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Thank you for your very kind review of your afternoon tea at the hotel. We are delighted you had a pleasant experience and it was good of you to place a review of your time with us.I will pass your feedback to the team, they will be pleased to hear that you had a enjoyable time and that you felt the food & service was to a high standard. Kind Regards Murray McPhee General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Judith T wrote a review Aug 2022
Strathpeffer, United Kingdom5 contributions1 helpful vote
We chose the Muthu Newton hotel in Nairn to celebrate my husband’s 70th birthday.The party consisted of my husband and myself,our 3 children ,partners ,4 grandchildren and our best man and his wife,and my sister,so a varied group. We were welcomed and had drinks in the Chaplin bar before having lunch in the conservatory which we had the sole use of and had been allowed to decorate with a couple of banners.The meal was excellent and catered for the needs of all our party one of whom was gluten free and one vegetarian and two younger children. The service was excellent and not intrusive. I wouldn’t hesitate to return for future family events and to recommend this venue to others.Thank you Murray McPhee and staff you really made our day Judith Trappitt
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Murray McPhee, General Manager at Muthu Newton Hotel
Responded 25 Aug 2022
Hello Judith Thank you for your kind review. We are delighted you enjoyed your lunch with us. I will pass your feedback to the team, it was very kind of you to take the time to make a review. after you lunch and we are very grateful Best Wishes Murray McPhee General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Parsaberdeen wrote a review Aug 2022
Edinburgh, United Kingdom28 contributions2 helpful votes
Booked dinner bed and breakfast for husband's birthday and were happy with the setting, building and large room with bath and separate shower in ensuite. However the dinner menu was limited and food served was bland, dinner service poor and bar poorly stocked, when I asked for a liqueur coffee the barman didn't have a clue and was quite rude. It's a shame because the hotel is lovely and the view to the cromarty firth is quite special especially at sunset.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Murray McPhee, General Manager at Muthu Newton Hotel
Responded 25 Aug 2022
Thank you for your review. Very disappointing that your restaurant experience was not to standard and I will take the points raised with the team regards your feedback. Kind Regards Murray McPhee General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Scenic32532144371 wrote a review Aug 2022
1 contribution
I booked the Chaplin Suite. On arrival at 6.00pm there was no promised fruit bowl or bottled water. 29 degree temperatures outside during the day and no room mini fridge. All reported to reception. Bottled water arrived within an hour but no where to keep it cool. fruit plate arrived next day. The promised mini fridge never arrived so i had to arrange my own. Hotel and rooms are very tired looking and in desperate need of a proper refresh. Room towels and bathrobes are old and tired and need to be changed out. Carpet in dining room at breakfast still had the crumbs and bits of food on it from the previous nights dinner sitting. Not one to go back to for me and certainly doesn't live up to its rating.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Murray McPhee, General Manager at Muthu Newton Hotel
Responded 25 Aug 2022
Thank you for your review. We do not provide mini fridges in rooms at present, and if this is advertised on a site we will have this removed. The housekeeping team know that fruit and water should have been in your room, and our apologises this was not provided on your arrival.We replace towels at regular intervals and will follow up on replacements for these. We have passed other feedback given to the team. We are disappointed that you felt your stay was not up to standard and we do take your comments on board regards your stay with us. Kind Regards Murray McPhee General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
MissD8410 wrote a review Aug 2022
Falkirk, United Kingdom25 contributions16 helpful votes
Stayed here for a few nights with a friend. We got the executive twin room which was great, lots of space and a nice big bathroom and comfy beds. Good breakfast each morning and the breakfast staff were very welcoming and helpful. We also had dinner one night which I couldn't fault, food was cooked perfectly and nice comfy seats at the table, good menu selection as well. Nairn beach is within walking distance but there is also a nice woodland walk next to the hotel and some Highland Cows outside to go have a wee look at. Yes the place is a little dated in some areas - but it's clean, comfortable and functional. I'm sure they will update things over time but it's a big place and can't be done over night. The only downside to our room was a family of loud seagulls guarding their babies, not that the hotel can stop this! We just used some ear plugs and problem was solved. We would definitely stay at this hotel again
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Murray McPhee, General Manager at Muthu Newton Hotel
Responded 25 Aug 2022
Thank you for your very kind review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. Very pleased that you found the found the food to a high standard and had a nice stay with us. Always good if a guests wishes to return and hope that you can make a return visit in the not to distant future. Best Wishes Murray McPhee General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
David M wrote a review Aug 2022
Edinburgh14 contributions12 helpful votes
For the price we paid for one night stay, the standard wasn't too great I'm afraid. The sea bass was dry and bland, the breakfasts were also quite tasteless. It was clean but the quality of the food let's it down.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Murray McPhee, General Manager at Muthu Newton Hotel
Responded 25 Aug 2022
Thank you for your review. Disappointed to hear that the food was not to standard for you. We have passed this feedback to the team and please accept our apologises for this. Kind Regards Murray McPhee General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
SonoranCowboy wrote a review Aug 2022
Weston, Florida53 contributions19 helpful votes
We were looking for a place to spend one-night, driving from north to south and had initially looked in Inverness, which of course has many options. But the photos of this old palace were very enticing, and we opted to stay here, for a bit more. Great choice! Our previous experience with the Muthu chain was positive (in an equally historic property in Oban) so we were confident. The staff was very welcoming, and the rooms were quite comfortable. The property and surrounding grounds are beautiful. We had a great dinner in the restaurant (best lamb of the trip) and the Scottish breakfast was also good, served by a cheerful, chatty waitress. Highly recommended!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Value
Rooms
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Murray McPhee, General Manager at Muthu Newton Hotel
Responded 25 Aug 2022
Thank you for your very kind review. We are very pleased that you had an enjoyable stay with us. It is nice to be Highly recommended and will pass your feedback to the team regards your visit to the hotel. Hope you can visit again if travelling this way. Best Wishes Murray McPhee General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jan Bertelsen wrote a review Jul 2022
6 contributions1 helpful vote
Stayed one night on a golfing trip. The rooms are fine, a little bit dated in terms of furniture, TV and so forth. However, it was clean and welcoming, so no complaints. There were some pigeons making noise during the night, although that may be a one off. The bar girl was terrific, good Scottich humour and breakfast was very good..
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Away from the pigeons
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Murray McPhee, General Manager at Muthu Newton Hotel
Responded 27 Jul 2022
Thank you for your kind review. Pleased you enjoyed your stay overall with us. Hope you can make a return visit in the future Best Wishes Murray McPhee General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$53 - $78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
newton hotel and highland nairn, newton hotel nairn
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Newton Hotel
LOCATION
United KingdomScotlandScottish HighlandsNairn
NUMBER OF ROOMS
63
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

MUTHU NEWTON HOTEL (Nairn, Scotland) - Hotel Reviews, Photos, Rate Comparison - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Muthu Newton Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Muthu Newton Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Crafty Wee Birdie Gift Shop (1.1 km), Coast Candle Co. (0.9 km), and Nairn Wool Shop (0.9 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Muthu Newton Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at Muthu Newton Hotel?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Muthu Newton Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Muthu Newton Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include One One Two Wine Bar and Deli, The Classroom, and The Bandstand Bar & Restaurant.
Is Muthu Newton Hotel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.5 km away from the centre of Nairn.
Are any cleaning services offered at Muthu Newton Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Muthu Newton Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Muthu Newton Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.
Are there any historical sites close to Muthu Newton Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Ardclach Bell Tower (7.3 km).
Does Muthu Newton Hotel have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the park view available here.