We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Winston Guest House

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Winston Guest House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow

159 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
  • More
There are newer reviews for Winston Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Showing 118: English reviews
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 June 2016 via mobile

On arrival on a wet windy afternoon left outside awaiting for someone to pop across from the best western palace. Through the glass door could see staff sorting out the laundry who could have let me in to the dry and out of the wind!! The lady that eventually came from the palace let us inside and was very nice...

Thank David A
Della E, Operations Support Manager at Winston Guest House, responded to this review

Dear David A, Thank you for posting your review about your stay at The Winston. I am so sorry to read that the service you received was so inhospitable. I can understand your disappointment and this is certainly not how we would expect our guests to be welcomed. I would like to assure you that this with will be addressed...

Wantage, United Kingdom
Reviewed 31 May 2016

easy to find, limited parking out the front, or park down the road in the carpark, pay an display, I managed to park by the side of the guest house. check in was quick an we had a room on the first floor overlooking the river an castle. room was quite large, perhaps a little on the tired side, but...

2Thank cubankid1
Della E, Operations Support Manager at Winston Guest House, responded to this review

Dear cubankid, Thank you for posting your review about the Winston. It's great that you enjoyed your visit to Inverness and that the location was perfect for you. There has been some changes and we're very excited about the future. The house is a beautiful example of Victorian splendour on the River Ness and with some investment and tender loving...

Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 April 2016

I arrived after a long train trip, Inverness seemed quite expensive but the Winston was OK, £50 a night for nice room with sizzling breakfast next morning. Well situated near shops and train station. Nice staff.

Thank Chris_Plunket
Cupar, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 April 2016 via mobile

This guest house has a great location on the banks of the River Ness close to the City centre. Rooms are clean and comfortable and the breakfast is excellent. The welcome is friendly. There is no private parking but plenty on street which is cheap and only starts from 10am.

Thank Brian P
Dundee, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 January 2016

SPENT hogmany that is 31st. . December and 1st January at this clean, spacious and welcoming guest house. Don't miss the bacon in this well cooked, hot breakfast. OK. the shower was not the best but adequate , but the room rates were good. Stones throw from city centre and right on the banks of the river Ness. would return...

Thank frank r
Letham, Scotland, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 November 2015

I stayed at this Guest House from the 11th till the 14th of November. The room was clean & tidy, the bed was really comfortable! The staff who work there are very helpful, & the breakfast is amazing! The only down point is that there is no parking- you have to park your car down the road, and pay £4.50...

1Thank Rebecca G
Turku, Finland
Reviewed 7 November 2015

Breakfast well worth the money, clean rooms, friendly an helpful staff. The location was convenient and just near the Ness river. Nice to have tea and coffee in the rooms, in general the coffee was not that great.

Thank Reima V
Stuttgart, Germany
Reviewed 3 November 2015

Good value for money accomodation in a central location directly located at the river Ness and opposite to the castle.We enjoyed our stay and recommend the place for a short trip. We had a friendly welcome. The landlady was quite helpful with providing recommendations for dinner and we got a city map of Inverness as well. The breakfast was good...

1Thank Stephan127
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 November 2015 via mobile

Handy Handy for the theatre cathedral and shops and not expensive. Splendid double room with two double beds! Superb view over the River Ness towards the Castle. Easy walking distance into town, almost next to the cathedral and very close to Eden Court theatre. Public car park by the cathedral. Tiny but adequate toilet and shower. Large tv and (unusually)...

Thank Artjo
Hong Kong, China
Reviewed 18 October 2015 via mobile

We spent 2 nights there. The location is easily found and with parking. It is great in surrounding areas near the river. You can walk along two sides of the river bank in the morning or at night. Restaurants, bars and cinema are nearby. The room is tidy and breakfast is good. Will stay in again in next time.

Thank William FT W

53 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

All Traveller Photos (43)
Bathroom (6)
Room/Suite (12)
View from Room (4)
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Other (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

All Management Photos (10)
Room/Suite (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Inverness hotels
0.0 km away
BEST WESTERN Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa
0.1 km away
Columba Hotel, Inverness
Columba Hotel, Inverness
#27 of 34 in Inverness
1,123 reviews
0.2 km away
Highland Apartments by Mansley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Ardentorrie Guesthouse
Ardentorrie Guesthouse
#20 of 246 in Inverness
150 reviews
0.4 km away
Hawthorn Lodge Guest House
Hawthorn Lodge Guest House
#120 of 246 in Inverness
37 reviews
0.0 km away
MacDonald House
MacDonald House
#139 of 246 in Inverness
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices


  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Winston Guest House and Cottage is attractive end terrace Inverness guest house situated in the heart of Inverness on the banks of the River Ness opposite Inverness Castle. You are minutes walk away from shops, restaurants and entertainment in Inverness. And just a five minute walk from Eden Court Theatre. With a lovely view over the river to the castle you are perfectly positioned to explore the city of Inverness or make it your base to see the Scottish Highlands. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Winston Guest House

Address: 10 Ardross Terrace, Inverness IV3 5NQ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Price Range: ₹ 6,217 - ₹ 19,372 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Winston Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Winston Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Winston Guest House Hotel Inverness
Winston Guest House Inverness, Scotland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Winston Guest House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“If possible, get a room facing the river”
 of 5 bubbles RDyhr, 19 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Go elsewhere !”
 of 5 bubbles Artjo, 15 Sep 2016 | Read review
“views of the river and castle”
 of 5 bubbles cubankid1, 31 May 2016 | Read review
“three floors but room 1a has river view don't know about the rest”
 of 5 bubbles B570FTfrankr, 7 Jan 2016 | Read review
“let them know if you have problems with stairs as they are steep up to the rooms.”
 of 5 bubbles spencer1104, 11 Sep 2015 | Read review
5 of 5