We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Columba Hotel, Inverness

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Columba Hotel, Inverness
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,126 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Columba Hotel, Inverness
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,047: English reviews
Santa Clarita, California
Reviewed 21 May 2015 via mobile

This hotel sits on the River Ness right across from the Inverness castle. Our room, however, was in the far back looking over an alley. In fact, to get to our room, we had to take the lift to the first level, down the corridor, then down a flight of stairs. We were barely greeted, given a key with no...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank KGfromSCV
Amy W, General Manager at Columba Hotel, Inverness, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review following a recent stay with us. I am sorry that we let ourselves on arrival and will ensure we correct this. Unfortunately, we do not have car parking on site but we do have an unloading bay for guests to use. We are a city centre hotel so not all the views are...

Byron Bay
Reviewed 20 May 2015

I was really rather tossing up between 2/3 stars for this... but ultimately, had to go with 2. This Hotel is rather dated, but that itself ins't the problem - it is in a rather nice spot for a visit to Inverness. But with dated, usually comes the normal sorts of things - smaller rooms, etc. In the hotel, don't...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 288djangos
Amy W, General Manager at Columba Hotel, Inverness, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for our review following a recent stay with us. I am pleased that we ticked the boxes on service and cleanliness and location, but I am sorry if you had a disturbed night sleep. I will investigate to see if we can find out what the issue was. I will share your feedback with my team...

Ripon, California
Reviewed 18 May 2015

We arrived during a nasty downpour. We were greeted by staff. Treated very well. Room was great. Hallways were a maze....needed to leave breadcrumbs to find our way back to entrance. Room very clean, modern, quiet enough, comfortable. Dinner in their dining room was fine, but nothing special. Service was polite and efficient. Yes, I would stay there again.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jan C
Amy W, General Manager at Columba Hotel, Inverness, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review following your recent stay with us. I was delighted that you enjoyed your time with us and will share your very kind words with all my team. I do hope we can welcome oyu back soon. With best regards, Amy and Team Columba

Reviewed 17 May 2015 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel on a Friday night for just a night away. To start the list this is a large hotel with NO parking to go along side it we were driving around for over 30 minutes looking for somewhere to park eventually having to park in the car park next to the cathedral which I did happen...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Amy Beth C
Amy W, General Manager at Columba Hotel, Inverness, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your thoughts following a recent stay with us. I am sorry that we did not meet with your expectations. We do not advertise we have car parking on any booking site but yes there is lots of car parking bays around the hotel and a car park 450 yards from the unloding bay outside the...

Livingston, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 May 2015 via mobile

Booked here for an overnight room was amazing overlooking the Castle and River Ness. Breakfast was very tasty and plenty of choice. Will definitely be staying again when in the area. Staff are very attentive and professional a credit to the Hotel. Keep up the good work.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank StevePaton
Amy W, General Manager at Columba Hotel, Inverness, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for posting a reveiw following your recent stay with us. I was delighted you enjoyed your time with us and will share you kind words with my team. I do hope we have the chance to welcome you back again very soon. With warm regards, Amy and Team Columba

Reviewed 14 May 2015 via mobile

We stayed at Columba hotel in Inverness on our way around the UK and we found it to be in a lovely location by the river. The hotel itself is a little dated but that aside it is a very comfortable and clean place to stay I would highly recommend the hotel as the perfect place to stay in Inverness....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Lorelle A
Amy W, General Manager at Columba Hotel, Inverness, responded to this review

Dear Guest, WOW - Thank you very much for your review following your recent stay with us. I was deligthed that you enjoyed your time with us and will share you very kind words with my team. I hope we have the chance to welcome you back again in UK. With warm regards, Amy and Team Columba

Stonehaven, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 May 2015

This hotel is in a great location and has very nice rooms. We had lovely buffet breakfasts both mornings and had a nice evening meal on second night. Room was cleaned daily with fresh towels etc. Staff were very friendly and helpful. No parking available, but cathedral car park, a 5 minute walk away, is £4.50 for 24 hours.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank richie1303
Amy W, General Manager at Columba Hotel, Inverness, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Many thanks for your review following your recent stay with us. I was delighted that you enjoyed your time with us and will share your kind words with all my team. I do hope we can wlecome you back very soon. With warm regards, Amy and Team Columba

Reviewed 9 May 2015 via mobile

What I really liked about this hotel was its location in Inverness, across the river with a view of the castle. You can't beat that! The parking was easy... down the street at the Cathedral, with a pay and display ticket. The food at the pub was exceptional. The staff at Reception and in the pub, were great. A full...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Christine S
Amy W, General Manager at Columba Hotel, Inverness, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Many thanks for your reveiw following your recent stay with us. I was delighted that you enjoyed your time with us and will share you kind words with my team. I do hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon. With warm regards, Amy andTeam Columba

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 May 2015

Ideally, everyone should have a room at the front, overlooking the River Ness and with a fine view of the city and the castle. Sadly, this is not practical and I had one at the side overlooking - well, nothing much. Otherwise, this is a nice solid old place. Traditional, without laying it on too thick, large comfortable rooms and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Robert E
Amy W, General Manager at Columba Hotel, Inverness, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your reveiw following your recent stay with us. I was delighted that you enjoyed your time with us and will share your valuable feedback with my team. I do hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon. With warm regards, Amy and Team Columba

Reviewed 5 May 2015

Have stayed at the Columba a number of times. This time was ok. Good location. Accommodation felt a bit tired. We did not eat in the Restaraunt but we did have breakfast which I didn't really enjoy. No hotel parking but there is a cheap option near the hotel.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Donaldjmac
Amy W, General Manager at Columba Hotel, Inverness, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review following your recent stay with us. All feedback is greatly received and will take on board your comments. I am pleased that you enjoyed breakfast and I do hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon. With best regards, Amy

270 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (243)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (33)
Viewed
Room/Suite (35)
Viewed
View from Room (20)
Viewed
Bathroom (17)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (131)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (27)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Inverness hotels
0.0 km away
BEST WESTERN Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa
0.3 km away
Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments
0.4 km away
Royal Highland Hotel
Royal Highland Hotel
#19 of 34 in Inverness
1,715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Premier Inn Inverness Centre (River Ness) Hotel
0.4 km away
Glenmoriston Town House
Glenmoriston Town House
#14 of 34 in Inverness
710 reviews
0.4 km away
The Waterside Hotel
The Waterside Hotel
#17 of 34 in Inverness
554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Food & drink at the hotel
McNab's Bar & Bistro
McNab's Bar & Bistro
Cuisines: Bar, British, Scottish, Pub
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Family Rooms
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to Columba Hotel, Inverness UK. Columba Hotel Inverness by Compass Hospitality is a 4-star hotel built in 1881. The hotel boasts a perfect position in the very heart of Inverness, yet located in a peaceful area offering marvelous views of Inverness Castle and the River Ness. There are 82 en suite bedrooms including a deluxe suite, many with river and castle views, restaurant and bar. The decor of Columba Hotel combines contemporary style and amenities with traditional comfort each room features excellent facilities as well as free high-speed wireless is available throughout the building. During the winter, the trees lining along Ness Walk are beautifully decked with fairy lights. The city has a host of historic buildings, notably in the Old Town, as well as fascinating shops from the Victorian Market to the new award-winning Eastgate centre which is a just a short walk away. You can also take a stroll to Inverness Castle or St Andrew's Cathedral, set alongside the River Ness, one of Britain's most beautiful riverside settings. There is a circular walk from the castle along the river and through the Ness Islands and you can watch anglers trying to catch Atlantic salmon - or try it yourself with a daily ticket. There are forest walks and views of the Moray Firth from Craig Phadrig, the hill that towers over the city. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Columba Hotel, Inverness

Address: 7 Ness Walk, Inverness IV3 5NF, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Price Range: ₹ 5,276 - ₹ 17,978 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Columba Hotel, Inverness 4*
Number of rooms: 82
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Columba Hotel, Inverness reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Columba Hotel, Inverness Scotland
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Inverness
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Columba Hotel, Inverness staff and other travellers.
15 questions
Ask a question
north lanarkshire
5 months ago
11 months ago
Darlington, County Durham
Tangerang, Indonesia

See all questions (15)

Questions? Get answers from Columba Hotel, Inverness staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“dont have 112 its very noisy - but we did get a change of room”
 of 5 bubbles GlasgowBella, 29 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Overlooking river probably the best but rear rooms have fine mountain views”
 of 5 bubbles FredM39, 28 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Run for the hills”
 of 5 bubbles stephen0512, 20 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Pot luck with the budget rooms.”
 of 5 bubbles Dodnbunty285, 12 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Get a room on the front for the view”
 of 5 bubbles Lesley3405, 4 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5