We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments

Save
Share
7/17 Ness Bank, Inverness IV2 4SF Scotland
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
$120
View deal
Travelocity
Agoda.com
$99
View deal
travelup.com
Priceline
Hurb$122
View all 15 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (1130)
Room & Suite (438)
Dining (69)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
  • Contactless check-in
  • Contactless check-out
Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#26 of 37 hotels in Inverness
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
The Glen Mhor Hotel offers Victorian townhouses and apartments located on the banks of the River Ness, a 3-minute walk from Inverness city centre and a 15-minute drive from Loch Ness. Accommodation is divided between 8 charming Victorian town houses (please advise reception if you have a building preference). Many rooms have wonderful views across the river to Inverness Cathedral and Eden Court Theatre Our in house bar restaurant - Nicky Tam's - offers a relaxed and casual atmosphere with a menu serving traditional Scottish food with the finest local produce, ales and premium spirits... The Ness Bank area is a charming conservation area in the city, set below the castle and opposite both The Eden Court Theatre and Inverness Cathedral. Glen Mhor is a 5-minute drive from the A9, 8 miles from Inverness Airport and a 10-minute walk from the train station. It is ideal for exploring Inverness and the surrounding Highlands.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Paid private parking on-site
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
24-hour front desk
Laundry service
Parking
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Show more
Room features
Room service
Iron
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
Great View
Languages Spoken
English, French
2408Reviews15Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 773
  • 724
  • 442
  • 265
  • 204
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
silsagaz wrote a review 1 Oct
Aviles, Spain16 contributions6 helpful votes
Lovely wide rooms with a view to the river. We also enjoyed the hotel restaurant for dinner and breakfast, which was really complete. The hotel is situated just next to the city center. Also, the lady at the recepción was really kind (there was a small problem with the door key to the room, something with the sensor out of battery) and keen to resolve any issue promptly and efficiently (thank you!). We hope to come back soon, next time hopefully for a longer stay and so, continue exploring the highlands from Inverness.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Rooms with view to the riverside are totally recommend. Breakfast really complete and delicious.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Emmanuel Moine, General Manager at Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments
Responded yesterday
Dear Guest, Many thanks for your kind review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you again. Best regards Emmanuel Moine and Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
DrNel wrote a review 1 Oct
Wales, United Kingdom7 contributions5 helpful votes
Such a terrible place, more like a Butlins holiday camp than a hotel. Tiny and dirty rooms. The bathroom was filthy. The toilet was stained brown. The towels were tiny and paper thin. Breakfast was an experience. You had to fill out a form to order food. I had ad to ask three times for a cup of tea and toast was never forthcoming. This used to be a lovely hotel when it was run by the previous owners. Now they are clearly just in the business of packing as many people in as possible. No Scots beer at the bar. In short, if you looking for legendary Highland hospitality, do not come here.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Do not book unless you like to be ripped off and treated like cattle in a market
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
refmd wrote a review Sep 2022
Atchison, Kansas32 contributions27 helpful votes
Spent 4 days here & was very pleased with the room and staff. Not really close to sightseeing but reasonable. Nearby restaurant OK but menu limited. Inconvenient connection between lobby, rooms, & restaurant as there's a gravel strip ~20' wide that makes moving luggage from reception area to room difficult.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Value
Rooms
Service
Room Tip: Ask for lower numbered rooms to be on ground floor
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Emmanuel Moine, General Manager at Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments
Responded yesterday
Dear Guest, Many thanks for your kind review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you again. Best regards Emmanuel Moine and Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Andy220265 wrote a review Sep 2022
Nuneaton, United Kingdom8 contributions
We had a great stay , room was perfect and overlooked the river. Breakfast service was a little slow but the quality of produce and the politeness of staff more than made up for it. We were a little hesitant to book here having read some of the previous reviews however our concerns were totally unfounded and we would definitely return.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Emmanuel Moine, General Manager at Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments
Responded 4 days ago
Dear Guest, Many thanks for your kind review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you again. Best regards Emmanuel Moine and Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Margaret S wrote a review Sep 2022
Glasgow, United Kingdom30 contributions9 helpful votes
We booked a classic double for our two nights. On checking in we were given key to apartment 9 which when dark was down an unlit alley. Bedroom was clean and comfortable but the rest of the apartment needed decorated and a good clean. Disappoined. Would not stay again.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Emmanuel Moine, General Manager at Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments
Responded 6 days ago
Dear Sir, We are very sorry to hear of your disappointment. While we appreciate this apartment needs to be upgraded, we gave you a complimentary upgrade. We are in the process of refurbishing all apartments and bedrooms, 70% done and keep going... We are still hopeful that you will give us an other chance. Best regards Emmanuel Moine and Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Martha S wrote a review Sep 2022
Palo Alto, California8 contributions
Other people’s reviews lead me to think that parts of this hotel must be nice, but the wing we stayed in — adjacent to the restaurant and beer garden — was not. Our double would have been ok as a single, but we couldn’t even pass each other.. The restaurant is lovely, and dinner was excellent. Breakfast was another matter. We were part of a group and ordered from a barebones menu. Staffing problems created delays. Biggest plus: it’s located along the beautiful Ness River and a lovely walk into town.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Emmanuel Moine, General Manager at Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments
Responded 6 days ago
Dear Guest, Thank you for sharing your constructive feedback. We are in the process of refurbishing all apartments and bedrooms, 70% done and we keep going... We are glad that you enjoyed our restaurant, and the location of the hotel otherwise We look forward to welcoming you again soon Best regards Emmanuel Moine and Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
twickski wrote a review Sep 2022
Sedona, Arizona167 contributions70 helpful votes
Was disappointed in our stay at Glen Mohr. We stayed in room 502 in the Struhn building which smelled musty and wet. The carpet had been pulled up and the wet musty odor was terrible. Room 502 does not have Internet and has significant mold in the shower area. I mentioned to the clerk at the front desk and she knew the room had no Internet as previous guests had complained about it as the building had recent storm damage. Also, the stairs going to room 502 are barely passable. I couldn’t even get my suitcase up. Seems like this hotel caters to large bus tours not the individual traveler. Won’t stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Request a room facing River not back parking lot.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Emmanuel Moine, General Manager at Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments
Responded 6 days ago
Dear Guest, We recently had a flooding and had to remove the carpet indeed... Our IT engineer fixed our internet issue. We apologise for the inconvenience caused. We are still hopeful that you will give us an other chance. Best regards Emmanuel Moine and Team.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Tom M wrote a review Sep 2022
Marina, California67 contributions22 helpful votes
The route to the room through a narrow low clearance hallway and then up a very narrow staircase was a prelude to a tiny room with hard beds. The provided breakfast was runny eggs from a carton I presume and truly terrible coffee. We were booked here as part of our group tour, I would not ever choose this as an option on my own.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Avoid booking here
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Emmanuel Moine, General Manager at Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Guest, So sorry to hear of your poor experience. You had booked a single room with a single bed, and I appreciate the room is smaller indeed. For more space and more comfort, we obviously advise our guests to book an upgrade... We are still hopeful to welcome you back to the Glen Mhor Hotel. Best regards Emmanuel Moine and Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Holiday lover wrote a review Sep 2022
Chelmsford, United Kingdom4 contributions1 helpful vote
Our room was nice and so were the staff. However, we booked our breakfast table for 7 and when it arrived after 30 mins it was cold. We asked for hot toast (to replace the cold we were given) and that never arrived. We would suggest the hotel does a buffet if it cannot cope?
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Value
Rooms
Service
Room Tip: River view is nice
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Emmanuel Moine, General Manager at Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Guest, So sorry to hear of your disappointment on breakfast. We obviously had issues with your table. Sincere apologies. We can't find out which group you were in from this platform. Please send us a wee note as we want you back! We are hopeful to welcome you back. Best regards Emmanuel Moine and Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Sarah C wrote a review Sep 2022
1 contribution
We had a wonderful room overlooking the river, the hotel is in a great location, the staff were friendly & helpful and the breakfast was fantastic. I highly recommend staying here. I will be staying again!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Emmanuel Moine, General Manager at Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Guest, Many thanks for your lovely review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to welcoming you again soon. Best regards Emmanuel Moine and Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$64 - $154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
glen mhor hotel, hotel glen mhor, glen mhor inverness, inverness hotel glen mhor
LOCATION
United KingdomScotlandScottish HighlandsInverness
NUMBER OF ROOMS
52
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments
Which popular attractions are close to Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments?
Nearby attractions include River Ness (0.3 km), North Coast 500 (0.3 km), and Eden Court Theatre (0.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and complimentary tea during their stay.
Is parking available at Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments?
Yes, free parking and paid private parking on-site are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments?
Conveniently located restaurants include Rocpool Restaurant, Nar Mediterranean Turkish Restaurant, and Revolution Bar.
Is Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.7 km away from the centre of Inverness.
Does Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and French.
Are there any historical sites close to Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Inverness Castle Viewpoint (0.3 km), Inverness Town House (0.4 km), and Highland Railway Company 1914-1919 Memorial (0.7 km).
Does Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the river view available here.