We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Royal Highland Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Royal Highland Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,687 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Royal Highland Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,550: English reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Hotel is old and vintage with a lovely theme and art on the wall's night staff were great dinner was good, although the staff at reception couldn't even crack a smile it looked like they never even wanted to be there, very rude. breakfast was ok although you had to get your fry ups yourself premier inns do a better...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Emma M
RoyalHighlandHotel, Public Relations Manager at Royal Highland Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for the review - we apologise for any inconvenience and we would look forward to welcome you again.

Stranraer, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed with 2 friends for 2 nights we had a lovely time, the staff food and cleanliness of the hotel were all excellent, will definitely be back 😃 The hotel is of the old style but has a very good menu and selection of cocktails, the staff were friendly and helpful at all times .

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Wilma S
RoyalHighlandHotel, Public Relations Manager at Royal Highland Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for the kind review and we would look forward to welcome you again.

Damariscotta, Maine
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Great hotel in an excellent location, within walking distance to just about everything. Staff was very friendly and courteous and over-the-top with hospitality. Our twin room overlooked the train station but it was very quiet. Gorgeous central staircase too and high tea was incredible. The attached restaurant was a bonus! My sister and I enjoyed our stay very much.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Marsha M
RoyalHighlandHotel, Public Relations Manager at Royal Highland Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for the kind review and we would look forward to welcome you again.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Recently stayed here hotel is lovely beautiful big staircase. Room was lovely & clean comfortable beds our view wasn't the best as we looked out onto the air conditioning system. But I suppose someone's room has to it didn't bother us as cause the hotel is so central we were out most of the time. Had breakfast both mornings was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Audrey M
Forres, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Nice reception area and bedrooms, shame about the staff. Very rude! No greeting, not even a smile. Didn't have the room we payed for so we had at least a 15 minute wait to get a room. No apologises from the receptionist about the inconvenience, came across as very unimpressed and that we were obviously a nuisance. Not impressed and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank csord
RoyalHighlandHotel, Public Relations Manager at Royal Highland Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for the review and we apologise for any inconvenience. We have noted your points for initiating corrective action and we would be delighted to have with us once again.

Doune, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I had both tea and an early evening meal prior to getting my train. It was wonderful to come into the warmth and comfort of the hotel but I was disappointed by the rather less welcoming staff. A smile doesn't cost a thing and it makes a huge difference to the guest. Tea was very good. My meal in the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank fionag0
RoyalHighlandHotel, Public Relations Manager at Royal Highland Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for the review and while we are delighted that you had enjoyed your brief visit to our Hotel - we also apologise for the observations stated and would definitely look into the same for initiating appropriate corrective actions.We would look forward to welcome you as an overnight guest so that you can enjoy our heritage rooms as well.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Traditional hotel, room nice and warm very clean, shower water hot hot hot, tea and cofee in room. Pleasant staff very helpful. The location of this hotel is excellent. Its just outside the train station, 1 min walk. The hotel do an afternoon tea. And a vey nice cheese board and two large glasses of wine for 18 pounds. They...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank YVGALBRAITH
RoyalHighlandHotel, Public Relations Manager at Royal Highland Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for the kind review and we are delighted that you had an enjoyable stay and enjoyed our Ash Restaurant and the Art Gallery Cafe - we would look forward to welcome you again.

Belo Horizonte, MG
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I stayed in this fancy hotel for 6 nights while we visited Inverness, Loch Ness and Aviemore. We got a goood discount since it was off season and it was completely worth it! The Hotel is very close to the city centre and the bus station and the staff is exceptionally helpfull

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lauvilu
RoyalHighlandHotel, Public Relations Manager at Royal Highland Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for the kind review and we are delighted that you had an enjoyable stay - Team Royal Highland would look forward to welcome you again.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The location is perfect for being in the centre of the town especially if travelling by train. We ate out for our evening meal but we enjoyed some nice drinks in the bar. Avoid the breakfast it was horrid. I am sure I would be fed better in prison ! Also it was very expensive. Next time I would go...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LadyBoris
RoyalHighlandHotel, Public Relations Manager at Royal Highland Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for the kind review and we are delighted that you had an enjoyable stay and we apologise that our Full Scottish Buffet breakfast did not come upto your expectations and we would appreciate if you can email us over with more details so that we can have a look at the same - and, we would look forward...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We booked a room for two. The room was alright. Spacious but not very well done. It indeed is a famous quaint hotel but it needs to be kept well. The bathrooms were POOR, the flush broke, the drains jammed. BIG low. The breakfast in the morning was good with a decent variety. The location is great with a car...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tejvir S
RoyalHighlandHotel, Public Relations Manager at Royal Highland Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for the review and we apologise for any inconvenience - we hope you had taken some time to complete our feedback questionnaire so that we can take serious corrective action as it is very rarely that we come across such observations. We are also delighted that you had an enjoyable stay in the Hotel as well as in...

612 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (476)
Viewed
Bathroom (37)
Viewed
Room/Suite (78)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (122)
Viewed
View from Room (9)
Viewed
Dining (19)
Viewed
0:59
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (210)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (132)
Viewed
Amenities (21)
Viewed
Classic Twin Room (22)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
Royal Room (24)
Viewed
The Hotel (50)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Inverness hotels
0.5 km away
BEST WESTERN Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa
0.4 km away
Premier Inn Inverness Centre (River Ness) Hotel
0.6 km away
Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
Kingsmills Hotel
Kingsmills Hotel
#7 of 34 in Inverness
1,583 reviews
5.4 km away
Culloden House
Culloden House
#1 of 34 in Inverness
490 reviews
0.7 km away
The Waterside Hotel
The Waterside Hotel
#17 of 34 in Inverness
543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Dry Cleaning
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Royal Highland Hotel is the oldest hotel in the centre of the Highland capital, Inverness. In 2000, the property was carefully restored, retaining its unique character associated with the bygone age. As soon as you enter the hotel you will appreciate this. In the foyer the grand staircase, the inspiration for the Titanic's staircase, leads to the 84 spacious refurbished bedrooms - all with very high ceilings. The decor is rich with traditional furniture and deep colours. The rooms all have soft furnishings and antique style furniture. The excellent bathrooms are generally medium to large in size. For over 151 years, the hotel has been looking after travellers from all over the world. Perhaps its popularity stems from the fact the hotel is a grand place to stay. Large bedrooms, large lounge areas, quiet meeting rooms, good food, prime location and friendly staff all play their part. All local amenities close to hand, but within a 5 minute drive you are out into the dramatic Highlands. Lochness is only 7 miles from the hotel. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Royal Highland Hotel

Address: 18 Academy Street, Inverness IV1 1LG, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Price Range: ₹ 4,495 - ₹ 22,893 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Highland Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 86
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and SpeedyBooker.com so you can book your Royal Highland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Highland Inverness
Hotel Royal Highland
Royal Highland Hotel Inverness, Scotland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Royal Highland Hotel staff and other travellers.
14 questions
Ask a question
solana beach
17 days ago
New York City, New York
25 days ago
6 months ago
Stornoway, United Kingdom

See all questions (14)

Questions? Get answers from Royal Highland Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Book somewhere else, avoid this place.”
 of 5 bubbles lesleywalker2014, 23 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Don't go for 212 if you want any sleep. 216 was fine.”
 of 5 bubbles blonde_comment, 22 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Anything towards back of hotel, our room overlooked the Main Street and was noisy with late night revellers.”
 of 5 bubbles Q8354RFkarenm, 20 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Go elsewhere”
 of 5 bubbles alanl809, 30 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Station Courtyard rooms quieter. Our plus was the fact that the hotel is in the station complex, great for DIY rail holidays.”
 of 5 bubbles nigelb974, 28 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5