We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Teaninich Castle Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Inverness
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
View Map
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow

22 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Showing 21: English reviews
Start your review of Teaninich Castle Hotel
 Click to rate
the highlands
Reviewed 1 February 2012

after reading the last review we thought by the end of january everything would be up and running after xmas/new yr, how wrong we were! the caretaker didnt know bookings were still being taken and told us the bar was closed and the chef is away at weekends (arnt most places more busy at weekends?) so the restaurant was also...

8Thank MeandSally
Wick, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 January 2012

Arrived at hotel after making a booking for 1 night dinner bed and breakfast. Caretaker did not know we were due to arrive then he informed us chef was still on holiday so no dinner available. (Uncertain about breakfast) Room was cold with grubby carpet, no milk to make a hot drink and poor services available in the bathroom. (no...

7Thank ER0110
Reviewed 20 August 2011

I had my wedding here on the sixth of august and was absolutely fantastic jane and all her staff did an absolutely fantastic job and made my day really special could not fault anything. The chef was amazing the food was out of this world . My room was stunning and spacious and the bed was the softest i have...

Thank nicole s
Reviewed 12 August 2011

Great exterior and entry. Huge room and bathroom but terrible room decor. Dorm look pine furniture, mission brown doors and skirts, very 1970 budget look and feel. So excited to stay in a castle but was bitterly disappointed with the interior.... Saying that, the staff were great and the Chef superb. Had one of our best dinner experiences in ages....

6Thank traveldreamer61
Reviewed 8 August 2011

We had a very unfortunate stay at the Teaninich Castle. The room we had for the first night was very nice but unfortunately there was no hot water due to a plumbing problem. The next day we were moved to another room which was a real disappoinment. There was a water heater in the bathroom which was noisy. The avocado...

6Thank sasScotland
jane01349, Manager at Teaninich Castle Hotel, responded to this review

I am really sorry to here your stay was so disapointing, The second room you were given is newly refurbished with all new furniture, we had the boiler looked at the plumer states that it is fine. unfortunatly the building is very old and some times there can be some noises. I explained to you before you checked in that...

Livingston, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 August 2011

The castle was excellent - small but very friendly and the rooms were excellent and of very good size. Definatley recommend that you eat in the restaurant as the food was of a very high quality and good value. All the staff were excellent Can't wait to visit again and to bring the rest of my family for a stay

2Thank Livilioness
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 July 2011

This is my second stay here at Teaninich Castle - by request as I had the pleasure of staying here last September. A real gem of a place here in the highlands. Picturesque, secluded but within walking distance of Alness and the two Distilleries. The place is clean, food - above excellent (compliments to chef every night), and all the...

1Thank parslad
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 July 2011

We were staying close by and picked this place to go to for a meal and glad that we did as the building is very impressive, old castle in it's own grounds. We were greeted by a very friendly waitress, as we walked in the main door, who showed us through to the dining room and our table. The menu...

1Thank donsloon
Reading, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 June 2011

We had planned this night as our 1 luxury night of our road trip in Scotland - staying in a scottish castle! We opted for the four poster bed with exclusive use of hot tub, champagne and chocolates. Great deal for £140, so we thought. The sat nav took us to the distillery rather than the hotel itself. When I...

10Thank linzi60
jane01349, Manager at Teaninich Castle Hotel, responded to this review

I am really sorry that you felt our breakfast came from morrison as this is not true, all our sausages and black pudding etc come from our local butchers, there was a wedding on the night before you arrived, the guests were enjoying the lounge up stairs for meeting up with there family. The land was sold many years ago...

Reviewed 4 May 2011

My husband and I travelled from Sweden for my nephew's wedding and it was worth the trip. We stayed 3 days and enjoyed a 'full Scottish' breakfast every morning freshly cooked. The wedding was well organised and expertly carried out by the friendly and efficient staff. The location was perfect for wedding pictures with spring blossom on the trees. The...

1Thank stumpan94

3 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

All Traveller Photos (3)
View from Room (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Inverness
13.8 km away
Tulloch Castle Hotel
Tulloch Castle Hotel
#1 of 3 in Dingwall
666 reviews
4.3 km away
Kincraig Castle Hotel
Kincraig Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Invergordon
313 reviews
17.5 km away
Mansfield Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
25.0 km away
Dornoch Castle Hotel
Dornoch Castle Hotel
#2 of 6 in Dornoch
721 reviews
23.7 km away
Culloden House
Culloden House
#1 of 34 in Inverness
490 reviews
26.5 km away
Loch Ness Country House Hotel at Dunain Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices


  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service

Additional Information about Teaninich Castle Hotel

Address: Alness, Inverness IV17 0XB, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Number of rooms: 11
Also Known As:
Teaninich Castle Hotel Inverness, Scotland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Teaninich Castle Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Change hotel”
 of 5 bubbles ER0110, 4 Jan 2012 | Read review
1 of 1