We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Royal Hotel, Caithness

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Royal Hotel, Caithness
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

322 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 269: English reviews
Start your review of Royal Hotel, Caithness
 Click to rate
Glasgow
Reviewed 1 week ago

The Royal Hotel is right in the middle of town. The room I had was fine, usual old hotel drawbacks about noise etc but all in all in was good value. The breakfast was fine and the staff were friendly. The bar did not open till after 5 when I was there and it was quite quiet. Maybe something to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Garygilmore77
Worcestershire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed 1 night at the royal in early March...Ok it looks dated but for what we paid (£55) for 2 of us 1 night B&B it was very good.Very good location for a look around the town...free car park and a good chinese up the road!.The shower in our room was the best i had in Scotland!!Our breakfast was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Martin G
Prestwick, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Yes, it is an old coach house but, they've had enough time to spruce it up. I'm not sure when they started but it doesn't look finished. For £40 single b&b it's the cheapest and for that the drawbacks are:- creaking boards, splashing water outside the window, no mirror light to shave and waitress recycles the unused milk on the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Peter D
North East UK
Reviewed 17 February 2017 via mobile

As other reviews state, the hotel could do with some tlc and updating - but it's an old hotel and you get what you pay for in my opinion. I actually found it quite charming with it's winding corridors etc. The rooms are large - and warm - don't know how other people think it's cold as we had to...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank shewolf77
Dundee, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 February 2017

Staff tried hard but this poor hotel is badly in need of some updating and TLC. Positives first - staff were pleasant, room was clean,shower had power, food was very tasty, B&B rate was cheap...BUT hotel was cold though-out, our room had two small single beds and two single glazed windows, tiny tv and towels had seen better days (but...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Karen H
Reviewed 13 February 2017 via mobile

There's potential in this place that's just not being realised. It looked slightly shabby and down at heel. It had the feel of somewhere that didn't need to compete for customers. Breakfast was slightly lack lustre. I'd look elsewhere if I came back to Thurso.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Toddy62
Toronto
Reviewed 27 December 2016

WRETCHED. Sleep in your car. I'll try to itemize things & provide some pictures, which speak better than any words. THE STAFF Terrible, just terrible. You can tell that if at one time they cared, they've long since given up any hope. In the restaurant they let food drop to the floor & re-position it on plates, the bar hasn't...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Angela H
Hamish M, General Manager at Royal Hotel, Caithness, responded to this review

“My apologies that you were dismayed during your stay in June. However, I would like to assure others reading your feedback that the comments are grossly exaggerated. We certainly do not, nor have ever had, any issues with cockroaches or anything remotely similar and the suggestion of 2 – 3 inches of dust is simply untrue. It is a shame...

Tadcaster
Reviewed 4 December 2016 via mobile

This is the coldest most dated knackered hotel I have ever stayed in and I've been to eastern europe. The room was freezing cold not overly clean with a dated bathroom. Breakfast was basic and very greasy. Bar was reasonable. If there was anywhere else available I would of moved rooms. This place might be cheap but it's needs to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Faultrated
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 November 2016

I booked this hotel for 34 people as we had a rugby game at Caithness RFC and were travelling from Glasgow. From the onset, the hotel could not have been more helpful to make the booking and on arrival, were so helpful and pleasant - just what you want after a 6 hour journey! Everything ran so smoothly from dinner,...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Jade938
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 November 2016

A traditional high street hotel offering excellent value for money - a grand old building needing a little updating but it's clean, warm and tidy with pleasant staff. The cooked breakfast is very good. Limited parking at the side of the building but this is no problem as there is plenty of free parking within yards of the hotel. With...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Colin O

54 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (48)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (27)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (6)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Thurso hotels
8.1 km away
Forss House Hotel
Forss House Hotel
#1 of 9 in Thurso
273 reviews
0.6 km away
Park Hotel
Park Hotel
#2 of 9 in Thurso
216 reviews
0.3 km away
Station Hotel
Station Hotel
#6 of 9 in Thurso
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Pentland Hotel
Pentland Hotel
#7 of 9 in Thurso
90 reviews
7.4 km away
The Castletown Hotel
The Castletown Hotel
#1 of 1 in Castletown
199 reviews
17.5 km away
Castle Arms Hotel
Castle Arms Hotel
#3 of 9 in Thurso
231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located in the centre of Thurso, one of the most northerly towns in Mainland Scotland, the Royal Hotel provides a perfect place for business or leisure breaks. There are 103 en-suite rooms, all offering wireless Internet access, Freeview TV and tea and coffee-making facilities. The hotel is close to the beach and guests wishing to visit the exquisite scenery of Orkney can take a short ferry journey to this captivating island. Further sightseeing opportunities can be found at John O’Groats, the Castle of Mey or Old St Peter’s Church. Guests arriving for business purposes can make use of our business centre services and conference rooms, all with Wi-Fi access. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Royal Hotel, Caithness

Address: Traill Street, Thurso KW14 8EH, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Caithness and Sutherland > Thurso
Price Range: ₹ 5,764 - ₹ 7,337 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Hotel, Caithness 3*
Number of rooms: 102
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Royal Hotel, Caithness reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Hotel, Caithness Hotel Thurso
Royal Hotel Thurso
Royal Hotel, Caithness Thurso, Scotland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Royal Hotel, Caithness staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question
Missoula, Montana
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
10 months ago

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Royal Hotel, Caithness staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“If you care about noise etc speak to the staff”
 of 5 bubbles Garygilmore77, 16 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Don't stay in room 151- perpetual noise of rain from broken gutter.”
 of 5 bubbles 294peterd, 4 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Ask to have heating on prior to arrival or a heater added to your room.”
 of 5 bubbles 123kaz321, 13 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Sleep in Your Car”
 of 5 bubbles 744angelah, 26 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Some rooms are a long walk so if you've got a heavy bag or don't like mazes then ask for a room near reception/car park.”
 of 5 bubbles ThatSharpy, 2 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5