We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

Macdonald Morlich Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Macdonald Morlich Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

163 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 143: English reviews
Dingwall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Beautifully decorated room, very large and spacious bed. Only negative was our room was near the lift and the lift was noisy.that said would definitely stay again. Steak house restaurant food was amazing. The whole location is perfect

Helpful?
Thank Jonf119
General M, Manager at Macdonald Morlich Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort, responded to this review

Dear 'Jonf119' Many thank for taking the time to leave a review here on TripAdvisor It is with great pleasure that I read your review, with your kind comments regarding the room, bed and food in our Scottish Steakhouse are greatly appreciated. We would be more that happy to welcome you back to enjoy another stay with us. We hope... More 

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2016

We stayed here for one night prior to running the Aviemore half marathon. The room was fairly small and makes poor use of space. Decorated well BUT has to large arm chair and a very coffee table in a very small room - surely a more effective use of space would be to have smaller furniture! Also we asked for... More 

Helpful?
Thank 702traveller
General M, Manager at Macdonald Morlich Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort, responded to this review

Dear '702traveller'' Thank you for taking the time to leave a review here on TripAdvisor I am sorry that you did not feel that the price you paid was representative of your stay, your comments regarding the room and customer service are worrying and I am sorry you had such a negative experience. We hope to welcome you back to... More 

Travellers are raving about these Aviemore hotels

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2016

Had a very pleasant stay at the resort.The room was very clean and bed very comfortable. Staff helpful and pleasant. 5 minute walk down hill to Main Street in Aviemore to local restaurants,bars, shops etc although several restaurants and bar in resort .Restaurant at breakfast time is extremely busy and noisy during school holidays so best avoided if you prefer... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Sylvia K
General M, Manager at Macdonald Morlich Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort, responded to this review

Dear 'Sylvia K' Thank you for taking the time to leave a review here on TripAdvisor Your review is very pleasing to read and I am glad that you had such an enjoyable stay here at the resort. Your kind comments regarding the cleanliness of the room, staff members and location of the resort are lovely to read. We hope... More 

Level Contributor
56 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2016 via mobile

We stayed one night bnb. Checkin was fast and simple. Directions to our room were clear. The room was lovely, large and clean. The breakfast was buffet but plenty of choice and most importantly hot. One small problem was that the shower head was live. We informed reception and were offered an apology and a change of room which we... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank andysbarbershop
General M, Manager at Macdonald Morlich Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort, responded to this review

Dear 'andysbarbershop' Many thanks for leaving a review on TripAdvisor for the resort. I am glad to read that you had an enjoyable stay with us. Your comments on breakfast and our check in procedure are especially pleasing. I apologise that you had an issue with the shower head in your room, but I can guarantee that this issue has... More 

Helena, Montana
Level Contributor
93 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2016 via mobile

This beautiful hotel is much more than just a place to sleep . The rooms are large and beautifully appointed with heather patterned woven fabrics. Roomy bathrooms with great towels and amenities. The hotel is a city in itself with several restaurants , a bar, shopping center, skiing, horse riding and even a movie theatre! I would give it a... More 

Helpful?
Thank groupleader45212
Dundee
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2016

We stayed here for two nights and we were a bit concerned about the number of poor reviews we had read. However, the hotel has responded to this sort of feedback, and we didn't see any evidence of the problems that others have mentioned. Staff were always in attendance where and when you expected them, and couldn't have been more... More 

Helpful?
Thank socratesDundee
General M, Manager at Macdonald Morlich Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort, responded to this review

Dear 'socratesDundee' Many thanks for taking the time to leave a review on TripAdvisor. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed the room that you stayed in, and that the problems you had read about had been remedied. We pride ourselves on high levels of customer service, so I am glad to read that you experienced these high standards.... More 

Las Cruces, New Mexico
Level Contributor
41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2016 via mobile

The hotel complex is located at a ski resort in the Cairngorms. Our room was small but pleasantly appointed. The breakfast buffet offered a limited number of choices considering how big it was. The WiFi was spotty. There are a couple of restaurants located on site, but the service was slow, especially in the steakhouse, and the menu overpriced. The... More 

Helpful?
Thank wannahike
General M, Manager at Macdonald Morlich Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort, responded to this review

Dear 'wannahike' Thank you for taking the time to leave a review on TripAdvisor. I am sorry that you had a few issues during your stay with us, that breakfast was not as you expected and that the Wifi was not up to standard. I am glad to read that the room was acceptable though. I would also like to... More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2016 via mobile

My partner and I drove 2 and a half hours for a nice get away before our baby arrives next month, we arrived around half past 8 in the evening to check in, being 33 weeks pregnant I was tired and looking forward to getting checked in, it was raining and cold outside. Reception had nobody there but a note... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Calli S
General M, Manager at Macdonald Morlich Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you very much for taking the time to respond. Please accept my personal apologies for the issues you have experienced. To allow me to investigate further, could I please ask you to email me your contact telephone number on lindsey.randall@macdonald-hotels.co.uk. Kindest regards Lindsey Randall Operations Manager More 

kleen
Level Contributor
74 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2016

Although the hotel rooms were a typical MacDonald room the complex is very big with 3/4 hotels in all. Great facilities for families but not for those wanting a quiet get away. The breakfast was in one large room serving all of the hotels in the complex. There were 3 restaurants to choose from and the one we went to... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank peterKleen
General M, Manager at Macdonald Morlich Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your recent review and your feedback. I am sorry that there were aspects of your stay which meant that is was not as relaxing as you had hoped. I will discuss with the the team to ensure we improve where possible. I do hope that we can welcome you back to the Resort in the... More 

Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2016 via mobile

I would have rated the hotel a 3 star for an overnight stay. The only reason the rating isn't lower is that I don't feel we stayed long enough to develop a full opinion - it is also because I am being kind. One and a half of the awarded rating is for the bed. The hotel complex it's self... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank LATales
General M, Manager at Macdonald Morlich Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us such a detailed review on TripAdvisor. I would like to personally apologise for the problems you encountered when checking in at the hotel. When a receptionist has to leave a reception desk on a rare occsasion to deal with a guest a sign should indicate this and... More 

21 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aviemore hotels
0.0 km away
Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel
0.0 km away
Highlands Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort
0.0 km away
Cairngorm Hotel
Cairngorm Hotel
#2 of 11 in Aviemore
655 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
The Boat Hotel
The Boat Hotel
#1 of 1 in Boat of Garten
1,176 reviews
0.0 km away
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Carrbridge
207 reviews
0.0 km away
Fairwinds Hotel
Fairwinds Hotel
#2 of 3 in Carrbridge
213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Internet
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Smoking rooms available
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Free Parking
  • Concierge
  • Babysitting

Additional Information about Macdonald Morlich Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort

Address: Next to the Conference Center | Inverness-shire, Aviemore PH22 1PN, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Badenoch and Strathspey > Aviemore
Price Range: ₹ 8,344 - ₹ 19,287 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Morlich Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, LateRooms, Odigeo and Booking.com so you can book your Macdonald Morlich Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Morlich Hotel At Macdonald Aviemore Resort Scotland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Macdonald Morlich Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“For quiet rooms ask to be away from the lift”
 of 5 bubbles Jonf119, 12 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Try executive rooms at Morlich....but check credit card for any double charges....”
 of 5 bubbles TheaScotland, 15 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Make sure you are given the correct room, don't back down!”
 of 5 bubbles 242becac, 14 Feb 2016 | Read review
“best go to the Hilton instead”
 of 5 bubbles kathrynm978, 5 Nov 2015 | Read review
“Avoid the rooms on the first floor above the Italian restaurant”
 of 5 bubbles HaddingtonJinty, 27 Aug 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay