We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Strathspey Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort

07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
View Map
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

145 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 133: English reviews
Start your review of Strathspey Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort
 Click to rate
Dundee, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Stayed here for 3 nights attending a conference. The Strathspey is the old Stakis Four Seasons located in the McDonald Aviemore Resort. It is dated with little to offer as a pleasurable experience for guests. Breakfast was supplied at the main conference centre which meant walking a couple of hundred yards for a meal. The hotel had no bar either...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jim M
Reviewed 1 January 2017 via mobile

We were staying at the Macdonald Aviemore Hotel and booked the Hogmanay package. This included dinner, entertainment, pipe band, fireworks...the list goes on and can I say it was absolutely brilliant! Really great value for money but more than that, it was a really great night!! Highly recommend it for families, couples, anyone really.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Carlyjb
Reviewed 13 August 2016 via mobile

Very disapointed with this hotel, it needs a lot of work ... The curtains in my room were falling down making it impossible for me to close properly and the old fashioned to didn't have closed captions, something I always use in hotels to avoid annoying those in adjoining rooms.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Wendy C
General M, Manager at Strathspey Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for you review on Trip Advisor. The hotel has a very unique character and yes some areas do require refurbishment which we hope to carry out over the winter this year in preparation for 2017. I do hope that we can welcome you back to the Resort. Perhaps to one of the 4 star properties. Kindest...

Cardiff, Wales, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 June 2016

Visited on a work conference and was shocked at the state of disrepair of the whole hotel. Ripped and worn carpets, damaged divans and mattresses and many of the rooms smelt musty - I kept my window open most of the time just to try and get rid of this. If I had booked this hotel, I would have home...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BronwenD77
General M, Manager at Strathspey Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your comments on Trip Advisor. I am delighted to hear that found the food, service and conference facilities to be of an excellent standard. I am sorry to read that your accommodation did not meet your expectations. We do currently have an extensive maintenance program in place to address issues such as the ones you...

Reviewed 19 June 2016 via mobile

They say a picture speaks a thousand words and as there were so many things you need to know before stepping foot in the hovel I thought I'd post pictures so you get a feel for what you'd be paying for. It's claim of being 3 stars is a joke, I've slept in better and much cheaper youth hostels and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lady_Trumpington
General M, Manager at Strathspey Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your comments on Trip Advisor. The Strathspey Hotel is our 3 star hotel on Resort. While I appreciate there is some work to be carried out there is an extensive maintenance program in place. I do hope that the next time you are in the area we can welcome you back to the Resort. Kindest...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 June 2016 via mobile

I'm here on a work conference, was looking forward to a fun week, but turns out this building is the only one on the site not refurbished yet. Apparently the others are lovely but this one is a bit smelly, really dreary and with very threadbare carpets and furnishings. I don't want to be here, it's work, and a friend...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Carogooch
General M, Manager at Strathspey Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your review following your stay with us. I am sorry to read that you did not enjoy any aspects of your stay with us and I am sorry to hear of your sad news. The Strathspey hotel is our 3 star hotel on Resort. We are looking at a upgrade plan for this...

Reviewed 25 April 2016 via mobile

Stayed here and couldn't complain about anything. Was very relaxing and a nice area to be in. Went to the spa at the highland hotel and had my meal there both nights at the Scottish steakhouse.. Amazing food. Friendly staff.. Thank you

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ZanderAce
General M, Manager at Strathspey Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your 5 star review on Trip Advisor. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Kindest regards Lindsey Randall Operations Manager

Falkirk
Reviewed 23 December 2015

Booked this for our stay in late august last year. We were told that £5m was being spent on upgrades. The carpets in the room were threadbare and an extra bed had been shoehorned in front of the window which we had to climb over to open and close the carpets. The bathroom had cracked tiles and mould. I had...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alex Adams A
Ottawa, Canada
Reviewed 9 November 2015

We stayed here as part of a group tour. We liked this place but we only stayed one night after arriving late and leaving early. The rooms are nice, if a bit tight on space but the best part of our stay was the view. Wake up looking out over the Cairgorm mountains and everything will seem much better. We...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank canuckshutterbug
Bridgeport, West Virginia
Reviewed 17 October 2015

This was a quaint older styled hotel, sitting high above the others on the hillside. The picture window from the dinning room, reminded me of home growing up as a child at my Scottish grandfather's home in Bristol, New Hampshire USA. There wasn't proper staffing, and I had to seek out a staff member when a new guest in the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Debra B

70 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (70)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (38)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aviemore hotels
3.3 km away
Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel
1.2 km away
Highlands Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort
1.3 km away
Cairngorm Hotel
Cairngorm Hotel
#2 of 11 in Aviemore
709 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 km away
Macdonald Morlich Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort
9.5 km away
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Carrbridge
220 reviews
7.3 km away
The Boat Hotel
The Boat Hotel
#1 of 1 in Boat of Garten
1,216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Pool
  • Spa
  • Golf Course
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service

Additional Information about Strathspey Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort

Address: Macdonald Aviemore Resort, Aviemore PH22 1PN, Scotland (Formerly Macdonald Four Seasons Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Badenoch and Strathspey > Aviemore
Price Range: ₹ 9,728 - ₹ 14,510 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Strathspey Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 88
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Strathspey Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald 4 Seasons Hotel
Four Seasons Hotel Aviemore
Four Seasons Aviemore
Aviemore Four Seasons
Strathspey Hotel At Macdonald Aviemore Resort Scotland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Strathspey Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Strathspey Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I wouldn't return however if forced to would ask for a room facing the mountains.”
jimmM8068ZY, 26 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Stay in another hotel in the Aviemore Resort - it will be worth the extra”
BronwenD77, 22 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Stay away.”
alexadamsa, 23 Dec 2015 | Read review
“The rooms on the back side have a stunning view of the mountain landscape.”
  • Morning haze
  • Stunning morning
  • Room view
canuckshutterbug, 9 Nov 2015 | Read review
“4th floor; thru 2 door corridors - and the view was spectacular! and quiet away from the other guests”
debrabM9030WT, 17 Oct 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Check these sites for availability
Orbitz.com
Travelocity
HotelQuickly
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates