We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Macdonald Spey Valley Golf & Country Club

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Macdonald Spey Valley Golf & Country Club
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

194 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Macdonald Spey Valley Golf & Country Club
See the most recent reviews
Showing 193: English reviews
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 August 2015 via mobile

We had a lovely meal in the steak house restaurant, staff were very friendly and made us feel very welcome. We had our children with us and the staff were great with kids. Everyone's meals were delicious. Highly recommend 😋

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lward1979
gm_speyvalley, General Manager at Macdonald Spey Valley Golf & Country Club, responded to this review

Dear lward1979 Thank you for your feedback I am delighted to here that you had a lovely meal in our restaurant. I have passed on your kind comments to the staff who always do their best to ensure guests enjoy their time with us. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Kind Regards Gina Macpherson General Manager

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 August 2015 via mobile

Declaration of interest - we are timeshare owners of a chalet at Dalfaber. Have been for a number of years, and don't intend to get out of either of our weeks any time soon. So, the accommodation. The chalets are old, and some still require a full refurbishment, but are comfortable enough as a base for touring / outdoor activities,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank allanglens
gm_speyvalley, General Manager at Macdonald Spey Valley Golf & Country Club, responded to this review

Dear Allanglens Thank you for your feedback regarding the resort, it is wonderful to hear from guests that have been visiting the resort for a number of years and I do hope you enjoyed your holiday. You will be pleased to know that after listening to owners’ feedback regarding the restaurant a new menu is just about to be launched...

Reviewed 1 August 2015 via mobile

Played the 9 hole course which was OK apart from the rocks in the bunkers!, greens in bad condition too. Next day played the championship course, which was nice but clubhouse was closed when we finished, our wives and child came to meet us for drinks afterwards but were told the players had been told that the bar would be...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Holly C
gm_speyvalley, Manager at Macdonald Spey Valley Golf & Country Club, responded to this review

Dear Holly C Thank you for your feedback. Your comments concerning the 9 hole golf course have been noted and will be discussed with the owners committee. I have passed a copy of your feedback concerning the 18 Hole Golf Course on to Manager across at the Championship Golf Course as this property is not looked after by myself. Kind...

Cardiff
Reviewed 9 July 2015

Great resort hotel but not much to do in Aviemore itself. We were there to play golf at Spey Valley, the course by the way a very good test of golf, great track. The Hotel is a little confusing to say the least and if you're sharing, the beds are adjoining and no room to separate them, saying that, the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andrew C
gm_speyvalley, General Manager at Macdonald Spey Valley Golf & Country Club, responded to this review

Dear Andrew C Thank you for feedback. I am delighted that you enjoyed your golf on Spey Valley as you say it is certainly a very good test of your golf and it’s a beautiful course. I am sorry but from your review I can’t identify which unit you stayed in however in most of our units the beds can...

Cessnock, Australia
Reviewed 3 July 2015

Two bedroom villa was huge with Kitchen Dining room Lounge room and Conservatory on second floor overlooking Golf Course. Staff were helpful and playing the nine hole course was free. Close to all attractions.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John S
gm_speyvalley, General Manager at Macdonald Spey Valley Golf & Country Club, responded to this review

Dear John S Thank you for your feedback, as you state the Cairngorm Villas are very spacious and have proved to be very popular with guests visiting the resort. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward of welcoming you back to the resort in the future. Kind Regards Gina Macpherson Resort General Manager

argyll
Reviewed 2 July 2015

Have stayed in Dalfaber Resort over the years since 1983! Great place for children and adults with lots of choices of activities within the Dalfaber resort itself. The patio lodges are very comfortable and well equipped. The buildings and outdoor patio areas really need a makeover. If you have small children beware of the treachorous steps out of the patio...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dunveganArgyll
gm_speyvalley, Manager at Macdonald Spey Valley Golf & Country Club, responded to this review

Dear dunveganArgyll Thank you for your comments, I am glad that you seemed to have an enjoyable holiday as you state there are certainly lots of choices of activities within the resort to keep you busy. Please be assured we have taken your feedback on board and hope to welcome you back to the resort in the future. Kind Regards...

Colliston,
Reviewed 28 June 2015

We exchanged into macdonald a Spey valley golf and country club. Arrival was disorganised and we were sent away several times over a period of an hour an a half. No apology was received it would not have been too much to ask for a complimentary cup of tea while we waited. We were also told we would have to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Sue L
gm_speyvalley, General Manager at Macdonald Spey Valley Golf & Country Club, responded to this review

Dear Sue L Thank you for your feedback, guaranteed check in time for the chalets is 4pm and it is not always possibly to allow guests early entry where ever possible we do try accommodate these requests. Wifi and movies are chargeable across the resort however we do feel that £14.95 for a 7 night stay is very reasonable I...

scotland
Reviewed 27 June 2015 via mobile

The accommodation is very good but not much to do entertainment wise .the club house is expensive compared to other bars in the town , although I ate at the main restaurant and was very impressed with quality ,the food was great and 4 of us were £130.00 we all had steaks and desert with wine

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 5shoesscotland
gm_speyvalley, Manager at Macdonald Spey Valley Golf & Country Club, responded to this review

Dear 5shoesscotland Thank you for your comments.Your feedback concerning the entertainment has been noted. As the newly appointed Resort Manager this is certainly one area that I am seeking to improve. I am delighted to read that you ate in the Steak Club and found the food to be great. I know our chef Paul and his team work very...

Reviewed 6 June 2015 via mobile

Wonderful meal, wonderful staff & great value for money. The food in the restaurant (Scottish steak club) is absolutely fantastic. My fiancé and I both had steaks cooked to each of our desired tastes and the "hand cut chips" a real treat. If you want a delicious steak in a relaxed friendly atomosphere this is the place to visit.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Laura I
gm_speyvalley, General Manager at Macdonald Spey Valley Golf & Country Club, responded to this review

Dear Laura I Thank you for your feedback. I am delighted to read your comments and so glad that you found everything to be wonderful and enjoyed your meal. As you say the restaurant has a relaxed friendly atmosphere and we hope to see you again soon. Kind Regards Gina Macpherson Resort General Manager

Aberdeenshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 May 2015 via mobile

Just stayed in a chalet for a week, and was very disappointed. Seeing some of the pictures of the resort I had expected something a little more luxurious, but the chalets certainly are not Dated, badly in need of basic decoration and repair, and even cobwebs all around the exterior of the front door and windows. We thought the cleanliness...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Gary T
gm_speyvalley, General Manager at Macdonald Spey Valley Golf & Country Club, responded to this review

Dear Gary T Thank you for your comments. I was sorry to learn that you were not happy with your accommodation. We do have a number of different types of accommodation at Spey Valley some being more luxurious than others. If in the future you were looking to visit the resort again I would suggest that you consider one of...

160 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (148)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (41)
Viewed
View from Room (13)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
Other (46)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aviemore
2.7 km away
Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel
1.5 km away
Highlands Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort
12.2 km away
Nethybridge Hotel
Nethybridge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Nethy Bridge
502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 km away
Cairngorm Hotel
Cairngorm Hotel
#2 of 11 in Aviemore
693 reviews
6.8 km away
The Boat Hotel
The Boat Hotel
#1 of 1 in Boat of Garten
1,207 reviews
1.2 km away
Macdonald Aviemore Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Golf Course
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Spey Valley Golf & Country Club borders the famous River Spey with spectacular views of the surrounding Spey Valley and Cairngorm Mountains. The Resort is close to the lively village of Aviemore.Spey Valley Golf & Country Club offers luxury lodges, spacious apartments and cosy Scandinavian style chalets scattered around a nine hole, par 3 golf course. The reception area, swimming pool, sports hall and other leisure facilities, along with an excellent restaurant and relaxing bar are all located in the Clubhouse.Whether you are here to enjoy an exciting activity holiday or a break in glorious scenery, you're sure to find what you are looking for at Macdonald Spey Valley Golf & Country Club. We wish you an enjoyable stay! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Macdonald Spey Valley Golf & Country Club

Address: Dalfaber Drive | PH22 1ST, Aviemore, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Badenoch and Strathspey > Aviemore
Price Range: ₹ 7,861 - ₹ 13,036 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Macdonald Spey Valley Golf & Country Club 3*
Number of rooms: 95
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your Macdonald Spey Valley Golf & Country Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Dalfaber Golf & Country Club Hotel Aviemore
Macdonald Dalfaber Golf And Country Club
Macdonald Spey Valley Golf & Country Club Aviemore, Scotland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Macdonald Spey Valley Golf & Country Club staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from Macdonald Spey Valley Golf & Country Club staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Families with young children should select a ground floor apt to minimise noise for those underneath!”
 of 5 bubbles 981mandieg, 14 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Go for the most modern accommodation.”
 of 5 bubbles donalda810, 11 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Chalets overlooking the golf course looked best... chalet 6”
 of 5 bubbles 619lisaf, 7 Nov 2016 | Read review
“There is a variety of lodges & chalets so the choice is personal based on requirements”
 of 5 bubbles Barstooler, 27 Oct 2016 | Read review
“The Timeshare Chalet was great but a little basic More suitable for a couple than the 4 adults and 2 children that it was advertised for.”
 of 5 bubbles 304MarionL304, 19 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5