We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Dakota Glasgow

179 West Regent Street, Glasgow G2 4DP Scotland
avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (1338)
360
Panoramas (37)
Room & Suite (433)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#5 of 102 hotels in Glasgow
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
The new modern classic.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid public parking nearby
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Taxi service
Conference facilities
Meeting rooms
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Street parking
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
Doorperson
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Private check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Allergy-free room
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Walk-in shower
Soundproof rooms
Room service
Safe
Seating area
Sofa
Telephone
VIP room facilities
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Bottled water
Clothes rack
Iron
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Electric kettle
Flatscreen TV
On-demand films
Radio
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
3.5 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Quiet
Business
Languages Spoken
English
2639Reviews55Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 2,213
  • 301
  • 79
  • 30
  • 18
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Stewart R wrote a review Yesterday
3 contributions
Immerse yourself in the beauty and sophistication of this hotel. The staff's exceptional friendliness and efficiency make for a memorable experience. The impeccably clean and lovely rooms, along with a delicious table-served breakfast, add to the charm. The bar offers expertly served drinks, creating anticipation for a return visit!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
anne m wrote a review Yesterday
5 contributions2 helpful votes
We have just spent 4 nights at Dakota Glasgow, it was the most lovely stay, the staff were all very good, the room was immaculate and the extra large bed and pillows were the comfiest I have ever had . The Hotel has a cosy relaxed feel about it and the good in the grill was delicious too .There are building works going on outside in the street but they never affected our stay at all , the soundproofing must be really good as I never heard any other guests in the Hotel and the blackout curtains were excellent, would love to stay again, couldn’t fault it at all , thanks Dakota Glasgow, you made our 28th Wedding Anniversary a very pleasant holiday !
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Inge M wrote a review 1 Mar
Bristol, United Kingdom69 contributions21 helpful votes
This is one of my best hotels I've stayed in for work. The staff are very welcoming. The bedrooms are beautifully styled, and the shower is heavenly. I really like that there is a full desk in the room to work at, and that there's enough space for your clothes and suitcase. The breakfast was also good.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
ian b wrote a review Feb 2024
Wishaw, United Kingdom22 contributions36 helpful votes
The hotel is beautiful a really relaxing.really enjoyed our stay breakfast was really nice.We had the executive room with mini bar. Room was lovely bed really comfortable but the mini bar was a let down two small bottles of lager two coke two lemonade two water no spirits had to phone reception for them.i had put a bid in of £40 to upgrade our room thinking there would’ve been a bit more alcohol it the fridge.When checking in we had to give a bank card for them to take £50 off of it. Asked at check out when the money would go back into my account was told between 4-14 days depending on my bank. I should’ve been told this on check in an I would’ve used a different bank card an not put myself into overdraft..over all our stay was good..Ian
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Andrew Doherty, Other at Dakota Glasgow
Responded 4 days ago
Dear ianb503, Thank you for taking the time to leave your thoughts regarding your recent stay with us. I am delighted that you enjoyed our carefully curated surroundings; calm atmosphere; and quality of breakfast. I can only apologise you found the upgrade to be not worth your while; from the photo you have attached I can see that this is not to our usual standards. I will be speaking with the team as to why this was the case in the first place. We pride ourselves on our dedication to the perfect stay, and it is clear that on this occasion we have missed the mark. We hope to be offered the opportunity to welcome you back; and if you would like to return please ensure you book with myself so I can make sure you are well taken care of. Kind regards, Ashley Duncan ard@gla.dakotahotels.co.uk Senior Duty Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
John G wrote a review Feb 2024
2 contributions
Great hotel, lovely atmosphere, friendly and efficient staff. Great place to return to after a busy day sight seeing and shopping. If you are looking for something a wee bit special then I would highly recommend. Will be returning soon for another relaxing break.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Andrew Doherty, Other at Dakota Glasgow
Responded 4 days ago
Dear jrg3673, Thank you for taking the time to leave your thoughts regarding your recent stay with us. I am delighted that our hard working team were able to showcase our high standards and I will be sure to pass along your kind words to them. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind regards, Ashley Duncan Senior Duty Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
SD wrote a review Feb 2024
1 contribution
+1
Lovely hotel, couldn’t really fault it apart from it could have done with a fridge but it wasn’t really an issue. Rooms were clean and modern. Breakfast was excellent and we ate the restaurant Saturday evening which was really nice. Staff were very friendly and helpful. The hotel is close to the main attractions but at the top of a hill, which for the less mobile might be an issue.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Relations, Other at Dakota Glasgow
Responded 6 days ago
Dear Firsttimerin, Thank you for taking the time to leave your thoughts regarding your recent stay with us. I am delighted that our hard working team were able to showcase our high standards of service; and will be sure to pass along your kind words to the team. Please note if you would like anything in your room that isn't present, we will always do our best to accommodate. We hope to welcome you back soon. Kind regards, Ashley Duncan Senior Duty Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Rob H wrote a review Feb 2024
1 contribution
A very nice comfortable boutique hotel at a sensible price, an inclusive breakfast would have been nice. Polite and friendly staff, clean and home from home hotel. Staff helpful, even posted my shirt back after me leaving it in the room. Thank you
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Relations, Other at Dakota Glasgow
Responded 1 week ago
Dear A1020CNrobh, Thank you for taking the time to leave your thoughts regarding your recent stay. I am delighted that our hard working team were able to showcase our high standards; and I will be sure to pass along your kind words to them. We pride ourselves on going above and beyond for our guests; so I'm glad this was evident throughout. We hope to welcome you back soon. Kind regards, Ashley Duncan Senior Duty Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
CKerns96 wrote a review Feb 2024
Silverstone, United Kingdom18 contributions16 helpful votes
What an amazing stay. We had booked early checkin, but owing to arriving on the sleeper train we were very early, however the hotel was accommodating to allow us to use the lounge and checkin to the room as soon as possible. The room was huge. Space is not an issue here, with a large room for living space, either side of the bed and an open bathroom. The lighting in the room is ‘mood lit’ but adds to the ambience the hotel carries throughout which is very nice. The bed is immensely comfortable, the shower very powerful and the bathroom amenities being White Company, very luxury. Lots of room for storing luggage, a safe for valuables and plentiful room for hanging clothes. The staff are next to none, very professional and courteous. Everyone we met was friendly, approachable and upheld the high star nature of the hotel. Would 100% recommend this hotel and will be returning should we be in Glasgow again.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Relations, Other at Dakota Glasgow
Responded 1 week ago
Dear CKerns96, Thank you for taking the time to leave your thoughts regarding your recent stay with us. I am so delighted to hear that our high standards were evident throughout; and I will be sure to pass along your glowing review to the team. We pride ourselves on our dedication to our guests enjoyment throughout their stay, and it is evident that we delivered on this. We look forward to welcoming you back. Kind regards, Ashley Duncan Senior Duty Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
David W wrote a review Feb 2024
Manchester, United Kingdom13 contributions12 helpful votes
Was very disappointed, there are works taking place adjacent to the hotel, i asked whether they were impacting the hotel, whist away I wanted a restful experience. I asked at reception if the room i had been allocated would hear any disturbances, the receptionist Jan (i think) said they had had no complaints and I wouldn't be disturbed. at 7.00 am all i could hear was reversing bleeps and noise associated with what was going on. I did advise the receptionist i would be unhappy if disturbed she said i wouldn't and most definitely lied about this. Why they couldn't have relocated me i don't know, they didn't even look if another room was available. On checking out i mentioned this to another receptionist who was there when i was told that i wouldn't be disturbed, she gave a knowing look and said she would mention it to the other receptionist. Very poor customer service
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Relations, Other at Dakota Glasgow
Responded 1 week ago
Dear richardw552, Thank you for taking the time to leave your thoughts regarding your recent stay with us. Whilst I am delighted that you chose to stay with us; I am disappointed that your stay was not of the standards that you were expecting. I am sorry to hear that you feel our usual quality of service was not evident. The regeneration project is out with our control; and whilst we can manage our guests expectations we cannot guarantee that there will not be noise. I must apologise if you feel our team were not being forthcoming; however during the week of your stay we had very little mentions of the works from guests. I will of course speak with the team to ensure that, if possible, we are moving guests who highlight a concern regarding the works. We hope to be offered the opportunity to welcome you back so we are able to showcase the experience you were expecting. Kind regards, Ashley Duncan Senior Duty Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
damickel wrote a review Feb 2024
Helensburgh, United Kingdom82 contributions55 helpful votes
We have stayed before and also have had a meal with friends so wondered if it would be as good as remembered. No worries,excellent stay overnight…..room extremely clean and comfortable. Hotel decor is quite dark but calming. Staff are welcoming and efficient. Breakfast great choice and cooked fresh for you. We live out with Glasgow,so great to have a place like this to stay …..would recommend.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Hotel reception help with carpark details if you have a car, however very near Charing Cross...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Relations, Other at Dakota Glasgow
Responded 1 week ago
Dear damickel, Thank you for taking the time to leave your thoughts regarding your recent stay with us. I am delighted that our hard working team were able to showcase our high standards, and I will be sure to pass along your kind words. We hope to welcome you back soon. Kind regards, Ashley Duncan Senior Duty Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Glasgow area.
PRICE RANGE
₹11,019 - ₹19,138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United KingdomScotlandGlasgowCity Centre
NUMBER OF ROOMS
83
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

DAKOTA GLASGOW (Scotland) - Hotel Reviews, Photos, Rate Comparison - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Dakota Glasgow
Which popular attractions are close to Dakota Glasgow?
Nearby attractions include The Glasgow School of Art (0.2 km), The Good, The Bad & The Irish! (0.4 km), and Bon Accord (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Dakota Glasgow?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Dakota Glasgow?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and blackout curtains.
What food & drink options are available at Dakota Glasgow?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Dakota Glasgow?
Yes, paid public parking nearby and street parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Dakota Glasgow?
Conveniently located restaurants include Mackintosh at the Willow, Dakota Bar & Grill, and Curry Cottage Glasgow.
Is Dakota Glasgow located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.7 km away from the centre of Glasgow.
Are any cleaning services offered at Dakota Glasgow?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Dakota Glasgow offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to meeting rooms and conference facilities during their stay.
Are there any historical sites close to Dakota Glasgow?
Many travellers enjoy visiting The Mackintosh House (1.8 km), The Tenement House (0.5 km), and House for an Art Lover (3.6 km).
Is Dakota Glasgow accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.