We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland

Save
Share
161 West Nile Street, Glasgow G1 2RL Scotland
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Expedia.com$299
Travelocity$299
Hotels.com$299
Tripadvisor$298
eDreams
getaroom.com$311
View all 16 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (322)
360
Panoramas (9)
Room & Suite (238)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Updated 20/11/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland
Updated 20/11/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#31 of 102 hotels in Glasgow
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
The recently refurbished STB 4 Star rated Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland is ideally located in the city's Theatreland district located in the heart of the city centre. The hotel is a perfect base from which to explore the many tourist attractions of central Scotland or enjoy the shopping in Glasgow which has some of the best selection of shops in Europe. The hotel benefits from a central location close to the M8 motorway, capped price parking available directly across from the hotel in a secure public parking facility, and within walking distance of both Glasgow's rail and bus stations. All rooms have been completely refurbished in 2015. All rooms have modern individually controlled air con, 40 inch flat screen TV's with the full BT Sports package. The hotel has an award winning brasserie La Bonne Auberge with all day dining available.
Read more
Property amenities
Paid public parking nearby
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Baggage storage
Newspaper
24-hour front desk
Secured parking
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Meeting rooms
Non-smoking hotel
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Room service
Safe
Telephone
Iron
Private bathrooms
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
City view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
City View
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish, Czech, Hungarian and 2 more
1343Reviews29Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 571
  • 510
  • 173
  • 56
  • 33
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
cy wrote a review 2 Jul
1 contribution1 helpful vote
I booked my daughter and her 18 year old partner here for the night as they were attending a concert in Glasgow. When they arrived despite their policy and it being paid in full weeks ago, they refused their stay. Saying my daughter was a minor, despite being with an adult. When my daughter asked "what am I mean to do now?" the so called Deputy Manager said "GO FIND SOMEWHERE ELSE TO STAY!" Other customers witnessed this and went up to my daughter who was in tears and couldn't believe she had been spoken to like that! I called the hotel and the woman said she was with "A BOY!" No actually he is an adult with proof of age. Really shocked they speak to customers like this. What was meant to be fun day out enjoying Glasgow has turned into an upsetting experience. With them. having to try and find somewhere else to stay on a busy night in Glasgow as they live 2 hours away. Dissapointing! I did call the complaints at holiday inn express and the lady was super helpful and couldn't understand herself why they were refused the stay. Upon speaking to the hotel direct, they told me to write an email giving consent to my daughter to stay with an adult..at this point my daughter was so upset after being spoke to so badly, she didn't want to stay there. Will never never book here! Its not ok to speak to people like trash!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Service
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Stephen T wrote a review Jun 2022
Gateshead, United Kingdom48 contributions44 helpful votes
We stayed here for three nights. It's a short walk from the Queen's Street railway station and the Bucannon Street bus station. Across the road is a massive cinema complex and restaurants are easy to get to. The room was clean, and the bed was comfortable. The TV in the room was a decent size and there was plenty of space to stretch out. I liked that the electrical outlets had USB sockets so you could more easily charge your phone. In our room the wifi signal seemed weak and dropped out a few times. I use my laptop to plan my trips so that was a little annoying. We had the buffet style breakfast on a couple of mornings. It was good value and there was an excellent choice of food. It would have been nice if the tv allowed content to be streamed from my phone. It didn't. However, most hotels haven't yet picked up on the streaming revolution. The location meant we could explore the city quickly every day. The only issue we had was the electronic card keys failed to work a couple of times and had to be reset. Otherwise it was all good and I would stay there again.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Triple glazed windows minimise noise but it's on a main street. You can ask for a quieter...
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Bruce B wrote a review Jun 2022
1 contribution
Room was well furnished and very clean whilst the bed was extremely comfortable. Breakfast was a bit disappointing. Whilst there was a very good selection, the fried eggs were poor and the bacon on the buffet was cold and very hard.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
David B wrote a review Jun 2022
7 contributions1 helpful vote
Great location for most attractions.Easy to find with reduced carparking within 45 yards. Good clean room, excellent bed, but could hear the lifts operating. Crowded breakfast room at 0830. No rolls/baps and slow replenishing other items. Are reasonably good experience but could be improved
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Helpful
Share
LightOfTheWest wrote a review May 2022
Zurich, Switzerland27 contributions3 helpful votes
The hotel stands in a very good position, close to the city center. We had a beautiful room, even though it was a communicating room. We were given a communicationg room only due to the fact that at the time we checked in, no other room was available yet. We still appreciated the possibility to check in earlier and since we had no neighbours until the very last day, we had no problems about it. Mind you however, that when neighbours do arrive in the next room, they are certainly easy to hear. We had a few complaints about houskeeping the first day: for example, one towel was not too clean, a used bathrobe was left in the room and the other one was also not too clean, and when we asked for new ones, we only received it the day after. Also our room was not made on the first day due to shortage of personnel, which we could understand, but had we not asked about it, we never would have found out the reason why the room was left unmade, which we do not find too professional, especiallyfor the price paid. But things definitely improved the following days and we had no more problems of the sort. All was very clean the next days. All in all, a good hotel
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
James F wrote a review May 2022
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom22 contributions17 helpful votes
Room 451 is directly opposite the lift. The lift “whirs” all night and the room vibrates. Obviously people move in and out of the lift , some talking , some laughing, it’s not what you call peaceful! Hardly any sleep. Woken to the whirring vibrating lift at 6.30am having finally dropped off to sleep and the smell of breakfast (bacon) cooking - very odd when I’m on the 4th floor . I did ask to move room , but was told the hotel was full so not possible!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: Avoid room451 which is opposite the lift. You can also smell breakfast being cooked.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from IHG Service, Other at Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland
Responded 4 weeks ago
Hello JamesF741, We value your opinion and thank you for bringing this to our attention. I have shared your sentiment with our local team and manager, and I apologize for the shortcomings. Our staff will work to ensure a much better experience in your future travels. We do our best to bring a smile to your face during the whole stay, and that is one of our best abilities with our guests. It's been a pleasure to host you, and we look forward to serving you again. I'm sure you'll love the changes and improvements. Alejandro G. Case Manager. IHGService.
Read more
JanetSmith95 wrote a review Apr 2022
Nantwich, United Kingdom195 contributions158 helpful votes
Really good stay here for 3 nights. Easy to find and close to a Hop on Hop off bus stop. Also walking distance to George Square and the station. Check in was easy even though we were early. Room was comfortable and breakfast was tasty, hot and varied. No complaints at all. Thank you.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
richie196 wrote a review Apr 2022
Emersons Green, United Kingdom178 contributions103 helpful votes
I’m a platinum elite IHG member with 19 years on my card. This was the worst all round full service holiday inn in that 19 years. On arrival we went to our room and straight away the sofa bed was not full size. Really only suitable for one. Our toilet had already been used and was not clean. Went down to reception and was upgraded to an “ executive suite”. This was a double room in the loft with the same size sofa bed. The sofa bed was like it had been used in the BBC series “ Tenko” the mattress ( haha) so thin. Really not a suite and had no lift to that floor so you take lift to 4 then stairs to your executive suite haha. The bathroom door had no lock so that’s great we’ll sing in the toilet then. Didn’t notice until we went to bed that the midget sofa bed had single pillows. Drinks in the bar last night the bar staff called time at 10:15. Please understand this is an apparent “ full service” hotel so surely if residents are in the bar the bar has to stay open. What about room service drinks??. Breakfast. Went in no one at station so sat at ONLY clean table. Then the breakfast commandant literally frogmarched us back to the desk to “ check your room number” and then says “ let me see if I’ve got a table for you” and takes us back to the one we were sat at. As it was the only clean one there why not just ask us our room number at the table. Never ever felt so unwelcome in a holiday inn. It was like guests were a nuisance.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Things to avoid. The hotel
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Andrei I wrote a review Apr 2022
8 contributions5 helpful votes
Booked the hotel on booking.com after I've filtered all the hotels with own parking...I did arrive after a long car trip and the GPS brought me in the front of the hotel where you cannot stop the car. I did stop the car 2 streets further away and returned by foot to reception. Staff not very friendly but guided me to a public car park across the road. They mentioned that they will validate the ticket at check out, which they didn't. Unhappy to carry luggage from the car park to the hotel and back. Next morning, I handed over my ticket to the reception staff. They said they validated it but they didn't. The barried did not open, I pressed the help button and tried to explain I was a guest of the hotel overnight and the parking was paid. The parking staff seemed to know nothing about it and they made me to pay the overnight stay. Shame to the hotel staff because I think they do this on purpose. End.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: Avoid the hotel if you arrive by car. The hotel it's advertised with own parking but it's not true.
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Marc Jones, General Manager at Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland
Responded 5 Apr 2022
Dear 252andreii, I am disappointed to read of your experience regarding the interactions with the team, however at the Holiday Inn we have a bay at the front of the hotel to drop off and pick up. All websites have the information regarding parking availability, we do not have any hotel parking. We have an affiliation with the concert square multi-story carpark whereby on validation of your ticket this currently reduces the 24 hour charge from £29 to £8. The monies payable are directly with the carpark provider, we do not have any control of the cost of parking. Sincerely, Marc Jones, General Manager.
Read more
Antonio2456 wrote a review Dec 2021
Milan, Italy35 contributions35 helpful votes
Clean room, good location, nice friendly staff. Obviously being so close to the city centre parking is tricky but the carpark in front is validated by the hotel if you're a guest so that works well. Great breakfast selection too we looked forward to that in the morning. Overall would stay here again!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Marc Jones, General Manager at Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland
Responded 19 Dec 2021
Dear Antonio2456, Thank you for taking the time to place a review, I am pleased you had a great stay with us. Hope to see you again very soon. Best regards, Marc Jones General Manager.
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$126 - $214 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
holiday inn glasgow city centre theatreland hotel glasgow, glasgow holiday inn
LOCATION
United KingdomScotlandGlasgowCity Centre / Cowcaddens
NUMBER OF ROOMS
113
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland
Which popular attractions are close to Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland?
Nearby attractions include Riddle Rooms Glasgow (0.2 km), Revolution Renfield Street Glasgow (0.3 km), and Gin71 Glasgow (0.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and blackout curtains.
What food & drink options are available at Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland?
Yes, paid public parking nearby and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland?
Conveniently located restaurants include Pizza Punks, The Wild Olive Tree, and Cup Tea Rooms.
Is Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.7 km away from the centre of Glasgow.
Are any cleaning services offered at Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, Italian, Polish, Czech, and Hungarian.
Are there any historical sites close to Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland?
Many travellers enjoy visiting House for an Art Lover (4.2 km), The Mackintosh House (2.3 km), and The Tenement House (0.9 km).