We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
1-19 Albion St, Glasgow G1 1LH Scotland
E-mail hotel
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Hotel Website
eDreams
Booking.com
Orbitz.com
View all 13 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (399)
Room & Suite (287)
Videos (1)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
Read more
Updated 28/04/22 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Fraser Suites Glasgow
Updated 28/04/22 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#41 of 103 in Glasgow
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Set in a 19th-century renovated bank, the Fraser Suites are just 550 yards from Argyle Street, one of Glasgow's main shopping streets. An iPod dock and satellite TV are provided in all apartments, which are located in Glasgow's cultural quarter, Merchant City. A microwave oven and refrigerator feature in all apartments' kitchenettes, some include a dishwasher. Each spacious and contemporary living area has a work desk and DVD player, some feature large glass windows and a balcony. Bedrooms in the Fraser Suite apartments are light and airy and have modern furnishings. A hairdryer is provided in every private bathroom. Argyle Street Rail Station and Glasgow Queen Street Rail Station are both within a 10-minute journey on foot from the apartments. The Scottish Exhibition and Conference Centre is 10 minutes' drive away. The Gallery of Modern Art and George Square are both a 10-minute walk away. Glasgow City Centre is a great choice for travellers interested in shopping for clothes, shopping and nightlife.
Read more
Property amenities
Paid public parking nearby
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Breakfast available
Taxi service
24-hour security
Baggage storage
24-hour check-in
Parking
Wifi
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Concierge
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
First aid kit
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Desk
Dining area
Housekeeping
Safe
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Seating area
Sofa
Telephone
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Iron
Laptop safe
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Kitchenette
Microwave
Refrigerator
Stovetop
Electric kettle
Kitchenware
iPod docking station
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
City view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
City View
Languages Spoken
English
Hotel links
Special Offer:FREE BOTTLE OF WINE WHEN YOU BOOK 2 NIGHTS AND MORE!
1551Reviews42Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 788
  • 458
  • 180
  • 69
  • 56
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
bmarch618163 wrote a review 18 May
Northumberland, United Kingdom1 contribution
We stayed in a studio apartment with our spaniel for a few days. The hotel is a 5-minute walk from the train station and surrounded by pubs and restaurants which is ideal. On arrival, we were made very welcome by the reception staff, although we think our spaniel, Florence, was the main reason for that (she was fussed every time we passed). The staff were helpful, friendly and answered all our inane questions - so gold stars to them. The room was clean, the bed was very comfortable and there was tea, coffee, milk and shortbread in the room on arrival. The fridge also had a couple of bottles of water which was really appreciated. The kitchen had pans and cooking utensils although we didn't use these or even realise there was a toaster in the cupboard, as we mostly ate out. It was quite hot when we stayed but luckily there was a fan supplied in the wardrobe which really helped. Although we didn't use it there was also an iron and ironing board. The only downside was the noise. The floors are quite creaky so you could hear the people in the room above walking back and forth and I assume the people underneath could also hear us. I put this down to being an older building and it didn't bother us too much. The other issue was the noise from outside, as the windows didn't really block this out. That said, it's the middle of a busy city so we expected a little bit of noise but we would ask if they have a quieter room when we return. We will be going up to Glasgow regularly and this will be our hotel of choice.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: May 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
KingoMidlands wrote a review Mar 2022
Northampton, United Kingdom65 contributions43 helpful votes
Hotel's Favourite
We booked an one bedroom executive apartment and were very surprised at the space it provided us with. Centrally located, car park nearby as was the subway. A good range of bars and shops within walking distance as was St George’s Square where we picked up the hop on hop off bus. Staff very helpful and friendly. A perfect property for a city break the only noise we encountered was some girls returning to their apartment Sunday early morning. Our apartment was on the 4th floor. The Q car park was approximately 200 yards away. We will certainly use the apartments again when we revisit Glasgow and have already recommended them to friends.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022
Value
Rooms
Service
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Sammy Lidstone, General Manager at Fraser Suites Glasgow
Responded 27 Mar 2022
Thank you so much for the detailed review. Really glad you enjoyed your stay and made use of the central location. Thanks also for recommending us to friends already - we really appreciate it. Thank you!
Read more
RCIT wrote a review 14 May
Puerto Aventuras, Mexico340 contributions107 helpful votes
Despite a luke warm welcome from front desk staff, and the large stains on the carpeting in the hallway on our floor making for a less than favourable first impression, the accommodation itself was spacious and had the basics of what we needed for 2 nights. The bed was comfortable, and the kitchen, while it lacks the basic appliance of a microwave, serves its purpose with a few dishes and the ability to cook. While they had a sign on the door of the room stating that the room had been "sanitized" and went to the effort of putting the remote control for the TV into a baggie with another statement that it had been "sanitized" I had noticed grubby finger prints on the light switch so as to how well things are actually cleaned beyond putting a sign, is a little bit debatable. They also have corduroy pillows on the bed which are not the most hygienic or easy to clean and highly doubt they are cleaned after each guest. The bathroom is set up in a very inconvenient way. The only vanity area is on the wall behind the toilet so if you need to reach your things, you are literally squeezing between the toilet and the sink to get them. Forget about putting on make up or trying to shave, the lighting is horrible. The tub/shower is impossible to turn on unless you are standing inside the tub ( very inconvenient if you want to bath a child) because the facets are across the tub on the opposite wall and beyond a glass barrier. There is also considerable noise from the street. We could hear people speaking in normal conversation as they walked by. Unfortunately our room over looked scaffolding and rubbish bins which was also not appealing. Over all, it was a decent stay despite the bathroom and a few notable glitches with housekeeping. Location was very walkable to shopping and dining and the pricing was certainly good. I doubt I'd stay again though.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Sammy Lidstone, General Manager at Fraser Suites Glasgow
Responded 6 days ago
Thank you for staying and sharing your constructive feedback. We will share this with the teams and use it to reflect and improve upon our offering. We will also investigate your apartment immediately so we can address the carpet stains. Our front desk team normally receive high praise so I'm very sorry that your welcome wasn't as warm as you were expecting. We're currently planning for a refurbishment so will certainly take on board your design feedback regarding the bathroom. Thanks again for staying and I'm so sorry that your experience didn't meet your expectations.
Read more
lkyle528054 wrote a review 10 May
1 contribution
We had stayed for our friends wedding and paid £230ish for 2 nights stay but didn’t spend much time in the apartment. Initially we walked in and received a very warm welcome and first impression was great. The room however wasn’t the best. Our view was of a dirty wall of the building next door and above the bins. We couldn’t have the window open due to the noise levels outside but when closed, the room was far to hot despite having the heating turned off. Room in need of TLC and updating. Painting, chips and marks on cupboards and units. Our friends stayed and had lovely rooms as well as receiving complimentary crisps, nuts and juice which we did not receive. Can’t fault the cleanliness or staff at all but for the price we paid, we expected a faultless room.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: May 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Sammy Lidstone, General Manager at Fraser Suites Glasgow
Responded 1 week ago
Many thanks for staying and passing on your helpful feedback. I'm really glad to read that you were impressed by our staff and the cleanliness of the apartment. We're aware that another full refurbishment is due and that some wear & tear is now showing within some of the apartments. This is currently being planned for so will certainly address some of your concerns very soon. Without knowing the detail of your bookings - it sounds like your friends received an upgrade to our Executive Apartments which do indeed include snacks and other amenities. We normally randomly choose to upgrade a selection of apartments each weekend - so I'm sorry that your booking wasn't chosen on this occasion. Please reach out to me directly if staying again and I will personally oversee your booking to ensure the best possible apartment is allocated. Thanks again for staying and sharing your helpful comments.
Read more
Smokey270 wrote a review 9 May
Arbroath, United Kingdom172 contributions96 helpful votes
Second time we have stayed and again a comfortable stay We had 2 rooms booked and both clean and tidy All items you would need to cook for yourself if that’s what you wanted The beds are huge and comfortable Be aware the rooms are in a busy part of town and it’s noisy over a weekend Breakfast was ok, it’s on first floor and not signposted anywhere until your outside the door A continental plenty choice , coffee machine a bit tricky be easier with a kettle I think We would use again very handy for town and car park next door you get 25% off at hotel
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled
Room Tip: Parking at Q park next door
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Sammy Lidstone, General Manager at Fraser Suites Glasgow
Responded 1 week ago
Thanks a lot for taking the time to leave your constructive feedback. I'm really glad you had a good nights sleep and were impressed with the apartments and comfortable bedding. Our breakfast set-up is indeed a simple continental offering - however I'm glad to read that you found there to be plenty choice & options. Our Nespresso coffee machines are very popular, so I'm sorry to hear there must have been an issue during your stay. We do have a back-up kettle so I'm sorry that you weren't offered an alternative. We will share your review with the team so they're aware for any future break downs. Many thanks again for staying and leaving your feedback.
Read more
mmagnu705755 wrote a review 9 May
1 contribution
I have stayed here many times. It's a great place to stay, perfectly located in Merchant City close to bars and restaurant and shopping. My only "complaint" would be the very short supply of cutlery, glasses and plates in the kitchen area :-)
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: May 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Sammy Lidstone, General Manager at Fraser Suites Glasgow
Responded 1 week ago
Many thanks for staying with us regularly - we really appreciate it. We often receive feedback about our central location, so it's great to hear you also made use of it. We're sorry that you didn't have enough cutlery - we will certainly review this and look at increasing. Our team are always on hand to provide additional items on request, however we appreciate this being brought to our attention. Thanks as always for staying!
Read more
Kevin M wrote a review 1 May
2 contributions
What started out with great potential, ended with mostly disappointment. The apartment was clean and spacious as you would expect. TV in the lounge is a little small for the size of the room, and the one in the bedroom wouldnt pick up any signal. We were only staying for 1 night as a family. We had dinner in town and as my daughter is only 6 we were back in the apartment by 9pm. Thats when we noticed the surrounding noise. Music from surrounding bars, kegs being moved in the alleyway to which our windows faced as well as the annoying clatter of glass being emptied into the bins below us. The alleyway acts like an amplifier or noise box. You would think there would be a reasonable level of isolation from the outside noise in an apartment at this price range, however the single pane sash windows offer nothing, and in fact the one in the bedroom is broken and does not sit correctly in the frame, leaving a partial gap at the bottom. If that wasnt enough we were then woken in the night by the neighbours upstairs. I dont know if they were practising marching, working on their step count or herding elephants but the noise of the floor underfoot was ridiculous. I actually took a recording of it as I wouldnt believe it myself if I hadnt heard it. All in all a restless night with little sleep. Not exactly what we had planned. The cans of Irn Bru in the fridge were a nice touch though.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled
Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor room with working windows. The alleyway behind acts like a noise box.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Sammy Lidstone, General Manager at Fraser Suites Glasgow
Responded 1 week ago
Thank you so much for the review Kevin. We really appreciate the honest feedback and review of your stay. I'm glad that you found the apartment to be clean and spacious - but am so sorry you had a restless sleep due to external noise. We're in constant dialogue with our neighbouring businesses - so will certainly pass on your review to help demonstrate the destruction which is caused when they operate outside during restricted night time hours. It clearly didn't help that your window was broken - so we will address this immediately. We've very sorry that you had an overall disappointing experience. We will continue striving to improve the conduct in our back lane which should help to reduce feedback like this in the near future. Thanks again for choosing to stay with us.
Read more
Husain A wrote a review Apr 2022
1 contribution
Excellent location. The room was spacious and comfortable. The reception staff were friendly and helpful specially during checking out. There was unavoidable noise coming from one of the bar at weekend. Other than that it’s worth staying there.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: April 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Sammy Lidstone, General Manager at Fraser Suites Glasgow
Responded 3 weeks ago
Thanks a lot for the positive review Husain. I'm so glad to hear that you enjoyed our central location and found the team to be friendly and helpful. We hope to see you in Glasgow again soon. Many thanks,
Read more
Steve K wrote a review Apr 2022
6 contributions
If you are looking for a hotel with a lot of space in a good location, then this is a good, reasonably priced option. The room was pretty much as advertised. Let me start with the positives: Location - great location on the east end of Merchant square. Very close to all sites in Glasgow Room - Very large, clean updated bathroom, decent kitchen, but the furniture has seen better days. The sofa was pretty beat up, but overall a nice room with tons of space. Having said that, it would benefit from a few places to hang coats etc. in the entrance way Common spaces - really is a lovely space with tall ceilings and wide open spaces to congregate. Ample access to free coffee! Amenities - Didn't eat at the hotel or use the gym, but the toiletries (we paid for the upgraded room) were nice. They also stocked the fridge with drinks and snacks (a real nice touch!) Negatives: If you are looking for a restful nights sleep then you might want to consider other options. Our room (214) was on the interior and overlooked the alleyway. Every morning your were greeted by the sound of the bottles being dumped in the recycling truck. Not a major issue if you wanted to start your day at 7am. The real issue was the noise at night. The hotel is situated above a few pubs/restaurants. On the weekend, the music was audible until 3am (4 for us as the time changed the day we arrived). I am not a light sleeper, but even still the music pounded through the old bones the hotel. We actually went to Edinburgh on Friday night to escape the noise and get a good night sleep. We made one enquiry about changing rooms, and were told the place was fully booked (it was spring break in Scotland at that time) If you need a big space with a good location and you get lucky on the room, might be a good option for you. If you plan on closing the pub below the hotel, then even better! A solid 3 star stay from a Canadian who has been to a lot of different countries and embraces the unique aspects of each place we visit!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Request a higher floor and a room that is not facing the alley way
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Sammy Lidstone, General Manager at Fraser Suites Glasgow
Responded 4 weeks ago
Many thanks for the honest and valuable feedback Stephen. We really appreciate the detailed review you have written for fellow travellers. We fully understand and appreciate your comments regarding the external noise. We also thank you for writing a very fair review which also highlights many positives about our property. We're striving to improve the experience offered - and are working hard on plans to fully sound proof the property. We're also in constant dialogue with our neighbours, so feedback like this helps us to demonstrate the impact of their sound levels. Thanks again for staying and taking the time to pass on your comments.
Read more
Elle H wrote a review Apr 2022
Sheffield, United Kingdom377 contributions83 helpful votes
When we arrived here we impressed on how nice the reception was and how easy it was to check in. When we were taken to our "exec" studio apartment which was a disabled room with a wet room, which wasn't what we were expecting but thought ok no worries. The room was dated, and not very clean. The room was extremtly hot even with all the raditiors off, when opening the window the handle broke clean off and was not able to be closed. I did report this to reception who did then move us room to a One bed apartment instead of a studio which was greatly appreciated as i understand this is an upgrade. This was better, nice bathroom and nice layout however but not clean. However again roasting hot, we didn't managed to sleep the first night as even on the "quiet" side of the hotel, there is noise throughout the night from bars and pubs locally. Then the clanging of barrels around 7am in the morning. If going back to Glasgow again for work, i would not stay here. Parking is close-by and with discount for nights is £32
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Sammy Lidstone, General Manager at Fraser Suites Glasgow
Responded 4 weeks ago
Thanks a lot for choosing to stay with us Elle. I'm really sorry that you left feeling disappointed and underwhelmed by the experience. Feedback like this helps to build our case when addressing the intolerable noise levels from our surrounding businesses. I'm so sorry that it impacted your stay and affected your sleep. I've also raised the other comments internally with our management team - so we will review how we fell short on several levels on this occasion. The level of service you received does not meet our high standards - so I can only apologise for this. Thanks again for the valuable feedback which will help us review and improve our offering.
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$101 - $142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
fraser hotel glasgow, fraser suites glasgow
LOCATION
United KingdomScotlandGlasgowCity Centre / Merchant City
NUMBER OF ROOMS
98
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Fraser Suites Glasgow
Which popular attractions are close to Fraser Suites Glasgow?
Nearby attractions include Escape Reality (0.1 km), Sharmanka Kinetic Theatre (0.1 km), and Glasgow Police Museum (0.09 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Fraser Suites Glasgow?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a fitness centre, and breakfast buffet.
Which room amenities are available at Fraser Suites Glasgow?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Fraser Suites Glasgow?
Guests can enjoy breakfast, complimentary tea, and free instant coffee during their stay.
Is parking available at Fraser Suites Glasgow?
Yes, paid public parking nearby and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Fraser Suites Glasgow?
Conveniently located restaurants include Obsession Of India, Turkiye Efes Restaurant, and Green Gates Indian Restaurant Merchantcity.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Fraser Suites Glasgow?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness centre during their stay.
Is Fraser Suites Glasgow located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.8 km away from the centre of Glasgow.
Are any cleaning services offered at Fraser Suites Glasgow?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are there any historical sites close to Fraser Suites Glasgow?
Many travellers enjoy visiting The Mackintosh House (3.2 km), House for an Art Lover (4.4 km), and The Tenement House (1.9 km).
Does Fraser Suites Glasgow have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the city view available here.