We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Ambassador Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Ambassador Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

246 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Ambassador Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 231: English reviews
Leven
Reviewed 4 October 2015

I spent one night here while attending a function at the University. I had room 3 which is a single room on the ground floor at the front of the hotel. The room and ensuite shower room were spotlessly clean and the bed very comfortable. The breakfast portions were very generous and saw me through to the evening. The hotel...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lynn H
robertmcq, Owner at Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review

Thank your for your review on your recent stay with, your comments are greatly appreciated and we are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Ambassador in the future.

Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 September 2015

Ambassador was a very good stay, good location, quiet yet only 10-minute bus ride to city centre (15 min. rush hour), good selection of restaurants and bars a few minutes away in Byers Road (don't forget to go down some of the laneways for some fine hostelries). Casa Rossa is a very good Italian in Byers Road. Back to hotel...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tommy M
robertmcq, Owner at Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your reveiw regarding your recent stay with us, you comments will be passed on to all concerned. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Ambassador in the future.

Stromness, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 September 2015

We stayed for 3 nights in a large spacious old fashioned styled room. It is a older hotel so that suits it. The room was ensuite and had a handy fridge as well. The hotel was clean and seems in a fairly good state on repair. We did not have breakfast included in our package, but their are plenty of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Donronrit
robertmcq, Owner at Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review we really appreciate your feedback and are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us at The Ambassador and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Market Harborough, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 September 2015

We had a very comfortable spacious triple room at the Ambassador and that was fine. My daughter Hollie said her bed was lumpy and didn't like it but mine was OK. We did, though, have a ludicrously small kettle for three of us so we had to boil it twice to make everyone a cuppa! I asked the receptionist for...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Red726
robertmcq, Owner at Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review

Thank your taking the time to review your stay with us over the weekend of 18th Sept and we are please to read that your room was comfortable and spacious, in regard to the issues that you have highlighted on a less positive note I would like to address these individually. Our mattresses are supplied by a very reputable company...

Reviewed 21 September 2015 via mobile

Booked here for the weekend. Receptionist was friendly and very welcoming. I had booked room only but wanted a breakfast for the 2nd morning before heading home. Not a problem i was told and it was very lovely breakfast. The room was large and still had plenty of room even though it had a double and single bed in it....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Karen M
robertmcq, Owner at Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope you will visit the hotel again soon. Kind regards

Lossiemouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 September 2015 via mobile

I had to book at short notice and arrived after the advertised time fir reception closing. I was greeted with a friendly welcome, and shown to my room. Breakfast was excellent and I will return if I stay in Glasgow again and would recommend it highly.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Simon C
robertmcq, Owner at Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review . We are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope you will visit the hotel again soon. Kind regards

Munich, Germany
Reviewed 8 September 2015

The hotel is located right next to the Botanical Gardens and in walking-distance to public transit as well as to shopping and to the university. The rooms are very small but cozy and have everything that one may need (fast internet, water kettle, fridge, safe, private bathroom). Everything is very clean and the staff is very nice and welcoming. I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Marion132012
robertmcq, Manager at Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for a lovely review . We are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope you will visit the hotel again soon. Kind regards Ambassador hotel staff

San Francisco, California
Reviewed 1 September 2015

Place looks like its been well maintained even though its a tad old. beds were decent rooms were clean receptionist was nice and accomodating with our check out. wifi was at a decent speed. shower worked great. only complaint was the mini fridge a some mold on the seals. this place definitely has a older city feel but without being...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JFC1983
robertmcq, Owner at Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments, the hotel is due for a complete refurbishment early in the New Year

Leigh-on-Sea, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 August 2015

We stayed at the ambassador for 3 nights. We had originally booked in at the Heritage, but having read the reviews about breakfast there not being so good, cancelled in favour of the Ambassador. We were greeted by Crystal upon our arrival and she was was polite and showed us to our room. The room was a little dated and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Donna293
robertmcq, Owner at Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review

In response to your review, we do not actually ask guest's to use towels more than once, there is a notice in each bathroom informing guest's that if they wish clean towels to please leave them in the base of the shower/on floor, it is completely at each guest's discretion whether they do this or not, if they leave them...

Casale Monferrato, Italy
Reviewed 24 August 2015 via mobile

I stayed there with my fiancee. The location is good, nice area with bars and pubs and attached to the botanic garden. Free parking along the road, good if you have a car. The structure is very nice from the outside, the inside is just nice. Breakfast is so so.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mascigab13
robertmcq, Owner at Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments

58 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (33)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (13)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (25)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (12)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
Albion Hotel
#63 of 96 in Glasgow
243 reviews
Kelvingrove Hotel
#67 of 96 in Glasgow
555 reviews
West End
Kelvin Hotel
Kelvin Hotel
#71 of 96 in Glasgow
281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Belhaven Hotel
#53 of 96 in Glasgow
408 reviews
West End
The Heritage Hotel
The Heritage Hotel
#60 of 96 in Glasgow
304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Conveniently located in the heart of Glasgow's fashionalble West End, surrounded by numerous shops, bars and cafe and only 1 mile for the City Centre. This stylish 3 star hotel is the ideal base for a leisue or corporate stop over in the city. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Ambassador Hotel

Address: 7 Kelvin Drive, Glasgow G20 8QG, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow
Price Range: ₹ 3,879 - ₹ 6,932 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ambassador Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ambassador Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambassador Hotel Glasgow, Scotland
Hotel Style:
#25 Business Hotel in Glasgow
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Ambassador Hotel staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Ambassador Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Room facing the street had a nice view of some trees and the large street nearby. Not at all noisy.”
TwoUrbanistas, 27 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Room 6 is a very quiet single room.”
carolineInverness, 7 Apr 2017 | Read review
“No lift so depending on your age and fitness you might want a room ground floor or at most first floor”
geepee7, 31 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Try Road Facing Rooms”
ManiLamichhane, 24 Feb 2017 | Read review
“They have parking.”
n_dauber, 17 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5