We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Argyll Guest House

{"containerAttributes":null,"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget"}}
About
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Popular, small and family run in convenient location .5 mile west of the city centre offering room only or bed and breakfast at budget rates. By Kelvingrove Park it is within a short walk of Scottish Exhibition and Conference Centre, Kelvingrove Art Galleries/ Museum, Kelvinhall International Sport Arena and Glasgow University. Enjoy both west end and city centre shopping, dining and nightlife. Ideal for business or tourist alike. Family Rooms Available. Free Street Parking.
Read more
Property amenities
Restaurant
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Non-Smoking Hotel
Room Service
Dry Cleaning
Meeting Rooms
Laundry Service
Room features
Non-Smoking Rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Centrally Located
Family
HOTEL CLASS
Reviews & more
287Reviews
246Photos
12Q+A
47Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 92
  • 92
  • 58
  • 18
  • 27
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More languages
  • Filter
  • English
Show reviews that mention
We had received Hotel Voucher Shop voucher as a Christmas present last year and put them towards a Christmassy weekend in Glasgow. The hotel summary and room pictures looked great and so we were looking forward to our break.

It ended up being a nocturnal nightmare.

We arrived
Read more
Response from ArgyllHotel, Public Relations Manager at Argyll Guest House
Responded 3 weeks ago
Hi Geoff, We appreciate your feedback, we can ensure you this is an isolated case and we apologise deeply for the noise you experienced during your stay with us. Our hotel is normally very peaceful at night, but we have no control over which guests book our rooms or how they will act prior to arrival. As explained in person and on Facebook recommendations, our staff did contact your neighbours more than once to ask them to keep the noise down. We even threatened to ask them to leave if the behaviour continued at which point, they left to go on their night out. As you were placed in the guest house staff couldn’t hear when the guest came back switched the music back on later that night. Regarding your comment about our staff suggesting “next time we should ask for one of their quiet rooms”. This would have been in reference to street noise not guest noise. This is mainly due to the fact we are lucky enough to be situated in a prime location of Glasgow with lovely restaurant and shops all around us so some of our rooms on the main road are a little noisier than at back. Most of our guest do not even notice but if you are a light sleeper, we recommend the back of the guesthouse. Unfortunately circumstances like this are somewhat out of our control. In any case if a guest is upset our staff will act in a helpful and sympathetic manner to ensure we offer solutions to any problems you may have. We offered to upgrade you to the main hotel for the remainder of your stay to ensure you would be able to get a good night’s sleep on the second night, but you declined as you liked your room. We also offered you a partial refund but were unable to process this due to Hotel Voucher Shop refund policy. We offered you to come back to stay with us again, we would offer you the best price available, upgrade you to the best room in the hotel and offer 20% off on top of that. We apologise again for your stay, but we would love to have you back again to make it up to you.
Read more
No frills hotel. Very clean rooms and bed was super comfy. A bit noisy being so close to the main road. Suited us perfectly as we met up with family there for a wedding so just needed somewhere to get ready and then sleep. Good location. Less than £8 taxi to the centre. Nice area
Read more
Response from ArgyllHotel, Public Relations Manager at Argyll Guest House
Responded 3 weeks ago
Thank you, Kayleigh. We are glad you enjoyed your overall stay with us. Due to our great location the rooms at the front of the hotel can sometimes be a little noise if you are a light sleeper, we recommend requesting a back room. We hope you will stay with us again in the future.
Read more
I stayed here with a friend last year and we had a quiet room downstairs at the back. Unfortunately this visit with my partner was a totally different experience. We had a room at the front next to the front door, the combination of traffic and door/guest noise all through the ni
Read more
Response from ArgyllHotel, Public Relations Manager at Argyll Guest House
Responded 4 weeks ago
We are very sorry that you didn’t have a good stay this time around. Unfortunately, traffic and guest noise are completely out of our control, but I will speak to our cleaning staff about the hoovering at 9am. We hope this hasn’t put you off staying with us. If you do decide to stay with us again, we recommend requesting a back room when booking. Our reception staff will be more than happy to help you.
Read more
We stayed in a double room for two nights in the guesthouse. The room had all the necessary amenities expect a fridge and central heating. Stay was very pleasant appart from room being very warm. Reception was also pleasant and quick. One complaint would be the cleaning staff not
Read more
Response from ArgyllHotel, Public Relations Manager at Argyll Guest House
Responded 12 Nov 2018
Hi Hannah, Thank for the nice review. All out housekeeping staff should knock when entering a guest room I will pass your comments along to ensure this doesnt happen again. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you again soon.
Read more
Ok- so the basement single rooms are maybe a little small... but for the price I believe it was excellent value. They have renovated bathrooms and breakfast was excellent.

Lovely Linda made my stay all the better- such a nice lady. She was very helpful at letting me store luggag
Read more
Response from ArgyllHotel, Public Relations Manager at Argyll Guest House
Responded 2 Nov 2018
Thank you for such a lovely review! We love oor linda I will pass your kind comment on to here, she will be so happy! We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us.We hope to see you back here soon.
Read more
Previous
Album Categories
All photosTravellerRoom & SuiteDining
Professional photo exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisorArgyll Guest House
The University View Triple Room at the Argyll Guest House
Professional photo exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisorArgyll Guest House
The Twin Room at the Argyll Guest House
Professional photo exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisorArgyll Guest House
The Triple-Twin Room at the Argyll Guest House
Professional photo exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisorArgyll Guest House
The Triple Room at the Argyll Guest House
Professional photo exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisorArgyll Guest House
The Single Room at the Argyll Guest House
Previous
Is there parking available on the premises?
There is parking, but it's extremely limited. It's a few spaces on the road outside the front of the hotel.
1 vote
hi i have Davis cup tickets will be traveling to glasgow central then Emirates arena how close are you guys to the train station
You can get a bus to the hotel from the station or a taxi. Don't forget to go round the corner to the Park Bar. Traditional Scottish Pub with amazing traditional meals and great prices. Live Scottish music at weekends too.
0 votes
Is this a disabled friendly hotel and close to airport and more importantly the SSE HYDRO?
Hi Kerry, there are steps up to the hotel and the guesthouse. Our guesthouse does not have a lift, we only have a lift in the hotel. We are roughly a 15/20 minute drive to Glasgow Airport and a 15 minute walk from the SSE Hydro. If you need anything else please do not hesitate to call 0141 337 3313 and we can answer any questions you have!
0 votes
Show all answers
Hope to hear that bus connections are nearby to the Argyll? First time in Glasgow, want to do some genealogical research in an area called Rutherglen, but also see 'major sights'. Possible Day Trip or two with Rabbie's......Need to take train to Edinburgh at close of stay. Best to all and thank you for help!
Good Morning, We look forward to welcoming you to the hotel soon! We have bus services directly outside the hotel that can take you into the city centre or if you want to see the major sights you can get the city sight seeing bus. Charing Cross train station is just a 10 minute walk from the hotel and you can get a train to Edinburgh from there. Anderston train station is a 15 minute walk from the hotel where you can get a train to Rutherglen. I hope this helps, we have 24 hour recpetionist who will also be able to assist with any questions. Many thanks, Argyll Hotel
0 votes
Show all answers
We are staying here next week for three nights. What is the best way to get to the hotel from the airport and how far is the hotel from “downtown”? Is it walkable to downtown? Thank you. Ed Sorsdahl
I got to Glasgow via train from Edinburgh. From the airport, there are two options: the purple airporter stops quite near the hotel, or contact the hotel and ask if the arrangement they have with the taxi company that takes people to the airport goes both ways. £22.50 seems like a deal. As for getting downtown we just used taxis as we didn’t want to waste our walking energy getting there. That said, staying in the West End makes for wonderful sightseeing nearby: the Kelvingrove, the University, Ashton Lane etc. And the restaurants are amazing. We had coffee at Seb and Mili every morning. Enjoy!
1 vote
Show all answers
Previous
"Quiet twin room 15....small but adequate"
"Don't choose a room below street level"
"Basement rooms have been great for us."
"none, all are lovel"
"No elevator in this facility so must be able to take stairs to lower level rooms."
Previous
PRICE RANGE
US$ 44 - US$ 103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
argyll guest house hotel glasgow
LOCATION
United KingdomScotlandGlasgow
NUMBER OF ROOMS
20
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing