We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

McLays Guest House

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
McLays Guest House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow

563 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
  • More
There are newer reviews for McLays Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Showing 490: English reviews
Elst, The Netherlands
Reviewed 28 March 2013

This place is clean. It's a cost-effective way of spending a night in Glasgow. There's no Wifi in the rooms, but there's free Wifi in the dining room. That was good enough for me. No fancy stuff there, just the affordable basics to spend the night.

Thank Teus B
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 March 2013

the hotel is a bit of a maze but except for that is fit for purpose, great location a massive breakfast and the staff were very friendly and cheap as chips. We had a family room with an ensuite and a massive tv. Thanks mclays had a great time. cheers

Thank meiz8439
Reviewed 20 March 2013

Was going to glasgow on a night out for my friends joint birthdays and we were looking for a nice cheap hotel room to stay in. My friend found this place and booked thinking she was getting a good deal. When we arrived at the hotek via taxi the reception was very dated. We then spoke to what i believe...

Thank CLglasgow
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 March 2013

I have stayed at Mclays a number of times and although it's not luxury it does the job. The staff are excellent and very friendly and helpful. The rooms are a bit run down, but for £25 per night for an ensuite single room what do you expect. By the way, this does include a full cooked breakfast and it's...

Thank atcook
Reviewed 20 March 2013 via mobile

Yes it's cheap, but it isn't the nicest.. Spend a few more pounds to get a half decent hotel.. We stayed in a family room and it was a great size but the bathroom looked like it hasn't been cleaned for about a month. The shower was broken and very small even for me at 5ft, you had to bend...

Thank Erin192
Reviewed 10 March 2013

after phoning to try and make a reservation I was informed that there were no rooms. I proceeded to book online via travelstay.com. I reserved a single room with shared bathroom and on arrival was informed my room was now an en suit single. Thank you I said. on entering the room (after the long climb to where the birds...

2Thank lamac2000
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 March 2013

Really good place to stay in Glasgow! Super central, one block away from a street packed with restaurants and bars. You could hear some noise from the behind of a club, but not to the extent where you would have problems sleeping. Personally I never tried the breakfast, because it was really early in the morning (7-9am) But a friend...

Thank nesloorug
McLaysGuestHouse, General Manager at McLays Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for your great review. We are delighted that you found our location to be ideal. We are happy to know that you did not have any problems sleeping despite some noise from behind a club. Also, we are glad to know that your friend was satisfied with the quality of our breakfast. In addition, we are pleased to...

Newcastle upon Tyne, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 March 2013

Conveniently located in Glasgow, it is close to fun places to go out. Staff were friendly and took their time to offer advise on places to visit. Rooms were simple and clean, had everything that was needed. Would stay there again.

Thank LJC90
McLaysGuestHouse, General Manager at McLays Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for your very kind review. We are delighted that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay. We are glad that you found our location to be convenient. Additionally, we are pleased that you were satisfied that our staff made your stay a pleasant one & helped answer any queries or requirements that you had during your visit. Also we are...

Stirling, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 March 2013

I have stayed at this hotel many times with friends when we come to Glasgow for a night out. The hotel is located one street behind Sauchiehall street that has many pubs and clubs so it is a great location for us when we stay. Compared to other hotels in the area the price is a lot cheaper and breakfast...

Thank Hilary W
McLaysGuestHouse, General Manager at McLays Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for your very kind review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay as well as pleased to know that you have stayed with us many times before. We are glad that you have found our location to be ideal behind Sauchiehall Street where you find an excellent selection of pubs & clubs. We are happy to know...

Reviewed 18 February 2013 via mobile

We were for a night there and the room and beds are very nice, but the WiFi is horrible and the lady at the reception is not polite. The place is close to a bus stop of the sightseeing bus, but far from the city.

Thank rneia
McLaysGuestHouse, General Manager at McLays Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are delighted that you were very satisfied with the quality of our rooms & beds. However, we are saddened to know that you found our Wi-Fi to be terrible. We have plans in the immediate future to improve our Wi-Fi connection. We are also deeply disappointed that you were unhappy with our receptionist. We...

94 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

All Traveller Photos (94)
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Bathroom (16)
Room/Suite (22)
View from Room (2)
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Dining (1)
Other (43)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
Smiths Hotel
#91 of 95 in Glasgow
381 reviews
City Centre
Victorian House
Victorian House
#79 of 95 in Glasgow
505 reviews
City Centre
BEST WESTERN Glasgow City Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
The Sandyford Hotel
The Sandyford Hotel
#64 of 95 in Glasgow
528 reviews
City Centre
Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Charing Cross) Hotel
Sandyford Lodge Hotel
#46 of 95 in Glasgow
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices


  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
  • Free Breakfast
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
McLays’ offers great value budget accommodation in the heart of the city centre. We are superbly located for visiting Glasgow’s many museums and art galleries and just minutes away from Glasgow’s finest shopping streets Sauchiehall Street and Buchanan Street where in addition you shall find an excellent selection of restaurants, cafes, bars, cinemas, nightclubs etc. ... more   less 

Additional Information about McLays Guest House

Address: 260 - 276 Renfrew Street, Glasgow G3 6TT, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow
Price Range: ₹ 3,506 - ₹ 8,807 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — McLays Guest House 1*
Number of rooms: 81
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your McLays Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mclays Guest House Hotel Glasgow
Mclays Hotel Glasgow
McLays Guest House Glasgow, Scotland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from McLays Guest House staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from McLays Guest House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Choose elsewhere. Do not book here. Would give a lower rating if we could.”
 of 5 bubbles DannyWatson23, 13 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Reasonably priced, shared bathroom but rooms nice and clean. Breakfast really good.”
 of 5 bubbles CheshireMuttley, 12 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Don't take room in back as they are fire hazards”
 of 5 bubbles DenR88, 6 Apr 2016 | Read review
“Go to a different guest house!”
 of 5 bubbles Sheherizad, 15 Mar 2016 | Read review
“Rooms at the back of the hotel quieter”
 of 5 bubbles 12Jackie2015, 15 Mar 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay