We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
11 Sherbrooke Avenue Pollokshields, Glasgow G41 4PG Scotland
E-mail hotel
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotel direct offer!Spring Dinner, Bed & Breakfast Special Offer
Booking.com
$175
View deal
Expedia.com
$181
View deal
Agoda.com
$170
View deal
Travelocity$181
Priceline$190
Traveluro$204
View all 19 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (549)
360
Panoramas (52)
Videos (2)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
  • Contactless check-out
Updated 20/10/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Sherbrooke Castle Hotel
Updated 20/10/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#8 of 103 in Glasgow
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
Sherbrooke Castle Hotel is a magnificent 4 star baronial hotel crafted in rich red sandstone and set in beautifully landscaped gardens in the leafy suburb of Pollokshields in Glasgow's Southside. The hotel has luxury bedrooms and suites, a lounge bar, restaurant and meetings and event facilities for up to 200 guests. At the Sherbrooke, we have combined traditional grace with modern efficiency. Prestige with convenience. The result is a unique experience. A genuine experience. The Sherbrooke experience. We look forward to welcoming you to the Sherbrooke Castle Hotel.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Taxi service
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Baggage storage
Concierge
Parking
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Special diet menus
Meeting rooms
Currency exchange
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Shared lounge / TV area
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Bathrobes
Desk
Housekeeping
Room service
Safe
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Telephone
Iron
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
City view
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Quaint
Charming
Languages Spoken
English
Hotel links
Special Offer:Spring Dinner, Bed & Breakfast Special Offer
1217Reviews14Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 874
  • 252
  • 47
  • 24
  • 20
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Jules_the_explorer wrote a review 24 May
Burlington, Canada17 contributions19 helpful votes
I call this the rescue hotel since my previous accommodation was grossly sub par. I managed to book a room at the Sherbrooke through a discount website. It was the last room available for my stay for two nights. I got to the hotel after 5pm and a lovely young lady greeting me at the desk - she was so very helpful and a change from the terrible place I had been previously booked. (I think her name was Fiona??) She got see checked in, and walked see to my room. I was staying in the "cottage" part of thee hotel (so not the castle part - make sure you pick the right room if that's important to you) and there was parking directly outside my door. The room was an accessible room, but it was clean and the bed large, the lock on the door worked, and that was all that really mattered to see at that point. I will say while large and lovely and flooded with light from the large windows, the room was a little tired and could probably use a little updating and a fresh coat of paint. The king sized bed was nice, and there was plenty of seating in the room as well as a large wardrobe if you wanted to hang suits and dresses. The shower room (no tub) was fine, again, needing a fresh coat of pain and some updating, but clean, and appointed with shampoo, conditioner, and body wash. Because the shower was an accessible or "boundary free" shower, the curtain did not quite go to the bottom of the shower and the water got all over the floor, even with the bath mat - so be careful! The floor can get slippery. No breakfast included, but you could go to the restaurant for a meal. I had mixed experience in the dining room - my first clouded by a surly waiter when I scoffed at the price of a £15 porridge on the menu; the second experience was fine, and a different waiter seemingly happier to be there. Of note: the bar was hopping in the evenings! Tips to the Hotel: 1. wash cloths are such a simple thing to add, and customers love them. 2. small refresh of the room would not go amiss. 3. longer shower curtain in the bathroom to avoid water on the floor.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Value
Rooms
Service
Room Tip: If you want room in the castle, make sure you ask for the castle rooms.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Sherbrooke Castle, Guest Services / Front Office at Sherbrooke Castle Hotel
Responded today
Dear Jules_the_explorer, Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your recent experience with us at Sherbrooke Castle. We pride ourselves on our guests experiences and appreciate feedback as it allows us to understand what we are getting right and also areas which we may need to focus on. We are delighted to read your comments regarding the team, and will certainly pass your kind remarks on. I will pass your comments regarding a refresh of the room on to our maintenance team to investigate and take any appropriate action. The full breakfast menu is priced at £15.00 therefore this includes any hot items from the kitchen including full Scottish breakfast, porridge, avocado and poached eggs, etc as well as the full continental buffet – selection of pastries, fruit, meats, salmon, yogurt, hot beverages, etc included within this price which we feel is competitive. However, to make you aware you will receive the most competitive room rate on the hotel’s own website – and we also include breakfast complimentary if you book with us directly. We hope you will choose to stay with us again at Sherbrooke Castle and look forward to welcoming you back.
Read more
Sue A wrote a review Apr 2022
Sheffield, United Kingdom112 contributions57 helpful votes
Hotel's Favourite
Top tip: book direct on the hotel website as it’s cheaper than booking.com and breakfast is included. We stayed here for one night before a wedding and it’s really close to Glasgow, with the benefit of free onsite parking. We stayed in a ‘garden room’ which was spacious and had lots of storage space, Tv, charger points for tech, tea and coffee facilities and a really good bathroom with a double sized shower. All of the staff were friendly and helpful. We had dinner and breakfast, both of which were plentiful and good quality. I’d definitely recommend staying here.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled
Room Tip: Book direct
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Sherbrooke Castle, Guest Services / Front Office at Sherbrooke Castle Hotel
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear 392suea, Thank you very much for taking the time to tell us about your recent experience with us. We are delighted to read your review and are pleased you enjoyed your time with us. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future to Sherbrooke Castle.
Read more
Samuel S wrote a review 17 May
Glasgow, United Kingdom1 contribution
I stayed overnight on 16th may 2022. The hotel was very cold in the lounge area, the girl at reception was not probably trained , I asked her if I could speak to the head chef her reply yes . the chef did not come because she did not have a clue. I got my dinner in the evening soup fish and chips the soup was lentil it was thick as anything my batter fish and chips which I got was nothing short of a dam disgrace , my French Fries were hard that u could not eat and for the fish it was uneatable as I could not put my fork in to the batter. And for my breakfast I got orange juice which I can't describe because it was dreadful the worst orange juice I have had in any of hotels that I have stayed in. The management of this hotel told me what I received from the kitchen that's how we cook the fish Please avoid this hotel and save your cash.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from Sherbrooke Castle, Guest Services / Front Office at Sherbrooke Castle Hotel
Responded 2 days ago
Dear Mr Samuel Solomon, Your review is certainly not an accurate version of events. Prior to arrival to the hotel you contacted us directly to answer specific questions regarding the food served within our restaurant – all questions were answered and noted within your reservation. It was not one occasion that you contacted prior to your arrival – therefore we were aware of your requirements. On arrival this was again confirmed with reception and the duty manager – who attended your room personally to confirm this information in person. This was relayed to the restaurant manager who looked after you during your time within our restaurant. Due to the notes within your reservation- the manager specifically looked after yourself – carrying out numerous check backs throughout your meal, the feedback of which from yourself was ‘lovely’ and ‘great’. The manager has confirmed that all 3 courses were finished in full with positive feedback. It was only on check out when presented with a bill you began to request a refund for ‘poor food’. When asked for details – this was not provided. When our duty manager called yourself to discuss the matter you again demanded a refund – as there were no issues with any dishes – this was refused – you then began to haggle for a discount of some kind. When this was refused you began to threaten the manager with a negative review on Tripadvisor. During your ‘negotiations’ you mentioned that if breakfast was refunded no review would be published. As our manager refused – here thus said negative review appears. We note you have created an account simply to post this review. We do appreciate genuine feedback from guests as we understand that there is always room for improvement and things to focus upon however there was clearly an agenda here. Although TripAdvisor can be beneficial for providing genuine feedback on experiences, it also provides a platform for unsubstantiated reviews and gives some reviewers the impression they are able to use this website as some form of leverage against hotels, bars, restaurant, etc. The hotel will not be blackmailed or threatened in to refunds or discounts in exchange for reviews.
Read more
Emma L wrote a review 12 May
Glasgow, United Kingdom5 contributions
We had the most wonderful wedding day at Sherbrooke Castle Hotel and could not recommend the location, staff and whole experience higher! William and Claire from the events team were so helpful and organised in the months leading up to our big day. Nothing ever felt like a stress at all and all our wishes were accommodated. On the day itself, we had our ceremony in the beautiful orangery to the side of the main hotel which was such a perfect romantic setting with plenty space for over 120 guests. Sherbrooke's Piper piped guests in and really contributed to the unique quality of a good Scottish wedding! The drinks reception and canapés followed. We had so many friends and family comment on how tasty the canapés were, especially the mini beef wellingtons which went down particularly well! We were busy getting photos, which so far look beautiful with the castle and gardens a wonderful setting to remember forever. A nice touch was that William organised for us to have some alone time after official photos were taken in our hotel room to relax and enjoy reflecting on the day so far. After that the day continued with delicious food in the beautifully decorated main room and then dancing. Throughout the day staff were so friendly and always checked in that we were having a good day with time to relax. We slept very well in the honeymoon suite and I look forward to staying there again in future :) Thank you to William, Claire and all the Sherbrooke staff for making our day so special!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from Sherbrooke Castle, Guest Services / Front Office at Sherbrooke Castle Hotel
Responded 2 days ago
Dear emmalU3844WN, Thank you very much for taking the time to tell us about your experience at Sherbrooke Castle. We are absolutely delighted to read your review and that your day was such a success. We pride ourselves on our guests’ experiences and are extremely pleased you enjoyed your time with us. Your generous feedback will certainly be passed on to the whole team. We would like to take this opportunity to wish you many congratulations and we very much look forward to welcoming you back in the future to Sherbrooke Castle.
Read more
CCJE wrote a review 8 May
Cheshire45 contributions77 helpful votes
Sherbrooke Castle was the perfect venue for our son’s wedding on May 1st - such a beautiful setting for everyone to relax, enjoy and celebrate. The new “orangery” is Impressive and so well suited for the wedding ceremony. We were impressed with every member of staff- they were incredibly professional, efficient and attentive. We spoke to William (one of the coordinators) a lot on the day. He was brilliant and very attentive to everyone’s needs. There were lots of very thoughtful touches throughout the day eg giving the bride and groom a bit of quiet time with a drink and snacks before the reception started (which we know they really appreciated). There were quite a few young children at the wedding who were catered for incredibly well and given plenty of attention! The food was excellent with a choice for guests which impressed us. Food was well presented, served at a perfect pace and staff kept checking to see that everyone was happy. We stayed overnight as guests in a beautiful Junior Suite, had a great night’s sleep and a very relaxing and enjoyable breakfast. We really couldn’t fault Sherbrooke Castle and all the staff - 5 stars in every respect. It was a perfect and memorable day. Thank you.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Sherbrooke Castle, Guest Services / Front Office at Sherbrooke Castle Hotel
Responded 2 days ago
Dear CCJE, Thank you for your email. We pride ourselves on our guests’ experiences at Sherbrooke Castle and are absolutely delighted to read your review. Your kind comments are greatly appreciated and will certainly be passed on to the whole team. We are thrilled the day was such a success. Once again thank you very much for your feedback, we look forward to welcoming you back in the future to Sherbrooke Castle.
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$141 - $240 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
sherbrooke castle glasgow, hotel sherbrooke castle
LOCATION
United KingdomScotlandGlasgowSouth Side
NUMBER OF ROOMS
18
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Sherbrooke Castle Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Sherbrooke Castle Hotel?
Nearby attractions include House for an Art Lover (1.1 km), Glasgow Climbing Centre (1.0 km), and Bellahouston Park (1.0 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Sherbrooke Castle Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at Sherbrooke Castle Hotel?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Sherbrooke Castle Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Sherbrooke Castle Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Flavour bomb Kitchen at the Balcony, House for an Art Lover - Art Lovers Cafe, and Sherbrooke Castle Hotel Restaurant.
Are any cleaning services offered at Sherbrooke Castle Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Sherbrooke Castle Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Are there any historical sites close to Sherbrooke Castle Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting The Mackintosh House (3.3 km), House for an Art Lover (1.1 km), and The Tenement House (3.3 km).
Does Sherbrooke Castle Hotel have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the city view available here.