We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
8 Park Terrace, Glasgow G3 6BY Scotland
Booking.com
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
eDreams
Orbitz.com
Priceline
View all 10 deals
Prices above are provided by partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and do not include all taxes and fees. Please see our partners for full details.
Traveller (19)
Room & Suite (11)
Business Centre & Event Rooms (3)

About

#7 of 92 Specialty lodging in Glasgow
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Glasgow Youth Hostel is situated in the West End of Scotland's largest city, overlooking Kelvingrove Park. Providing budget accommodation with 110 beds, Glasgow Youth Hostel offers a range of private and multi-share rooms and a self-catering apartment which sleeps up to 6 people. All rooms have an en-suite toilet and separate shower facilities. Glasgow Youth Hostel offers spacious and comfortable common areas including a lounge and TV room, games room, self-catering kitchen and dining room. This youth hostel is perfect for accommodating groups, families and individuals and takes care to ensure rooms are allocated with everyone's comfort and enjoyment in mind. Wi-Fi during your stay: We do our best to deliver a free Wi-Fi service but apologise that connectivity, particularly in our rural locations, can be intermittent due to the level of our current broadband provision along with high usage when the youth hostel is busy. Please be assured we are endeavouring to improve where we can. We thank you for your patience and understanding
Read more
Property amenities
Paid public parking nearby
Snack bar
Game room
Billiards
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Newspaper
24-hour front desk
Special diet menus
Vending machine
Non-smoking hotel
Shared kitchen
Shared lounge / TV area
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Kitchenette
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Budget
Languages Spoken
English, German
221Reviews7Q+A23Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 74
  • 88
  • 34
  • 14
  • 11
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Sati77 wrote a review Jun 2022
Jakarta, Indonesia97 contributions59 helpful votes
It was quite far from the bus station so I had to take a taxi as my internet was not working. But when I had to return to the bus station, the lady in the receptionist was very helpful to inform me of the nearest location of my cellphone provider and advise me to use an online map which was working very well and helped me so much to navigate. I stayed in a single room with a bathroom inside. The room was quite big and very clean (bathroom and room). The building is so big, very quiet during my stay there. very worth the price on the rooms, only the downside is the location.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Hostelling Scotland, Agency / Consultant at Glasgow Youth Hostel
Responded 4 days ago
Thank you for posting your positive review. Our team here at Hostelling Scotland Glasgow are committed to providing high-quality customer service, and we’re thrilled to hear that we made a good impression on you. We hope you’ll visit us again soon Kind regards Paul
Read more
GiacomoG wrote a review Feb 2022
London, United Kingdom89 contributions19 helpful votes
Very noisy property itself. Also, reported an issue caused by noisy neighbors and they didn't care. Don't recommend it all. Couldn't be any worse. Wasted money. Not recommend. Poor service. No customer service at all. Very very bad......
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022Trip type: Travelled solo
Helpful
Share
Response from Hostelling Scotland, Agency / Consultant at Glasgow Youth Hostel
Responded 18 Mar 2022
We are sorry that you were not happy with your stay at our Glasgow Youth Hostel we endeavor to deliver a high level of service in all our hostels, and we apologies that you did not receive this during your stay. In answer to your points raised, I will correspond this to the Team members at Glasgow Youth Hostel. I would like to apologies once more for the noise of your neighbor which disrupted your stay with us however we are glad that we managed to speak to you Post Departed to resolve this issue. Thank you for taking the time to review your stay, we hope to welcome you back to one of our Hostels in the future. Kind regards, Chris Guest Services
Read more
Tom K wrote a review Oct 2021
London, United Kingdom29 contributions12 helpful votes
Me and a friend stayed in a twin ensuite room, which was well appointed including USB chargers, a good amount of lockable storage space, and whilst basic, comfortable with clean (but narrow) beds and bathroom. The hostel is located a little way out of the city and hasn't got the best public transport access, being a 10-15 minute walk from the stations, but provided excellent value and service especially as I only booked around a week out. At £31.50 for the private ensuite twin room including towels I felt it was good value. The area is quite pretty with stone buildings, and the hostel itself has a good amount of character with the wooden staircases. Noise wasn't an issue during my stay but we arrived late (around midnight) and left the next day at around 8am so it was difficult to judge if it could have been. The hostel had friendly and informative service, including a proactive call due to my late arrival time to inform me about the check in procedure and the front desk was very helpful. Whilst some ammenities such as the kitchen are unavaliable with COVID they still provide hot drinks in the reception area and the staff were great at explaining everything. Wifi also worked well. Some sort of floor mat in the bathroom, and somewhere for the lamp other than the window ledge (as it was stuck behind the blind) would be helpful. Also remember this is still a youth hostel so there is no in-room TV or kettle and you're asked to remove your sheets at the end.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Bring a lock if you wish to secure your belongings a bit more in the room, as the cupboards are...
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Bernard wrote a review Jul 2021
1 contribution1 helpful vote
I came here with my disabled partner following a family bereavement and had travelled under 500 miles to get here. I grew up here in Kelvingrove but left Glasgow years back. I've returned to visit many times staying in far better hotels several times and those hotels offered great value for money. Not the Glasgow Youth Hostel that I had booked 2 nights to stay in with my partner. Our room was 3 flights upstairs and we weren't informed about a lift to take the luggage to our too basic room. No TV....No Kettle.....NOTHING, except a double bed and a bathroom with shower. No pictures inside this dark interior building. Only a coffee maker where I had to ask for milk. Told by reception that we'd need to eat out at the many Bistros and bars etc. A very long time spent here without a TV to watch and not even a Kettle with cups to make tea and coffee I bought. Only good thing about this place was the panoramic views of the dear green city I grew up in but that's where it ended. Fed up with paying every 4 hours for the parkibg..my partner and I decided to leave after only one night. There wasn't even a receptionist downstairs to accept my returned door swipe keys. Absolutely disgusted and ashamed that as a fellow glssweigan, that I'd book and pay £90 odd pounds that I'm sure the Duke Street Eastern Hotel would have been a better place to ztay. Given I came here following a bereavement I don't think my late Mother would have been very impressed. My childhood kelvingrove park with such lovely fellow glssweigan was the best attraction. Unless the owner gets a grip over their couldn't care less staff and fit TV and a basic Kettle....then the Hostel will close because disgruntled people will book elsewhere. One star for me.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Johanna S wrote a review Feb 2020
2 contributions4 helpful votes
We were staying in the flat together as six friends for a weekend. We really enjoyed the nice staff and especially our comfortable flat with an own living room, a kitchen and also a great view for a good price. It is also quite a nice area to stay and explore Glasgow. We can really recommend this hostel!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled with friends
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from HostellingScot, Manager at Glasgow Youth Hostel
Responded 12 Feb 2020
Thank you for taking a moment to share your experience at Glasgow Youth Hostel. We’re proud to deliver great value to our guests, so we’re delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope you’ll visit us again soon. Kind Regards Nicola Glasgow Group Manager
Read more
Neil G wrote a review Dec 2019
Melbourne, Australia206 contributions99 helpful votes
My wife and I stayed for one night in a double room with ensuite prior to walking the West Highland Way. The building is absolutely beautiful and in a great location overlooking Kelvingrove Park. Our room was comfortable and clean. We used the hostel laundry to wash and dry our clothes, and we found it quite good value. It was a nice walk through the park to the supermarket where we bought provisions for dinner. The kitchen was good (once you read the instructions on how to light the burners!) We would certainly stay again.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2019
Value
Cleanliness
Service
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Cazl15 wrote a review Aug 2019
Southampton, United Kingdom15 contributions32 helpful votes
Wow, what a privilege it was to stay here, with the natural stone, carved wooden staircase and features and original features. Overlooking a sweeping and breathtaking park with stone balustrades. We felt safe walking out at night and went to the local comedy club. Visited the sights and museums including the Surgeons museum which was of great individual interest. The staff were lovely and very helpful with supplying a map with personified routes for my daughter and I. We travelled by public transport which was excellent.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2018
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Eidosoakrhrhudoa wrote a review Jun 2019
10 contributions15 helpful votes
The building used to be a hotel, and the interiors retained that mid-20th century style. It is fully equipped with facilities like laundry, self catered kitchen, and a drying room. The TV room and game room are hidden gems, both are spacious and filled with natural light. It is a lot of fun exploring inside the building. The hostel has a lot of tourist information, which I find very helpful. The shared rooms are clean and bright, and the toilets are clean. The staffs are very very friendly. Location wise, it’s near Kelvingrove Gallery, Hungarian Museum, and Mackintosh House. 15 min walk from Charing Cross, 15 min car ride from the City Centre.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2019Trip type: Travelled solo
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from HostellingScot, Guest Relations Manager at Glasgow Youth Hostel
Responded 20 Aug 2019
Thank you for your feedback We are happy you enjoyed your stay at Glasgow YH looking forward to welcoming you back to our Hostel on your next trip Guest Relation Manager
Read more
Andrea T wrote a review Jun 2019
Northumberland, United Kingdom20 contributions38 helpful votes
Clean ,location fantastic .friendly staff . Second time I have stayed there and going again next year xxxxxxx Great location right next to the shops,bars and take ways xx You will be spoiled for choice
Read more
Date of stay: May 2019Trip type: Travelled with friends
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from HostellingScot, Guest Relations Manager at Glasgow Youth Hostel
Responded 20 Aug 2019
Thank you for your feedback Glad you have a great time we look forward to welcoming you back to our Hostel Guest Relation Manager
Read more
Naomi L wrote a review Feb 2019
Wallsend, United Kingdom83 contributions47 helpful votes
This place is nice and pretty central in Glasgow. The room was very clean, as was the bathroom. One of the staff members was a bit sassy when i checked in, but the rest of them were nice enough and very helpful. I would stay here again; you can’t really moan for £16 for the night
Read more
Date of stay: February 2019Trip type: Travelled solo
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from HostellingScot, Guest Relations Manager at Glasgow Youth Hostel
Responded 21 Mar 2019
Good Afternoon Unrealnazza, Thank you for your lovely comments on our Glasgow hostel. I am sorry that all the members of staff were not as welcoming as they should be, we do usually pride ourselves on being warm and welcoming to all. We do hope to welcome you again in the future. Kind Regards, Guest Relations Manager.
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$63 - $136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United KingdomScotlandGlasgow
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Glasgow Youth Hostel
Which popular attractions are close to Glasgow Youth Hostel?
Nearby attractions include eeek! Escape Rooms (0.4 km), Kelvingrove Park (0.3 km), and The Stand Comedy Club (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Glasgow Youth Hostel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include meeting rooms, laundry service, and self serve laundry.
What food & drink options are available at Glasgow Youth Hostel?
Guests can enjoy a snack bar during their stay.
Is parking available at Glasgow Youth Hostel?
Yes, paid public parking nearby is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Glasgow Youth Hostel?
Conveniently located restaurants include MacTassos, Ox and Finch, and Mother India - Dining In.
Are any cleaning services offered at Glasgow Youth Hostel?
Yes, laundry service and self serve laundry are offered to guests.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Glasgow Youth Hostel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and German.
Are there any historical sites close to Glasgow Youth Hostel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting House for an Art Lover (3.1 km), The Mackintosh House (0.6 km), and The Tenement House (0.8 km).