We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Kelvingrove Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Kelvingrove Hotel
View Map
{"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

552 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Kelvingrove Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 533: English reviews
Austria
Reviewed 9 September 2016

At first sight the room looked nice and bright, eventhough it was in the basement, but... The room was really dirty - there were dust bunnies hanging out of the radiator. Then we had a closer look at the radiator: on the underside you could not see any metal - there was just dust. There was hair in the sink,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank rexcel2016
Perth, Australia
Reviewed 6 September 2016

Kelvingrove Hotel is in a fantastic location for exploring Glasgow. It's right next to a stop for the city sight-seeing bus, there's parking on the street, and it' very close to the art gallery and Kelvingrove Park. The rooms are large, and Marlene, on the desk, was excellent. However, the hotel has a whole feels very dated and could do...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MissArnScottBlu
robertmcq, General Manager at Kelvingrove Hotel, responded to this review

thank you for taking time to comment on your recent stay, your kind comments shall be passed onto the staff, regarding your other comments - our refurbishment programme has been on going and currently only have a few rooms to be done, again thank thank for the constructive comments and we hope to see you again

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 August 2016

The hotel is in a great location in the West End, surrounded by many restaurants and pubs, and within walking distance from attractions such as the museum, the university and park. However, the location and friendly receptionist were the only positives from our stay here. Our room was located down stairs, along an oppressive feeling corridor. The room was small...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 5Nina
robertmcq, Owner at Kelvingrove Hotel, responded to this review

We are sorry that you felt disappointed by your stay. With regards to the rowdy guests by the time our manager got out of her room, the guests were in there room and she didn't know who had caused the noise.The situation was dealt with the following morning and although they were there another 3 nights there was no further...

Reviewed 29 August 2016 via mobile

Really enjoyed our stay at the kelvingrove hotel for 2 nights from the 26th August. Upon arrival we were greeted by a very friendly manager of the hotel, who gave us our room numbers so off we went. The stairs aren't really a problem as they are only shallow steps, we didn't find it a problem anyway, we got to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ktate2468
robertmcq, Owner at Kelvingrove Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to post such a nice review. Your kind comments will be passed on to the staff and we look forward to seeing you on your next visit.

Reviewed 26 August 2016 via mobile

Great Wee hotel in a great location. Right beside Kelvingrove park and near some good pubs for a quiet drink. Very cozy and clean. Welcomed at reception and parking vouchers on offer to save on street parking if you have a car. I stayed in a single room which had what was described as a shared bathroom but it was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gavceltic
robertmcq, Owner at Kelvingrove Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your comments regarding your recent stay with us, these lovely comments will be passed onto all the staff. We appreciate you taking the time to post a review and its great to read that you enjoyed the many aspects of your stay at our hotel and the surrounding area.

Reviewed 25 August 2016

Location in the west end is great, with many good restaurants around. However our room was really dirty (e.g. the trash from previous people still there with a used nappie), there is black mold in the bathroom including when you turn on the tap... we ended up brushing our teeth with mineral water to avoid bad surprises for us and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Omri Y
robertmcq, Owner at Kelvingrove Hotel, responded to this review

we are sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us at the Kelvingrove, regarding your comments - if you had reported the fact that the bin has been missed when the room was being cleaned to reception then this could have been resolved instantly. The water coming from your sink/handwash basin is running water - it cant gather mould...

Poulton Le Fylde, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 August 2016

Greeted by friendly manager, who was obviously proud of his hotel. OK- no lift but it wasn't a big issue for us. Tasty breakfasts. Bed was superbly comfy. Place freshly painted- very clean and in a great location for exploring Glasgow's 'West End'. Much better than city centre (is a bus ride away). The Finnieston area is vibrant. There are...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank spencer139
robertmcq, Manager at Kelvingrove Hotel, responded to this review

thank you very much for your kind comments, these will be passed onto the staff, we are glad you took time to reply about your stay and our location does let you see the west end of Glasgow in all its beauty

Reviewed 14 August 2016

The Kelvingrove hotel is the worse hotel EVER! The pics on the website are not what it truly is. There are hostels much better than this place. It has no elevator. You have to schlepp your luggage down stairs and then upstairs to get to your room. No one offered to take care of our luggage. Also,they have breakfast that...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Eileen S
robertmcq, Owner at Kelvingrove Hotel, responded to this review

we are sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us at the Kelvingrove, we take exception to your comment regarding Hostels - we have been in business for over 35 years and if there are any hostels better than the Kelvingrove then I have yet to see them. We assure you that the pictures online of our hotel...

Fredericton, Canada
Reviewed 13 August 2016 via mobile

I spent two nights here and was thoroughly impressed with this hotel. Staff were wonderfully accommodating, breakfast was splendid, and the room was quiet and comfortable. The hotel is a 15 minute walk to downtown. There are nice parks and restaurants nearby.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jason N
robertmcq, Owner at Kelvingrove Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your kind comments and they shall be passed onto the staff, we are really pleased you enjoyed many aspects of your stay and thank you for taking time to post a review, we hope to welcome you again in the future

Reviewed 11 August 2016

I was extremely disappointed with my stay at the Kelvingrove Hotel. The photos online are quite deceiving. My room looked like it was stuck in time from 1940. The toiletries were nonexistent with the exception of hand soap. Heat doesn't come on until 7 PM. The TV was terribly small. To get to the room, I had to lug my...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Catherine R
robertmcq, Manager at Kelvingrove Hotel, responded to this review

We are extremely sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us. Just to clarify a couple of your points. We only provide hand soap at the sinks and shower/body wash in our showers/baths. There are more toiletries available to purchase from reception. Our TV's range from 22inch to 32inch and all our bedroom furniture was replaced 3 years ago....

70 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (45)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Other (13)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (25)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
Sandyford Lodge Hotel
#52 of 96 in Glasgow
182 reviews
West End
Argyll Hotel
Argyll Hotel
#27 of 96 in Glasgow
709 reviews
West End
The Sandyford Hotel
The Sandyford Hotel
#62 of 96 in Glasgow
544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Albion Hotel
#63 of 96 in Glasgow
236 reviews
Anderston
Lorne Hotel
Lorne Hotel
#48 of 96 in Glasgow
828 reviews
West End
Kelvin Hotel
Kelvin Hotel
#73 of 96 in Glasgow
276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Kelvingrove Hotel, located in Glasgow's Sauchiehall Street, is a three star guest house offering exceptional service and excellent accommodation. The hotel is run by three generations of the same family, all of whom have a wealth of experience in the hospitality industry, so you can always be sure of a warm welcome at the Kelvingrove. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Kelvingrove Hotel

Address: 944 Sauchiehall Street, Glasgow G3 7TH, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow
Price Range: ₹ 3,952 - ₹ 7,057 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kelvingrove Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, HostelWorld and Expedia so you can book your Kelvingrove Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kelvingrove Hotel Glasgow, Scotland
Hotel Style:
#37 Business Hotel in Glasgow
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Kelvingrove Hotel staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
6 months ago
over a year ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Kelvingrove Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Don't choose a single room if you don't like tight spaces”
 of 5 bubbles michaelmX2039CS, 23 Feb 2017 | Read review
“we were downstairs at the back and heard nothing at all”
 of 5 bubbles saintmorag, 1 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Try the breakfast, great for a packed day ahead”
 of 5 bubbles Anjienkenny, 13 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Rooms at back are quieter. Some ground floor rooms I think if a few stairs are an issue.”
 of 5 bubbles spencer139, 25 Aug 2016 | Read review
“20 or 21 right at the back.”
 of 5 bubbles LeicesterNizza, 25 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5