We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
28-32 Cathedral Square, Glasgow G4 0XA Scotland
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
Orbitz.com
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Booking.com
View all 11 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (91)
Room & Suite (35)
Dining (13)

About

#31 of 211 hotels in Glasgow
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Cathedral House is currently under New Ownership and an extensive refurbishment program. Reopening 2nd November 2018
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid public parking nearby
Street parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Free breakfast
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Non-smoking hotel
Breakfast available
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Kids' meals
Special diet menus
Show more
Room features
Bottled water
Flatscreen TV
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
Quirky Hotels
145Reviews2Q+A19Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 119
  • 19
  • 2
  • 1
  • 4
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Jb-tb wrote a review Aug 2023
Rotterdam, The Netherlands183 contributions129 helpful votes
We visited Glasgow during the cycling world championship (early August 2023), and despite the crowds this entailed, we thoroughly enjoyed our visit. Something went wrong during check-in because the email with the access code for the door had not reached me (for whatever reason). But luckily this problem was quickly solved with the help of a friendly lady in the restaurant (located in the same building). We generally liked the room: large, enough space for luggage, nice rain shower and a nice comfortable bed. We can't really think of any negatives except maybe a few small mold spots in the shower and a window that is a bit difficult to open. In our room, black tones were used on the walls etc. Admittedly, you have to like this, but we thought it looked good. Breakfast is served in the restaurant on the ground floor and is of good quality: granola with yogurt and fruit, very good coffee and tasty toasted (sourdough?) bread with jam. We do not agree with a number of reviewers who claim that the location of Cathedral House is not good. The opposite is true, the location is ideal: located on the eastern edge of the city centre, near the cathedral and near the fantastic Glasgow Necropolis. In addition, it was very easy for us to get to and from High Street train station and we didn't even need additional local transport. Also, this place is located in a relatively quiet place, close to a green oasis. (the park surrounding Necropolis) Glasgow is a fantastic city to visit and unlike Edinburgh, it is not overrun by endless crowds of tourists. There is plenty of greenery, there is plenty to do in terms of culture, there are historic buildings, wall paintings and there are many (affordable) restaurants and pubs. Definitely recommended, both the city and Cathedral House Hotel!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
bkw111 wrote a review May 2023
Glasgow, United Kingdom4 contributions2 helpful votes
Convenient location opposite Drygate bar and the cathedral, and close to Merchant city. Unusual check-in system (no on-site reception staff, informative email received on morning of arrival with code for door entry) - this worked well for us and there is a mobile number provided in case any issues. Room was good - clean, comfortable, modern, had everything we needed. Breakfast was great - continental only (not our usual choice but very pleasantly surprised), quality ingredients, generous portions, nice atmosphere and helpful staff member. We didn’t use bar / restaurant otherwise. Outside seating area looked good. No on-site parking but Duke St multi-storey car park is a 5 minute walk away and only £5 overnight cost. On street parking outside is also free 6pm - 8am. Thank you, will return.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Laura McKenzie, Owner at Cathedral House
Responded 11 Jun 2023
Many thanks for your review ! Glad you found the room clean comfortable and with all you needed WE would agree our breakfast is Great! Glad you will return look forward to it! kind regards Laura
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Debbie W wrote a review May 2023
Greater London, United Kingdom20 contributions2 helpful votes
Lovely hotel, very quiet, clean and comfortable, with great decor - so great that I'm thinking of having it in my own home! For me the location wasn't ideal, as it was quite a lot of walking to and from the city centre, however it did mean that it was quiet. Breakfast was tasty and very fresh. The owner was very accommodating in letting me store my luggage both early and late, due to travel arrangements.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Laura McKenzie, Owner at Cathedral House
Responded 22 May 2023
thanks Debbie for taking the time to write your review much apprecaited Glad you you a comfortable stay and loved the decor hope you get the desk and chair you wanted kind regards Laura
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Ktmg family travellers wrote a review Apr 2023
Birmingham, United Kingdom322 contributions167 helpful votes
Whilst convenient for the cathedral, the hotel is some distance from the city centre restaurants, pubs etc. No parking on site and only short stay parking outside. Need to park on public multi storey around 5 mins walk away. No personal reception - access is provided by codes etc. With no lifts the only access to the bedrooms (at least 2 flights up) is via a steep narrow spiral staircase which is difficult to use when moving cases, bags etc. No staff on site to assist. Room quality was disappointing with some peeling paint on the, difficult to open, windows. Also one window had a broken pane of glass. Some road noise from around 5am, with the single glazed windows (secondary double glazing had been removed) providing only modest soundproofing. Toilet door wouldn't close properly. Also some mould around the shower. Ok continental breakfast. Not impressed with their restaurant/bar Celentinos on the ground floor. Very noisy with average overpriced food - more a place for a drink than a meal.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Don't bring large cases due to tight spiral staircase
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Laura McKenzie, Owner at Cathedral House
Responded 22 May 2023
thanks for taking the time to review sorry you found aspects of your stay disappointing most guests are happy with the parking set up which is Free after 6pm and before 8am on Cathedral square and duke street car park offers a rate of £5 for 24hours which many guests think is amazing value for money when we are located about 1/2 mile from the very centre of the city I am sorry you were not impressed with Celentanos the Michelin guide obviously disagree however Cathedral House and Celentanos is not for everyone Kind regards Laura
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
linda reid wrote a review Feb 2023
Truro District, United Kingdom2 contributions1 helpful vote
This is a beautiful boutique hotel. Our party used 7 of the rooms. Each room is unique and very well appointed and furnished. The beds are very comfortable, as are the chairs. The bathrooms are attractive and the showers powerful and hot, with fluffy towels. The breakfasts are excellent with fruit, home made yoghurt, granola, excellent sourdough toast and confits. All served with freshly made tea and coffee. The hotel is situated beside St Mungo’s cathedral and the Necropolis close to the bustling Merchant City, full of restaurants and entertainment. Its within walking distance of the city centre. Of course what makes the hotel exceptional is the owner and her staff. They combine efficiency with warmth and helpfulness. Nothing is too much trouble and every thing is accompanied with humour and a smile. The hotel hosts Celentano’s: a superb Italian restaurant with a well deserved Michelin Bib Gourmand. This lifts the hotel into the stellar category.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2023
Value
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Laura McKenzie, Owner at Cathedral House
Responded 22 May 2023
Dear Linda thank you so much for taking the time to write this review Its was an absolute pleasure to look after you and your family on such a special occasion So glad you loved Celentanos too! Thanks again and hope to see you another time when you come back to Glasgow Kind regards Laura
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Meiling R wrote a review Feb 2023
1 contribution
I booked this hotel through Expedia for our April trip to Scotland. I received the confirmation and the dates were not for April but February. I immediately contacted Expedia (within minutes of the booking) to report that they had booked the incorrect dates. Since the booking was non- refundable they had to reach out to the hotel to get a “ waiver for cancellation” and could not get anyone to respond. Meanwhile, I get a message from the hotel about my arrival. I message the hotel back telling them what had happened and that we wanted to stay in April. I was told that they did not have availability on our date in April and they were sorry we could not stay and the cancellation would have to be done through Expedia. Expedia then tells me the hotel denied the cancellation and ultimately the refund. This hotel was aware of the booking mistake and took our money and ran. There are a LOT of places to stay in Glasgow- and this place might be ok, I can’t speak to the stay. What I CAN speak to is the fact that they were well aware of a booking error within minutes of the original booking, refused the refund, and KEPT our money. Shady business practice. BEWARE WHEN BOOKING!!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Laura McKenzie, Owner at Cathedral House
Responded 22 May 2023
I am absolutely shocked that you have taken the time to write this review as this is not a true account of what happened with your booking You booked the wrong dates ! The actual dates you wanted were not available Expedia did NOT contact me to request a cancellation therefore your booking stayed in my system preventing me from allowing someone else to book WE only have 8 rooms! WE cannot cancel third party bookings if you had booked directly with me there would not have been any problem and a full refund would have been given but you chose to go through a third party I have worked so hard to get Cathedral House its fabulous reputation over the last 4 and 1/2 years (2 of which were during lockdown) and I do not take kindly to someone who is trying to tarnish it Laura
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Minicheddar87 wrote a review Feb 2023
Nottingham, United Kingdom14 contributions3 helpful votes
Cosy room with wonderful decor and a gorgeous bathroom! Set in the cathedral quarter with great rooms. We had everything we needed for a weekend away and would definitely stay again. We found it easy to get around and loved the finishing touches in the room which included hot drinks and access to a tv and wifi.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: No parking and the parking options available are expensive so we did park and ride and left our...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Laura McKenzie, Owner at Cathedral House
Responded 22 May 2023
Thank you Mini Cheddar glad you found everything you needed for your weekend away and thought the rooms were great Hope to see you in the not too distant future for your next stay in Glasgow Kind regards Laura
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Stewart C wrote a review Feb 2023
Tring, United Kingdom739 contributions152 helpful votes
What a fantastic hotel very tasteful decor in the rooms and bathrooms were a high standard, the beds were also comfortable and the linens were 100% clean and good tea and coffee facilities also a great little touch with the tunnocks caramel wafer biscuit one of our favourites
Read more
Date of stay: February 2023Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Laura McKenzie, Owner at Cathedral House
Responded 22 May 2023
Thanks Stewart! so glad you found the Cathedral House tasteful and to a high standard Who wants shortbread when you can have tunnocks caramel wafers! Hope to see you another time Kind regards Laura
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
EdinburghCharlotte wrote a review Dec 2022
Edinburgh, United Kingdom54 contributions58 helpful votes
The room was beautiful with great attention to detail. Great views and very cosy. It's so much better than staying in a hotel chain: rooms are beautifully decorated and the decor very homely. The cathedral area is very quiet. Laura made herself available and even if there's no reception area as such, we felt that we could contact her any time if there were issues. Check-in and check out was very smooth. I would have given five stars if the bathroom had been warmer. The bedroom itself is very well heated but the bathroom is very cold and it's not very comfortable to go from a cosy room to a cold one. We were also given gorgeous toiletries but the shower gel amount was tiny for two people. Finally, the breakfast was a little bit of a let down as there was only cold food. Don't get me wrong the ingredients were gorgeous; they give you a fruit salad with greek yogurt and granola and toasts with compote and butter. However a hot option would really have been welcomed, given that they have a kitchen! Perhaps some eggs and bacon or salmon. Overall we had a great time and will recommend this hotel to friends and family!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Laura McKenzie, Owner at Cathedral House
Responded 22 May 2023
thanks Charlotte for your review Glad you thought the room was beautiful with great attention to detail I am sorry you found the bathroom not to be warm enough there is a radiator perhaps it just needed turned up or bled we have looked into this So glad you had a great time and would recommend Thanks again for staying Kind regards Laura
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Andy W wrote a review Nov 2022
Wirral, United Kingdom9 contributions2 helpful votes
Great location - by Cathedral and Necropolis, 15 walk into the City, great breakfast, nice room with good views and a fantastic welcome. Mrs W just asked when are we coming back - a reflection of the hotel and Glasgow. *********************
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Laura McKenzie, Owner at Cathedral House
Responded 1 Feb 2023
thanks Andy, we really appreciate you taking the time to write your review. Glad you thought the location and breakfast was great and you found your room to bye nice with good views. Would be delighted to welcome you and Mrs W anytime! Kind regards Laura
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$120 - $147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
cathedral hotel glasgow
LOCATION
United KingdomScotlandGlasgowCity Centre
NUMBER OF ROOMS
8
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

CATHEDRAL HOUSE (Glasgow, Scotland) - Hotel Reviews, Photos, Rate Comparison - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Cathedral House
What are some of the property amenities at Cathedral House?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at Cathedral House?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Cathedral House?
Yes, paid public parking nearby and street parking are available to guests.