We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Carlton George Hotel

PricelineUS$ 114*
View Deal
#20 of 96 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$ 202*
US$ 114*
Great Deal
US$ 123*
US$ 127*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Professional photos
Carlton George Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,671 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Carlton George Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,618: English reviews
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 October 2015 via mobile

Was in for a meal on Friday night with family and have been a few times before so was looking forward to it. However it wasn't a pleasant visit this time around . The waiting staff seemed nice enough but not as helpful as they have previously been as it seemed a bit short staffed and they had to do...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Andrew S
Monica D, General Manager at Carlton George Hotel, responded to this review

Dear AndrewS. I am really sorry that your experience in the restaurant has not been our normal high standards, I would really appreciate if you could contact me direct to discuss this. Kind regards Monica

Angus, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 October 2015

My wife and I booked the Carlton George as an alternative to visiting Edinburgh. We arrived early, around 11:30 and our cases were taken to a holding room and we went for a walk to get our bearings as we're not too familiar with Glasgow. We arrived back around 1:00 and decided to have lunch in the rooftop restaurant. A...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Robert G
Monica D, General Manager at Carlton George Hotel, responded to this review

Dear RobertG. Thank you so much for such a great review, myself and the team really appreciate it. Delighted you are returning for New Year and we look forward to seeing you then. Kind regards Monica

Elgin, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 October 2015

Friendly and helpful staff met us on arrival. Room was an executive room with a nice view onto the main street. Decanters of spirits in the room and free entry into the executive suite where you could have tea/coffee or soft drinks at any time and spirits between 5 and 10.45. Very handy for central Glasgow shopping. Will use the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Oldelgin
Monica D, General Manager at Carlton George Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Oldelgin. Thank you so much for the fantastic review, we really appreciate it. Glad to see you are keen to return to the hotel. Hope to see you soon. Kind regards Monica

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 4 October 2015

If you're looking for a reasonable hotel in a great position then this hotel is a good choice. We had an executive room (room 201) located on the 2nd floor. A good sized room with the bathroom in reasonable condition. The only problem was that our room was above a night club. Not so good as the music & noise...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank velro
Monica D, General Manager at Carlton George Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Velro. Thank you for giving us such a good review. If you are returning just let us know your request for a back facing room and we will be more than happy to accommodate you. Kind regards Monica

Reviewed 3 October 2015 via mobile

This hotel is in a great location in Glasgow. Stayed in an executive room which over looked the city. Room was spacious enough. Executive lounge wasn't all that well stocked. Loved the roof top restaurant overlooking the city. Staff were friendly & efficient. Would stay again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Maria N
Monica D, General Manager at Carlton George Hotel, responded to this review

Dear MariaN. Thank you for your review. Glad you had a good stay and would be happy to return. Hope to welcome you back soon. Kind regards Monica

Winnipeg
Reviewed 2 October 2015

Location - a very central location in the heart of Glasgow. Just a half a block walk from St. Georges Square where you can buy a ticket for the ‘Hop On & Off Bus Tours’, one block walk to Queens Street rail station, and adjacent to the ‘Style Mile’ streets for excellent shopping and restaurants! Check-In Process – we arrived...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank DWR25
Monica D, General Manager at Carlton George Hotel, responded to this review

Dear DWR25. Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review. Both Kimberley and Shannon and over the moon they got a personal mention. Hope to welcome you to Glasgow again soon. Kind regards Monica

Glasgow
Reviewed 29 September 2015 via mobile

Visited the Windows restaurant for a special occasion and was not disappointed. Excellent steak, very attentive service and an absolutely fantastic view of the sunset over the Glasgow skyline - will definitely be back.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Gavin B
Monica D, General Manager at Carlton George Hotel, responded to this review

Dear GavinB. Thank you for the wonderful review. Delighted you had a enjoyed the restaurant. We hope to see you again soon. Kind regards Monica

Airdrie, Scotland, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 September 2015

My husband and i normally go to Edinburgh but decided to choose Carlton George in Glasgow for a wee change,as we were celebrating our 25th wedding anniversary we did arrive about an hour early so didnt expect to be able to go to our room straight away but we were back and forth about 3 times before we could get...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank David C
Monica D, General Manager at Carlton George Hotel, responded to this review

Dear DaveC. Thank you for taking the time to speak to me regarding your stay, I hope you have now received my e mail. Once again my sincerest apologies for the shortfall experienced during your stay. Kind regards Monica

Chicago, IL
Reviewed 27 September 2015

Top floor rooms quite spacious and comfortable. Club lounge not staffed or properly fitted with glasses and utensils. Had 5am fire alarm (laundry service tripped it) and had absolutely no direction from hotel staff whatsoever. Everyone was outside at 5am and no direction, apology, nothing. Very strange that their training is so poor.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jimzorba
Monica D, General Manager at Carlton George Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Jimsorba. Thank you for the review and the 4 stars. I am glad overall you enjoyed your stay. I apologise for the team not explaining the reason for the evacuation. Please be assured that we have fire training for our night team every 3 months, you comments have prompted some further training and I thank you for your feedback....

Gotham
Reviewed 26 September 2015

The hotel's very central location is incredibly convenient for visiting Glasgow. The hotel decor is distinctive, modern but with echoes of Glasgow's famous designer, Charles Rennie Macintosh. Everything was spotless, very clean throughout the hotel. For many people, that's all that matters. But the devil is in the details... As we continued our belated honeymoon trip through the UK, I...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank GothamMuse
Monica D, General Manager at Carlton George Hotel, responded to this review

Dear GothamMuse. Thank you for reviewing the hotel. I am glad that overall you enjoyed your stay but also apologise for the shortcomings you experienced. I hope it wont deter you from using the hotel if you were to return to Glasgow. Kind regards Monica

534 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (353)
Viewed
Dining (31)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (55)
Viewed
Room/Suite (82)
Viewed
Bathroom (17)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
1:52
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (158)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (138)
Viewed
Club Room with Balcony (20)
Viewed
Executive Room (16)
Viewed
Normal Club Room (21)
Viewed
Dining (39)
Viewed
Superior Room (16)
Viewed
The Hotel (26)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (43)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#14 of 96 in Glasgow
2,222 reviews
City Centre
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
#1 of 96 in Glasgow
573 reviews
The Z Hotel Glasgow
#15 of 96 in Glasgow
1,048 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Centre
ibis styles Glasgow Centre George Square
City Centre
Blythswood Square
Blythswood Square
#13 of 96 in Glasgow
2,593 reviews
City Centre
Grand Central Hotel
Grand Central Hotel
#41 of 96 in Glasgow
3,743 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Based right in the heart of Glasgow, adjacent to Queen Street Station and Buchanan Street and with the airport bus service stopping right at our door, we are the perfect city centre base. We are four star rated, and each of our 64 bedrooms feature a complimentary Minibar and decanted spirits, multi channel LCD TV with Sky Sports 1, 2 and 3, desk, and bathroom with bath and power shower to ensure you have a comfortable and relaxing stay while you are with us. WiFi is free for the duration of your stay, and so are local phone calls. National calls are just 3p per minute. Located on the 7th floor of the hotel, Windows is Glasgow's only rooftop restaurant. Windows Restaurant serves delicious dishes created with local produce with menus changing to reflect what's in season. In fact, the food is only matched by the view over the rooftops of Glasgow! Breakfast is served in Windows in the morning, or can be delivered to your room. Guests can enjoy complimentary soft drinks, snacks and coffee throughout the day, and complimentary wine, beer and selected spirits each evening in the Executive Lounge located on the 7th floor. The lounge also features the Thomson Boardroom, ideal for meetings or private dining for up to 14 people. At the Carlton George Hotel we've worked hard to create a comfortable and informal setting where you can make yourself at home and relax, but still experience fantastic service. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Carlton George Hotel

Address: 44 West George Street, Glasgow G2 1DH, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow
Price Range: ₹ 8,272 - ₹ 17,384 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Carlton George Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Carlton George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlton George Glasgow
Hotel Carlton George
Carlton George Hotel Glasgow, Scotland
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#8 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#14 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
#20 Family Hotel in Glasgow
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Carlton George Hotel staff and other travellers.
25 questions
Ask a question
Durham, United Kingdom
Marquette, MI
5 months ago
Manchester, United Kingdom
8 months ago

See all questions (25)

Questions? Get answers from Carlton George Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for city view if there is !”
loicb820, 23 May 2017 | Read review
“Room was in hotel center and heard no noise at all”
RobinH163, 11 May 2017 | Read review
“Worth getting an executive room and above for the lounge alone.”
N7876SPalexw, 9 May 2017 | Read review
“Stayed on 2nd floor, was a good location”
lunabarr, 8 May 2017 | Read review
“The superior room had a lot of nice features”
rainergirl, 27 Apr 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Priceline
US$ 114* /night
View Deal
Hotels.comUS$ 123
Booking.comUS$ 127
HotelQuicklyUS$ 202
View all 11 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates