We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Crowne Plaza Glasgow

Show Prices
#35 of 95 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Crowne Plaza Glasgow
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,135 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Crowne Plaza Glasgow
See the most recent reviews
Showing 2,086: English reviews
Peebles, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 October 2014

The staff on the front desk and bar were really friendly. Our king room on the 16th floor was quite small and reeked of stale smoke. The peppercorn sauce with dinner was the consistency and flavour of milk. The chorizo in the prawn and chorizo starter was mostly gristle. The breakfast was just grease - everywhere smelled of it and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank PurpleGirl1
QMHManager, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Glasgow, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. I am very disappointed to read that you did not enjoy the food in our restaurant, this is an area in which we take great pride so we certainly take your comments on board in order to improve in the future. I am also disappointed to read the comments about your room, I will be...

Cowdenbeath, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 September 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed for two nights, the reception and waitresses were very good as was the food, the only down side was the bar staff were really slow in serving you and the prices were expensive for drinks. Lovely views from rooms will probably be back if returning to the hydro which is a 2 minute walk from...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Mary M
QMHManager, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Glasgow, responded to this review

Thank you for leaving a review. I am very happy to read that you enjoyed the food in the restaurant on your recent visit although we do apologise for the slow service time you experienced in the bar. I hope this does not discourage your from staying with us again in the future. Kind Regards Dominic McVey General Manager

Herts
Reviewed 30 September 2014

I stayed here for SIXTEEN nights during the Commonwealth Games while working in Glasgow. Given the hotel went into security lockdown for the duration I'm probably not the best person to judge this place. No one could visit or meet me at the hotel without accreditation which was not made clear when booked and colleagues experienced similar problems. And the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank vikki0
QMHManager, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Glasgow, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am very sorry to hear about the problems you had whilst staying at the hotel recently. All of the rooms were reserved through Glasgow 2014, the games organisers, who assured us that their guests were fully briefed on the security arrangements that had been put in place. I am...

Quebec City, Canada
Reviewed 30 September 2014

This hotel need serious renovation...loby is very nice, but the rooms are terrible. The internet is veryyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyy slow and hard to connect. Food was good, price is good, staff very nice. The subway is near by, easy to get to dt.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sweet0000000007
QMHManager, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Glasgow, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. I am pleased that you enjoyed our food offering and also to read your praise for our staff members, however in regards to the hotel rooms please be aware that we are currently in the planning stages of the next stage of our refurbishment programme which will include the bedrooms. It would be great to...

banffshire
Reviewed 29 September 2014

Stayed here for one night whilst attending an event at the Hydro which is practically next door. We had a suite which was absolutely lovely with good views of the river and across the road from the BBC studios. We found the staff to be very polite and helpful. We had an excellent dinner, plenty of choice and very tasty....

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank galaxygirl10
QMHManager, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Glasgow, responded to this review

Thank you for leaving a review. It’s great to read that you had a nice time at the hotel on your recent visit, I do hope we can see you back at the hotel again in the future. Kind Regards Dominic McVey General Manager

Cowdenbeath, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 September 2014

On check in upgraded to suite and given late check out off to a great start , reception staff really friendly , room was stunning great views great decor comfy bed also , pool and steam room are really nice . Had some drinks in bar and again staff nice and pleasant . Breakfast was exceptional with a great choice...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Gordon S
QMHManager, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Glasgow, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am very happy to read that you had a great stay with us recently, I am especially pleased you enjoyed the options in the restaurant. We hope we can welcome you back in the future for another great stay. Kind Regards Dominic McVey General Manager

Witney, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 September 2014

Stayed inSeptember 2014 for just 1 night whilst up in Glasgow for work. Reception staff were great and super friendly and I was sorted very quickly and up to my room on floor 11. Nice touch having an elevator on the outside of the building so you get a great view as you go up and views of the BBC...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank marcandlins
QMHManager, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Glasgow, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am very pleased to read that you had a good stay with us recently, I look forward to seeing you again for future stays. Kind Regards Dominic McVey General Manager

Newcastle, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 September 2014 via mobile

Great location by the river Clyde, next door to the SECC and by the BBC Scotland HQ. I do get some if the comments regarding staff engagement being a bit if a roulette on how friendly they can be, however I found them to be polite in the majority on my recent stay. Rooms are modern on the Club floors,...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Cheeksontour
QMHManager, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Glasgow, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave some feedback. I am pleased to read to read that overall you enjoyed your stay in the hotel, I am however concerned that you found some of our staff were not as polite and friendly as they could have been, I will be sure to remind our staff of their responsibilities in...

Reviewed 18 September 2014

I normally stay at the Hilton Glasgow but having left my booking until late and this being the Independence Voting Week 2014 I really struggled to get a booking in Glasgow that was reasonable. The Crowne Plaza came up trumps. Booked in for 2 nights. First impressions ( having worked the sat nav to get there ) - car park...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Eddie H
QMHManager, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Glasgow, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay in the hotel. In particular I am glad that you enjoyed your time in the bar and at breakfast as these are areas in which we take particular pride in. We look forward to welcoming you back for future...

On the move
Reviewed 14 September 2014

This may be handy if you are at the SECC but I can think of very few other reasons to want to stay here, better to stay in the city centre hotels. it is set between the SECC, the River Clyde and vast carparks for the SECC (which were deserted and sinister looking at night). As an IHG Rewards Club...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank madmikeb
QMHManager, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Glasgow, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. I am very disappointed to read you did not enjoy your recent stay. At the time of your stay, the hotel was particularly busy due to a large conference in the city and, for the most part, delegates were outwith the hotel attending the conference and various events, hence the reason we were unable to...

843 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (496)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (68)
Viewed
View from Room (67)
Viewed
Dining (21)
Viewed
Room/Suite (111)
Viewed
Bathroom (28)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
3:10
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (193)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (187)
Viewed
Amenities (35)
Viewed
Club King Room (17)
Viewed
One Bedroom Suite (30)
Viewed
Pool (1)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
Standard King Room (16)
Viewed
Standard King Room New Style (23)
Viewed
Standard Twin Room (7)
Viewed
The Hotel (43)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (160)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (37)
Viewed
Dining (43)
Viewed
Room/Suite (46)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Other (22)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
Anderston
Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre
Anderston
Campanile Glasgow
Campanile Glasgow
#60 of 95 in Glasgow
964 reviews
South Side
Premier Inn Glasgow Pacific Quay (SECC) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Side
Village Hotel Glasgow
Village Hotel Glasgow
#19 of 95 in Glasgow
2,026 reviews
Anderston
Hilton Glasgow
Hilton Glasgow
#28 of 95 in Glasgow
2,930 reviews
Anderston
Glasgow Marriott Hotel
Glasgow Marriott Hotel
#38 of 95 in Glasgow
1,731 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to Crowne Plaza Glasgow. A modern and stylish hotel overlooking the River Clyde, with a covered walkway to the Scottish Exhibition & Conference Centre (SECC), Crowne Plaza Glasgow is an excellent choice for the business and leisure traveller. With 283 air conditioned contemporary bedrooms and suites, all fully equipped with Smart televisions, trouser press, hairdryer, iron and ironing board, tea/coffee making facilities and wireless internet access. The spacious Club Rooms boast Kingsized beds with stunning river views, Smart TVs and exclusive access to our Club Lounge, with complimentary refreshments to relax or hold informal meetings. The Leisure Club includes an indoor pool, equipped gym, sauna, spa and steam room. Alternatively, treat yourself to a massage or beauty treatment in Isis, our in-house Beauty Salon. There are 15 conference/functions suites, including a dedicated boardroom with plasma screen, to accommodate all types of events. Crowne Plaza Glasgow is located directly opposite the Glasgow Science Centre, the BBC and STV Headquarters and the nearby Transport Museum and Tall Ship visitor attraction. Easy access to shopping areas such as Braehead, Buchanan Galleries, St Enoch and Argyle Street make this a great leisure destination. The hotel is non-smoking throughout. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Glasgow

Address: 1 Congress Road | Strathclyde, Glasgow G3 8QT, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow
Price Range: ₹ 5,190 - ₹ 18,130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Glasgow 4*
Number of rooms: 283
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Odigeo, Priceline, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Crowne Plaza Glasgow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Glasgow Hotel Glasgow
Glasgow Crowne Plaza
Crowne Plaza Glasgow Scotland
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Glasgow
#17 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#24 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#28 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Crowne Plaza Glasgow staff and other travellers.
11 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (11)

Questions? Get answers from Crowne Plaza Glasgow staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“High floors”
 of 5 bubbles theolloys, 7 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Standard rooms are very basic”
 of 5 bubbles MazCarlisle, 29 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ask the staff on the desk, they are very helpful.”
 of 5 bubbles 60ninan, 22 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Floor 12 all the way!”
 of 5 bubbles GillMCreevey, 16 Nov 2016 | Read review
“The higher the floor the better for the view and the noise”
 of 5 bubbles Ishbel62, 15 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay