We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Mercure Glasgow City Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Mercure Glasgow City Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

949 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 866: English reviews
Reviewed yesterday NEWvia mobile

Second time staying here and while it's compact and basic it's perfect for shopping/drinking and entertaining. No transport/taxis needed . Staff very helpful. Can't comment on breakfast in hotel as didn't eat there

 Report
Helpful?
Thank May D
Reviewed yesterday NEWvia mobile

Spent an enjoyable three days staying at the Mecure. Hotel has basic facilities but this is made up by excellent rates & fantastic location right in the centre of the city. It has parking right behind the hotel which is extremely handy. Would recommend

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Peter C
Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

Room was terrible value for money. We paid for the executive room (better than standard but not as good as a suite) and I didn't even have enough space to take off my wedding dress. The room was boiling hot all the time. . . They want to charge you crazy prices to send drinks up the to the room....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tripadvisr88
Ayrshire, Scotland
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The hotel itself is clean and located around all the amenities. Unfortunately our room (401) faced onto the main road and every vehicle and drunkard which went up Ingram Street could be heard. I appreciate this is a city centre hotel but you would expect it to have triple glazing to rectify the noise! Breakfast at £14 a pop was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ayrshire_angel
Dan G, General Manager at Mercure Glasgow City Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Ayrshire_angel, Thanks for the review and sorry to hear you found your room noisy, we are right on Ingram street in Zone 1 of the city so ambient noise can be heard, we have double glazing as in 2 separate windows and hopefully in the future these can be upgraded. Breakfast is £11 if booked the night before and...

Dundee, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Recently stayed here through business and found my room to be extremely small and not particularly clean. Cramp surroundings made it difficult to complete work, poor sleep as room was extremely hot and lots of noise from outside so unable to open window. Staff were not very accommodating and failed to help with advice, laundry being delivered in the morning...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sarahp3452678
Dan G, General Manager at Mercure Glasgow City Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Sarahp3452678, Thanks for the review and apologies from me you didn't enjoy your stay. I was really surprised at the comments about the staff as we generally get very good feedback. Our laundry company is supposed to deliver in the middle of the night so apologies for the inconvenience of that, I will report back to them. Kind Regards...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

This was a disappointing experience, and I had to stay there several times. Bathroom was ok, but not entirely spotless. Internet was just awful in any room where I slept, the wifi worked well only from the lobby. Food and breakfast were ok, but you can find better in town. Excellent location. Rooms were cleaned and bed large and comfortable,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nyckolson
Dan G, General Manager at Mercure Glasgow City Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Nyckolson, Thanks for the review. We are replacing doors at the moment to help with the internal soundproofing issue and I will investigate the Wi-Fi as generally its pretty good. My apologies for the issue with the luggage, although on investigation it seems it was delivered the day before you checked out, we didn't have it for a week...

Embrach, Switzerland
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Noisy room, backed on to the lifts, don't think it was full, so could have been offered another one . Generally ok . Toast was excellent though, but could have had bigger selection of fruitjuices on offer

Review collected in partnership with Novotel Hotels
 Report
Helpful?
Thank breenk2017
Dan G, General Manager at Mercure Glasgow City Hotel, responded to this review

Hi breenk2017, Thanks for the review. I presumed you let us know so we could move you especially if we were not full. Great to hear you enjoyed the toast. Kind Regards Dan

Dumfries and Galloway, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed there with my wife last week for one night and found the hotel to be worn and in need of a possible refurb. Bad start to the stay to find that one of the lifts was broken and we had to wait ages for the remaining lift to appear. Our room was very small and had secondary double glazing...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ALAN J
Dan G, General Manager at Mercure Glasgow City Hotel, responded to this review

Hi ALAN J, Thanks for the review and good to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. Unfortunately our lifts require a part to be manufactured hence the delay in getting it back online. We are presently replacing doors to improve internal soundproofing and I think windows will be next. Kind Regards Dan

Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

fab location bedrooms need spruced up its very expensive for what it is, we booked a package deal to go to a concert at secc hydro and got a good deal with urquharts travel price of rooms on wall at reception was £180.00 and breakfast was £15.95 not worth that at all guess its all about location location location!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank nell266
Dan G, General Manager at Mercure Glasgow City Hotel, responded to this review

Hi nell266, Thanks for the review and great to hear you enjoyed our location. The price on that night was due to high demand and as you mention the concert on at the Hydro. The £180 on the wall is our maximum and is very rarely charged so you don't need to worry about that. If breakfast is booked at...

Wakefield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We travelled here by train so had not to consider car parking. We took their well advertised 2 nights inc breakfast and dinner on first night for £139 per couple. Our room was quite small but adequate & clean and the eating area/bar is very nice with a very good buffet breakfast. The position of the hotel is brilliant, near...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank David M
Dan G, General Manager at Mercure Glasgow City Hotel, responded to this review

Hi David M, Thanks for the review and great to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. Please come back and stay again soon. Kind Regards Dan

206 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (181)
Viewed
Room/Suite (81)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (37)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Other (39)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (25)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
ibis styles Glasgow Centre George Square
The Z Hotel Glasgow
#13 of 96 in Glasgow
957 reviews
City Centre
Millennium Hotel Glasgow
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Centre
Park Inn by Radisson
Park Inn by Radisson
#33 of 96 in Glasgow
886 reviews
City Centre
Merchant City Inn
Merchant City Inn
#84 of 96 in Glasgow
348 reviews
City Centre
Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (George Square) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Mercure Glasgow City is on the doorstep of the contemporary Merchant City: once home to mansions, banks and warehouses you'll now find some of the city's best bars, restaurants and clubs. Mercure Glasgow City features 91 modern bedrooms with LCD TV's and high speed Internet. A cafe/bar and fresh exterior facade complete the look making this hotel the ideal base to enjoy the delights of Glasgow. There is a small chargeable car park at the rear of the building which is £7.00 for 24 hours. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Mercure Glasgow City Hotel

Address: 201 Ingram Street, Glasgow G1 1DQ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow
Price Range: ₹ 5,003 - ₹ 10,090 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Glasgow City Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 91
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity and ACCOR so you can book your Mercure Glasgow City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Glasgow
Glasgow Ramada
Mercure Glasgow City Hotel Scotland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Mercure Glasgow City Hotel staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Mercure Glasgow City Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Get a higher floor room and enjoy the stay”
  • From the floor
  • From the floor
 of 5 bubbles DATGF, 3 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a room that faces onto Ingram Street, else you get view of back lane and the sound of the pubs binning their empties 1st thing in AM”
 of 5 bubbles s4sparky, 31 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Book the "privilege rooms" not much more, but worth the extra cost.”
 of 5 bubbles hen702, 23 Dec 2016 | Read review
“The rooms need updating.”
 of 5 bubbles llouisegem, 14 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Room 407 is the one described in this review. I enjoyed the night views but they may not be to everyones taste.”
 of 5 bubbles louiseh685, 25 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5