We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Mercure Glasgow City Hotel

Booking.comUS$ 87*
View Deal
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Professional photos
Mercure Glasgow City Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

980 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 896: English reviews
Start your review of Mercure Glasgow City Hotel
 Click to rate
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

I needed a city centre hotel that was competitively priced, so went for the Mercure hotel . Check in was easy with staff friendly and helpful. I ate in the "restaurant " area, and the Thai fish cakes and the Caesar salad were well presented and flavoursome and Waitress Leigh was polite and attentive and I didn't have to wait...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Keith D
Dan G, General Manager at Mercure Glasgow City Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Keith D, Thanks for your very fair review and great to hear you enjoyed your food and found the team friendly. I will pass on your kind comments to Leigh I am sure she will be delighted to receive the feedback. Please come back and stay again soon. Kind Regards Dan

Perth and Kinross, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Just spent two nights at this hotel, originally booked through Itson deal for classic double but we upgraded to their privilege room at a cost of £40.00 per night so brought the total cost from £145.00 up to £225.00. We stayed in room 605 and if this is an upgrade then I hate to see the classic room. The was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank thomasmA9665HG
Dan G, General Manager at Mercure Glasgow City Hotel, responded to this review

Hi thomasmA9665HG, Thanks for your review and sorry to hear you do not like the size of our rooms, unfortunately there is little we can do about it without a complete re-modelling. Generally our breakfast gets good reviews my apologies you didn't find that. To maximise space the wardrobes are of an open front design, very much like the ones...

East Kilbride, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

I stayed here 17th and 18th of April. .....we arrived at 1pm primerily to drop our cases of then go for lunch but the woman on reception barked at us ....oh no rooms are ready till 2pm......which didn't make us feel welcome at all .....we were just in the way.So we came back at 2pm checked in and went to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alison M
Dan G, General Manager at Mercure Glasgow City Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Alison M, Thanks for your review and sorry to hear that you were made to feel unwelcome, I have dealt with the member of the team responsible. Unfortunately there is little we can do about the room size. Good to hear you enjoyed some aspects of your stay. Kind Regards Dan

Launceston, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago

I think outside of one other, it is the smallest hotel room we have ever been in, and as our travel is extended we had lots of luggage and we were crowded and uncomfortable. The toilet roll holder stuck into your shoulder if you used the loo, the basin had a huge crack, and a small sign let you know...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Marilyn M
Dan G, General Manager at Mercure Glasgow City Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Marilyn M, Thanks for your review and good to hear my team resolved your issues for you. Kind Regards Dan

Forfar, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Stayed here using an itison voucher Pleasant welcome at reception rooms as stated are quite small . Definitely in need of a refurb carpets shabby and very thin walls between rooms could hear next door tv and talking really difficult to sleep. Even on leaving not asked how our stay was just took keys Got decent deal to stay but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gary C
Dan G, General Manager at Mercure Glasgow City Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Gary C, Thanks for your review. We are looking at a program of improvements for the coming months, we have started the process with new doors. I am surprised our reception team did not offer more on departure we normally do well for guest service, please accept my apologies. Kind Regards Dan

Tbilisi
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank K6711JGjessicah
Dan G, General Manager at Mercure Glasgow City Hotel, responded to this review

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Lovely hotel it is a perfect location for a break away in city centre so central to everything we had a great stay and would definitely go back. Room was lovely, we ate our evening meal and breakfast at hotel and it was excellent , all round great stay.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Donna M
Dan G, General Manager at Mercure Glasgow City Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Donna M, Thanks for your kind review and great to hear you enjoyed your stay. Please come back and enjoy the hotel again very soon. Kind Regards Dan

Blackpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed 3 nights, we have stayed many times , the room we were in was in the third floor and boy was it noisy, never noticed before how noisy it is, nearly all through the night I suppose the amount of bars in vicinity, the whole three days we were there , one of the two lifts was out...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hecfranfmac
Dan G, General Manager at Mercure Glasgow City Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Hecfranfmac, Thanks for your review and yes due to our city centre location it can be noisy. Unfortunately our lift is waiting for some parts that have to be made for it hence the delay, please accept my apologies for this. We supply extra pillows and blankets on request so please give reception a call next time. We are...

Camberley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I booked this hotel a long time before we arrived and was worried when poor reviews started to show up before my stay. So I followed tripadvisor advice and requested a room as high as possible facing Ingram street. I got a quick polite reply advising I would get a room on the 5th floor, first plus. We had booked...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank yougetspaz
Dan G, General Manager at Mercure Glasgow City Hotel, responded to this review

Hi yougetspaz, Thank you for your very fair review and good to hear you enjoyed your stay. Tripadvisor can be quite often biased towards poor reviews quite often due to people not complaining at the hotel itself, not having time, or reflecting on aspects of their stay after a significant time. There are many review sites for people to gain...

Warrington
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

A quick midweek work stopover in Glasgow on a budget. The Mercure came in at a good rate and in our corporate rules. I think of the Mercure as the start of the more upmarket range in the Accor hotels family. In reality the Glasgow hotel is just another chain hotel. Yes its very well located, the receptionists were very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A_decent_bloke
Dan G, General Manager at Mercure Glasgow City Hotel, responded to this review

Hi A_decent_bloke, Thank you for your very fair review and good to hear you enjoyed your stay. The building was built in 1973 so you are correct about the style of it. Please come back and stay again soon. Kind Regards Dan

215 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (191)
Viewed
Room/Suite (85)
Viewed
Bathroom (43)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Other (39)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (24)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
ibis styles Glasgow Centre George Square
The Z Hotel Glasgow
#15 of 96 in Glasgow
1,017 reviews
City Centre
Park Inn by Radisson
Park Inn by Radisson
#35 of 96 in Glasgow
909 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Carlton George Hotel
#20 of 96 in Glasgow
1,642 reviews
City Centre
Merchant City Inn
Merchant City Inn
#86 of 96 in Glasgow
363 reviews
City Centre
Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (George Square) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Mercure Glasgow City is on the doorstep of the contemporary Merchant City: once home to mansions, banks and warehouses you'll now find some of the city's best bars, restaurants and clubs. Mercure Glasgow City features 91 modern bedrooms with LCD TV's and high speed Internet. A cafe/bar and fresh exterior facade complete the look making this hotel the ideal base to enjoy the delights of Glasgow. There is a small chargeable car park at the rear of the building which is £7.00 for 24 hours. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Mercure Glasgow City Hotel

Address: 201 Ingram Street, Glasgow G1 1DQ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow
Price Range: ₹ 5,541 - ₹ 11,082 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Glasgow City Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 91
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Expedia, ACCOR, Hotels.com, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mercure Glasgow City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Glasgow
Glasgow Ramada
Mercure Glasgow City Hotel Scotland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Mercure Glasgow City Hotel staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Mercure Glasgow City Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Avoid hotel if you want a reasonable value for money”
thomasmA9665HG, 25 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a quiet room”
Hecfranfmac, 11 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Go with the high floor facing Ingram Street”
yougetspaz, 11 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Higher floors will be quieter.”
A_decent_bloke, 10 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Wait until its refurbishec”
Lor197, 3 Apr 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
US$ 87* /night
View Deal
HotelQuicklyUS$ 103
PricelineUS$ 87
Orbitz.comUS$ 87
View all 11 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates