We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Argyll Hotel

Show Prices
#28 of 96 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Argyll Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

723 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Argyll Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 664: English reviews
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 August 2015

the location of Hotel was fantastic. The staff offered a very warm & friendly greeting at all times, most helpful with directions. The Room was excellent all modern & new, extremely clean, everything to detail was in the room. The breakfast restaurant was Excellent, nothing too much trouble, all very good /efficient indeed. Excellent stay

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank jackierob2015
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 August 2015 via mobile

Parking outside in loading bay if you want to take the risk. The rooms are situated across the road from reception, and down in the basement, but you do get a window for day light. Tiny room, awful condition, a dump some may say. Breakfast again is in the basement across the road in reception. Ok ish, girl behind the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ennapatel
Elgin, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 August 2015

After being VERY disappointed with another hotel, we booked in here at very short notice. We were given a warm friendly welcome and our room was fabulous. It was clean and bright and the shower was to die for. Breakfast next morning was super, plenty of choice.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Valerie016
Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 July 2015

Stayed for a conference for several days. Did not genuinely believe these kinds of family hotels still existed. Looked a bit grim from the outside but I was given a delicious little room, immaculately clean, on the top floor. Felt quite atmospheric, looking over the Georgian rooftops of a summers evening, listening to the nearby church bell chime every hour....

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank ThatArchaeologyGirl
Nanaimo, Canada
Reviewed 15 July 2015

This was our first hotel in Glasgow and they impressed. When we showed up early they kindly stowed our bags until we could check in . We were very happy with tthe size of our room , it was more like an apt ! The islay room which is in the building across the street had leather furniture, stereo, Tv...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Amanda P
Laurencekirk, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 July 2015 via mobile

We staying on Saturday 11th July and booked 4 rooms for family celebrating mums birthday. Staff were so friendly and helpful and even arranged for flowers to be delivered at breakfast, which was help yourself and very good. Each room was different and varied in size so it was fun for us to choose who was staying in which but,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Angie F
Florida
Reviewed 10 July 2015 via mobile

The hotel had friendly employees. Very accommodating . Breakfast was adequate ( nothing special ) . Bed was comfortable. Room was small and hot. Stayed one night. Located near bus line therefore was convenient. In safe neighborhood , was able to walk at night. Would recommend if you cannot find other lodging.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ghost_Finder
Shetland
Reviewed 10 July 2015

We were originally booked in the Argyll Guest House across the road but checked in at the hotel and we were told we had been upgraded to the hotel. The rooms were small but very clean. Staff were all friendly.Bar was closed on the 2 nights we were there, heard a few people complain about this. The free wifi didn't...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ShetlandSheltie
ArgyllHotel, General Manager at Argyll Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you very much for your kind feedback posted on Tripadvisor.com regarding your stay. We are glad to see that you enjoyed your stay with us - our staff does its best in order to live up guest expectations. Bar was closed due to a private function but room service for bar and food was available for...

united kingdom
Reviewed 8 July 2015

We stayed here for one night for concert at Glasgow Hydro. Easy friendly check in. Nice clean comfortable room. Good breakfast with many options available. All in all would highly recommend. Hotel car park was full but very close parking which cost £10 from 4 o'clock to 10 the next morning .This was paid to the hotel who then issue...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kingdom60
ArgyllHotel, General Manager at Argyll Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your kind feedback posted on Tripadvisor.com regarding your stay. We are glad to see that you enjoyed your stay with us. We always get great feedback on the breakfast and the staff. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back anytime should your plans bring you to Argyll Hotel again. Kind Regards...

Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 July 2015

We have been to the Argyll many times with our family as we visit Glasgow at least once a year. The hotel is comfortable and clean - a bit "lived in" but we quite like that as it doesn't have a corporate feel. It is always busy when we are there. There are actually two parts to the hotel -...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank JillyB186
ArgyllHotel, General Manager at Argyll Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Jill Thank you for your positive comments on this feedback form and I wanted to personally respond and thank you. I appreciate your very kind comments relating to your recent stay at the Argyll Hotel. I was very pleased to read you enjoyed everything during your stay. Feedback is always important as it is a vital way of reviewing...

346 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (76)
Viewed
Room/Suite (21)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
1:23
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (38)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (201)
Viewed
Amenities (5)
Viewed
Dining (54)
Viewed
Standard Twin Room (48)
Viewed
Superior Double Room (44)
Viewed
The Hotel (50)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (69)
Viewed
Room/Suite (28)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Other (30)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
Sandyford Lodge Hotel
#53 of 96 in Glasgow
183 reviews
The Z Hotel Glasgow
#13 of 96 in Glasgow
984 reviews
Anderston
Lorne Hotel
Lorne Hotel
#50 of 96 in Glasgow
853 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
The Sandyford Hotel
The Sandyford Hotel
#64 of 96 in Glasgow
550 reviews
Kelvingrove Hotel
#67 of 96 in Glasgow
554 reviews
West End
The Heritage Hotel
The Heritage Hotel
#60 of 96 in Glasgow
299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Sutherlands
Sutherlands
Cuisines: British, Scottish
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
  • Meeting Rooms
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Argyll Hotel is located 1/2m west of Glasgow city centre by Kelvingrove Park and is within minutes of the Scottish Exhibition and Conference Centre, Kelvingrove Art Galleries & Museum, Glasgow Science Centre and Glasgow University. Facilities include Sutherlands Restaurant and bar, free car parking and internet access. Short breaks include Mackintosh in Style Weekends, Theatre and Shopping Breaks. The Argyll Hotel offers good accommodation, warm Scottish hospitality, fine food and above all great value. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Argyll Hotel

Address: 973 Sauchiehall Street, Glasgow G3 7TQ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > West End
Price Range: ₹ 3,434 - ₹ 13,163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Argyll Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Argyll Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Argyll Hotel Glasgow, Scotland
Hotel Style:
#32 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Argyll Hotel staff and other travellers.
23 questions
Ask a question
Toronto, Canada
over a year ago
Dalkeith, United Kingdom
6 months ago
Egremont, United Kingdom
3 months ago

See all questions (23)

Questions? Get answers from Argyll Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Avoid room 10!”
 of 5 bubbles DTE-Sevilla, 19 Mar 2017 | Read review
“best service, lovely design, scottish”
 of 5 bubbles 550marcod, 15 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a front room...not at all noisy as we thought it maybe...”
 of 5 bubbles ninabayer2016, 20 Jan 2017 | Read review
“103 is ground floor with a view of the bins, but as we spent little time here during daylight hours that wasn't a problem.”
 of 5 bubbles ILoveMuseums, 7 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Floor 2 was nice and quiet”
 of 5 bubbles chloes644, 2 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5