Hotel du Vin at One Devonshire Gardens

Traveller (973)
360
Panoramas (17)
Room & Suite (526)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Fully refundable before Sat, 9 Mar
No prepayment needed
₹12,067
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.5
#13 of 102 hotels in Glasgow
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Value
Travellers' Choice
Our stunning iconic Glasgow hotel is set in a tree-lined Victorian terrace in the fashionable West End and is only 30 minutes from Loch Lomond. Hotel du Vin Glasgow at One Devonshire Gardens is a luxury boutique Glasgow hotel and is something special. With an enviable reputation for service and style, we have 49 stunning bedrooms and suites, each with extremely comfy handsprung mattresses, fine Egyptian linen, deep roll top baths and plasma TVs. Enjoy our signature 3 rosette restaurant, a relaxing bar, an intriguing cigar shack and a well-stocked and comfortable whisky room. For luxury dining, breaks away, meetings and weddings in Glasgow, One Devonshire Gardens has it all. Located in this city of culture and style, you'll find an array of museums and fabulous shopping whilst enjoying our true Scottish hospitality.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid public parking on-site
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Taxi service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Massage
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Special diet menus
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Concierge
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Room service
Telephone
VIP room facilities
Iron
Minibar
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Walk-in shower
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
City view
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Romantic
Residential Neighbourhood
Languages Spoken
English
1981Reviews23Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 1,355
  • 393
  • 154
  • 56
  • 23
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Redemma13 wrote a review Feb 2020
Aberdeen, United Kingdom111 contributions60 helpful votes
+1
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed over on Thursday the 13th February and stayed in a duplex suite. This wasn't cheap but it was a very luxurious room with a freestanding bath in the room and a double walk in shower in the bathroom downstairs. Lovely and clean with plenty of toiletries and robes, slippers and a good mini bar. We managed to get checked in early by the lovely & efficient reception staff and we were shown to our room promptly. We decided to go for lunch in the bistro which was delicious. Good set menu price - £21.95 for 2 courses. The bar which we visited later on was nice and the barman lovely. Expensive for drinks but that is to be expected in such a luxury hotel. We loved the general ambience of the hotel and all public rooms were beautiful with high ceilings and chandeliers.
Our only criticism is that they didn't seem to have enough waiting staff on for lunch or breakfast service. It took quite a while to get our orders taken once we sat down and another wait for the mains to come. Don't get me wrong, the food was delicious and the waiting staff themselves were very friendly but our area was practically full and afternoon teas were starting to be served and we only saw 2 or 3 waitresses. They also charged a service charge which for a table of only 2 people with slow service was cheeky. Breakfast was the same. Very busy with only a few waiting staff. Long wait for hot drinks to arrive and for our hot food order to be taken.I think the hotel maybe need to think about their staff ratios when the hotel is busy. We absolutely enjoyed our stay at the hotel but when paying so much for a one night stay in a 5* hotel you expect everything to be flawless. This is the only reason we are rating a 4 and not a 5! We would absolutely come back and just a minor point in which was otherwise a perfect stay.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from ManagerODG, Manager at Hotel du Vin at One Devonshire Gardens
Responded 26 Feb 2020
Dear Redemma13, Thank you for your detailed review. We are delighted that you have had a fantastic stay with us. It is great to read you enjoyed a nice lunch and appreciated the staff and ambience of the hotel. I am sorry to learn you felt the service was on the slow side and that you felt there was not enough waiting staff. I am pleased that this aspect has not put you off a return visit and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel. Best Regards, Grant
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Brian7392 wrote a review Nov 2020
Milngavie, United Kingdom1,371 contribution425 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
This was a last minute booking however we arrived at the hotel around 3.45pm and wanted to see dinner menu. On the way to our room the staff member took us via the restaurant however there were no menus or staff around to book a table so he provided the direct dial number to call from the room. After checking the menu in our room we phoned down to book however there was no answer so we went into the restaurant on our way out only to be told it was fully booked for the night. That was really annoying as we had made the point on checking in and nobody thought to tell us that the restaurant was very busy or full so point lost there.

Anyway, the room was lovely and very roomy. The bathroom was also very big with a large bath and separate walk in shower with waterfall showerhead. The bed and line was luxurious and overall it was an excellent stay. Just a shame about the dining room especially more so since Glasgow was in a local lockdown and all restaurants were closed beyond 6pm.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: front and side rooms face onto busy roads so if sensitive to noise best ask for back room
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Grant Shepherd, Other at Hotel du Vin at One Devonshire Gardens
Responded 11 Nov 2020
Dear Brian7392, Thank you for your review. We are delighted that you have had an excellent stay with us and loved your room with large bath and walk in shower. We are sorry that we could not accommodate you in the restaurant that night but are pleased you managed to have something in the bar. With the central belt lockdown we have only been opening for dinner which is why no restaurant staff were around when you checked in. They always do their best to accommodate last minute reservations but, unfortunately with other restaurants closed in the city, and our capacity reduced due to social distancing measures, we were sadly unable to accommodate you on this occasion. Please give us a call at the hotel the next time you are thinking of staying and we can hopefully advise you of the situation prior to you making a reservation. We look forward to being able to welcome you back to the hotel and being able to accommodate you in the restaurant. Best Regards, Grant Deputy General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
ukmacgeek wrote a review Jan 2020
Old Kilpatrick, United Kingdom73 contributions61 helpful votes
+1
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed here on a dinner, bed & breakfast deal. So let me get the bad out the way first..
1. We arrived and found we had to pay for parking, I couldn’t find anything on their website about this, that isn’t the issue, the issue is that you can only park for 3 hours with no return.. so we parked in a different street before coming back for 3pm.. obviously there is a cost.. so total for parking for us (inc hotel parking cost) £10.20 (£5 hotel, £5.20 for local).
2. We had an upgrade to a grande room of £34, In such an establishment I could not believe the levels of dust across the room, which shows the only cleaning really done are linens and carpet.. there were 2 large cobwebs in the bathroom, and hardened soap in the shower, Reception did forgo the upgrade cost which was very kind, but we should not have to complain to start.
3. Nespresso machine nice touch, although isn’t that part of the 5* criteria? Anyway you get a selection of 4 coffees only one a decaf so 2 of you don’t get the same drink, but an abundance of teas and hot chocolate.. we actually brought our own with us but I feel that was a good job..
4. Noise.. OK so we knew the hotel is just set back from the A82 but the levels of noise during the day are almost unbearable, and during evening if you are a light sleeper you WILL NOT get sleep. Reason: no double glazing on the sash windows. The curtains block a little but nowhere near enough.
5. 4 pillows for a super king bed? Really who are you kidding.. None were harder pillows
6. Dinner, amazing but no vegetables included in the prix fixe menu.. so always an addition... This should be a basic staple potatoes as the main was 4 main parts, a jus , beef cheek, purée and I think it was beetroot slices
7.Just as a mark of respect to your guests would be nice if you didn’t see all the bins overflowing at the Lane side. not major but the outside of a hotel shows how it is looked after from the inside..

Ok so I may have been a little tough but this is meant to be one of the very best Glasgow has to offer, I honestly have to say that it is a beautiful hotel with beautiful stained glass.
The whole area has a stately feel to it in the vain of a Manor House but near a city centre. It is a little like a maze but that adds to the charm of the place.. it is a 10-15 minute walk to Byres Road which is great to go
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from ManagerODG, Manager at Hotel du Vin at One Devonshire Gardens
Responded 19 Jan 2020
Dear ukmacgeek, Thank you for taking the time to post your detailed review. We are pleased you have had a nice stay with us, overall, but sorry some things have taken the shine off slightly. I am sorry that you could not find details on our website with regards to parking at the hotel. This is found in the "Directions" section of the website and advises to contact Reception for advice. We have vouchers that allow you to park for the duration of your stay and not for just 3 hours that you describe and what the pay and display machines offer. I have shared your feedback with our Housekeeping team with regards to the issues you experienced in the room. I am sorry that this has fallen short of both our expectations. We offer different styles and extra pillows which we are happy to provide if you let us know what your preference is. I am sorry you felt the daytime traffic noise was almost unbearable. I have never had this described like this before and sorry it has impacted you so much. We do have back facing rooms which you should find a bit quieter as they face away from the street. I am sorry that you were disappointed with the overflowing bins. It is something not always in our control when let down by scheduled waste management pick ups. I hope these issues won't put you off from staying with us again and hope you will contact us at the hotel so we can best allocate a room to suit your needs. Best Regards, Grant
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jean M wrote a review Oct 2020
Glasgow, United Kingdom213 contributions165 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
This hotel was recommended to us, so we booked a two night stay last month. On arrival the reception staff were very pleasant and courteous. Social distancing was in place and there were ample sanitising stations within the main areas of the hotel. Our room was spacious and the bed was comfortable. The only hand sanitiser in the room was 1 little satchel each. The bathroom was disappointing as the wash hand basin had stains and cracks in it. There was only basic toiletries supplied - soap, shampoo & conditioner on the walls. There were no dressing gowns or slippers which we would definitely expect in a 5 star hotel. The guests in the next room had there pet dog with them and on the second night our sleep was interrupted by the dog barking.

We had a lovely cocktails in the bar before diner on our first night and the girl who served us was friendly and very efficient. Diner itself was enjoyable but a bit overpriced. We only had breakfast on one of the mornings as it was disappointing. We both had the traditional breakfast which was very dry as if it had been siting for a while on a hot plate. We asked for tea and toast to go with our cooked breakfast and were given 1 piece of toast each and a pot of tea to share ( a 2 cup pot). We had to ask for more tea and toast and were aware that other guests were doing the same.

We have done a couple of staycations in 5* hotels in Scotland since July 2020 and they have been far superior to the Hotel du Vin. Overall disappointing.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Grant Shepherd, Other at Hotel du Vin at One Devonshire Gardens
Responded 10 Oct 2020
Dear Jean M, Thank you for posting your review. We are sorry to learn that you have had an overall disappointing experience with us. We are pleased that you have enjoyed the spacious room with comfortable bed, lovely cocktails, and dinner. We are sorry that you were disturbed by a dog barking in the room next door and for the issues experienced at breakfast. We have shared your comments with the team so we can look to improve these areas. Best Wishes, Grant Deputy General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Ian E wrote a review Feb 2020
West Linton, United Kingdom38 contributions84 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
I have stayed in this hotel a number of times , but must say my most recent trip which ended yesterday was sadly, extremely disappointing!
Standards have slipped like an eel off an oil slick !

The room was nice , large well appointed and comfortable, however the room was freezing though the bathroom was warm , it seemed that the thermostat served no useful purpose .

There was no turn down service despite paying more than £200 for the night

We returned to the hotel on a Saturday night for a nightcap , we were served with poor quality expense wine by the glass asked for some nuts or crisps ans were told they didn’t have any .
Then asked to order some sandwiches were told we would have to go back to our room to order room service .

On departure we were not asked how our stay was !
The concept of customer service or delight is clearly a corpse in this hotel !
So very sad !
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from ManagerODG, Manager at Hotel du Vin at One Devonshire Gardens
Responded 26 Feb 2020
Dear IanE468, Thank you for your review and for choosing to stay with us again. I am very sorry to learn that this visit has not lived up to expectations or previous stays. I appreciate your feedback and will certainly share your experience with the team so we may improve on what we offer. We are still regularly commented on favourably with regards to our staff and their friendliness and helpfulness, I am sorry you did not experience this on this visit. I hope you will come back and try us again and we look forward to being able to welcome you back to the hotel. Best Regards, Grant
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
FellowTraveler169593 wrote a review Aug 2021
1 contribution2 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Just checked out having spent two nights in one of the hotels suites and have to say, value for money and cleanliness were very disappointing. Firstly, nearly £500 for two nights and no breakfast included, that’s an extra £56 for breakfast!!!. Secondly, as you walk downstairs towards the bathroom area of the suite there is a thick layer of dust on the left hand side of of the staircase as you walk down. May sound petty, however when you pay close to £500 for two nights you would expect better. This is also in addition to the stained carpet next to the coffee machine where someone has obviously spilled coffee and house keeping have made a poor attempt at cleaning it up. Downstairs in the bathroom, which has two lovely showers, there has been a leak or something similar at the radiator and there is either grout or tile adhesive all over the floor which hasn’t been cleaned up. Again, this may all seem petty but when you spend so much on two nights at an upmarket hotel then you expect a certain standard. Going back to the price of food, we ate in in the bistro on the first night and opted for the 5 course taster menu which cost £69 each. Whilst the food was delicious the portion sizes were extremely poor. I am not a huge eater and neither is my wife however we were on google after the meal looking for the nearest chip shop. Probably an error on our part selecting the taster menu but as I mentioned, the food was delicious but portion sizes, even for a taster menu, were very poor. My wife had two gin and tonics with the meal and I had two pints of lager and the total bill was £181!!!!!
It’s not all negative, all the staff we had dealings with were very helpful and nothing was an issue for them.
Overall, if you are looking for good value for money then don’t book here
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Skye MacKinnon, Other at Hotel du Vin at One Devonshire Gardens
Responded 31 Aug 2021
Hi FellowTraveler169593, Thank you for your review. Whilst I am pleased to read of the positive aspect of your stay - our staff - I am disappointed that your time at One Devonshire Gardens fell below our usual standards. I have passed your feedback on to our Housekeeping, Maintenance and Kitchen teams, and we are currently looking into the issues you noticed whilst here. I do hope that this experience does not put you off returning, and that you are able to come back in the future to experience One Devonshire Gardens as it should be. Kind Regards, Skye
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
glasgow12_uk wrote a review Oct 2022
Glasgow, United Kingdom56 contributions74 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
2 night stay for our honeymoon prior to staying reception staff informed us to drop luggage off the day before arriving, so preventing the need to carry a case to wedding venue and onwards

Stayed in junior suite which ticked all the boxes, spacious clean and very comfortable although overlooking rear of building which had glass bins, we were not disturbed by noise.

Beer garden a must if dry just wrap up as very pleasant to sit and enjoy glass wine, if that not your cup of tea sit inside beside open fire.

Bar staff very attentive and drinks to suite everyone.

Restaurant breakfast plenty to choose from cold to hot food, a la carte at night worth the visit again no complaints and staff very attentive but unobtrusive.

Thank you for an amazing stay we will be back
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Skye MacKinnon, Other at Hotel du Vin at One Devonshire Gardens
Responded 6 Oct 2022
Hi glasgow12_uk, Thank you for taking the time to leave your review. Firstly, Congratulations on your recent Wedding! We are so pleased you had an enjoyable stay with us on your Honeymoon. It is great to read so many positive aspects of your stay. We do hope to see you again soon - maybe on your first anniversary! Kind Regards, Skye
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jart_7 wrote a review Sept 2022
Jock in Brum109 contributions158 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
I've been a regular visitor here since 2010. While I still appreciate the quality of the rooms and the beautiful setting, my recent stay was very disappointing.

Arriving early in Glasgow, I called and asked if our room might be available before 3pm (it has been in the past) she checked and came back saying it was ready for us immediately! When we got there it wasn't. We waited on the terrace, the cocktail menu is getting shorter and shorter (single sided A5, not what is advertised via the website) with all my faves missing. Disappointing.

The room service menu is samey, dull and not refreshed for months at a time. Service to the room (with service and tray charges) is poor, missing items meant staff were running back and forward. Our Caesar Salads were bland, seemed parmesan free and we sent them back.

The full Scottish breakfast was skimpy, with burned to black bacon, dry disintegrating haggis and a rock hard, over cooked potato scone. Over easy eggs came cooked solid. Watery hot chocolate was unpleasant. Thanks to the staff member who removed these from the bill.

Weeks previously I had asked about availability of a private space where my husband and I could enjoy my 60th birthday diner safely (covid vulnerable). I was open for any of the 3 nights were were there for and for either of their menus. I was kindly offered one of their regular dining rooms with no other guests and booked the full tasting menu with wines. I made it clear that should they need that space for a larger booking or event, that I was flexible and to call me.

We got to the bistro to find there was another couple in the room and we were expected to share with them, if we wanted to wait for an hour we could have it to ourselves. This was unacceptable and after a few minutes deliberation hunger won and we opted to eat in the beer garden with a bottle of wine. Two glasses of Champagne arrived on the house and staff were lovely but I was miserable that my long awaited birthday treat was ruined. I couldn't finish my meal and we returned to our room with the evening in ruins. Someone should have told me and not ASSUMED it would be ok.

Please don't become just another mediocre chain offering, this beautiful setting deserves better and so do your guests.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Skye MacKinnon, Other at Hotel du Vin at One Devonshire Gardens
Responded 15 Sept 2022
Hi Jart_7, Thank you for taking the time to leave your review. Firstly, we appreciate your loyalty to One Devonshire Gardens, and are sorry to read you have found a few negative aspects of your recent stay with us. The points you raised on check out have been passed on to the relevant teams so we can learn from your feedback. Our Bar Menu has recently changed, and so has our Cocktail list for the Garden. We have a reduced Cocktail Menu for the Garden, and the full list is in the Bar. We look forward to seeing you both again soon. Kind Regards, Skye
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Kat b wrote a review Dec 2023
Edinburgh, United Kingdom23 contributions9 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Came through from Edinburgh to stay here as a surprise treat from my husband for my 60th birthday. The room we got was Concha Y Toro and we were shown in with a flourish and the comment " a nice quiet room at the back", well it was at the back and it was quiet but it wasn't nice. Outside the window was an old roof and to the left of that 2 shipping containers. The cleaning staff really should have turned up the suction on their hoover, as the carpet needed a good going over, remembered to dust the glass shelves in the bathroom and should have collected the receipts from a previous occupant which were down the back of my bedside table, maintenance should also secure the loose tap in the bathroom sink and management should take a look at the mismatched bedroom furniture which is more shabby/cheap than shabby chic.
Worse was to come though in the morning when I took a shower, there was hair in the shower. My husband's breakfast was fine but my smashed avocado was brown and mushy and the sourdough toast underneath was black. I sent it back and asked for a veggie cooked breakfast instead which was fine but by the time it came my husband was well finished his. Obviously some training and supervision in the kitchen is required as my tea came in a tiny teapot with 2 teabags in it and was like tar. The young waitress eventually sorted me out with a larger pot and only one teabag. No one came to apologise for any of this.
I discussed the state of the room/bathroom and disastrous breakfast with Domenico at the desk who offered us a refund of breakfast and a 20% refund which I agreed to and he said it would take 15 - 30 days to come through. Nothing had happened after 30 days so I phoned the hotel and was told that I would get a call back, I didn't get one. I called again the next day and Depute manager Molly promised to investigate and within 2 days the refund was in my husband's account. Given the problems during our stay I really shouldn't have had to do that.
Definitely spoiled my birthday treat and I wouldn't recommend staying at One Devonshire Gardens.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Skye MacKinnon, Other at Hotel du Vin at One Devonshire Gardens
Responded 17 Dec 2023
Hello 803katb, Thank you for taking the time to leave your review. I am sorry to read that your recent stay fellow below the usual standards that we have at One Devonshire Gardens. Domenico and Mollie have followed up with the relevant teams, so we can improve in the areas mentioned in your comments. We do hope that you do decide to return in the future, so we can restore your faith in us. Kind Regards, Skye
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Shona M wrote a review Sept 2020
Airdrie, United Kingdom63 contributions50 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Beautiful, historic hotel with lovely beer garden and bar. Our room was lovely with a giant bed which was so comfortable. The bathroom was stunning, with room for 2 in the bath. All in all we had a fantastic stay. The barmaid Oxy is the most hardworking person I think I have ever come across. Always keeping herself busy serving the full bar herself. Which leads me to the reason I haven't given the hotel 5 stars. The only staff member to provide good service was Oxy. In the afternoon when we were sat out in the beer garden, we had to constantly go find a staff member to order drinks, or lunch. Nobody cleared our table and nobody came back to take further drink orders. Which is a shame as we would have spent a lot more money had the service been there. Whilst we were in the bar, which had every table taken, there was 3 staff members standing in the hall seeming to be doing nothing while the barmaid was on her own to serve the full bar, which she done magnificently, even making cocktails in super quick time. The restaurant was fully booked and only the bar menu was available which only had about 4 options on it and only 1 vegetarian option. So we had that for lunch but had to book somewhere else for dinner. I would go back but would definately book dinner in advance to ensure I can eat my meal in the hotel Im staying in in future.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Grant Shepherd, Other at Hotel du Vin at One Devonshire Gardens
Responded 23 Sept 2020
Dear 442shonam, Thank you for your review. We are delighted that you have had an extremely comfortable stay with us, enjoying the best night's sleep. We are sorry that we were unable to accommodate you for dinner and would always recommend making a dinner reservation when booking your room to avoid disappointment. In the current climate our restaurant capacity is reduced with less covers taken per time slot. We hope you will come back and see us again soon. Kind Regards, Grant Deputy General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
travelbugHampshireUK asked a question Dec 2022
Southampton, United Kingdom22 contributions30 helpful votes
Is there still free parking outside this hotel?
Answer from CS-Linlithgow
Linlithgow, Scotland137 contributions111 helpful votes
We were there in July and there was free parking across the road. Not directly outside though.
Show all answers
Kim M asked a question Jan 2022
Do you have room service?
Answer from Dscott
Glasgow, United Kingdom20 contributions13 helpful votes
To be honest I do not know, as we didn’t ask, but based on the many years I have been staying there, and the known personalised service….I am sure they would do room service if such was requested
Show all answers
Answer from FamilyTraveller68
Bristol, United Kingdom149 contributions116 helpful votes
Hi Yes, as I understand it 16 year olds are permitted to stay in hotels overnight accompanied or unaccompanied. Shouldn't make any difference who's name the booking was under. Technically, you two could be married at 16 so there shouldn't be a problem. Lovely venue and great staff but food was poor when we visited. Hav
Answer from ManagerODG
Glasgow, United Kingdom1 helpful vote
Dear Galapark-48, There are 3 classic rooms in that townhouse, all with their own individual charm. First floor front facing room is Willi Opitz or on the second floor, the corner aspect of Peter Lehmann.
Show all answers
david p asked a question Dec 2018
Naperville, Illinois3 contributions3 helpful votes
How far walk to shopping and city center area.??
Answer from John D
Hi david p, Thank you for your question. Our Hotel is located in Glasgow's West end which is around 3x miles to Glasgow's city centre. The west end has numerous small boutique shops within a few minutes walk. Public transport is also readily available and can have you in the city centre in minutes. Regards John Dick Operations Manager
Show all answers
cjohnston wrote a tip 18 Feb
4 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"I had the mackerel starter - out of this world!"
Read full review
food traveller wrote a tip Jan 2024
Bath, United Kingdom34 contributions23 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Be careful on the cobbled lane behind hotel you drive down to gain access to Parking spots at Hotel entrance, it's fiendishly bumpy."
Read full review
JARED S wrote a tip Nov 2023
2 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Do walk from the Hotel to Glasgow's Botanic Gardens. You'll see some stunning properties en route."
Read full review
JohnPatJess wrote a tip Nov 2023
7 contributions3 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Don't go!"
Read full review
Nathan R wrote a tip Nov 2023
Orlando, Florida2 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Parking is an issue, can be expensive so pre-plan"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Glasgow area.
PRICE RANGE
₹11,192 - ₹20,892 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
hotel du vin at 1 devonshire gardens, one devonshire gardens, devonshire garden one
LOCATION
United KingdomScotlandGlasgow
NUMBER OF ROOMS
49
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

HOTEL DU VIN AT ONE DEVONSHIRE GARDENS (Glasgow, Scotland) - Hotel Reviews, Photos, Rate Comparison - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Hotel du Vin at One Devonshire Gardens
Which popular attractions are close to Hotel du Vin at One Devonshire Gardens?
Nearby attractions include Glasgow West End (1.0 km), Glasgow Botanic Gardens (1.0 km), and A Play a Pie and a Pint (1.0 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Hotel du Vin at One Devonshire Gardens?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Hotel du Vin at One Devonshire Gardens?
Top room amenities include a minibar, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Hotel du Vin at One Devonshire Gardens?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Hotel du Vin at One Devonshire Gardens?
Yes, paid public parking on-site is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hotel du Vin at One Devonshire Gardens?
Conveniently located restaurants include Ashoka Ashton Lane, Cail Bruich, and 111 by Modou.
Are any cleaning services offered at Hotel du Vin at One Devonshire Gardens?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Hotel du Vin at One Devonshire Gardens?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Hotel du Vin at One Devonshire Gardens offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Are there any historical sites close to Hotel du Vin at One Devonshire Gardens?
Many travellers enjoy visiting The Mackintosh House (1.5 km), The Tenement House (2.7 km), and House for an Art Lover (3.9 km).
Does Hotel du Vin at One Devonshire Gardens have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the city view available here.