We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Alba Hostel Glasgow

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Alba Hostel Glasgow
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

144 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Alba Hostel Glasgow
See the most recent reviews
Showing 115: English reviews
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 19 February 2016

Provides nice small size hostel. Reception accommodating and helpful. Some parking available which is nice. A little removed from main city areas, but cabs are easily available. Beds and bathrooms clean and private.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank M5284ARtraveller
Reviewed 15 February 2016

I stayed here for a few days over Glasgow MCM comic con in September. The staff were aloof and rude, and the hostel here is run for the benefit of the owners, not the benefit of those staying there. The receptionist did not speak clear enough English to be very helpful, and the staff were consistently rude to me when...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Harley S
AlbaHostel G, Manager at Alba Hostel Glasgow, responded to this review

Hello Dear Thank you for your stay at Alba Hostel Glasgow and sorry to listen that you have few issues. we have proper receptionist person available all the time but I believe you speak to someone else like our handyman whose English is not very good, apology. sorry to listen that you lost your dress in you room. did you...

Perth and Kinross, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 January 2016

Mattress was old and weak. Bed sheet and pillow case need some real washing. I always waked up with aches. Kitchen is not opened till 8 am, and hence was not suitable for early breakfast. I was compelled to leave without preparing my breakfast in the morning. I had to checkout before my intended date. Bad experience.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mody111
AlbaHostel G, Manager at Alba Hostel Glasgow, responded to this review

Hello Dear Thank you for your stay at Alba Hostel Glasgow and sorry to listen that you had some issues. We normally replace our all matteresses, linen, carpets once a year and paint/decorate whole the building in winter time. Can I ask you if you have notifid all these problems to reception or manager? Anyway I am checking myself all...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 January 2016

Cheap dorm-style accommodation. Bathroom attached to our room, only one other person in room, though several empty beds. Can be a bit noisy going across room in dark to use the bathroom in the night! Bunk type beds which obviously not like full size beds but did ok. Location is quite far out the centre, though there is train station...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank thewanderer2016
Bruges, Belgium
Reviewed 16 December 2015

If you don't need too much luxury, this place is just fine. There is a possibility to have breakfast and it was not too noisy either. Beds not very good, but acceptable. Service not always friendly, but the boss is! So that's enough :). Neighborhood was fine, not far from the trendy/nice streets and the botanical garden (20min walk). Price-quality-rate...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank xk_tjex
California
Reviewed 23 November 2015

My husband and I (in our seventies) stayed here for two nights in a twin bedroom with ensuite shower and lavatory. The staff were helpful (carried our cases) and the room was warm, comfortable and clean. It's a hostel, and there is a large dining area on the ground floor, a kitchen with all the equipment you'd need in the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RootlessCosmo
Derbyshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 31 October 2015

The rooms are spacious and neat. There is nothing like a well-cleaned bathroom, and suitable surrounding environs with friendly welcoming staff. I love the fact the room mates are considerate and respect each others' space. However, the kitchen wasn't so pleasing. Its a great relief to have the hostel close to the rail station and a few distances from the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank uchec141
Kendal, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 October 2015

Okay so the owner was very pleasant and genuinely sorry for our experience but the proof will be if he makes changes. We were after somewhere cheap,and cheerful to stay overnight during a visit to see a son at University so wanted nothing more than a clean bed. To be fair, you don't expect much for £60 but this place...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tim W
Alba H, Manager at Alba Hostel Glasgow, responded to this review

Dear Tim Ward Thank you for your stay at our hostel. Apology that you waited 10 min at reception for your check in, as this was the time of shifts changing and staff was given charge to receptionist. As far as the location of room, it’s mentioned on your booking that your room is located at basement in front of...

Monterey, California
Reviewed 27 October 2015

This hostel looked perfect online when I booked it weeks in advance. Upon arrival it was one problem after another. The check in is at 4pm, which is very late, and though it was raining, we were turned away from even waiting in the common area and had to go around the corner and sit at the free house, with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank C. S. O
Alba H, Manager at Alba Hostel Glasgow, responded to this review

Hello dear thank you for your stay at Alba Hostel and apology that you had some issues that you never discuss at reception upon your check in/out. Guest feedback on the spot is really a big help to solve/explain on the spot and make our standards better. Yes you are right our check in starts at 4pm which is mentioned...

Greater London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 September 2015

I spent five nights there. the bed was fine, but that's all for this hostel. It is too far from the city center between 50 minutes on the bus or and one and half hour walking. And the bus ends up at 11h30. So do not think about famous Glasgow night life... Which is a shame,

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sarah K
Alba H, Manager at Alba Hostel Glasgow, responded to this review

Dear Sarah Thank you for your stay at hostel. We are 3 miles away from city centre and located on Great Western Road which has great transport links to not only Glasgow but all over Scotland. Bus takes about 30 min to reach city centre, bus stop is cross the road and train takes 10 min only. We have Anniesland...

47 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (24)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (23)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
Glasgow Pond Hotel
#54 of 95 in Glasgow
985 reviews
West End
Kelvin Hotel
Kelvin Hotel
#70 of 95 in Glasgow
270 reviews
The Z Hotel Glasgow
#14 of 95 in Glasgow
889 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Smiths Hotel
#91 of 95 in Glasgow
381 reviews
City Centre
Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Charing Cross) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Alba Hostel Glasgow is in the west end of Glasgow, offering cheap, clean, modern, safe, comfortable accommodation with great facilities and of course a great atmosphere where you can meet other like-minded people. We have fantastic friendly staff and superb facilities to meet all your needs. If you are looking to meet great people and have a unique, fabulous hostel experience in Glasgow, then Alba Hostel Glasgow is for you. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Alba Hostel Glasgow

Address: 6 Fifth Avenue | Anniesland, Glasgow G12 0AT, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow
Price Range: ₹ 1,386 - ₹ 5,545 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Alba Hostel Glasgow 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, HostelWorld and Travelocity so you can book your Alba Hostel Glasgow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alba Hostel Glasgow Scotland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Alba Hostel Glasgow staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Alba Hostel Glasgow staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I recommend consulting (management -early ) to try to find a nice deal ...”
 of 5 bubbles ssopab01, 8 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Bring slippers, toiletries and a towel if you don't want to rent (1£)”
 of 5 bubbles codecargo, 15 Sep 2016 | Read review
“The train is half the price of the bus if you get a return ticket. 2.40”
 of 5 bubbles 755robe, 16 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Talk with the reception and ask for an advice.”
 of 5 bubbles worldlove1, 4 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Bring your own lock for the lockers.”
 of 5 bubbles joryb490, 21 Apr 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay