We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
27 Elmbank Street, Glasgow G2 4PB Scotland
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
$216
View deal
Reserve now, pay at stay
Priceline
$216
View deal
Agoda.com
$213
View deal
eDreams$216
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
View all 13 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (173)
Room & Suite (21)
Dining (17)

About

#71 of 103 hotels in Glasgow
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
See why so many travellers make Safestay Glasgow City Hostel their hotel of choice when visiting Glasgow. Providing an ideal mix of value, comfort and convenience, it offers an array of amenities designed for travellers like you. You’ll enjoy relaxing rooms, and you can stay connected during your stay as we offer guests free wifi. The hostel features a 24 hour front desk and a lounge, providing a pleasant respite from your busy day. Close to some of Glasgow's most popular landmarks, such as The Tenement House (0.2 mi) and Escape Glasgow (0.4 mi), our hostel is a great destination for tourists. During your visit, be sure to check out one of Glasgow's popular oyster restaurants such as The Ubiquitous Chip, The Butchershop Bar and Grill, and The Spanish Butcher, all a short distance from our hostel. If you are interested in exploring Glasgow, check out one of the art galleries, such as The Glasgow School of Art, The Lighthouse, and House for an Art Lover. We’re sure you’ll enjoy your stay as you experience all of the things Glasgow has to offer.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid public parking nearby
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Taxi service
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Car park
Wifi
Breakfast available
Vending machine
Shared lounge / TV area
First aid kit
Express check-in / check-out
Show more
Room features
Housekeeping
Private bathrooms
Microwave
Refrigerator
Electric kettle
Flatscreen TV
Walk-in shower
Bath / shower
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Centrally Located
Business
Languages Spoken
English, Russian, Latvian, Portuguese
914Reviews20Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 198
  • 337
  • 226
  • 86
  • 67
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Jee T wrote a review 13 Aug
16 contributions
Booked 5 nights here. The beds are acceptable, I was in a 5 bed room which had a 5th bed awkwardly in the middle of the room while my bed was one of the bunkbed units with a curtain. Felt bad for the girl sleeping on the 5th bed in the middle, very exposed. You may be walking on eggshells because the owner or main manager, if present, seems to really have a short tolerance. I came downstairs one evening to find the manager chewing out someone who had just shown up, but got into an argument with another guest or something (dont know context). Manager told them to get out, no money in hand for them. So After that, I kept very quiet and out of anyones way. This manager left on the weekend so that was good, but I was gone before the end of the weekend anyway Small bugs were all around the carpeting, didn't bother me but it was odd. They werent bedbugs since they hopped In-room bathrooms were nice and comfortable. Basement area is depressing, no kitchen available either. Breakfast was worth the extra cost, since fridge space is limited here it seems. The vibe of the hostel is odd, there's a general sitting area but it's always fairly dark, people don't seem that interested in chatting. This is really a place to sleep and that's it, not the most sociable. Staff, other than that one manager, were excellent and very helpful. Kind and welcoming group of staffers. I slept well, roommates were quiet and respectful. The blinds helped but I think the person in the 5th bed suffered. I think they should get rid of the 5 bed room as an option. Overall fine stay, but wouldn't recommend it to others. Flooring needs an overhaul, as does management. Kitchen or more food prep space would be nice.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Don't book the 5 bed room
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Alexandra G wrote a review Jul 2022
1 contribution
Everyone who considers staying here - avoid it! Based on other reviews too, which are negative, this place obviously doesn’t offer the stay it claims to. The rooms on the pictures are deceptive and are most probably of their best rooms. Our room was very tiny, and the bed looked like a prison bed - the mattress on this bed was plastic PVC mattress. They can’t offer basic needs like extra pillows to make your sleep a bit more comfortable on a “swimming float”. The internet was very weak and all the services that they provide, like Netflix, Amazon Prime, etc., are unwatchable. The staff is a bit rude but that’s probably because they don’t enjoy working there either. :) All other reviews have excuses as replies by the owner of this place, and this makes me question why this hotel is not being invested in and improved, considering the fact they have 20 employees at most, and the cheapest room is £36 a night, and they have plenty of rooms. Could invest in at least a better internet coverage. To be blunt, the business needs a lot of work. Being a hostel doesn’t imply not providing a positive experience for guests. Carpet was damaged throughout the premises, mould and water damage existed on window seals and the bathroom. The blinds in the room were also in a poor state of repair. I hope that the owner of this hostel takes into account not just this comment, but every other comment, and realised that it’s not all about money, as it turns out the clients are the ones who suffer (and we pay for that!)
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Safestay Glasgow, General Manager at Safestay Glasgow City
Responded 5 weeks ago
Hi Alexandra, whilst most of our guests enjoy their stay with us we are very sorry to see that it wasn't the same for you this time. We fully appreciate your feedback and are looking to take all the steps required to improve the highlighted issues above.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
thecoatman wrote a review Jul 2022
12 contributions
I stayed here very recently and the staff seemed cool. The shared dorm of 6 was clean and each bed (even the top bunks) had curtains all around so you could be private in your own bed space. Lockers too so that's good, great sleep as comfy mattress. thank you!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Safestay Glasgow, General Manager at Safestay Glasgow City
Responded 12 Jul 2022
Thank you so much for the great rating and kind words. We always appreciate feedback, and we're very happy your stay was so comfortable. Anytime your passing through Glasgow, please don't be a stranger as we'd love to have you stay again. All the best, Safestay Glasgow Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Fiona W wrote a review Jun 2022
1 contribution1 helpful vote
Went to stay for a night as was on business for a show, was rudly turned away die to not having ID even though it was on my phone and had my Bank cards to prove who I was. So I had to then try and get booked else where!!! Which was difficult seeing there was lots of Gigs shows etc on... leaving myself and friend stranded in Glasgow miles away from Home ..... absolutely shocking asked to leave because I couldn't prove I was over 18 I'm bloody 43... joke... I hope to hear from your manager....
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Safestay Glasgow, General Manager at Safestay Glasgow City
Responded 12 Jun 2022
Hi Fiona thanks for the feedback, we are sorry to see that this was not up to your expectation. Unfortunately we don't take ID to prove age instead to confirm identity. On the day of your check in you did claim to have an image of ID on your phone however you didn't show the reception team this image, you only provided us with a bank card which would not enough for us to be able to check you in with on the day, and for this reason we were unable to book you in. Whilst we can appreciate the stress of having to re-accommodate yourselves at such a busy time is difficult, we clearly outline the requirements for check-in during the booking process to minimise this outcome for all of our guests.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Buffet Man wrote a review May 2022
Irvine, United Kingdom11 contributions18 helpful votes
This hostel was not the most pleasant stay I've ever had. My group purchased a six-bed private room, which came with 3 bunk beds. However, there was not enough room to even swing a cat, it was quite small and compact. One of my group claims that they saw some sort of beetle in their bed, so they had to sleep on another bed for the night. Also, despite the room we were given not being next to any other room according to the customer service team, the walls were extremely thin, thin enough to hear constant MC music blasting from the room to the right of us. After complaining to the staff team, they indeed asked them to turn it down, which they did but the walls were still so thin that we could hear every part of their conversation and their music. Also, with regards to hygiene, the walls within our room were absolutely caked in dust causing our group to sneeze constantly, most of the beds did not come with a cover for the duvet and one of the beds even came without a pillow. In this hostel, a towel is NOT provided and you have to rent one for £3. Finally, the wifi signal within this place is INCREDIBLY weak. We complained to reception multiple times regarding this and each time they said they would restart it in around 30 minutes, which I don't believe they did. I would certainly not recommend staying here at all if you need WIFI because it simply does not work. I would not recommend staying in this hostel if there are any other options available to you. The going rate for a standard rate room on the night we stayed was around £120, for this you could easily get a premier inn, which is a very good standard of hotel compared to the hostel.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Safestay Glasgow, General Manager at Safestay Glasgow City
Responded 28 May 2022
Thanks for the honest feed back, we are always looking to provide the best possible stay for all our guests, so we are extremely sorry to see that it wasn't up to standard. This will be fed back to our housekeeping manager in order to make an internal review, thanks.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Wander824844 wrote a review Apr 2022
London, United Kingdom1 contribution1 helpful vote
BE CAREFUL! PLEASE KEEP AWAY FROM THIS PROPERTY! THEY ARE STEALING YOUR INFORMATION! It cannot be believed my credit card information has been stolen from them... It is the first time my credit card is fraud. I already paid via Trip.com, but they still WROTE DOWN my credit card information. I don't understand why they wrote down all credit card information like credit card number, expiring date, security code and name instead of making the deposit payment. Now I understand it, they just steal your information and fraud it! I only provided this credit card information for them. I used other credit cards or Apple Pay in other places, the credit card information could not be stolen from others. And my credit card bank notified that my credit card is fraud in Bulgaria a week later... Suggestion: Please stop stealing credit cards issued in the US, you cannot steal a penny from them. Meanwhile, the first bed gave me is very the dirty bed, I changed another one, but it is still not good. I only stayed 7 hours there and slept very bad! Horrible experience overall.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Value
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Safestay Glasgow, General Manager at Safestay Glasgow City
Responded 12 Jul 2022
Hi there, As was explained during your check-in procedure, you had booked and paid via one of our partner companies and not directly with us. Our company policy (as well as the majority of hotels/hostels) will take card details to secure the booking against any damages such as smoking, vandalism, excessive cleaning etc... In which case your card would only be charged should you violate these policies. We DO NOT steal or pass on any information regarding our guests, and after our guests check out we only hold onto contact details for correspondence. As for the rest of your stay, we're sorry to hear it wasn't as comfortable as hoped and we'll look into ways to improve this. Kind Regards, Safestay Glasgow Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Wearmouths wrote a review Apr 2022
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom5 contributions3 helpful votes
The location is handy, with about 10 minute walk to city center. Cleanliness was terrible, had to replace pillow as it had chewing gum stuck to it. (Staff responded with "Oh" ) Had to replace a towel as it had an unquestionable stain on it. Thankfully I hadn't noticed till we were packing to leave. But we found dried mucus on the wall. 🤢 Hair was found in the bathroom. The sheets didn't cover the beds properly so lying against the plastic mattresses wasn't good. £6 for a continental breakfast. But sadly there is only 1 table in the breakfast room so you have to carry everything upstairs to the lounge. The meats were cheap processed packet stuff and the 'cereals' was either cheap cornflakes or cheap cornflakes. The WiFi didn't work in our ground floor room. So had to sit in the dirty shared lounge. Just don't bother. Huge disappointment.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Safestay Glasgow, General Manager at Safestay Glasgow City
Responded 24 Apr 2022
Hi there, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review and rating. We're sorry to hear your stay with us was a disappointment and that the overall experience was unpleasant. We're investigating these issues with our HK manager, and we'll look into improving our facilities making them more accessible/efficient for our guests. Kind Regards, Safestay Reception Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jay wrote a review Mar 2022
Elgin, United Kingdom12 contributions3 helpful votes
When we got to our room we discovered only one plug socket worked, we reported this and they got someone in to check the fuse box which turned out to be the issue, only another socket worked (so 2 in total) but this was fine because we were just concerned about charging our phones. Staff were friendly and nice to chat to, not sure on names but it was the young woman at reception and the man with glasses were who we spoke to. They did offer to provide us with another room but we decided not to based on the fact more than 1 socket worked and we had a lot of stuff with us so moving was a hassle. Some points i’d like them to take on board would be; - I agree with the comments around the check in being a bit intimidating, have to sign something that says if anything goes missing from your room they aren't liable, but Im guessing thats for the shared rooms not the double suites as these are locked with your own room card (maybe more clarity around this for guests would be helpful) because I did worry about this myself and had to pay to put my bags at reception just so i was assured they were safe but then realised after that this probably just applies to when you’re sharing in rooms with a few others. - The bedding did have some blood stains on them and weren't the cleanest, i didnt realise until later in my stay because the stains were so far in the corner of the duvet/sheet. - The shower fills up really fast, blocked drains maybe? (Room 302 i think i was in) But i had to turn it off and wait for 5 minutes before continuing to shower incase i flooded the place. -Netflix stops working on the tv randomly, it worked on our phones so was definitely something to do with the tv. We noticed it needed a few updates so spent time doing this so maybe the guests can be informed of this if they mention similar issues. Over all was a good stay and i’d stay here again. Its a good hotel for younger people or people who enjoy events in the city and dont mind it being a bit lively. Its right across the road from an old school which i found fascinating and had a good view of, the walk into the centre wasn't far and the staff were nice to chat to. Its a short walk from plenty bars and restaurants/takeaways too. Unless you’re living in the hotel room and not venturing out, the issues i mentioned above aren't major. Thanks
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Safestay Glasgow, General Manager at Safestay Glasgow City
Responded 6 Apr 2022
Hi, thank you so much for the informative and detailed review! We're appreciative of the time you took to give us feedback and will make sure that we take these points into account for the improvement of our hostel. Thank you for the lovely comments about our location and staff too, and we hope to see you again should you ever get the chance to visit. All the best!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Paul S wrote a review Mar 2022
1 contribution1 helpful vote
Staff were friendly and polite, the room I got was not what I expected, very small nothing but a bed with bathroom, nowhere to hang jacket or put clothes so anything you have has got to go on the floor, room was absolutely freezing there was a radiator but it never did a thing tried turning the valve but nothing I was freezing all night long, couldnt watch anything on TV as no signal/connection, duvet cover was clean but stained with body fluids, all I can say is it was a miserable stay, I've paid less for far superior than the room I was given room 210
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Safestay Glasgow, General Manager at Safestay Glasgow City
Responded 14 Mar 2022
Dear Paul, Thanks for taking your time in leaving us a review. We will take your comments on board. For a next stay, you can contact our reception team to see a possible in changing rooms or taking a look on the heating system. Best General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
AMEL.OFFICIEL wrote a review Jan 2022
Las Vegas, Nevada81 contributions43 helpful votes
Good location. nice staff. very small bedroom but clean with a shower inside . you have to walk 10 minutes to reach the center of glasgow. good room service. the breakfast is correct with a afordable price. a lot of shops and restaurants are close.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Safestay Glasgow, General Manager at Safestay Glasgow City
Responded 18 Feb 2022
Hi, thank you so much for leaving us a review! We're glad to hear you liked our location and our staff and we would love to see you back should you ever get the chance. All the best, Safestay Reception Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$43 - $217 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
best western glasgow, glasgow best western
LOCATION
United KingdomScotlandGlasgowCity Centre
NUMBER OF ROOMS
40
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Safestay Glasgow City
Which popular attractions are close to Safestay Glasgow City?
Nearby attractions include The Tenement House (0.4 km), The Glasgow School of Art (0.4 km), and Bon Accord (0.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Safestay Glasgow City?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a lounge, and breakfast.
What food & drink options are available at Safestay Glasgow City?
Guests can enjoy a lounge and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Safestay Glasgow City?
Yes, a parking garage, paid public parking nearby, and street parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Safestay Glasgow City?
Conveniently located restaurants include Dakota Bar & Grill, Mini Grill Glasgow Steakhouse, and Two Fat Ladies At The Buttery.
Is Safestay Glasgow City located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.9 km away from the centre of Glasgow.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Safestay Glasgow City?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Russian, Portuguese, and Latvian.
Are there any historical sites close to Safestay Glasgow City?
Many travellers enjoy visiting The Mackintosh House (1.6 km), House for an Art Lover (3.4 km), and The Tenement House (0.4 km).