We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Brownlees Guest House

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St Andrews
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Brownlees Guest House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

143 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 137: English reviews
Start your review of Brownlees Guest House
 Click to rate
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Very welcoming guests house in a great location of St. Andrews. Clean, friendly and excellent value for money. Within walking distance to the centre of town, shops, restaurants and public transportation. Will definitely go back there!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank niraben
Telford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 February 2017

Stayed here a couple of times now, and we are staying again this year, now that must say something, True out and out golfing B & B The hosts both play and are quite good, they regail with stories, they point you in the right direction, all of which brings you back for more. The rooms are a little small,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bigbigroy
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 November 2016

Very friendly hosts (and cat), excellent location just next to the coast, breakfast with fresh fruit salad, home-made jam - and, of course, a cooked part by order. Rooms are small, but cosy and clean, good internet reception.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank thecat_38789799
Ellon, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 November 2016

The host was very welcoming and very amusing, room was smallish (though I had a double on my own so it wasn't small for me) but beautifully and imaginatively decorated. Not only was mineral water supplied - quite unusual for a b&b - but also a nightcap by the bed! Breakfast was plentiful, well cooked and there was a wide...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Helen R
Reviewed 21 October 2016

We really enjoyed our stay at this bed and breakfast-Tiny rooms, but a lot of heart and soul in the food , service, and friendliness of the staff! Jackie is a great breakfast cook and Trevor will keep you entertained as much or as little as you like! There is even a little whiskey at the bedside if you need...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca B
wearytravel, Owner at Brownlees Guest House, responded to this review

Glad you enjoyed your stay with us in Brownlees. We always try and make our guests feel welcome in our home. As a Victorian Town House, we have limited space compared to Large Hotels. However, the rooms may seem smaller, because of the size of our six foot six super king beds.

Santa Maria, California
Reviewed 15 October 2016 via mobile

Excellent location, food and owners are very friendly, knowledgeable and historical 😀 Trevor helped my son get on the Old Course right away! No wait!!! We were very lucky 🍀 it's been my son's dream to play this course and it's literally down the street!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sheilagaultgibilisco
wearytravel, Owner at Brownlees Guest House, responded to this review

Glad I was able to help, I know what it means to our guests to get onto The Old. He had the full package "wind,rain and lots of fun, playing in the dark up the 18th" as I remember.

Canonsburg, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 4 September 2016

Clean rooms, breakfasts cooked to order for early tee times, parking available and plenty of good food and pubs nearby. Within a well-struck tee shot of the Royal & Ancient clubhouse so walking to the Old Course with golf bags is definitely a plus. Trevor and Jacqui top the list of accommodating hosts and they'll both give you tips on...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dgamret
wearytravel, Owner at Brownlees Guest House, responded to this review

Thanks, glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Looking forward to seeing you in the future.

St. George, Bermuda
Reviewed 1 August 2016

We arrived via the red-eye way too early for check-in. Trevor and Jackie changed over the room ASAP and gave us some fresh fruit and coffee while we waited. I asked for ice, and Trevor went to a neighbor to get some for me: needless to say the service was extraordinary. The facilities were clean, the breakfasts were delicious and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LAPeniston
wearytravel, Owner at Brownlees Guest House, responded to this review

We always try to make everyone who stays with us at Brownlees feel at home, so we are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and Pepsi.

White Lake, Michigan
Reviewed 27 May 2016

Brownlee's was our first stop after arriving in Scotland and we were met warmly by Trevor and Jackie. Brownlee's has a great location. They are so close to The Old Course, shopping and restaurants. Trevor and Jackie are TERRIFIC hosts; very friendly and helpful with many great tips and fun stories. Our room was very clean and comfortable. Breakfasts were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Julie Q
wearytravel, Owner at Brownlees Guest House, responded to this review

Glad you enjoyed your stay with us, Pepsi is missing you all.

Stavanger, Norway
Reviewed 12 May 2016

Very friendly service, right in the middle of St Andrews with a free dram when you arrive!. Within walking distance of the golf courses and restaurants. Good breakfast. Car parking facilities outside the front door.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Alan M
wearytravel, Owner at Brownlees Guest House, responded to this review

Glad you enjoyed the stay. So pleased that you have survived the 36 holes a day trip, I am impressed.

27 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (15)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Andrews hotels
0.2 km away
BEST WESTERN Scores Hotel
BEST WESTERN Scores Hotel
#11 of 18 in St Andrews
652 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel Du Vin
Hotel Du Vin
#5 of 18 in St Andrews
425 reviews
1.3 km away
Premier Inn St Andrews Hotel
Premier Inn St Andrews Hotel
#3 of 18 in St Andrews
261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
#8 of 18 in St Andrews
1,221 reviews
0.4 km away
Albany Hotel
Albany Hotel
#7 of 18 in St Andrews
309 reviews
0.1 km away
Ardgowan Hotel
Ardgowan Hotel
#6 of 18 in St Andrews
471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
  • Dry Cleaning

Additional Information about Brownlees Guest House

Address: 7 Murray Place, St Andrews KY16 9AP, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > St Andrews
Price Range: ₹ 2,777 - ₹ 3,594 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Brownlees Guest House St Andrews, Scotland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Brownlees Guest House staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Brownlees Guest House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Be aware the rooms are quite small, but set up efficiently, toast warm, and as we were on the uppermost level, it was very quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles rebeccabB2993DS, 21 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Can't believe there's a bad one”
 of 5 bubbles dgamret, 4 Sep 2016 | Read review
“close to golf, beach, restaurant and shopping, great breakfast and hospitality”
 of 5 bubbles Snowhasl, 26 Oct 2015 | Read review
“Every room has it's advantages.”
 of 5 bubbles BobB633, 26 Mar 2015 | Read review
“we used 2 rooms and both were excellent. There is no lift.”
 of 5 bubbles wilhelmina3, 20 Nov 2013 | Read review
5 of 5