We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Doune Guest House

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St Andrews
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Doune Guest House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

154 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Doune Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Showing 148: English reviews
Reviewed 3 September 2015

Spent 4 days in St. Andrews with our family. Golfed St. Andrews with my in-laws, spent time shopping and pub crawling. The Doune House was our home base. Great accommodations, great location and Yufait was a wonderful hostess. Definitely would go back for another extended stay.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Tom L
West Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 31 August 2015

We discovered just how much of a gamble booking a room here is. Our room (4) was a double which in fact had two single beds pushed together and one of these had some broken springs. There was very little space around the beds and a very small bathroom with tiny sink. Our friends also staying here had an even...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Nick F
Doune5, Manager at Doune Guest House, responded to this review

Dear Nick, Thank you very much for your review! We are very sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay with us as you might have done, but it is lovely to know you have found the location and the parking arrangements convenient and cleanliness up to standard. Please consider that your friends have paid the same price for...

Phoenix, Arizona
Reviewed 13 August 2015

Very conviennet, clean and nice little St. Andrews Guest House. The owner is very firendly and accomidating. Only a half block behind the main street and maybe a 3 minute walk to the Dunveegan the best pub in St Andrews and less than a 5 minute walk to the 18th hole green at the old course.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TravellingArizona
Livingston, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 July 2015

just spent week doing Fife coastal trail and can honestly say this was the best, what a lovely welcome we received, the taxi dropped our luggage on route to guest house in advance and the lovely young man took each of us to our rooms when we arrived and carried our luggage to the rooms lots of little touches coffee...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank debbie l
Motherwell, Scotland, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 July 2015

Thoroughly enjoyed our one night stay at Doune House. It's location is great, our room was spacious it was spotlessly clean as was the ensuite, beds were comfortable and the tea,coffee, iced water and biscuits in the room were great. Breakfast was first class as was the service, everyone was very friendly and polite. Only one concern is the parking...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Rita M
Georgia
Reviewed 28 June 2015

We stayed on a Saturday night right after graduation at the University. Ilya and Youfei at Doune House were actually not there. But they'd left a key for us and gave us instructions to get settled into our rooms on the top floor. The rooms weren't huge, but they were comfortable and very clean. Breakfast was very good, cooked to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Stephanie W
Reviewed 15 June 2015

Place is just as advertised - see their website, and our hostess Yufei was as nice as can be. She not only kept a very tidy facility, but also went out of her way to prepare sandwiches (in lieu of delicious daily breakfast due to early road trip plan) for us. Her local restaurant and other recommendations were all spot...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Albert L
London
Reviewed 6 June 2015

I really don't have a bad word to say about this guest house. It is an exceptionally clean, very nicely decorated guest house in a really great location, in the centre of town. It's just set a little way back from one of the busier roads North Street and is therefore very quiet. The bed I slept in was of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank alexsweeney21
Reviewed 26 May 2015

I am really surprise how fast they replay to my request via email. It is really wonderfull that two young people can manage a guest house as perfect as like that. They are very attentive, polite, precise and smiling. Great team.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mattia S
Bangkok, Thailand
Reviewed 25 May 2015

We had a satisfying stay at Doune. The guesthouse was located near the city centre, University of St. Andrews, and the renowned golf course. Our hosts were away at the time of our arrival but we had no trouble getting in to our rooms. There was everything necessary provided, although the bathroom could be considered a bit too small by...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Non S

29 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (26)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Andrews hotels
0.1 km away
Hotel Du Vin
Hotel Du Vin
#8 of 19 in St Andrews
354 reviews
0.1 km away
Ardgowan Hotel
Ardgowan Hotel
#6 of 19 in St Andrews
458 reviews
0.1 km away
Greyfriars Hotel
Greyfriars Hotel
#10 of 19 in St Andrews
282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
BEST WESTERN Scores Hotel
BEST WESTERN Scores Hotel
#13 of 19 in St Andrews
629 reviews
1.3 km away
Premier Inn St Andrews Hotel
Premier Inn St Andrews Hotel
#4 of 19 in St Andrews
188 reviews
0.8 km away
Braeside House
Braeside House
#37 of 76 in St Andrews
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about Doune Guest House

Address: 5 Murray Place, St Andrews KY16 9AP, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > St Andrews
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Doune Guest House St Andrews, Scotland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Doune Guest House staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Doune Guest House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Room 7 is the best.”
 of 5 bubbles NilsLindeblad, 4 Feb 2016 | Read review
“A room to the back would be a little quiter, but St Andrews is not a noisy or late town by any stretch.”
 of 5 bubbles TravellingArizona, 13 Aug 2015 | Read review
“There was 7 off us , everyone had twin en suite I had single room which was immaculat”
 of 5 bubbles 978debbiel, 9 Jul 2015 | Read review
“Ask for a room in the back.”
 of 5 bubbles 296stephaniew, 28 Jun 2015 | Read review
“Not many choices (6 rooms), so just ask the hosts, they will steer you right.”
 of 5 bubbles albertl669, 15 Jun 2015 | Read review
5 of 5