We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Ardgowan Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Ardgowan Hotel
Ardgowan Hotel
Panoramas (14)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

467 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Ardgowan Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 455: English reviews
dundee
Reviewed 24 November 2016

Nice overnight stay. Staff were lovely. Dodgy bedroom lock but staff helpful. Great breakfast to start the day. Nice toiletries but a powerful shower ( leak that slightly flooded the floor) Would stay again.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Brian B
PlayfairHotelsLtd, Director at Ardgowan Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Brian B, Thank you for taking the time to leave us this review. I'm glad that you enjoyed your stay and your breakfast in our restaurant - our aim is to make our guests feel as welcome as possible and ensure they have a comfortable stay with us. I'm sorry about the few issues you had, however we appreciate...

Rugby, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 November 2016

Whole experience was pleasurable due to the attentive staff and excellent facilities, clean, warm and modern rooms. The restaurant is delightful, the staff can't help enough and the food was delicious and extremely well presented. When I next visit the area I will definitely stay again and I would highly recommend this hotel to others.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank lwhite_733418
PlayfairHotelsLtd, Director of Marketing at Ardgowan Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mr White, Thank you for leaving this fantastic review! It was a pleasure having you stay with us and I'm so glad that you had such a positive experience. I will pass on your kind comments to the team as they always like to hear that our guests have enjoyed their time with us. I hope you had a...

New York
Reviewed 23 November 2016

Everyone was very friendly, especially Milo! The room was large and nice amenities in the bathroom. Decor is slightly dated but for the price and location it was not a concern. The location cannot be beat for exploring St. Andrews on foot. The restaurant was wonderful too. We will definitely stay again.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank FamilyTraveler490
PlayfairHotelsLtd, Director of Marketing at Ardgowan Hotel, responded to this review

Dear FamilyTraveler490, Thank you for this great review! I'm glad our hotel dog Mylo gave you a good welcome - he loves it when guests give him attention! Our deluxe and standard rooms are about to undergo a redecoration which we hope will be complete by February 2017. Once complete, they will all have Hypnos beds and will be decorated...

Dundee, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 November 2016

We had booked for ourselves and three other couples for a birthday celebration for three of the 'girls'. The boys were to do golf and the girls the Spa at the Old Course Hotel. We all loved our rooms, we loved the breakfast and were thoroughly impressed by the friendliness of the staff. My wife and I had a room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hollie211
PlayfairHotelsLtd, Director at Ardgowan Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Hollie211, Thank you for leaving us this very kind review! It’s a pleasure to hear that you had such an enjoyable stay with us and I will pass on your lovely comments to the staff. We are a family run hotel and try our best to make our guests feel at home whilst staying with us. Unfortunately, we only...

Crieff, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 November 2016

Breakfast was a cattle market I ordered porridge which was on the menu and waited at least 10 to 15 mins and when it came you could have built a house it was awful , there was 4 of us and we were disappointed that menu was excactly the same as the night before even the soup I would like...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dorothy L
PlayfairHotelsLtd, Director at Ardgowan Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Dorothy L, Thank you for your feedback from your stay with us last week. I’m sorry that you felt breakfast to be too busy. Unfortunately, on Sunday mornings most guests choose to come down nearer the end of breakfast which does mean there is a short wait for a table. As we are a petite restaurant we can only...

Bakewell, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 November 2016 via mobile

Spent 2 nights visiting my daughter at St Andrews. I picked the Ardgowan because the rooms looked attractive, its well located close to town and there was a good offer on - free dinner if you stayed the Sunday night. The hotel doesn't have much in the way of a lounge to relax in, so you're mainly in your room...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Amanda C
PlayfairHotelsLtd, Manager at Ardgowan Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Amanda, We're so glad you enjoyed your time with us while you were visiting your daughter, and we're especially glad that you enjoyed our £99.00 Dinner Bed and Breakfast offer for Sunday night! With cosy bedrooms and a delicious meal in Playfair's for a fantastic value, you really can't go wrong! I do appreciate you letting us know about...

West Calder, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 November 2016 via mobile

We had a great time in St Andrews which was set of nicely with the stay at the Ardgowan hotel. The reception was so easy and friendly, the room was great facility's were great , lovely t.v. To watch while chilling out.and a lovely kettle for of coarse the tea or coffee for the morning. A well stocked bar and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank donaldwoodmore
PlayfairHotelsLtd, Manager at Ardgowan Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Donald, Thank you for leaving us a great 5* review! We're so glad to see that you enjoyed everything about your stay with us, from your well-equipped room, to our amazing breakfasts in Playfair's Restaurant! We're glad we ticked all of your boxes, and we hope we can welcome you back for another stay soon! Kind Regards, Carmen Rowe...

The Villages, Florida
Reviewed 21 October 2016

Only a golf balls throw from the Great St. Andrews Golf Course! Rooms were clean and bright, and breakfast (Downstairs) was a great start to the day. The building was a beautiful architectural built and designed by the Scottish Architect " George Rae". The chef was very visible in the hotel and although we didn't eat there the menus were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Deb1028
PlayfairHotelsLtd, Manager at Ardgowan Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Deb, Thanks for your great review! We're so glad you enjoyed your time with us and being so close to the Old Course. As a historic building, we're always looking for ways to upgrade and modernise while also keeping the charm of the original building, so we're glad that you noticed and appreciated this about us. Our chefs work...

Reviewed 19 October 2016

Good small hotel - visited for 2 night stay playing golf with some friends. Comfortable centrally placed hotel with good bar, restaurant and breakfast. Rooms comfortable with good sized bathrooms. Lots of stairs in the hotel, but that's the nature of these tall town houses.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mike P
PlayfairHotelsLtd, Manager at Ardgowan Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Mike, Thank you for leaving us a great review for your short time with us. We're so glad that you enjoyed everything about the Ardgowan while you were with us, and I've passed along all of your kind comments to each of our staff members - from reception to housekeeping to our restaurant. Next time you are visiting St...

The Villages, Florida
Reviewed 18 October 2016

Excellent choice for persons planning on playing St Andrews. clean, comfortable, and convenient -a 5 minute walk from the Old Course 18th green. close to shopping and restaurants as well as other sites in the area. we spent 2 nights here and thoroughly enjoyed every part of this place. the staff was helpful, the wifi reception excellent. if you are...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mark0313
PlayfairHotelsLtd, Manager at Ardgowan Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Mark0313, We're so glad to see that you enjoyed your short stay with us in St Andrews, and thanks for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor. Glad to see you took full advantage of our perfect location on North Street - just a short walk from town centre, the University, the beaches and, of course, the St...

250 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (41)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (20)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (184)
Viewed
Classic Standard Double Room (16)
Viewed
Classic Standard Twin Room (13)
Viewed
Deluxe Double Room (17)
Viewed
Deluxe Triple Room (19)
Viewed
Junior Double Room (13)
Viewed
Junior Twin Room (15)
Viewed
Pilmour Double Room (16)
Viewed
Pilmour Twin Room (14)
Viewed
Dining (28)
Viewed
The Hotel (33)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (25)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Andrews hotels
0.1 km away
Hotel Du Vin
Hotel Du Vin
#5 of 18 in St Andrews
405 reviews
0.2 km away
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
#7 of 18 in St Andrews
1,202 reviews
0.1 km away
BEST WESTERN Scores Hotel
BEST WESTERN Scores Hotel
#11 of 18 in St Andrews
642 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Albany Hotel
Albany Hotel
#8 of 18 in St Andrews
293 reviews
1.2 km away
Premier Inn St Andrews Hotel
Premier Inn St Andrews Hotel
#3 of 18 in St Andrews
246 reviews
2.6 km away
Rufflets Hotel
Rufflets Hotel
#1 of 18 in St Andrews
1,074 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Situated 200 yards from the 18th green of the world famous Old Course, and still only 5 minutes from the centre of town The Ardgowan Hotel offers the ideal location whatever the reason for you visit to St Andrews. Our comfortable en suite bedrooms are decorated in a modern Scottish style, perfect for relaxing after a long day’s golfing or sightseeing. Located below the main hotel, our restaurant, Playfair’s, is ever popular with local people as well as with our guests. We serve a wide range of dishes prepared with the fresh local ingredients wherever possible. The Ardgowan hotel does not have its own lift, but staff will be more than happy to assist you with your bags. Free on-street car parking is available close to the hotel. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Ardgowan Hotel

Address: 2 Playfair Terrace | North Street, St Andrews KY16 9HX, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > St Andrews
Price Range: ₹ 5,994 - ₹ 14,402 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ardgowan Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Ardgowan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ardgowan Hotel St Andrews, Scotland
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in St Andrews
#7 Business Hotel in St Andrews
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Ardgowan Hotel staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
over a year ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Ardgowan Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for the main building”
 of 5 bubbles Fudgedog, 5 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Top floor corner...”
 of 5 bubbles pansymclean, 2 Jan 2017 | Read review
“we had no problem, very quiet and located near golf and the local pedestrian streets!”
 of 5 bubbles Deb1028, 21 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Not all rooms have baths so if you prefer a bath to a shower (as we do) just ask when booking.”
 of 5 bubbles petem4, 12 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Room 35 has a Sea View! I would definitely have no hesitation in booking this room or this Hotel again. ”
 of 5 bubbles georginam910, 29 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5