We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Albany Hotel

Booking.comUS$ 216*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
14/05/2017 15/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Albany Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

329 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Albany Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 310: English reviews
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 July 2016

The Hotel was okay on the Monday there was on shortbread in both rooms I had to go Down and ask at the respiration desk one room no drawers the beds were okay The breakfast was okay the staff were helpful

 Report
Helpful?
Thank watt89
Vicky S, Manager at Albany Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us. I am pleased to hear you had a good vacation. I am sorry that the shortbread was missed from your rooms, I have passed this on the team here to ensure this is not missed again. I am delighted to hear the staff were...

Muenster, Germany
Reviewed 30 June 2016

If you want to stay centrally in St. Andrew´s and start your day with a happy smile, The Albany Hotel is for you. The hotel is individually furnished, with attention to comfort and style. You can see, feel and enjoy many little details that make a travellers stay comfortable and enjoyable. The garden suite even has access to a sunny...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hildegard_05
Vicky S, Manager at Albany Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your lovely review. I am delighted to hear you had a wonderful relaxed stay with us. I am pleased to hear you managed to make the most of the lovely weather we are having by using the garden during your stay. Very much hope to welcome you back soon.

Scotland
Reviewed 26 June 2016 via mobile

Stayed for one night on a short break with friends. The hotel is decorated in a modern traditional style with muted, calm colours. Our rooms were comfortable and clean; I had a small single, which was as described but perfectly adequate for a night with a comfortable bed, coffee/tea facilities and a small shower room. An evening event in the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank amh2709
Vicky S, Manager at Albany Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for the review of your recent stay with us. I am very pleased to hear you enjoyed your time with us and enjoyed a tasty breakfast. I am sorry to hear about the loud music from the University grounds, it was graduation week and they have a lot going on that week. I will certainly pass on your...

Prestwick, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 June 2016

Very attentive staff and brilliant location, not too far from the centre, but quiet enough to relax. Did not eat in the hotel in the evening, but breakfast was very good on both days and the rooms were well appointed and very clean. Thanks also to the lovely lady managing reception, who dug me out a needle and thread, after...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank potteringaround2015
Vicky S, Manager at Albany Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review. I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and very pleased that the team looked after you well. Hope to see you again soon.

Inverness, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 June 2016

The staff at the hotel were great from booking to checking out. They ordered a taxi for us for the afternoon before we even got there, gave me recommendations for places to eat nearby, let us check in a wee bit early and even enquired at breakfast as to how our visit to the distillery had been. The room was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Aileen W
Vicky S, Manager at Albany Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review. I am delighted to hear you had a great stay with us recently and very pleased to hear the team looked after you well and provided good recommendations. I very much hope that you will be back on St Andrews at some point and look forward to welcoming you back again.

Dunbar, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 June 2016

small room not worth £240 for 2 nights I was ill on first night and had to go home for a family run hotel they at least could have offered some sort of refund did not even have breakfast st Andrews is great place for break the hotel is overpriced for what you get

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ian t
Vicky S, Manager at Albany Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am sorry to hear you feel the hotel is overpriced, we continually check our prices with similar properties in the area to ensure our pricing is correct. I am sorry to hear you were unwell during you stay and had to leave early. Unfortunately, when you came to say you were leaving a day...

Jackson, Tennessee, United States
Reviewed 7 June 2016

This was a wonderful find on my most recent trip. Located directly across from St. Salvator's in the heart of town, the price for the large 5 person room was superb. The breakfasts were very good and the service excellent.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank RTVan8
Vicky S, Manager at Albany Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay with us. I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and very much look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 May 2016

Having secured our spots for the Old/New Course last Sep/October I was quick to book the Albany as it looked great from the website. We stayed for 3nights (4 Golfers) and very much enjoyed are stay, the breakfast was delicious, staff were very friendly, would recommend to any other friends/family, Nick

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 796nicholas
Vicky S, Manager at Albany Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Nick Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us. I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and especially pleased to hear you will recommend us. Hope to welcome you back soon.

Abu Dhabi
Reviewed 22 May 2016

The Albany is a quite and charming little hotel. The best part about my stay was the gas fireplace in the front parlor and the balcony off of my room (Room 12). The check in was seamless and quick and the service excellent. My only negative point about my particular room was the pressure of the shower. I don't know...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Maninasuitcase_10
Vicky S, Manager at Albany Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. I am very pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and delighted the team looked after you well during your stay. I am delighted you will recommend the hotel and very much hope to see you again soon.

Hamilton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 May 2016 via mobile

3 of us stayed here overnight during a golf break in St Andrews. We had stayed here a few years ago . Hotel is centrally located for beach, town centre, restaurants and bars. All staff friendly and helpful . Rooms are adequate and small cocktail bar is available. Good breakfast choice. Not the Ritz but good value for St Andrews.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank PeterMooney
Vicky S, Manager at Albany Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for posting a review. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and am delighted to hear the team were friendly and helpful. Hope to see you again soon.

74 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (52)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (22)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
Other (1)
14/05/2017 15/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Andrews hotels
0.5 km away
Hotel Du Vin
Hotel Du Vin
#3 of 18 in St Andrews
452 reviews
0.6 km away
BEST WESTERN Scores Hotel
BEST WESTERN Scores Hotel
#11 of 18 in St Andrews
654 reviews
1.3 km away
Premier Inn St Andrews Hotel
Premier Inn St Andrews Hotel
#5 of 18 in St Andrews
283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 km away
Fairmont St Andrews
Fairmont St Andrews
#4 of 18 in St Andrews
2,982 reviews
0.7 km away
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
#8 of 18 in St Andrews
1,234 reviews
3.0 km away
Rufflets Hotel
Rufflets Hotel
#2 of 18 in St Andrews
1,100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
We are a small, friendly, informal 3 star hotel. The first in St Andrews to be awarded the prestigious title 'Townhouse Hotel' by the Scottish Tourist Board. The quaint old building has a warm personality all of its own. You will love the craftsmanship of the many original features. Built from 1764, the hotel consists of two Georgian terraced houses, both exactly the same layout, built for two brothers by their father, Mr Thomas Low. With only 22 rooms (all en-suite), we are able to maintain very high standards in accommodation and service without losing our warm and caring attitude towards our guests. Special, great value seasonal, weekend and golf breaks are often available, so contact the hotel for details. The hotel will also be delighted to help arrange golf, sightseeing tours and visits to places of interest. We look forward to you spending some time with us at The Albany Hotel and getting a real flavour for everything St Andrews has to offer. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Albany Hotel

Address: 56 North Street, St Andrews KY16 9AH, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > St Andrews
Price Range: ₹ 8,895 - ₹ 24,856 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Albany Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Albany Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albany Hotel St Andrews, Scotland
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in St Andrews
#5 Business Hotel in St Andrews
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Albany Hotel staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Albany Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Spend a little extra and get a bigger room”
tomO6697WK, 25 Apr 2017 | Read review
“If you're not good on stairs, then ask for a ground floor room.”
JaneCCB, 22 Apr 2017 | Read review
“There were some stairs up to our room which was on the top floor. Not a problem forums but might need to check this if you have any issues with stairs. ”
brendak608, 20 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a middle or lower floor room to avoid the seagull noise”
JonR556, 15 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Very comfortable beds!”
teresaa413, 11 Apr 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
US$ 216* /night
View Deal
TripAdvisorUS$ 216
Expedia.comUS$ 216
Orbitz.comUS$ 216
View all 8 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates