We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Old Course Hotel, Golf Resort & Spa

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Old Course Hotel, Golf Resort & Spa
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,501 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Old Course Hotel, Golf Resort & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,454: English reviews
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 October 2015

My wife and wife spent 5 days at The Old Course Hotel in early September. We were lucky enough to stay here through Porsche UK who hosted the national golf competetion. The hotel and resort are exceptional in their service and attention to detail. Unfortunately my iPad screen broke when I left my luggage with reception whilst they prepared our...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Anoop S
OldCourseHotel, General Manager at Old Course Hotel, Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your great feedback. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and experienced our heathland course, The Duke's. Due to Porsche taking almost all the hotel, some non-golf course facing rooms were allocated and so I was sorry that you did not wake up to views of the course and West...

Reviewed 5 October 2015

I treated my husband to dinner and a night in the Old Course for our anniversary and it was first class.From the complimentary glass of Prosecco at check-in everything was perfect! Very comfortable large room,luxurious bathroom,fabulous spa with a roof-top hot tub,very nice dinner in the Sands Grill and a superb breakfast in the 4th floor dining room where we,luckily,got...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lyn W
OldCourseHotel, General Manager at Old Course Hotel, Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you so much for sharing your review of your time with us. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your meal and our team looked after you well. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. With best wishes, David Scott Director of Operations

Reviewed 2 October 2015

We came here with two foursomes of golfers in May 2015. Staff/service was excellent and the rooms were clearly renovated and nicely appointed. Most of the accommodations in Scotland aren't going to be new so this is the best it gets. My only knock is that if you're expecting five star, you're not going to get it. The hotel/grounds are...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Bobby O
OldCourseHotel, General Manager at Old Course Hotel, Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your feedback further to your recent visit. I was sorry to learn that we did not tick all the boxes when you were here. Our team try very hard to anticipate guests needs and so I would be happy to hear from you to understand where we can do better and so any feedback you...

Yorkshire
Reviewed 2 October 2015

We had a wonderful time celebrating our anniversary, at the end of September. 2 nights booked in a golf course view room. I cannot review this room, because on arrival we had been upgraded to a deluxe suite!! What a wonderful room. Everything about this hotel is first class, especially the staff, who deserve a special mention. All the food...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Graham H
OldCourseHotel, General Manager at Old Course Hotel, Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for choosing the Old Course Hotel Golf Resort & Spa to celebrate your 35th anniversary. I was delighted to read that we looked after you well and that you left with very fond memories of your time with us. I hope you can travel north again soon and join us in the Home of Golf. With...

Scotland
Reviewed 2 October 2015

I stayed at the Old Course Hotel last weekend with my husband and 1 year old son. Throughout our stay, the staff were extremely attentive and could not do more for us. My only criticism was the restricted time on the swimming pool for children, we were unable to utilise the leisure facilities before our departure due children only being...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BelScotland
OldCourseHotel, General Manager at Old Course Hotel, Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for leaving such positive feedback after staying with us. I was sorry you were not able to take advantage of our splash time for children. Thank you for your feedback on the extending the times to include a morning slot. We will certainly consider this for the future. We looking forward to having you back with...

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 September 2015

I don't normally write comments on Trip Advisor but last weekend we went to The Old Course, St Andrews for two nights with some friends. We had a fantastic time (every single member of staff was extremely friendly and helpful). The beds were so comfy (feather and down). Breakfast was so tasty and such a good variety.. Really special experience...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Vincent112233
OldCourseHotel, General Manager at Old Course Hotel, Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for travelling east and joining us in the resort. Your comments are greatly appreciated and I'm sure our team will be delighted to know that their hard work made the difference during your visit. We look forward to having you with us again soon. With best wishes, David Scott Director of Operations

lanark
Reviewed 30 September 2015

We were up in the area on business and decided to stay here overnight. Check in was very welcoming and we were delighted to discover our room was ready, despite us being early, thanks to Megan. We had a lovely room with amazing view up the fairway to the R & A building. After an early start to our journey...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank kat c
OldCourseHotel, General Manager at Old Course Hotel, Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I delighted to read that you got into your room early, and you enjoyed the layout and lovely view across the golf courses and into town. I was also pleased to learn that your meals in the Jigger and at Breakfast were so positive. That said, your experience in the Sands was most disappointing and I apologise for...

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 September 2015

St. Andrews has a plethora of good hotels that has served golfers and tourists well and I guess I have stayed in most of them over the years. If you really want to push the boat out the one place I can thoroughly recommend is the magnificent Old Course Hotel which I rank number one for service amenity value, comfort,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Skatterbrain
OldCourseHotel, General Manager at Old Course Hotel, Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for choosing the Old Course Hotel Golf Resort & Spa to stay recently. I was very pleased to read that you left with many happy and memorable experiences. I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you again when travelling east. With best wishes, David Scott Director of Operations

Lansing, Michigan
Reviewed 30 September 2015

Everything you would expect! Awesome beds, beautiful views, excellent service - would most definitely stay again! It was a great place to stop after a long plane ride. The parking is easy, there is also valet, we drank at the Jigger that evening and then took a drink at one of the hotel's restaurant. The breakfast buffet overlooks the course...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank TammynTroy
OldCourseHotel, General Manager at Old Course Hotel, Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for leaving such wonderful feedback. It really is important to hear the good news as this keeps the morale of the team high, and so we keep on delivering memorable experiences. I hope you can join us again when back in Scotland. With best wishes, David Scott Director of Operations

East Kilbride
Reviewed 28 September 2015

Just spent two nights in this fabulous hotel. Experience was as expected in a 5 star hotel, plus a little more. This was down to the staff who were the epitome of understated service. Nothing was too much trouble for them and their happy disposition added to the overall experience. For such a large establishment there was a very welcoming...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank AlexEastKilbride
OldCourseHotel, General Manager at Old Course Hotel, Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for choosing to stay with us when over this way. I was delighted to read that our team delivered such a memorable experience and that you enjoyed your time so much. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future. With best wishes, David Scott Director of Operations

474 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (431)
Viewed
Room/Suite (99)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (74)
Viewed
View from Room (38)
Viewed
Bathroom (24)
Viewed
Dining (25)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (7)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (163)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (43)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Andrews hotels
46.5 km away
Fairmont St Andrews
Fairmont St Andrews
#4 of 18 in St Andrews
2,932 reviews
47.1 km away
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
#8 of 18 in St Andrews
1,218 reviews
47.3 km away
Hotel Du Vin
Hotel Du Vin
#5 of 18 in St Andrews
423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
45.5 km away
Rufflets Hotel
Rufflets Hotel
#1 of 18 in St Andrews
1,091 reviews
47.2 km away
BEST WESTERN Scores Hotel
BEST WESTERN Scores Hotel
#11 of 18 in St Andrews
652 reviews
45.9 km away
Premier Inn St Andrews Hotel
Premier Inn St Andrews Hotel
#3 of 18 in St Andrews
261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Spa
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
The Jigger Inn
The Jigger Inn
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, Scottish
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Spa
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
  • Golf Course
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Bordering the renowned 17th ‘Road Hole’ of the Old Course in the Home of Golf, the Old Course Hotel enjoys a spectacular location overlooking the famous links courses, the West Sands beach and the beautiful Scottish coastline. Discover the historic university town of St Andrews, just a short stroll from the resort, and explore the surrounding countryside of the ancient Kingdom of Fife. With a combination of classically elegant and contemporary interiors, the hotel offers quietly confident service, luxurious facilities and a warm welcome in the finest traditions of Scottish hospitality. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Old Course Hotel, Golf Resort & Spa

Address: Old Station Road, St Andrews KY16 9SP, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > St Andrews
Price Range: ₹ 19,785 - ₹ 42,923 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Old Course Hotel, Golf Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 144
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Old Course Hotel, Golf Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Course Hotel, Golf Hotel St. Andrews
Old Course Hotel, Golf Resort And Spa
Old Course Resort
Old Course Hotel, Golf Resort & Spa St Andrews, Scotland
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in St Andrews
#1 Business Hotel in St Andrews
#2 Luxury Hotel in St Andrews
#6 Family Hotel in St Andrews
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Old Course Hotel, Golf Resort & Spa staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question
21 days ago
over a year ago

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from Old Course Hotel, Golf Resort & Spa staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Avoid rooms over the entrance area.”
 of 5 bubbles Jervaulx, 22 Jan 2017 | Read review
“It is worth paying extra for room facing the golf course/sea and the suites are wonderful.”
 of 5 bubbles Moirad, 10 Jan 2017 | Read review
“View of golf course and sea is a must.”
 of 5 bubbles Rowy123456, 5 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Save money in winter by not going for the golf course view as the 4th floor bar has the best views anyway!”
 of 5 bubbles 915simond, 3 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Pay for a non-course view as you have plenty of opportunity to see this view from other parts of the hotel.”
 of 5 bubbles Dora007, 2 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5