We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Russell Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St Andrews
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Russell Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

205 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 195: English reviews
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My son and daughter in law, gave us an early Xmas gift and it was an over night stay here. The room was lovely with tea/coffee and shortbread for your stay provided, we had our evening meal here, as I am vegetarian sometimes there is not a lot to eat, I don't like the vegetarian haggis that was on the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sparkles55
Judith d, Owner at Russell Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sparkles55, Thank you for your 5 star review of The Russell Hotel, St. Andrews. I am delighted to hear that you had an enjoyable time with us, and extremely pleased that our excellent staff looked after you and your dietary requirements during your stay with us. We hope to welcome you back to The Russell Hotel, St. Andrews in...

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 October 2016 via mobile

Young waitresses were like rabbits in headlights however students have to earn a living....rooms were nice and clean and location was great..steak was over cooked and sticky toffee was only luke warm...wife's food was particularly good! Would probably stay there again!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank noodles15215
Judith d, Owner at Russell Hotel, responded to this review

Dear noodles15215, Thank you for your review of The Russell Hotel, St. Andrews. I am disheartened to hear that you did not enjoy certain aspects of your stay with us, but delighted to hear that you would return to us again. Please let us know if you are planning on returning to St. Andrews soon. Kindest Regards Gordon, Fiona and...

Stirling, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 October 2016

An overnight stay with fine food, wine, breakfast - blended with splendid service. A few minutes' walk from this famous university town's many attractions (golfing included), this hotel is certainly worth a return call.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Eddy B
Judith d, Owner at Russell Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Eddy B, Thank you for your 5 star review of The Russell Hotel, St. Andrews. I am delighted to hear that you had an enjoyable and memorable stay with us. We are very lucky to have some excellent staff that take the time to look after our guests every need and make your stay one that you will remember...

Newry, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 October 2016 via mobile

My husband and I stayed at the Russell for a weekend in August. We don't play golf, we had nothing planned, this was just a getaway break to somewhere we had never been before. We had dinner booked and of course our flight was delayed!! We didn't arrive until 10.00pm, but this was no problem for the Russell, Michael handed...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SShaz2013
Judith d, Owner at Russell Hotel, responded to this review

Dear SShaz2013, Thank you for your amazing 5 star review! I have made sure that your comments will be passed on to our staff, as it is always nice to read such a wonderful review. We look forward to welcoming you back, and please make yourselves known to us on your return. Kindest Regards Gordon, Fiona & Michael de Vries

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 13 October 2016 via mobile

Stayed at the Russell Hotel and had a room overlooking the sea/golf course If you are a golfer it will blow your mind!!! The bar is full of character and overseen by the owners son, Michael, who is a hoot. Don't expect the Taj but what it lacks in luxury it more than makes up for in character Go for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank andymacone
Judith d, Owner at Russell Hotel, responded to this review

Dear andymacone, Thank you so much for your 5 star review of The Russell Hotel, St. Andrews. I am thrilled to hear that you had a very memorable stay with us. We are very lucky to be only 0.1 miles (2 minute walk) away from the first tee of the very famous Old Course, so of course this a joy...

St Andrews, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 October 2016 via mobile

The ambience and friendly welcome are particular features of the Russell Hotel. The efficient, well directed staff made light of a very busy Saturday evening with many 'well kent' golf broadcasters clearly enjoying their bar meals. Although busy, the main dining room was a haven of tranquility. The intriguing specials increased the scope of an already interesting, tempting menu. My...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ronald S
Judith d, Owner at Russell Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Ronald S, I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed the 'Supper Room' at The Russell Hotel. I have passed on your wonderful comments about the food to our head chef who is thrilled to hear you enjoyed your meal. We hope to welcome you back soon. Kindest Regards Gordon, Fiona & Michael de Vries

Sunset Beach, North Carolina
Reviewed 10 September 2016 via mobile

Well situated overlooking the Firth of Forth, across narrow street from St. Andrews Univ. And short walk down street to the 1st tee and 18th green of The Olde Course! Easy walking to bars, restaurants, shopping of the town! Some of the best food in town and a favorite bar that is well stocked. Owners mingle with guests and son...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Danny H
Judith d, Owner at Russell Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Danny H, Thank you for your 5 star review of The Russell Hotel, St. Andrews. I am delighted to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us, and that you enjoyed the wonderful location of The Russell Hotel. We hope to see you again soon! Kindest Regards Gordon, Fiona & Michael de Vries

Pinehurst
Reviewed 4 September 2016 via mobile

The hotel is charming, clean and features a full or continental breakfast, hard working and attentive staff, great pub, and excellent restaurant all in a perfect location. It overlooks the Forth of Firth, and is a stone's throw from St Andrews Old Course and all the golf one envisions. The owners Fiona and Michael de Vries are wonderful and went...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PleaseNo
Judith d, Owner at Russell Hotel, responded to this review

Dear PleaseNo, Thank you for your review of The Russell Hotel, St. Andrews. I am delighted to hear that you had an enjoyable trip to Scotland, and I hope that the golf was equally as good! We do have staff on hand to assist any guests with luggage, as the building unfortunately does not have a lift. We hope to...

Reigate, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 September 2016 via mobile

Pros Some rooms have fabulous sea views Found food in the bar and restaurant good Cons Shower room was a cupboard with sink in bedroom. To use the tea making facilities, had to move it to the floor to find a plug. Shower had lots of black mould. So easily prevented with good cleaning. Luke warm tea served one morning...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CazMoon
Judith d, Owner at Russell Hotel, responded to this review

Dear CazMoon, Thank you for your review of The Russell Hotel, St. Andrews. I am saddened to hear that you had a number of issues during your stay with us, and it is always our aim to correct any concerns that a guest has before they depart from the hotel. I understand that we were not able to do this...

St Andrews
Reviewed 25 August 2016

We have recently formed a group called the Luncheoneers. We have decided to eat on the last Wednesday of the month and yesterday, 10 of us sat down in The Locker Room in the Russell Hotel, on the Scores in St Andrews. This room actually has lockers all round with the names and pictures of all Open Champions who won...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank MalcolmMMitchell

43 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (43)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (14)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Andrews hotels
0.3 km away
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
#7 of 19 in St Andrews
1,141 reviews
0.0 km away
Hotel Du Vin
Hotel Du Vin
#8 of 19 in St Andrews
354 reviews
0.1 km away
BEST WESTERN Scores Hotel
BEST WESTERN Scores Hotel
#13 of 19 in St Andrews
629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 km away
Premier Inn St Andrews Hotel
Premier Inn St Andrews Hotel
#4 of 19 in St Andrews
188 reviews
4.9 km away
Fairmont St Andrews
Fairmont St Andrews
#3 of 19 in St Andrews
2,777 reviews
0.1 km away
Ardgowan Hotel
Ardgowan Hotel
#6 of 19 in St Andrews
458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Internet
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Breakfast
Food & drink at the hotel
Russell Hotel - Supper Room
Russell Hotel - Supper Room
Cuisines: British, Scottish, Bar, International, European
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Breakfast

Additional Information about Russell Hotel

Address: 26 The Scores, St Andrews KY16 9AS, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > St Andrews
Price Range: ₹ 10,618 - ₹ 11,435 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Russell Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 68
Also Known As:
Russell Hotel St Andrews, Scotland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Russell Hotel staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Russell Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“There are rooms at the front with sea views.”
 of 5 bubbles Sparkles55, 20 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Opt for hotel front overlooking the sea.”
 of 5 bubbles eddyb50, 28 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Be nice to the receptionist!”
 of 5 bubbles MalcolmMMitchell, 25 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Stay in a St. Andrews Bay room, if it's available. It will cost a little more, but it's worth it!”
 of 5 bubbles MannySchwartz, 3 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Pay the little extra for the bay view rooms”
 of 5 bubbles 380GeorgeW, 19 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5