We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Macdonald Rusacks Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,219 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,190: English reviews
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This was an Itison voucher deal which consisted of 2 nights bed and breakfast, dinner on the first night and a cream tea for £219 with a £20 supplement for a Saturday night. It was our second stay at the Rusacks and on both occasions, it was a fantastic experience. The room was spacious, comfortable and well equipped even with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Wilma307
Kristian C, General Manager at Macdonald Rusacks Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you Wilma for your 5 star review! I am so glad to see you enjoyed your stay and Kerry will be over the moon about her mention. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kristian Campbell

scotland
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Booked this in December 2016 for husband's 60th birthday and told them this in booking. Although we booked a classic room and did not expect this to be spectacular to say we were disappointed was an understatement. We arrived about noon and our booking said check-in was 2pm, however on arrival was informed by receptionist that this had now been...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank oliviaScotland
Kelty, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We have stayed at this lovely hotel about four or five times and really enjoyed it. This stay was equally lovely. The rooms are well decorated and lovely and clean. The comfiest beds and pillows ever! We almost missed breakfast as we slept like logs. Breakfast lovely, all cooked fresh to order. Staff are great, we felt very well looked...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank fifefoodie k
Kristian C, General Manager at Macdonald Rusacks Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent 5 star review. It is great to see you enjoyed all aspects of your stay, especially the room and breakfast. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kristian Campbell

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Check-in was disappointing. I had booked our three-night stay the previous October and thought that I had added to my booking one dinner at £50 – and that I had earned a £10 voucher for having booked online. On check-in, I was not advised about the ten pounds voucher, until I asked about it. When I asked about the fifty...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Peter3101
Kristian C, General Manager at Macdonald Rusacks Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you Peter, for such a detailed review. I am sorry confusion with your booking did not get your stay with us off to the best start. I am glad to see you overall enjoyed your stay on the second and third day with things back on track. As always such feedback allows us to look at areas to improve...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The title says it all, it is a great place although the drinks are expensive, we didn't actually eat there but the food looked great and restaurant overlooks the 18th green which I think is unique to the hotel

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ashley W
Kristian C, General Manager at Macdonald Rusacks Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your 5 star review Ashley, I am so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kristian Campbell

Irvine, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This was a Xmas present from our son and daughter in law and we also had a gin tour at Eden Mill. We had a lovely day the tour was very good , could not check in to hotel until 3 pm When we arrived we were shocked with the room we were given. The toilet had been used and...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank Patricia O
Kristian C, General Manager at Macdonald Rusacks Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you Patricia, for your recent review. I am of course disappointing to learn of your issues and would welcome the chance to discuss these further if you could contact me direct at the hotel. Thank you once again. Kristian Campbell

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Main entrance tired and dated. Room small and cold, but clean. No atmosphere at breakfast. 2nd morning better, as got window seat. Dinner average. Cream tea ( part of the offer) had spray cream, NOT clotted, as on menu- disappointing!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lcam2016
Kristian C, General Manager at Macdonald Rusacks Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you Ican, for your recent review. I am sorry you did not enjoy your room size or the atmosphere at breakfast. I can assure you we do not use spray cream for our Cream Tea's but we hand whipped cream to order. Thank you again for taking the time to offer feedback. Kristian Campbell

Lancaster, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I had to visit St Andrews on short notice for business and was pleased there was still availability at the Rusacks having stayed previously. There was plenty of parking on site and I received a warm welcome upon check in. My room was spacious and tastefully finished, I also had a wonderful view across the course. The bar seemed to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank griff81
Kristian C, General Manager at Macdonald Rusacks Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent 5 star review. I am glad to see you received such a warm welcome and easily found a space in our car park along with enjoying your views plus breakfast. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kristian Campbell

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Lovely old Hotel , very comfortable room , refurbished ,spotless, looking direct on to Old Course , found all staff to be friendly and helpfull , eating in was a pleasant experience , Breakfast was delightful , Staff very efficient and friendly ,all in all a memorable 2 days for all the right reasons , many thanks ,

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hamish S
Kristian C, General Manager at Macdonald Rusacks Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you Hamish, for your 5 star review. I am so glad to see you enjoyed all aspects of your stay and it sounds like you enjoyed your present. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kristian Campbell

Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We spent 2 nights at the Rusacks hotel on an Itison deal with Friends, on check-in we were met with a bit of an issue as I did not have the codes for the vouchers, even though I had given these codes at time of booking, the receptionist, was OK about it, but lets say she was not over helpful,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank harrymack19
Kristian C, General Manager at Macdonald Rusacks Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you Harry for your recent review, I am glad to learn that overall you enjoyed your stay with us. I am sorry Check In was not seamless without your voucher or booking code but glad we helped get it sorted eventually. We hopefully look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kristian Campbell

328 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (279)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (45)
Viewed
Dining (18)
Viewed
Room/Suite (69)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (19)
Viewed
View from Room (24)
Viewed
Other (101)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (49)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Other (13)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Andrews hotels
5.2 km away
Fairmont St Andrews
Fairmont St Andrews
#4 of 18 in St Andrews
2,933 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Du Vin
Hotel Du Vin
#5 of 18 in St Andrews
423 reviews
0.2 km away
BEST WESTERN Scores Hotel
BEST WESTERN Scores Hotel
#11 of 18 in St Andrews
652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 km away
Rufflets Hotel
Rufflets Hotel
#1 of 18 in St Andrews
1,092 reviews
1.3 km away
Premier Inn St Andrews Hotel
Premier Inn St Andrews Hotel
#3 of 18 in St Andrews
261 reviews
0.7 km away
Albany Hotel
Albany Hotel
#7 of 18 in St Andrews
309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel in St Andrews is a golfers paradise. Overlooking the world famous Old Course, you can indulge in a round or simply watch others tee'ing off from our comfortable R Bar. Our award-winning Rocca Bar & Grill serves the finest and freshest food against the backdrop of the Old Course's 18th hole. Our luxurious bedrooms are the perfect place to rest your head after a day exploring this beautiful seaside town. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Macdonald Rusacks Hotel

Address: Pilmour Links, St Andrews KY16 9JQ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > St Andrews
Price Range: ₹ 9,882 - ₹ 38,416 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Rusacks Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotel.de, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, HRS, LateRooms, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your Macdonald Rusacks Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Rusacks St Andrews
Hotel Macdonald Rusacks
Rusacks Hotel
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel St Andrews, Scotland
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in St Andrews
#5 Luxury Hotel in St Andrews
#5 Romantic Hotel in St Andrews
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Macdonald Rusacks Hotel staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
over a year ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Macdonald Rusacks Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms on the shore side are the only ones with a view. Do not accept room at the traffic lights on first floor.”
 of 5 bubbles oliviaScotland, 6 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Facing the sea/golf course”
 of 5 bubbles Peter3101, 4 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Ask for sea view”
 of 5 bubbles lcam2016, 26 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Room 318 Lovely back facing , very quiet , looks on to Old Course , and West Bay”
 of 5 bubbles 942hamishs, 22 Feb 2017 | Read review
“the supplement of £20 per night for a view of the golf course was not worth it.”
 of 5 bubbles harrymack19, 20 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5