We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Golf Inn

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Golf Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

43 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for The Golf Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 41: English reviews
Pitlochry, Scotland, United Kingdom
Reviewed 31 October 2016

After walking around St Andrews trying to find a pet and child friendly place to eat our lunch we finally came across The Golf Inn. A family of 4 adults two children and a dog we were all a little tetchy at being sent away from so many places. The staff here immediately lightened the mood. They brought water for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lizzie B
Canada
Reviewed 21 October 2016

We stopped in for lunch before wandering around the Old Course. We had a very basic lunch of soup and sandwich with coffee and it was just that - basic. We weren't expecting anything special so that's OK. The cafe is small and the decor is typical with golf memorabilia on the walls. Pleasant.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CanadaFisher
Alex M, Owner at The Golf Inn, responded to this review

Thanks for that... anyone out there fancy a Soup & Sandwich lunch we serve them 1130am – 5pm daily here's the menu - served over two floors, pets welcome in the bar area only. Choice of Daily Soups are Served with Crusty Bread £4.50 Sandwich and Soup Combo £8.00 Triple Decker and Soup Combo £9.50 All our Sandwiches are made...

Niagara-on-the-Lake, Canada
Reviewed 17 October 2016

Right down the street from the Old Course. This is a hotel with rooms on the 2nd and third floor (walk up only). Rooms were clean and comfortable. We stayed for two nights that included a nice Scottish breakfast. You have to rely on public parking on a side street which is only a block away. We had pints in...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Colonel_Butler
Alex M, Owner at The Golf Inn, responded to this review

thanks for taking the time to post your review Colonel ... sounds like you enjoyed your visit... see you next time maybe? All the best Alex

Pitlochry
Reviewed 12 October 2016

We spent a lovely morning in St. Andrews walking on the beach and decided it was time for some lunch. We had been looking forward to fish and chips so when we saw The Golf Inn it looked perfect. We sat down at a vacant table, no one came over for 10 minutes. When a waitress eventually came over there...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank katowa
Alex M, Owner at The Golf Inn, responded to this review

Let me continue the part of the story that you've missed off "You then upon being table checked you pointed this out and were subsequently offered an apology, and then a replacement, an alternative or a full no quibble refund" right... ..Er, no, the decision was made not to be straight with us at the time allowing no chance of...

Reviewed 10 October 2016

Stayed there for one night wish it had been longer , really nice and clean room ,big bed .staff friendly and helpful .breakfast was first class .and it's only walking distance to the old golf course ,golf museum and aquarium .

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Brenda R
Alex M, Owner at The Golf Inn, responded to this review

Hello Brenda, Thanks for your feedback, glad we could be of service... see you next time,, only for longer. yes.. All the best Alex

Beaver, Oklahoma
Reviewed 30 September 2016

We stayed one night at The Golf Inn and wished we could've stayed longer. We checked in and the manager showed us up to our room for the evening. They were more than accommodating and held our bags for us the next day while we went and toured the Old Course and walked around town. We never did eat in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Haley N
Alex M, Owner at The Golf Inn, responded to this review

Thanks for your "lovely" feedback Haley... glad we could look after you and you managed to enjoy some of our vino and black gold. See you next time maybe.. Alex

Washington, DC
Reviewed 26 September 2016

We enjoyed our quick lunch of soup and beverages. It was well prepared and the service was top notch. The restaurant is conveniently located near the Old Course. We will return on our next visit to St. Andrews.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mollyshumom
Alex M, Owner at The Golf Inn, responded to this review

Hello there - thanks for the great feedback, shame you only scored us 3/5 as your review reads like 5/5 - hey ho, no matter, glad you enjoyed your visit... See you next time maybe. Alex

Reviewed 24 August 2016 via mobile

Highly recommend The Golf Inn. Family friendly, great service and super ambiance. Close to Old Course and even has a sea View! The food was superb, fresh fish and we'll cooked. Excellent value and fab kids menu. Definitely call in for food if passing.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JMLOL01
Alex M, Owner at The Golf Inn, responded to this review

Hello JML Thanks for your kind words... Delighted to hear you and the family enjoyed yourselves... The sea view is a wee secret really, as there are only 3 tables that get it, my favourite is the one upstairs on the mez floor,,, great place to hang out for an afternoon of food and chat... and drinks of-course! ......as for...

Glasgow
Reviewed 10 August 2016 via mobile

We visited on a Saturday evening. Lovely welcome and service excellent. Busy but not crowded. Menu was the usual and probably priced a wee bit high. Fish and chips was good. Burgers were nicely presented but tasted/ texture a bit processed. Good range of drinks and nice to be able to watch golf on screen.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ruth S
Alex M, Owner at The Golf Inn, responded to this review

Hi Ruth S Thanks for popping in, glad you mostly enjoyed your visit, I've mentioned your comments to Pat our head chef, he's going to review our butcher meat supplier as we intend only to serve fresh good quality meats, The meats we do have are certainly not processed, but maybe there's room for improvement if that what our customers...

Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 August 2016

Friendly welcome, lovely staff, nice clean room, yummy breakfast. Great location to centre of st andrews where we enjoyed a lovely meal at the dolls house. Finished off our 4 day break just great Thank you

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michelle M
Alex M, Owner at The Golf Inn, responded to this review

Enough said Michelle M... glad you had nice time with us. Thanks for taking the time to post.. See you next time? Alex

23 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Andrews hotels
0.1 km away
BEST WESTERN Scores Hotel
BEST WESTERN Scores Hotel
#11 of 18 in St Andrews
650 reviews
0.6 km away
Albany Hotel
Albany Hotel
#7 of 18 in St Andrews
308 reviews
0.2 km away
Greyfriars Hotel
Greyfriars Hotel
#10 of 18 in St Andrews
297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Hotel Du Vin
Hotel Du Vin
#5 of 18 in St Andrews
423 reviews
0.1 km away
Ardgowan Hotel
Ardgowan Hotel
#6 of 18 in St Andrews
471 reviews
1.2 km away
Premier Inn St Andrews Hotel
Premier Inn St Andrews Hotel
#3 of 18 in St Andrews
261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Beachfront
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
WELCOME TO THE GOLF INN, previously known as 1 Golf Place, which has been bought over and had a fairly big makeover throughout. The property is located conveniently just across the road from the Old Course 18th hole and within walking distance of all the main attractions that St Andrews has to offer.Comprising 6 Double / Twin rooms, all en-suite, 1 Golf Place boasts crisp clean and comfortable rooms all complete with the following facilities: WiFi, Tea/Coffee, toiletries, high quality linen and towels, seating area iron facility as a small Inn we pride ourselves on our first class friendly customer service. Should you require anything during your stay please do not hesitate to ask us - we have staff available 24 hours a day. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Golf Inn

Address: 1 Golf Place, St Andrews KY16 9JA, Scotland (Formerly 1 Golf Place)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > St Andrews
Price Range: ₹ 8,516 - ₹ 14,542 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Golf Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Golf Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1 Golf Place Hotel St. Andrews
The Golf Inn St Andrews, Scotland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Golf Inn staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from The Golf Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I believe they have about 7 rooms available. Rooms at the front have a better view”
 of 5 bubbles 508rons, 27 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Room tips for views: 8&9; 5&6.”
 of 5 bubbles Daytripper882015, 29 Nov 2016 | Read review
“room 7, over kitchen noisy because of extractor fan, it did go off when kitchen closed, started up again around 7a.m.”
 of 5 bubbles 294elainem294, 12 Nov 2016 | Read review
“2nd floor if you have trouble with stairs”
 of 5 bubbles Colonel_Butler, 17 Oct 2016 | Read review
“room at the very top has the best window view of the beach further down the road”
 of 5 bubbles scottie333, 22 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5