We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Destination Edinburgh Southside Apartments

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Destination Edinburgh Southside Apartments
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

153 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Destination Edinburgh Southside Apartments
See the most recent reviews
Showing 130: English reviews
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 4 January 2016 via mobile

My husband and I were visiting our daughter for the holidays. We found the flat exactly what we were looking for. A nice kitchen area with microwave and clothes washer. The location is also a nice factor. Several local bus stops to get into town. Also is not that far of a walk into the city. We had Flat#1 at...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mary B
Reviewed 10 December 2015 via mobile

My partner and I stayed here for 2 nights, totally loved the apartment! Its about a 20 minute walk from princess street, but its on a main bus route so easy enough to jump on a bus :) We had no problems what so ever and great price for apartment! would 100% stay here again :) couldn't fault it!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl M
Reviewed 18 November 2015

Lovely place to stay, very central and shops and resturants nearby. We went to a lovely steak resturant a two minute walk! Man on arrival was very helpful & informed us of luggage storage available at the bus station and to take the tram to the airport. He also saved us from a diaster- we left our keys at apartments...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ciara M
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewed 4 November 2015

The location was central but finding the apartment for the 1st time is almost like trying to locate the platform 9 3/4 in Harry Potter - you will miss it if you are not used to the small hole-in-the-wall numbers. We spent almost half an hour trying to locate it based on GPS but ended up having to call to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jungfraujoch86
DH1310, Manager at Destination Edinburgh Southside Apartments, responded to this review

Many thanks for providing feedback about your stay and glad you enjoyed your time in Edinburgh I am sorry to hear you found the apartments uneasy to find, we do provide the address and postcode on your booking confirmation and we are actually in the process of putting up our new sigange for the apartments Thanks again for your comments

Buckinghamshire
Reviewed 10 October 2015

Getting the keys worked as described, although I'm not a fan of telephone numbers you have to call on arrival at the airport that pick up and put you in a queue. I'd prefer not to be on hold for a long time on my mobile. The flat was clean, pleasantly decorated and furnished and had everything we needed for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Vasco421
West Midlands
Reviewed 5 October 2015

Fab location - we were in Edinburgh for a concert at Queens Hall and the apartment is a five minute walk away. The apartment itself could be fantastic, however was a bit tatty in places (needed a repaint, floor replacing in bathroom) and overall needed a good clean. WIFI, whilst free is very poor. Due to it's location, there is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mich33
Quebec City, Canada
Reviewed 15 September 2015

Our stay started with a bit of a mishap. We were checking in at 7pm and were expecting someone to meet us there as there is no reception service and the door was locked. We waited for 15 minutes under the pouring rain and still no sign of anyone. I tried phoning them but the office was closed. Thankfully there...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Emilie V
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 September 2015

My friends arrived from Italy last week, and found the flat superb. My first impression when arrived there was, the same. I had visited on the the morning they were to arrive, to put food into the cupboards and make sure everything was in order, which it was. Beautiful and everything that was needed. Can't really say anymore, but next...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hilary1949
Workington, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 September 2015 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights and would not return under any circumstances, we advise people to avoid at all costs. The apartments are average at best with shabby blinds,single paned windows which keep out zero noise and loud floorboards. The location is 15 minutes walk from the royal mile, although you can find nicer apartments cheaper closer by, we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank scottfarmer1982
DH1310, Owner at Destination Edinburgh Southside Apartments, responded to this review

Hi Scott Thanks for the review which we obviously find disappointing and we do wish you had enjoyed your stay better. I was the person you spoke to yesterday late afternoon and I said I would investigate this – obviously you have not given me time to respond prior to posting this review as I said I would investigate. To...

Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 23 August 2015

I have been travelling twice a year with friends and family for over 40 years and I was amazed by the apartment and it's location but truly surprised by the price - it was a bargain, especially considering we stayed during the August festivals. Our last night we ate at the pub below our apartment and had a wonderful meal...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Deni882

40 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (28)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (18)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (12)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Stay Central Hotel
Stay Central Hotel
#44 of 150 in Edinburgh
1,318 reviews
Southside Guest House
#50 of 445 in Edinburgh
292 reviews
Old Town
Stay Edinburgh City Apartments - Royal Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Broughton & Calton
Destination Edinburgh York Place Apartments
Southside & Holyrood
Richmond Place Apartments
Richmond Place Apartments
#23 of 205 in Edinburgh
200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Choice of: 1, 2 or 3 Bedroom Apartments/Garden Apartments. Building was originally used as a Casino! All newly & beautifully refurbished to a high standard Inc: Plasma screens / Wi Fi etc. Still have many original features - Ornate plaster work, high ceilings, large windows and wooden floors. Large rooms, very light and airy. Awarded 4* Grading by VisitScotland. Close to: the Meadows/Holyrood Park, Arthurs seat, the University and Edinburgh's Commonwealth Pool. All rates INC : Tea/Coffee/Milk. 5 Mins walk from Supermarket. 7 Mins walk to Royal Mile. 12 Mins walk to Princes St. On great bus route to all over the city centre. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Destination Edinburgh Southside Apartments

Address: 7 Newington Road, Edinburgh EH9 1QR, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Price Range: ₹ 4,086 - ₹ 14,471 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Destination Edinburgh Southside Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Destination Edinburgh Southside Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southside Superior Apartments Hotel Edinburgh
Destination Edinburgh Southside Apartments Scotland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Destination Edinburgh Southside Apartments staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question
over a year ago
Dublin, Ireland
over a year ago

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Destination Edinburgh Southside Apartments staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Have no idea about the other apartments, but number 4 was very good.”
 of 5 bubbles LeoV209, 17 May 2016 | Read review
“The upstairs flat (#4) had views onto the road from the living area. The bedrooms faced the quieter garden area in the back.”
 of 5 bubbles hollholl, 20 Mar 2016 | Read review
“Room 1 at the basement leads to a courtyard where u can enjoy the views and fresh air”
 of 5 bubbles jungfraujoch86, 4 Nov 2015 | Read review
“This review relates to rented accommodation nit a Hotel.”
 of 5 bubbles Hilary1949, 7 Sep 2015 | Read review
“Buses drop you off right outside the door and the buses into the city are just across the road - a 5 minute ride - terrific.”
 of 5 bubbles Deni882, 23 Aug 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay