We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Aynetree Guest House

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Aynetree Guest House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

221 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Aynetree Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Showing 197: English reviews
London
Reviewed 21 June 2016

We had a really great stay here for two nights, comfortable bed and well equipped and serviced room. The breakfasts were really good with a good variety of cereals, porridge and traditional Scottish breakfast and the best haggis so far. You will need to get a bus into Edinburgh but they stop just down the road and only a fifteen...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Enjoyingthesun2
enquiries661, Owner at Aynetree Guest House, responded to this review

Hello there. Thank you for the great review. So glad that you enjoyed our breakfast. They set you up for the day. enjoyingtherain.

Lompoc, California
Reviewed 27 May 2016

The couple who run this Guesthouse were super! Accommodations neat, perfectly maintained. Breakfasts were superior, and the owners very helpful with advice. Love having the bus stop right out front, so we could get around easily. Definitely would recommend the Aynetree Guesthouse.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ingkaping
enquiries661, Owner at Aynetree Guest House, responded to this review

What a fantastic review. Reviews like this want me to try even harder. Negative reviews want me to sell up and walk away. This lovely review is very important to me and I read it just before retiring. So, a good sleep tonight knowing that I made a guest enjoy the Edinburgh experience and our hospitality.

Reviewed 2 May 2016 via mobile

I recently visited Edinburgh with my two friends and we stayed at this wonderful guest house. The rooms were adorable with ensuite bathrooms. The showers had great pressure and plenty of hot water. The beds were comfortable and cozy with plenty of pillows provided. The breakfast in the morning is fantastic! They serve porridge with fixings or cereal with coffee...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Nicky R
enquiries661, Owner at Aynetree Guest House, responded to this review

Hi Nicky, What an amazing review. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay so much.I have been called many things.....but never gracious. But I shall accept the compliment!!

Reviewed 20 March 2016 via mobile

I booked for a king size bed room and pay less as it was clearly sold as a special offer in Agoda. Instead a few days later I was asked to pay 12 pounds more stating he mistook the price or alternatively to accept a smaller room or even to cancel the already paid reservation! I answered that I wanted...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gius71
brianpolo, Owner at Aynetree Guest House, responded to this review

This man was very rude but his friend was not so. Perhaps his friend could teach him some manners. He was rude to me from the minute that he walked in. He booked for a TWIN ROOM (I have the evidence) for £49 which included breakfast, car park, WiFi and en suite. .and this was for a Saturday only when...

Chester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 November 2015

This was our first time visiting Edinburgh and wanted somewhere just outside of the city. This was perfect for us as there is a bus stop outside that takes you straight into Edinburgh (Prince's Street). The room/s were just what we wanted and the breakfast left us full all day. Brian can arrange tours for you at no extra charge,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Duddysdad
brianpolo, Owner at Aynetree Guest House, responded to this review

Hi David, Thank you both for the great review. Sorry for the late response. Thank you again for moving rooms in the emergency that we encountered with our other guests. It was very kind of you both stay in room 4 for the first night. Yes, it is great that we have plenty of space for the guests in the...

Bologna, Italy
Reviewed 2 November 2015

We had a pleassant overnight stay in this very nice Victorian House in Portobello, very well served by several bus lines. On the arrival we were given excellent information about busses, services and all we needed. We slept in a warm and cosy room at the ground floor with all amenities. At breakfast we could choose among a good selection...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PaoloF0276
brianpolo, Owner at Aynetree Guest House, responded to this review

Sarah and Paolo, thank you so much for your kind words. They are very much appreciated. I am so glad that you enjoyed the ambiance of our place and that you both come back again one day. Can I correct you on one point though. Our address is not Portobello. We live in Duddingston which is an area of Edinburgh...

Guisborough, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 September 2015 via mobile

We have just returned today from the Aynetree Guest House. The price is good but the room requires a little work, it's clean ish (nothing major, just a couple of tweaks), the bed is noisy, really uncomfortable and need looking at. My partner could usually sleep on a bed of nails but did not sleep much, I on the other...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Trev T
brianpolo, Owner at Aynetree Guest House, responded to this review

. Brian here. I spoke to the lady who was running my establishment whilst I joined my wife at the hospital (she became very ill during the night and was rushed to the infirmary). The lady is called Linda and she runs the guest house quite a bit when we want time off, go on holiday and unfortunately, become ill....

Sao Paulo, SP
Reviewed 24 September 2015 via mobile

We liked the days, the rooms were very clean, the bathroom was enough, plenty hot water, the breakfast perfect and locomotion easy to go and return from the train station, using bus. A take away in the corner and convenience store can help a lot. And Brian, the owner, was very helpful and polite.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank FabioP077
brianpolo, Owner at Aynetree Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for your pleasing review. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and the short bus trip to the centre is hassle free. I hope to meet you both again some day.

Yachats, Oregon
Reviewed 5 September 2015

We enjoyed our stay here, although we were disappointed that the owners were on vacation. The substitute hostess was very competent. This B&B is a ways from downtown Edinburgh but the bus stop is just outside the door, and there is off street parking. We took the bus to Princes Street each day -- well worth the bus ride for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bob P
brianpolo, Owner at Aynetree Guest House, responded to this review

Hi Bob, Thank you for your great review. I am glad that Lynn looked after you and our business when we had an extra little break in May (never been know before). I was surprised that you were disappointed in not meeting us the owners. Unless you stayed with us before and wanted to catch up on gossip etc...you really...

Reviewed 16 August 2015 via mobile

We stayed in the family room which was roomy and comfortable. The prices for Edinburgh are inflated in general and personally we enjoy the Scotland country much more than the city. I felt the price for this place was too high but again all the prices for Edinburgh locations were sky high so this place was reasonably priced and competitive...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank love2gadabout
brianpolo, Owner at Aynetree Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review and we were generally pleased with it. I am so glad that you enjoyed the spacious room (room 2). There are, however, a few points that I need to clear up. Across the road there is a new school being built (high-tec with a swimming pool etc...) so one cannot complain as...

31 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (31)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (17)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
1.5 km away
Premier Inn Edinburgh A1 (Newcraighall) Hotel
1.7 km away
Rockville Hotel
Rockville Hotel
#39 of 213 in Edinburgh
111 reviews
3.9 km away
Clarin Guest House
Clarin Guest House
#130 of 445 in Edinburgh
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Milton House
Milton House
#153 of 445 in Edinburgh
22 reviews
3.9 km away
Cherry Tree Villa Guest House
Cherry Tree Villa Guest House
#206 of 445 in Edinburgh
190 reviews
1.0 km away
Aaran Lodge
Aaran Lodge
#106 of 445 in Edinburgh
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Family run Victorian detached guest house, with private parking for 6 cars, situated near the city centre. 5 fully equipped en-suite bedrooms except one which has a private large bathroom all modernized and refurbished in June 2006 to a high standard. The dining room has a coal fire which is used during chilly nights. Although central to all attractions including Arthur's Seat and the Palace of Holyrood; the house is peaceful, quiet and relaxing. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Aynetree Guest House

Address: 12 Duddingston Crescent | Milton Road, Edinburgh EH15 3AS, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Price Range: ₹ 4,258 - ₹ 11,437 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Aynetree Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, HostelWorld, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Aynetree Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aynetree Guest House Edinburgh, Scotland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Aynetree Guest House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“If you get the room with a private bathroom, I recommend taking a robe”
 of 5 bubbles sarahharper85, 6 Dec 2016 | Read review
“ground floor front facing room with ensuite facilities was excellent and quiet”
 of 5 bubbles ellab684, 28 Jul 2015 | Read review
“The room we stayed in had a private bathroom down the hallway with a separate private key entrance. Very clean and quaint with no shower.”
 of 5 bubbles GottaLoveTrips, 23 Jul 2015 | Read review
“Our room had a main bed and a set of bunk beds for our two children.”
 of 5 bubbles Deployedbrian, 30 Jun 2015 | Read review
“Don't have breakfast”
 of 5 bubbles mollie1312, 16 May 2015 | Read review
5 of 5