We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre

Show Prices
#45 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Professional photos
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,548 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,405: English reviews
Reviewed 31 March 2016 via mobile

Staff were great upon check in, still can't believe we could get a free hot cookie whenever we asked! Rooms, bathroom, facilities, fitness centre, breakfast was absolutely amazing. Couldn't have asked for a nicer place to stay. A bit of a walk to the Mile but definitely worth it. Cannot fault, highly recommend!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jess C
ronald_little, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre, responded to this review

Dear Jess C, I am delighted to read that you not only thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us but also took advantage of the Warm Cookies available 24/7. I appreciate your feedback and look forward to seeing you again soon. Kind regards Ronald Little General Manager

Wadsworth, Ohio
Reviewed 31 March 2016

This hotel is located slightly off the beaten path which is nice. The Royal Mile and Grassmarket areas are within walking distance without all the busyness. This location allows you to visit some of the other areas of Edinburgh. It is also closer to the far end of New Town.

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank J M
ronald_little, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre, responded to this review

Dear J M, Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel. I am happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and found the location within the city to suit your needs. I hope that you overall city visit was an enjoyable one and look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind regards Ronald Little...

Munich, Germany
Reviewed 29 March 2016 via mobile

Ok...so it started all very well. The room was nice and clean. Also roomy. Amenities fine. Beds and pillows were comfortable. The receptionists were very friendly. The location was good. As i wrote in a review about the bar...catrostrophy. Then the next day breakfast. I ordered my omelet. After 1/2 hour i asked the youbg waiter about it. I saw...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Hirlsa H
ronald_little, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre, responded to this review

Dear Hirlsa H, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience of your stay with us. I am disappointed to read that although your stay was good, we seriously failed on the basics of ordering from the menu at breakfast for which I would like to sincerely apologise. Your feedback will be shared with the team as not...

Reviewed 29 March 2016

Upon check in the staff were very friendly. Exactly what I would expect from a 4* hotel. I asked for my Credit Card to be authorised so I could open the Mini Bar, there was a deposit taken from my card, I couldn't really understand if this was for the Mini Bar or £50 a night deposit for the room...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank elaine b
ronald_little, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre, responded to this review

Dear elaine b, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience of your stay with us. It is always disappointing to read when we do not get it right and more so that we do not make it right once we know and have been given an opportunity to. I will fully investigate this with the team and...

Swindon, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 March 2016

We stayed for 4 nights and had a good experience, all staff friendly and helpful breakfast plentiful and good choice. Situated close to all attractions easy to walk around city. Pubs directly opposite and there was some noise but no problem for us at this time. We got the tram from the airport and got off at West End Princes...

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Lori M
ronald_little, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre, responded to this review

Dear Lori M, Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel after your stay with us. I am happy to read that you enjoyed your stay and that although we are very central to everything, this only impacted your stay positively. I appreciate your feedback and hope to welcome you back on your next visit to Edinburgh. Kind...

Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 March 2016

The good: - Booked a twin room. Room was set up with two double beds - with plenty (if not a great deal) of space to move around the room. This was at the same price as a double room, so certainly better value for money as others have mentioned that the rooms are very small. - Adjacent/joining bar stylish...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Elliot C
ronald_little, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre, responded to this review

Dear Elliot C, Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for sharing your experience. I am happy to read that your stay with us was an enjoyable one with the bar at the hotel a stylish choice. I am sorry to read however that the £10pp offer for breakfast was too expensive as we constantly monitor our pricing...

Lee-on-the-Solent, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 March 2016

A well situated hotel. The room was clean and comfortable but quite small for a double occupancy. Just off Lothian road and a short walk to the centre of town and the castle etc. Lots of places to eat or drink within a couple of minutes walk. Friendly helpful staff definitely worth considering.

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 174an
ronald_little, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre, responded to this review

Dear 174an, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience of your stay with us. I am happy to read that your stay was a comfortable one however I am sorry to read that the bedroom was too compact for your needs. As an old building there are many shapes and sizes of rooms throughout the hotel however...

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 March 2016

The rooms were very small. We stayed for 4 nights and did not have enough wardrobe space to hang our clothes so had to ask to a coat stand to hang our clothes. The room was cold even though the heating was on maximum an extra duvet was needed at night to keep warm. No parking on site and no...

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank M4769LEsarahj
ronald_little, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre, responded to this review

Dear M4769LEsarahj, Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel after your recent stay with us. I am sorry to read that your stay with us was marred by a lack of space within the room and the heating not working effectively. I hope that the issues experienced were raised on day one so that the team could...

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 March 2016 via mobile

This hotel is in a very convenient location. The old town and the castle within a 10 minute walk or so. The hotel itself is a standard DoubleTree hotel, very clean and comfortable. Really enjoyed our relaxing 3 days away here and would definitely recommend.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Lol098
ronald_little, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre, responded to this review

Dear Lol098, Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the DoubleTree by Hilton Edinburgh. I am happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind regards Ronald Little General Manager

Reviewed 26 March 2016

Walking distance to nearly every attraction in town (except the Parliament and Holyrood). Amazing view of the Edinburgh castle from the window - we were there during Royal Military Tattoo performances and were thus treated to a fireworks show from our room nearly every night. Decent-sized, spotless room with a mini-fridge and coffeemaker. We made use of the business centre...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Orserio
ronald_little, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre, responded to this review

Dear Sergey O, Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for sharing your experience. Although I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us, I am disappointed to read that the breakfast experience was lack luster and mediocre. This is clearly not the lasting impression that we would like any of our guests to have...

656 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (289)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (40)
Viewed
Room/Suite (60)
Viewed
Bathroom (18)
Viewed
Dining (16)
Viewed
View from Room (36)
Viewed
2:50
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (118)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (299)
Viewed
Amenities (70)
Viewed
Guest Room (50)
Viewed
Junior Suite (74)
Viewed
Dining (43)
Viewed
The Hotel (62)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (68)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (22)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (5)
Viewed
Other (18)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
#25 of 150 in Edinburgh
735 reviews
West End
Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian
Old Town
Hilton Edinburgh Carlton
Hilton Edinburgh Carlton
#55 of 150 in Edinburgh
285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa
Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa
#15 of 150 in Edinburgh
2,583 reviews
Old Town
Novotel Edinburgh Centre
Novotel Edinburgh Centre
#73 of 150 in Edinburgh
2,336 reviews
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 150 in Edinburgh
777 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in West End

Neighbourhood Profile
West End
Prevailing winds meant that most cities that grew in industrial Britain had their most desirable neighbourhoods to the west – upwind of factory fumes. Edinburgh was no exception, with its wealthiest citizens settling in its West End and leaving behind grand Georgian townhouses, private gardens and genteel crescents. These backstreets remain as dignified and sleepy as ever, and most of the action here lies along the district’s busy main roads. Lothian Road connects to southern Edinburgh and harbors a vague entertainment district: three theatres and the city’s main indie cinema. All attract a select crowd, the sort who appreciate the Saturday Edinburgh’s Farmers’ Market around the corner. The West End’s other great thoroughfare, Shandwick Place, is dominated by trams trundling out to the suburbs and airport, and shoppers picking up last-minute items before hopping aboard.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
GreenLeadersBronze level
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Situated in the heart of Edinburgh enjoying beautiful views of the city and castle, the iconic listed hotel boasts 138 modern guest rooms, Bread Street Brasserie, Monboddo Bar, roof top terrace and conference centre with 3 meeting and event rooms. ... more   less 

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre

Address: 34 Bread Street, Edinburgh EH3 9AF, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Price Range: ₹ 6,621 - ₹ 26,703 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 138
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hilton EMEA, Prestigia, Priceline, Hotel.de, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
DoubleTree By Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre Scotland
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Edinburgh
#26 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre staff and other travellers.
39 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (39)

Questions? Get answers from DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“413, two large windows with a view to a castle of Edinburgh”
 of 5 bubbles 881ristos, 20 Jan 2017 | Read review
“4th floor is quiet, Hilton HHonors floor”
 of 5 bubbles kirkycfc, 19 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Try to get one with a Castle view”
 of 5 bubbles Douglas0504, 15 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Rooms at the back are quieter, although the street at the front isn't that busy at night”
 of 5 bubbles Wolframwolfred, 14 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Ask about room outlook as I believe many have good views but the one we had was poor”
 of 5 bubbles Zabza29, 3 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay