We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Piries Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Piries Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

598 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Piries Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 442: English reviews
Bergamo, Italy
Reviewed 5 November 2013

I was in Edinburgh for work and I stayed one night at this hotel. I specifically requested a "ensuite room" (with private toilet in the room). Spacious room with high ceiling (in a historic building) very quiet, double bed (detachable) big and very comfortable. Bathroom small but clean. Staff were very friendly and accomodating. Continental breakfast with the bare minimum,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Marukoita
Khaledibrahim, General Manager at Piries Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time and feedback on your recent stay at Piries Hotel, Edinburgh I am delighted to learn that your stay was enjoyable with us Once again thank you and hope we can have the opportunity to welcome you in near future Kind Regards Khaled Ibrahim Regards

Reviewed 16 October 2013

Stayed here last night with my mum and brother very surprised after reading reviews, people at reception couldn't have been more helpful even giving us detailed maps to get round the roadworks. When we go to our room which was in a building a few doors down (meaning you have your own front door) anyway our room was massive, beds...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ebony85
Khaledibrahim, General Manager at Piries Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay at Piries Hotel, Edinburgh I am delighted to learn that your experience at Piries was excellent. Your comment regarding the sugar &milk have been point out to the housekeeping to ensure there is sufficient for 3 guests Once again thank you and hope we can welcome you in near...

nignotwill
Reviewed 13 October 2013

I have recently returned from staying at the Piries Hotel for 2 nights from 9 to 11 October 2013. It was absolutely great. I travelled with a group of 10 people and we all had twin rooms. They were not huge in size but clean and comfortable and just right for our stay. Upon arrival i was greeted by a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank nignotwill
Khaledibrahim, General Manager at Piries Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time and comments on your recent stay at Piries Hotel, Edinburgh I am delighted that your stay with us was enjoyable Looking forward to have the opportunity to welcome you again in near future Kind regards Khaled Ibrahim General Manager

Munich, Germany
Reviewed 30 September 2013

We have spent one night in the Piries in Edinburgh from Saturday 28th September until Sunday 29th September 2013 - we have booked before reading some reviews and have been a little bit worried after reading a lot of comments here. But we have made a complete different experience. We arrived at the hotel and the first contact with the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dagmar_Jens
Khaledibrahim, General Manager at Piries Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your comments on your recent stay at Piries hotel, Edinburgh I am delighted that your stay with us was enjoyable Looking forward to welcome you once again in near future Kind Regards Khaled Ibrahim General Manager

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 September 2013

To be honest I was a little worried when I read some other reviews about this hotel but the price and its location near the train station could not be beat... the only other hotel in the area for a similar price of a room at Piries Hotel didn't came with a window (I'm not a fan of sleeping in...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank pea_ham
Khaledibrahim, General Manager at Piries Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay at The Piries Hotel, Edinburgh I am delighted that Piries was more than adequate for your needs during your visit to Edinburgh Once again thank you and I hope we can welcome you in near future to extend our hospitality further Regards Khaled Ibrahim General Manager

miami, fl
Reviewed 11 September 2013

We stayed in the Piries Hotel during the time of the Tattoo in 2013. We really did not have very many places to chose from and would not have stayed here if there had been a bigger choice. That being said, it was fine. Nothing fancy but quite comfortable. The room was huge, the bathroom small. The room was clean...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank beisenbp
Khaledibrahim, General Manager at Piries Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your comments and feedback on your recent stay at Piries hotel, Edinburgh Please accept my apology for the experience you had with the staff member which I can assure you this is not a common practice within Piries team Meanwhile, I will be writing to you in person with more details on overall stay Once...

Southampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 September 2013

Needed some where to stay in Edinburgh for a couple of nights. Booked this months ago. Nearer the time I looked at some of the reviews and had that feeling of impending doom I had that time I stayed at the Days Inn at junction 8a of the M40! A lot of very very derogatory reviews made me dread the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sid M
Khaledibrahim, General Manager at Piries Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your comments on your recent stay at Piries Hotel, Edinburgh.. I am glad that you have had an enjoyable stay with us and the curtains were the gem.. Once again thank you and looking forward to welcome you in near future Regards Khaled Ibrahim General Manager

Reviewed 29 August 2013

I have never been to a hotel where you have to request a bath mat and there are no hand towels. The whole place was shabby and dingy and the staff were either unhelpful or had zero touristic knowledge. Extremely poor value for money and a bad experience overall. Edinburgh is stunning though.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jo R
Khaledibrahim, General Manager at Piries Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your comments on your stay at Piries Hotel, Edinburgh. I apologize for your bad experience with us but I must say this is not our approach to guest or to our business Bath mats are available 24hours on request(as per note in each room).this is part of our Green policy Piries Hotel is classified as...

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 August 2013

it was not "blow you out of the water" amazing. but it was a good hotel. staff were very helpful. It was a relaxed atmosphere which I appreciated. The hotel could do to invest in a bit of bathroom maintenance. I would def go back again.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank kleintjie
Khaledibrahim, General Manager at Piries Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay at the Piries Hotel, Edinburgh I am glad that you have enjoyed your stay with us Looking forward to welcome you once again in near future Kind Regards Khaled Ibrahim General Manager

Gibraltar
Reviewed 17 August 2013

Never in my life, full of travelling to many countries, have my wife or I been insulted so much by the person who should care for his clients. The General Manager K. I. The room we were to spend 6 days in was a converted chicken pen or pig sty! Definitely not the room I paid for or that was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Raphael6488
Khaledibrahim, General Manager at Piries Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your comments. on your recent stay at Piries Hotel, Edinburgh. without going into much details I would like to stress that my conversation with yourself did not go to the point that I have to say JUST GO. I put this down to language barrier. However, I would like to summarize the efforts my team...

260 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (116)
Viewed
Room/Suite (53)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (18)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Other (32)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (134)
Viewed
Executive Twin Room (34)
Viewed
Junior Suite (27)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
Standard Double Room (16)
Viewed
Standard Twin Room (19)
Viewed
The Hotel (23)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
Tune Hotel Haymarket, Edinburgh
West End
The Original Raj Hotel
The Original Raj Hotel
#141 of 150 in Edinburgh
248 reviews
West End
Ritz Edinburgh
Ritz Edinburgh
#144 of 150 in Edinburgh
368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
Cityroomz Edinburgh
Cityroomz Edinburgh
#86 of 150 in Edinburgh
732 reviews
West End
Apex Haymarket Hotel
Apex Haymarket Hotel
#73 of 150 in Edinburgh
980 reviews
Leith
Cairn Hotel Edinburgh
Cairn Hotel Edinburgh
#71 of 150 in Edinburgh
1,072 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in West End

Neighbourhood Profile
West End
Prevailing winds meant that most cities that grew in industrial Britain had their most desirable neighbourhoods to the west – upwind of factory fumes. Edinburgh was no exception, with its wealthiest citizens settling in its West End and leaving behind grand Georgian townhouses, private gardens and genteel crescents. These backstreets remain as dignified and sleepy as ever, and most of the action here lies along the district’s busy main roads. Lothian Road connects to southern Edinburgh and harbors a vague entertainment district: three theatres and the city’s main indie cinema. All attract a select crowd, the sort who appreciate the Saturday Edinburgh’s Farmers’ Market around the corner. The West End’s other great thoroughfare, Shandwick Place, is dominated by trams trundling out to the suburbs and airport, and shoppers picking up last-minute items before hopping aboard.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Multilingual Staff

Additional Information about Piries Hotel

Address: 4-8 Coates Gardens, Edinburgh EH12 5LB, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Price Range: ₹ 3,084 - ₹ 13,471 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Piries Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Piries Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Piries Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Piries Hotel staff and other travellers.
16 questions
Ask a question
Aberdeen
Kirkcaldy, United Kingdom
3 months ago
Kirkcaldy, United Kingdom
3 months ago
Malta
over a year ago
Weston-super-Mare, United Kingdom

See all questions (16)

Questions? Get answers from Piries Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Email ahead for any requests”
 of 5 bubbles jamesmca2017, 19 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Don't accept a room you are not happy with as they appear to have larger rooms according to other reviews.”
 of 5 bubbles maryirl2017, 25 Feb 2017 | Read review
“This basement room has stairs going down to it,not easy with luggage. You need to sort out parking,street has residents parking.”
 of 5 bubbles barbarajalmond, 5 Feb 2017 | Read review
“I believe rooms in the main building may be more spacious.”
 of 5 bubbles 846Anna, 30 Dec 2016 | Read review
“room 42 as for others no idea apart from a couple of ladies said there room in the m,ain building was a bit small”
 of 5 bubbles philip2781, 28 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5