We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Murrayfield Hotel and House

Show Prices
#39 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Murrayfield Hotel and House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,759 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,618: English reviews
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We stayed over night whilst attending an away game at the Murrayfield Ice rink across the road with the hotel being the perfect location (literally minutes away!) and knowing the city center was only a short taxi ride away. Upon arrival our room wasn't ready as we was slightly early but the guy at reception was more than happy to...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank charissa_x
64manager, General Manager at Murrayfield Hotel and House, responded to this review

Good morning, Thank you for providing a detailed review of your stay. You will see from my previous responses to guests that I always appreciate the smaller touches we provide being highlighted and of course, having staff mentioned is a real highlight. I'm sorry to see our Menu didn't quite hit the mark for you both but we all have...

Walmer, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

The room was not deluxe as there was a stained chair and the curtains had ripped hems. I was not told that my room was outwith the main hotel. The bath was unsafe, no handles or rubber bath mat. The tv was set into a rather ugly ornate mirror which made watching tv difficult. There were no trouser hangers provided....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TripMember021620171
64manager, General Manager at Murrayfield Hotel and House, responded to this review

Good morning, Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your thoughts and feedback. As you point out the Murrayfield House is next door to the main hotel and contains our Deluxe Rooms which are generally in very high demand, particularly form returning customers. A feature of which is our 'hidden TV' set behind the mirror which I...

Billingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago NEWvia mobile

We booked a 2 night break at The Murrayfield Hotel for our honeymoon, and weren't disappointed. Conveniently situated on the main road into the city centre, the zoo is a 15 minute walk one way and city centre a half hour walk the other way. It's also on a bus route with a bus stop right outside. Free parking is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Joanne T
64manager, General Manager at Murrayfield Hotel and House, responded to this review

Congratulations, I am delighted that you chose to spend such a special occasion with us and that we contributed in a small part to creating some lifelong memories for you both. We work very hard to ensure that all the small touches are delivered to each of our guests and that everybody is well looked after and it's nice to...

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We booked this hotel for three nights and we loved every minute of out stay. The beds were comfortable and rooms spacious, with the added plus of Murrayfield stadium as the view. Bar and restaurant were modern and comfortable and the food very tasty. Staff were very friendly and made us feel at home as soon as we arrived.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nerys H
64manager, General Manager at Murrayfield Hotel and House, responded to this review

Good evening, As we come to the end of another busy but fantastic week here at The Murrayfield Hotel it's great to finish off by reading a review in which we ticked every box. I am delighted to hear this and look forward to sharing the review with the team. I look forward to welcoming you back in due course...

Wolfsburg, Germany
Reviewed 1 week ago

Visited for 2 nights as we were going to the rugby international. Great location for that purpose obviously. General spec of the hotel is very good and staff generally helpful (with one exception see below). Had two problems with the room electronic locks - one lock which just fell apart in my hand and the other where the entry card...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Beefbeefbeef
64manager, General Manager at Murrayfield Hotel and House, responded to this review

Good evening, I am disappointed to read that we came very close to delivering an exceptional stay but fell just short on a number o f small points. This level of feedback is always welcome as it allows us to focus on continual improvement and I am delighted to read you will be returning to us to experience those improvements....

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

For the money, this is a fantastic hotel to stay at, especially if you're into rugby as it's right across the road from the ground. Just a short taxi into The city centre from there too - overall, nothing to grumble about. Great stay!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Farley00
64manager, General Manager at Murrayfield Hotel and House, responded to this review

Good evening, Thank you for taking the time to write us a short review. We prize value for as a high priority and I'm delighted you felt we offered this and that you had a great stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back. Robin and The Team

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Had a bit of a problem when we arrived as room not ready even though we were an hour later than we said ! Room was clean and lovely toiletries a few bits need looked at ie where locks were on back of door had been ripped off but not patched up just left bare on saying that for the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank D1114545
64manager, General Manager at Murrayfield Hotel and House, responded to this review

Good afternoon, Thank you for your review. I am sorry to learn that check in was delayed and would be keen to know if it was a pre-arranged early check in or a room not ready at our usual check in time of 2pm. I am not aware of any rooms being unprepared for arrival beyond the 2pm check in...

Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The hotel was okay. We first got placed in a standard room and it was quite small but clean and cosy which was nice, but we checked the bathroom and there was an absolutely awful smell of fish, the smell had gone on the towels and stuff and it was just disgusting. We told the member of staff on reception...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank meganandmatthew12
64manager, General Manager at Murrayfield Hotel and House, responded to this review

Good afternoon, Thank you for taking the time to provide me with feedback. I was aware that you had to be moved rooms whilst we investigated the original issue but I wasn't aware of any concerns raised to a manager regarding the other things you highlighted. If you did indeed discuss anything with a senior member of staff I would...

Cork, Ireland
Reviewed 1 week ago

Superb location, great friendly staff, had a fantastic trip despite Irelands loss to Scotland, looking forward to 2 years time already, we,ll be back.Staff were ever so friendly, good breakfast, rooms were amazing,

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank DeclanMcElhinney
64manager, General Manager at Murrayfield Hotel and House, responded to this review

Good afternoon, Regardless of the result the Irish certainly know how to party and every one of the visitors to the Murrayfield was a credit to the Green Jersey. I am very pleased to read that the experience overall cushioned the blow and we certainly look forward to welcoming you back to Edinburgh in due course Best wishes Robin and...

Reviewed 1 week ago

The hotel is of a great value. The room was clean and nicely decorated. Good choice of teas and coffee sachets in rooms. Nice set of toiletries and bathroom accessories. It may seem to be quite away from the city centre if you don't travel by car, but there are convenient connections between the hotel area (Riverside Crescent and Murrayfield...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Julia G
64manager, General Manager at Murrayfield Hotel and House, responded to this review

Good afternoon, Thank you for taking the time to share your review. I am delighted to read you had an enjoyable stay with us. Our staff team genuinely care for all guests and enjoy what they do immensely and it's very gratifying to have that recognised. We look forward to welcoming you back in due course. Best wishes, Robin and...

858 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (444)
Viewed
Bathroom (28)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (123)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (64)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
1:57
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (217)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (355)
Viewed
Amenities (46)
Viewed
Classic Double (66)
Viewed
Deluxe Double Twin Room (88)
Viewed
Dining (45)
Viewed
The Hotel (110)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (59)
Viewed
Room/Suite (19)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (18)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Channings Hotel
#31 of 150 in Edinburgh
1,168 reviews
Old Town
Stay Central Hotel
Stay Central Hotel
#44 of 150 in Edinburgh
1,366 reviews
West End
The Dunstane Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel
#12 of 150 in Edinburgh
1,234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southside & Holyrood
Edinburgh City Hotel
Edinburgh City Hotel
#28 of 150 in Edinburgh
1,184 reviews
Old Town
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
#59 of 150 in Edinburgh
1,489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Murrayfield Hotel is located in Edinburgh City Centre with ample complimentary parking and free Wifi. The hotel is the perfect destination for business, leisure or family occasions. The Murrayfield Hotel combines fantastic hospitality, outstanding value for money and second to none homemade food, served in the traditional, friendly pub kitchen. Serving as a perfect base from which to explore the historical Edinburgh City Centre, the Murrayfield Hotel is just a couple of minutes away from Edinburgh Zoo (and its giant pandas), the national Murrayfield Stadium which frequently plays host to major live sporting events as well as music concerts, and Haymarket Train Station.With fine home cooked food, complimentary car parking, traditional pub, restaurant, sun trap beer garden and unparalleled Scottish hospitality, we create a true home away from home for all our guests. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Murrayfield Hotel and House

Address: 18 Corstorphine Road, Edinburgh EH12 6HN, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Murrayfield
Price Range: ₹ 4,336 - ₹ 16,094 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Murrayfield Hotel and House 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Murrayfield Hotel and House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Murrayfield Hotel And Lodge
Murrayfield Hotel Edinburgh
Murrayfield Hotel And House Edinburgh, Scotland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Murrayfield Hotel and House staff and other travellers.
10 questions
Ask a question
1 month ago
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Liverpool, England, United Kingdom
PA
over a year ago

See all questions (10)

Questions? Get answers from Murrayfield Hotel and House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Get to breakfast a little early as started getting quite busy around 9.15/9.30 as we was finishing up”
 of 5 bubbles charissa_x, 15 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Ask for Room 7”
 of 5 bubbles marazultres, 3 Feb 2017 | Read review
“A room at the back of the hotel”
 of 5 bubbles 118JamesS118, 2 Feb 2017 | Read review
“no lift so better if on first floor!!!”
 of 5 bubbles S6060PRdavidd, 1 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Give more still water when rooms were cleaned! Other than that, it was perfect. ”
 of 5 bubbles maebhb2017, 29 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5