We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
    There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
    • {providername} {price}
    {providername} {price}
      {listitems}
    {sold_out_text}
    We can't find prices for this accommodation
    From {rate_price} {rate_periodicity}
    Neighbourhoods
    Neighbourhoods

    Budget Backpackers

    37-39 Cowgate, Edinburgh EH1 1JR, Scotland
    Save
    May 7
    May 8
    1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
    Traveller (144)
    Dining (82)
    Room & Suite (67)
    Similar nearby hotels
    Castle Rock Hostel
     
    Safestay Edinburgh
     
    Old Town Chambers
     
    High Street Hostel
     
    Overview

    • Excellent34%
    • Very good41%
    • Average13%
    • Poor5%
    • Terrible4%
    Travellers talk about
    “bed dorm” (39 reviews)
    Free Wifi
    Restaurant
    Bar/Lounge
    4 Star Hotel
    All hotel details
    {"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
    Similar nearby hotels
    Castle Rock Hostel
     
    Safestay Edinburgh
     
    Old Town Chambers
     
    High Street Hostel
     
    Write a Review
    Turn Your Opinions into Points!
    Turn your opinions into JPMiles
    Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
    *You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
    JPMiles / Payback Arrow
    JPMiles / PAYBACK
    50
    Reviews (752)
    Traveller rating
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    Language

    221 - 225 of 752 reviews

    Reviewed 5 June 2015 via mobile

    I stayed at the budget backpackers for a week. As soon I did the check in the staff were being super helpful. I did have some troubles finding my room as the hostel is massive but that's my own fault. I stayed in a 30...More

    Thank Kristi K
    Response from BudgetB, Manager at Budget Backpackers

    Hey Kristi Good to hear you had a great time during your stay with us. Thanks for taking the time and giving us such a fantastic review. BB Crew

    Reviewed 1 June 2015

    Located centrally in Edinburgh. You can grab a bus from the airport that takes you directly to the city centre for around £7 or £8 return and it is only a short walk from where it drops you off (near the main station). The place...More

    1  Thank Christopher Z
    Response from BudgetB, Manager at Budget Backpackers

    Hey Chris. Thanks for reviewing us . Good to hear you liked our Location and great value for money . Thanks for letting us know about the pillow . We have let our housekeeping team know and instructed any pillows that are not up to...More

    Reviewed 28 May 2015 via mobile

    Brilliant hostel. I got a twin room was really clean, provided towels, free storage. The staff were always really helpful with advice about what activities to do. It's really Central you can see the castle from the door of the hostel. Food is cheap, not...More

    Thank Emma P
    Response from BudgetB, Manager at Budget Backpackers

    Hi Emma Thanks for your positive comments and taking the time to review us . Good to hear you had a pleasant stay and we hope to see you back again soon. BB Crew

    Reviewed 27 May 2015

    This is a clean, bright hostel but I'm actually surprised to see so many glowing reviews here. We stayed here April 30- May 1 of this year and found it extremely noisy- the street noise and the noise within the hostel itself kept us awake...More

    Thank Rick M
    Response from BudgetB, Manager at Budget Backpackers

    Hi Rick. Thanks for taking the time out to review us. Our location is bang in the middle of the city so unfortunately we can't control any noise outside. We have now installed secondary glazing into our rooms that face the street to stop the...More

    Reviewed 26 May 2015

    Staff very nice and helpful and efficient. Perfect location, especially if you are looking for a night out, as it is very close by all the pubs. Also very close to Edinburgh castle and all other city centre tourist attractions. Beds really comfy and very...More

    Thank Adamie B
    Response from BudgetB, Manager at Budget Backpackers

    Thanks for the great review . Good to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and hope you will come back again soon. BB Crew :)

    Similar nearby hotels
    Castle Rock Hostel
     
    Safestay Edinburgh
     
    Old Town Chambers
     
    High Street Hostel
     
    About
    Amenities
    • Top amenities
    • Restaurant
    • Bar/Lounge
    • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
    • Things to do
    • Restaurant
    • Bar/Lounge
    Details
    • Price range
    • US$ 19 - US$ 69 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
    • Hotel class
    • Room types
    • Kitchenette ,
    • Non-Smoking Rooms
    Photos
    Traveller (144)
    Dining (82)
    Room & Suite (67)
    Hotel & Grounds (155)
    Nearby
    Old Town
    Few Edinburghers live in the Old Town, but its
    labyrinth of dank alleys and steep streets suggests
    this was not always the case. Today, it’s mostly
    visitors, tartan-flavoured souvenir shops, and pipers
    that you’ll find on its cobbled streets. This is the
    place to get a feel for Auld Reekie (Old Smelly), as
    the town was once nicknamed, and stroll the Royal
    Mile, the thoroughfare that links the castle with the
    ...More
    Nearby Hotels
    G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh
    2,679 reviews
    .12 km away
     
    Fraser Suites Edinburgh
    1,535 reviews
    .23 km away
     
    Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel
    2,380 reviews
    .16 km away
     
    Grassmarket Hotel
    2,038 reviews
    .10 km away
     
    Stay Central Hotel
    1,407 reviews
    .19 km away
     
    Nearby Restaurants
    The Grain Store
    801 reviews
    .10 km away
    Divino Enoteca
    598 reviews
    .07 km away
    Oink
    1,738 reviews
    .09 km away
    Mariachi
    696 reviews
    .09 km away
    Nearby Attractions
    National Library of Scotland
    105 reviews
    .09 km away
    George IV Bridge
    64 reviews
    .08 km away
    Greyfriars Kirkyard
    13 reviews
    .08 km away
    The Red Door Gallery
    5 reviews
    .11 km away
    Questions & AnswersAsk a question
    rgs1997
    Hi, the hostel looks very modern and clean in the images. My question is about your shower facilities - I am just slightly confused and wanted to confirm what the facilities are like as in your photographs they appear to be lovely private cubicles in very good condition but in a review it describes completely open showers with no privacy? What is the situation with this? Thanks :)
    15 April 2017|
    Answer
    Response from BudgetB | Property representative |
    Hi there. The bathrooms we have are as follows. Some of our bathrooms are mixed gender , what this means is that the sinks areas are the the only sections that are mixed and shared. The Showers areas are Private pods that... More
    1
    Vote
    Caligiiiirl_19
    Hi! Do you guys have weekly rates?
    12 December 2016|
    Answer
    Response from BudgetB | Property representative |
    Hi there we are unfortunately not offering weekly rates at the moment. We do have a longer stay section of the hostel but this is fully booked at the moment. Our standards rates are very low at the moment to encourage our... More
    0
    Votes
    Javier C
    Hello, I would like to know how much could cost the breakfast, more or less. Thank you :)
    6 December 2016|
    Answer
    Response from BudgetB | Property representative |
    Hello Javier. We have a full breakfast menu with prices ranging from £2.00 to £4.95 . We hope this information helps you. BB Crew :)
    0
    Votes
    Room Tips
    "Excellent location, good atmosphere."
    Read review
    "if you wanna meet people, get to the 30 beds room. What a great place to spend some nights"
    Read review
    "Get a lower floor if you have problem with stairs; also for better wifi."
    Read review
    "The rooms facing the street can be noisy (especially during festival season), pack earplugs."
    Read review