We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Glasshouse, Autograph Collection

Show Prices
#66 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Professional photos
The Glasshouse, Autograph Collection
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,205 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Glasshouse, Autograph Collection
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,157: English reviews
Leicestershire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 February 2014

This was a fantastic stay we ate in hotel because of weather and was so glad we did wonderful food and wine with good staff would stay again without a doubt. Rooms very comfortable and spacious with lovely balcony wish weather had been better to make most of thw hotel .

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Laffeyc
Federico C, General Manager at The Glasshouse, Autograph Collection, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Thank you for choosing The Glasshouse Hotel for your recent stay in Edinburgh. The team and I are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and you had the chance to use our facilities. Hopefully you have the chance to stay with us again with warmer weather. Kind Regards Federico Ciampi General Manager

Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 February 2014

Business trip brought us to the glasshouse, Who would of thought such a breathtaking hotel could be hidden behind and above one of edinburghs main shopping centres THE OMNI. Staff just top class, concierge !!! we wanted to take him home !!, rooms --- breathtaking, mini bar , leather settee, , small living area, fresh fruit , there is nothing...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank maysie-1950
Federico C, General Manager at The Glasshouse, Autograph Collection, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience. Indeed our hotel is in a great location and I have passed your feedback to our concierge who will be delighted to hear that. We do hope to welcome you back soon, Regards Federico Ciampi General Manager

York, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 February 2014

We stayed at the Glasshouse on a recent trip to Murrayfield. Although some of the décor in the hotel is a little tired the staff are simply excellent. We were greeted with warmth and courtesy, nothing is too much trouble for the reception staff or the wonderful concierge. It is also in a really great location with fantastic views from...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Tracy S
Federico C, General Manager at The Glasshouse, Autograph Collection, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Thank you for choosing The Glasshouse Hotel for your recent stay in the capital. I was glad to read your feedback and we do hope you will give us the chance to welcome you again soon for another great stay with us. Regards Federico Ciampi General Manager

Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 February 2014

We stayed at the Glasshouse for our recent stay in Edinburgh, it was a birthday present for my partner and I am so glas we chose to stay here. A couple of friends has recommended it and I'm so glad they did. The staff were amazing, nothing was too much for them. The room was great and we got a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ALiv0
Federico C, General Manager at The Glasshouse, Autograph Collection, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Thank you for choosing our hotel for your recent stay in the capital, and most of all congratulations and all the best from the team. It has been great to read your comments and we do hope we will have a chance to see you again with your “new addition” to the family. Regards Federico Ciampi General Manager

Hereford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 February 2014

I booked this trip for a special occasion for my boyfriend, he had stayed at the hotel before and had loved it. The hotel were very accommodating in helping me make it extra special and I'm extremely grateful for their attentive generosity. The staff can't do enough for you, so if you tell them what you'd like then they are...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Allison T
Federico C, General Manager at The Glasshouse, Autograph Collection, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Thank you for choosing The Glasshouse hotel for celebrating a special occasion. We are delighted to read that our team made you feel comfortable and made your stay a memorable one. Indeed our lobby is a waste area which has been filled with statues and art gallery to make it a quirky and unique. We do hope we...

Dumfries, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 February 2014

We had a wonderful two night stay at The Glasshouse. The hotel has a wonderful ambience about it. A real gem in the city very close to The Playhouse and the Omni Centre. The staff are a real asset to the hotel, from the reception through to the restaurant. Each and everyone of the staff we met made us feel...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KittyAnne17
Federico C, General Manager at The Glasshouse, Autograph Collection, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Thank you for sharing your feedback with regards to your recent stay with us. The team would like to thank you for the positive comments and hopefully you can come and stay with us again very soon. Kindest Regards Federico Ciampi General Manager

Boca Raton, Florida
Reviewed 3 February 2014

A really different hotel experience, a very warm welcome before arriving a very different hotel room. I had the city view and the view was helped by a balcony which was better described as a patio. Very nice features in the large bathroom added to the experience. Lastly, great location, easy to walk to everthing

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Elviscfan
Federico C, General Manager at The Glasshouse, Autograph Collection, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Thank you for choosing The Glasshouse Hotel for your recent stay in the capital. It is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay and hopefully we will have the chance to welcome you again, maybe this time in one of our garden view room. Regards Federico Ciampi General Manager

Carnoustie, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 February 2014

Fabulous hotel, super service, incredible room, (actually a suite), everything about it was plush! Had continental breakfast, great choice with cereals, yoghurt, fresh fruit, pastries, cold meets, cheeses and smoked salmon. The restaurant is beautifully decorated. The location is excellent, so close to everything. Right next door to Playhouse.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dmackland
Federico C, General Manager at The Glasshouse, Autograph Collection, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Thank you for sharing your recent experience here with us. I was delighted to read your comments and most of all that you enjoyed your breakfast. We do hope we will have the chance to welcome you again very soon. Kind Regards Federico Ciampi General Manager

Reviewed 2 February 2014 via mobile

It's hard to write a review of this hotel, it's nice enough but I'm amazed that they can charge the prices they do! Luckily we got a really good deal else I'd be wanting a refund! It tries hard to be 5 star but lots of things let it down. Firstly the staff were friendly, helpful and accommodating. We ate...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Niclou27
Federico C, General Manager at The Glasshouse, Autograph Collection, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to share your recent experience here with us. We are all disappointed to read your comments about your stay and the above have been addressed with the rest of the team to ensure corrective action is taken to avoid similar circumstances in the future. As you can see...

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 31 January 2014

We sent an overnight at this hotel as a nice getaway. We had the misfortune to be put in room 83 which has the air conditioning and ventilation shaft, the noise was incredible. I phoned reception and they were aware there was a problem with it. They moved me to the room next door at 2.30 in the morning, no...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Jean459
Federico C, General Manager at The Glasshouse, Autograph Collection, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Thank you for your feedback with regards to your recent stay with us. The team and I are extremely disappointed to read your comments. I was, however, glad that during the night we did offer you an additional complimentary room while your husband was resting in room 83, as unfortunately you did experience a noisy air conditioning. I...

437 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (338)
Viewed
Room/Suite (66)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (54)
Viewed
View from Room (27)
Viewed
Bathroom (12)
Viewed
2:31
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (168)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (99)
Viewed
Dining (20)
Viewed
Room/Suite (29)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (29)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#9 of 150 in Edinburgh
3,398 reviews
West End
Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian
West End
Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa
Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa
#16 of 150 in Edinburgh
2,536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 150 in Edinburgh
1,709 reviews
Old Town
The Scotsman Hotel
The Scotsman Hotel
#87 of 150 in Edinburgh
2,117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Broughton & Calton

Neighbourhood Profile
Broughton & Calton
Lying where grandiose New Town townhouses give way to malls and utilitarian housing, Broughton and Calton have long been transitional neighbourhoods with a mixed identity. It’s here that Edinburgh’s gay village found a home in the 1980s. But gay culture is anything but overt along bustling epicentre Broughton Street; even if polished pubs, hip bistros, smart delis and art galleries all speak of affluent good taste. The top of Leith Walk is more ragged. This major thoroughfare boasts a famously gritty gay club, as well as a strip of good Indian restaurants. Regal Georgian and Victorian townhouses preside over largely deserted streets in Calton, where only the occasional restaurant or hotel brings much life. Even so, a steady trickle of idlers and picnickers pass by to climb Calton Hill for its wide-open lawns, wonderful city views, and curious monuments – an Athenian-style temple among them.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Business Centre with Internet Access

Additional Information about The Glasshouse, Autograph Collection

Address: 2 Greenside Place, Edinburgh EH1 3AA, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Broughton & Calton
Price Range: ₹ 9,461 - ₹ 28,519 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Glasshouse, Autograph Collection 5*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Marriott, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, Agoda, Cancelon and Jetsetter so you can book your The Glasshouse, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Glasshouse Hotel Edinburgh
Glasshouse Edinburgh
Edinburgh Glasshouse
Glasshouse Hotel Edinburgh
Glass House Edinburgh
The Glasshouse, Autograph Collection Edinburgh, Scotland
Hotel Style:
#28 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#34 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#39 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#53 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Glasshouse, Autograph Collection staff and other travellers.
10 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (10)

Questions? Get answers from The Glasshouse, Autograph Collection staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Third floor room is same floor as lounge, bar”
 of 5 bubbles ThomasP368, 2 Dec 2016 | Read review
“All rooms seemed good”
 of 5 bubbles Heena2015, 29 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Room 31 has the most amazing bathroom”
 of 5 bubbles carolh55, 28 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Fantastic views from both sides”
 of 5 bubbles lynnmcgovernx, 20 Nov 2016 | Read review
“As mentioned by other users, rooms on the 3rd floor are the most convenient”
 of 5 bubbles JaJa38, 5 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay