We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Rick's

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for:1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Rick\\
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

409 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Rick's
See the most recent reviews
Showing 389: English reviews
Level Contributor
43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014 via mobile

Room was small but comfortable. Good value, but service was haphazard. Food good except for the smoked haddock fish cakes that only had a smell of fish ! Nice wines. Close to centre for all attractions .

Helpful?
Thank Angelamacph
Andrew M, General Manager at Rick's, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to write your review More 

Bromley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

This hotel is set in a really good location for a stay in Edinburgh. The rooms are very clean and the bed comfortable with lots of added extras (Ipod, hairdryer, GHDs, complimentary bottled water, White Company toiletries etc - lots of nice finishing touches). Good power shower. The staff were charming - polite, cheerful and very helpful. Breakfast was really... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank TentpegAG
Andrew M, General Manager at Rick's, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your very kind review. More 

Livingston, Scotland
Level Contributor
74 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014

I had wanted to stay at Rick's for a whiIe - the marketing made the hotel looked stylish and chic. I was, however, disappointed with my experience of the boutique hotel. I felt that the rooms here are not representative of a 4 star venue. They were dark and dingy with cheap fittings. Bathrooms are badly designed, poorly maintained and... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank caz141
Andrew M, General Manager at Rick's, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to write your review. Since your stay we have had an over hall of all the rooms, to bring them back to a standard to match the bar and restaurant. It is very nice to hear that your experience in our and restaurant was an enjoyable, and I hope you will come back to give... More 

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Great feel to the bar Food good Rooms fab and great value but the bin men in the lane to the rear are louder than the One O ' Clock Gun .....at 7 am collecting empties ! Overall though keep coming back

Helpful?
2 Thank Jim D
Andrew M, General Manager at Rick's, responded to this review

Thank you for review, I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us. More 

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

I stayed here last week with my boyfriend and our 8 yr old son. The hotel is beautiful, from the bar to the bedrooms. The bed is extremely big and comfy and the room has everything, mini bar, I pod, DVD player, high power hairdryer and GHDs. We didn't eat in the hotel, but did have a few drinks, which... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank jmacd2011
Andrew M, General Manager at Rick's, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. As we are situated in such a central location there can be some noise coming from the street. Thank you again for your positive review More 

Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

The jewel in the crown is the staff who are all superb. The rooms are modern and clean and the beds and linen are also superb.Toiletries and bathrobes and everything you could wish for in the mini bar. Our only complaint was the music in the dining room which was head splittingly loud and not music for dining to. It... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Sabrina772
Andrew M, General Manager at Rick's, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to write your review. We do have different sections in the restaurant, we have areas that are lively and quiet. I am very sorry but you must have been seated in an area which is more lively. If staying next time please advise this and we will make sure you are seated in a quieter... More 

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Stayed here Saturday 5th April for my daughters 21st.Arrived too early but the very pleasent receptionist took my case and I had lunch.Room ready for 2.30 and my case had been taken to my room, was in room 5 very modern and clean .The bed was huge and so comfy had a great sleep. Had drinks at the bar before... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank couter
Andrew M, General Manager at Rick's, responded to this review

Great to hear that you had such a great experience when you stayed with us. Yes one of the perks of staying with us the complementary VIP access to both our nightclubs, Lulu and opal lounge! More 

Johnstone
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Excellent service from when we checked in until we checked out. It was the second time we'd stayed here and it was faultless again. Room was beautiful, bed extremely comfortable. Impressed with the quality of the furnishings. Dinner was beautiful ( the potato and leek soup was so thick you could stand on it - extremely tasty), all servings on... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Norma R
Andrew M, General Manager at Rick's, responded to this review

Wow thank you so much for your amazing review, we all look forward to welcoming you back in the future More 

Aberdour, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2014

On arrival the staff were very helpful and we were really impressed with the room. The meal was lovely but we were disappointed to be told that the sea bream had been replaced with a much cheaper fish. I ordered it anyway but it was bland. Everyone else enjoyed their meal. The waitress was friendly and service was great. The... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank JaneCooper1
Andrew M, General Manager at Rick's, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review. Since we are a city centre hotel there can be street noise from other businesses and traffic noise. I am very sorry we didn't have sea bream available when you stayed with us. We buy our fish in fresh daily, which can lead to menu changes due to availability. Again thank you for... More 

Hamilton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2014

My Husband and I recently took advantage of a deal through itison for dinner,bed and breakfast at Ricks.This deal was superb value at £99 for the two of us and also included a bottle of Prosecco either to enjoy in the room or take it down to dinner.We chose to take it down to dinner and noticed on the menu... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Jan220166
Andrew M, General Manager at Rick's, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your fantastic feedback. Hopefully we will see you back again in the future. More 

89 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (53)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (29)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
2:12
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (14)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (36)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (23)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
New Town
Frederick House Hotel
Frederick House Hotel
#110 of 150 in Edinburgh
623 reviews
New Town
Tigerlily Hotel
Tigerlily Hotel
#22 of 150 in Edinburgh
1,431 reviews
New Town
Le Monde Hotel Edinburgh
Le Monde Hotel Edinburgh
#68 of 150 in Edinburgh
737 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
New Town
Travelodge Edinburgh Central Queen Street
West End
Angels Share Hotel
Angels Share Hotel
#98 of 150 in Edinburgh
397 reviews
New Town
Fountain Court Apartments Royal Garden
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in New Town

Neighbourhood Profile
New Town
Suits and shopping bags rule the streets of New Town, until after dark when strappy dresses come out to play. This is the city’s central business district with its smaller offices, clothes boutiques, and many of the city’s flashiest restaurants and ritziest clubs. The architecture along roads like George Street helps give it a swank and formal feel: it’s a planned Georgian development of regal townhouses, geometric squares, and self-important statues. But it’s also a very wanderable neighbourhood, with a healthy bustle at almost any time of day and fine people-watching in places like St Andrew's Square which fills with picnickers around lunch. You’ll also find a series of cheerful basement bistros on Hanover Street, while dark Rose Street has something of the feel of an undiscovered back alley and is chock-full of characterful pubs and small independent shops.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi

Additional Information about Rick's

Address: 55A Frederick Street, Edinburgh EH2 1LH, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > New Town
Price Range: ₹ 4,994 - ₹ 12,658 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Rick's 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Rick's reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rick`s Hotel Edinburgh
Ricks Hotel Edinburgh
Ricks Edinburgh
Rick's Edinburgh, Scotland
Hotel Style:
#60 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Rick's staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
2 months ago
Manchester, United Kingdom

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Rick's staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Level 1 is at street level”
 of 5 bubbles stevebV5439VV, 3 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Ground floor if your mobility not so good.”
 of 5 bubbles tbs2507, 1 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Level 1 is ground level so be aware if you want a room higher.”
 of 5 bubbles monsoon1inGlasgow, 29 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Go for upper floors to avoid stuff room”
 of 5 bubbles EUGANDCAROL, 30 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Not really disabled friendly.”
 of 5 bubbles 341paulinaw, 14 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay