We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Ballantrae Hotel

8 - 12 York Place, Edinburgh EH1 3HP , Scotland
Special Offer
WIne Offer!
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
More options
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Show Prices
Close 
  • Scottish National Portrait Gallery
    0.1 km
  • 3 star hotel
  • Free Wifi
Reviewed 4 weeks ago
Exceeded my expectations
This was a late booking for a Xmas Party night in Edinburgh and... more
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

483 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Ballantrae Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 400: English reviews
Stirling, Scotland
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This was a late booking for a Xmas Party night in Edinburgh and was very good value. Had booked a twin but got a family room which was enormous, clean and very quiet. Didn't take breakfast so can't rate this but check in and helpfulness of staff was superb! Will consider using again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jules030
Management360, Manager at The Ballantrae Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay, and will return again in the future - be sure to cook on our website where you will find the best possible rates and exclusive offers! Kind regards, The Ballantrae Hotel Team

Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 December 2016 via mobile

The hotel is located in a good position close to the center of Edinburgh however the hotel is not at its best. The carpets in the public areas are in need of a good clean, our room located up in the roof in a building next door but one from the reception ment that over 80 stairs need to be...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Stanley M
Management360, Manager at The Ballantrae Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear that you will not be returning, as - being a listed building - all our bedrooms are different. We are sure that if you were to return to the Ballantrae, that your next stay will be more enjoyable.

Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 December 2016

Room were clean and well presented. Staff were pleasant and friendly. Well located in the centre of the city- near bus and railway stations. It is on several levels so i am not sure how friendly it would be for disabled access

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alan H
Management360, Manager at The Ballantrae Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay, and hope to welcome you back in the near future. Be sure to check out the best possible rates on our website before you book. Kind regards, The Ballantrae Hotel Team

Knutsford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 November 2016 via mobile

I came here on a solo trip hoping to stay in a nice hotel, clearly I was fooled. The woman and young boy who first greeted me were lovely but I'm afraid this is where the good points end :( The room I was in was horrendously cold to the point I was in full clothes sleeping. A huge draft...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank electric-blaze
Management360, Manager at The Ballantrae Hotel, responded to this review

We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us - please contact us directly at the hotel to discuss this further. Kind regards, The Ballantrae Hotel Team

A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2016 via mobile

Despite making special requests for the elderly relative I was travelling on booking, the hotel chose to ignore these even though their important information states that one should not hesitate to contact them about mobility issues. Consequently, upon arrival at the hotel, we were forced to find alternative accommodation as my 80 year old mother was unable to negotiate the...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Management360, Manager at The Ballantrae Hotel, responded to this review

Please accept our apologies for the issues you experienced. We always do our best to match and exceed customer expectations, but it seems on this time we did not deliver. Please contact us again to resolve this matter. Kind regards, The Ballantrae Hotel Team

Carle Place, New York
Reviewed 8 November 2016 via mobile

Blocks from Waverley Train Station. Room was very large, clean, and pleasant. High ceilings, fire place, and comfortable couch in front of the tv. Modern bathroom, excellent water pressure. Would definitely stay here again. Plus nice breakfast in the morning.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Weston0614
Management360, Manager at The Ballantrae Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review. We are glad that you enjoyed your room and breakfast, and would definitely stay again. Next time, before you book, make sure to check out the best possible available rates on our website and the great deals on our Facebook page. Kind regards, The Ballantrae Hotel Team

Reviewed 6 November 2016 via mobile

The location of this hotel is amazing, it's around 5 -10 mins walk into the centre of Edinburgh. As other people have noted there are a lot of stairs, but it does make the view from the rooms very beautiful, so for me it was worth the walk up. The bathrooms look like they have been recently renovated and the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SunnyMangoMac
Management360, Manager at The Ballantrae Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay, and yes, the rooms were recently refurbished. The point you made about toiletries has been noted. We hope to welcome you back to the Ballantrae soon - make sure to check out our website next time before you book where you will find our best possible rates!

Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 1 November 2016

A group of 8 girls stayed here for my friends 30th and we asked for a few celebratory bits be put in the room for her as a surprise! What we received was second to none... A huge thanks to Marion who left us cake, banners, fruit, prosecco and even a bday card! Our pal was blown away at the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Byrnedawg
Management360, Manager at The Ballantrae Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your 5 Star review. We are glad that you had a great Birthday Break away with your friends, and that you will definitely stay here again - be sure to check out the great deals and best possible rates on our website before you book next time. Kind regards, The Ballantrae Hotel Team

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 31 October 2016

Booked into a single room which was in the dark basement next to a busy road. Inside the room where large locked doors of which a constant humming/buzzing sound came from. The 2nd night they moved me into another room, this in turn had a broken shower door and a bed where you could feel every single spring!!! The cleanliness...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Afb942
Management360, Manager at The Ballantrae Hotel, responded to this review

We are sorry that there was an issue with your recent stay - this will be looked into immediately. Please accept our apologies. Regards, The Ballantrae Hotel Team

Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 October 2016

Did lots of research to find a reasonably priced hotel with breakfast close enough to the main parts of the city but not so close that it would be noisy. This fitted the bill perfectly. Tram stop less than a minute's walk from the hotel to get back to the airport and the main centre of the city less than...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sarah J
Management360, Manager at The Ballantrae Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review. We are glad that you room was perfect for you, as was the location, and that you found the breakfast buffet to be excellent. We are a listed building, so unfortunately we do not have a lift at the hotel, but we do have rooms on lower floors which we try our best to allocate...

159 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (154)
Viewed
Room/Suite (56)
Viewed
Bathroom (16)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (71)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Broughton & Calton
Ballantrae Albany Hotel
Ballantrae Albany Hotel
#124 of 150 in Edinburgh
707 reviews
New Town
Fountain Court Apartments Royal Garden
The Salisbury Hotel
#71 of 150 in Edinburgh
789 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Leith
Cairn Hotel Edinburgh
Cairn Hotel Edinburgh
#75 of 150 in Edinburgh
1,031 reviews
Southside & Holyrood
Ten Hill Place, BW Premier Collection
Kildonan Lodge Hotel
#10 of 150 in Edinburgh
502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Broughton & Calton

Neighbourhood Profile
Broughton & Calton
Lying where grandiose New Town townhouses give way to malls and utilitarian housing, Broughton and Calton have long been transitional neighbourhoods with a mixed identity. It’s here that Edinburgh’s gay village found a home in the 1980s. But gay culture is anything but overt along bustling epicentre Broughton Street; even if polished pubs, hip bistros, smart delis and art galleries all speak of affluent good taste. The top of Leith Walk is more ragged. This major thoroughfare boasts a famously gritty gay club, as well as a strip of good Indian restaurants. Regal Georgian and Victorian townhouses preside over largely deserted streets in Calton, where only the occasional restaurant or hotel brings much life. Even so, a steady trickle of idlers and picnickers pass by to climb Calton Hill for its wide-open lawns, wonderful city views, and curious monuments – an Athenian-style temple among them.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about The Ballantrae Hotel

Address: 8 - 12 York Place, Edinburgh EH1 3HP, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Broughton & Calton
Price Range: ₹ 3,968 - ₹ 22,205 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Ballantrae Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your The Ballantrae Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ballantrae Hotel Edinburgh
The Ballantrae Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Ballantrae Hotel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from The Ballantrae Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms on the back only. 110 is big with a huge poster bed.”
 of 5 bubbles boutiquehotelbabe, 29 Dec 2016 | Read review
“there are a lot of stairs with no lift so don't get a room on the top floor.”
 of 5 bubbles TessaD238, 28 Dec 2016 | Read review
“We were in the basement quad good size for a family”
 of 5 bubbles Jules030, 23 Dec 2016 | Read review
“I was in the basement which was not a problem. If anyone had walking difficulties it might be worth mentioning this on booking,”
 of 5 bubbles 518AlanH, 11 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Rooms downstairs have less stairs!”
 of 5 bubbles Byrnedawg, 1 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5